Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 6-8, filed June 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11-14 and 16-23 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Holgers et al. (US 2016/0114695 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14 and 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holgers et al. (US 2016/0114695 A1) in view of “Solid State Relay” (Electronics Tutorials, January 2017, retrieved from https://web.archive.org/web/20170104184427/https://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/power/solid-state-relay.html on March 6, 2025; hereinafter referred to as “SSR”) and Goto et al. (US 2020/0136199 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Holgers teaches a method for disconnecting a battery comprising multiple battery cells (battery modules 11, 12, 13) from a motor vehicle, with each battery module connected to the load and associated with a first switch (bypass switch 15, 16, 17) and a second switch (disconnect switch 21, 22, 23) (Holgers Abstract and Fig. 3). The method includes activating both switches for an individual battery module (Holgers Abstract), and is applied to each of the battery modules in emergency situations (Holgers [0012]).
Holgers does not teach that the switching includes switching from a blocking state to a conducting state and/or vice versa. Holgers teaches that it is desirable to provide the switches in the form of relays so that the batteries may be reconnected (Holgers [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use relays as the switches in the method of Holgers in order to make the process reversible. SSR teaches that solid state relays (non-mechanical relays, i.e., switches that switch from a blocking state to a conducting state) are preferable to mechanical relays because they have no moving parts to wear out and are much faster (SSR p. 1, last paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use solid state relays (which switch from switching to blocking states) instead of mechanical relays in the method of Holgers in order to improve speed and durability.
Holgers teaches that the switches may be sequentially activated by means of a delay timer (Holgers [0052]-[0053]). Holgers does not teach any particular delay time. Goto teaches that a delay time of 100 ns between activating connected switches is appropriate to prevent a short circuit caused by simultaneous switching (Goto [0040]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to implement a delay of 100 ns, which falls within the range of the instant claim, between switch activations in order to prevent a short circuit.
Holgers teaches that the battery modules may be bypassed and disconnected one by one in sequence (Holgers [0012]). This would necessarily require either a timed delay (and a corresponding decrease in the current from the previous battery) or a signal from the previous battery module (i.e., current detection at the previous switch), both of which are provided for in Holgers (delay circuits at Holgers [0052] and current detection at Holgers [0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try either method to achieve the sequential deactivation of modified Holgers, both of which include the current at the previous module’s switch decreasing to a predetermined level.
Regarding claim 12, Holgers teaches that the battery modules may be bypassed and disconnected one by one in sequence (Holgers [0012]).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, modified Holgers teaches that the battery modules may be bypassed and disconnected one by one in sequence (Holgers [0012]). This would necessarily require either a timed delay or a signal from the previous battery module (i.e., current detection at the previous switch), both of which are provided for in Holgers (delay circuits at Holgers [0052] and current detection at Holgers [0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try either method to achieve the sequential deactivation of modified Holgers.
Regarding claim 16, the two switches are a short circuit switch parallel to the battery module (bypass switch 15, 16, 17) and a coupling switch in series with the battery module (disconnect switch 21, 22, 23) (Holgers Abstract and Fig. 1). Holgers teaches that the switches may be sequentially activated (bypass and then disconnect) by means of a delay timer (Holgers [0052]-[0053]]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Holgers teaches that the disconnect switch (i.e., coupling switch) is opened after the bypass switch (i.e., short circuit switch) is closed (Holgers [0053]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Holgers teaches that the battery modules may be bypassed and disconnected one by one in sequence (Holgers [0012]), and Holgers gives an example with 5 different battery modules (Holgers [0009]).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, modified Holgers teaches that the battery modules may be bypassed and disconnected one by one in sequence (Holgers [0012]). Holgers teaches that the system includes a plurality of battery modules (i.e., more than 1; Holgers Abstract), which overlaps the ranges of the instant claims. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 21, modified Holgers teaches that the battery may be a 300 V battery (Holgers [0009]), which is a high voltage battery.
Regarding claim 22, modified Holgers teaches that the switches are arranged at individual battery modules (Holgers [0007]) that constitute the battery, so the switches must necessarily be integrated into the battery.
Regarding claim 23, Holgers teaches a device for disconnecting a battery comprising multiple battery cells (battery modules 11, 12, 13) from a motor vehicle, with each battery module connected to the load and associated with a first switch (bypass switch15, 16, 17) and a second switch (disconnect switch 21, 22, 23) (Holgers Abstract and Fig. 3). The disconnection includes activating both switches for an individual battery module (Holgers Abstract), and is applied to each of the battery modules in emergency situations (Holgers [0012]).
Holgers does not teach that the switching incudes switching from a blocking state to a conducting state and/or vice versa. Holgers teaches that it is desirable to provide the switches in the form of relays so that the batteries may be reconnected (Holgers [0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use relays as the switches in the method of Holgers in order to make the process reversible. SSR teaches that solid state relays (non-mechanical relays, i.e., switches that switch from a blocking state to a conducting state) are preferable to mechanical relays because they have no moving parts to wear out and are much faster (SSR p. 1, last paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use solid state relays (which switch from switching to blocking states) instead of mechanical relays in the method of modified Holgers in order to improve speed and durability.
Holgers teaches that the switches may be sequentially activated by means of a delay timer (Holgers [0052]-[0053]). Holgers does not teach any particular delay time. Goto teaches that a delay time of 100 ns between activating connected switches is appropriate to prevent a short circuit caused by simultaneous switching (Goto [0040]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to implement a delay of 100 ns, which falls within the range of the instant claim, between switch activations in order to prevent a short circuit.
Holgers teaches that the battery modules may be bypassed and disconnected one by one in sequence (Holgers [0012]). This would necessarily require either a timed delay (and a corresponding decrease in the current from the previous battery) or a signal from the previous battery module (i.e., current detection at the previous switch), both of which are provided for in Holgers (delay circuits at Holgers [0052] and current detection at Holgers [0014]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try either method to achieve the sequential deactivation of modified Holgers, both of which include the current at the previous module’s switch decreasing to a predetermined level.
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722