DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-17 are pending. Applicant’s previous election of Formula G and bis triethoxysilyl ethane as species still applies and no claims are withdrawn
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al. (JPWO 2013/151169, see machine translation) in view of Leivo (U.S. 2018/0127308) in view of Murugesan et al. (U.S. 2018/0148600) in view of Thothadri et al. (U.S. 2020/0057178).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-17, Nomura teaches an optical laminate for displays (as in claim 17, [0001]) with an optically functional (i.e., transparent) substrate ([0094], [0100]), S, followed by a hard coat, which is made up of a hard coat sub layer I, (corresponding to the claimed hard coat layer and having an overlapping thickness, [0065]) and a silica film/hard coat sub layer II, (corresponding to the claimed glass layer, and having an overlapping thickness, [0072], [0059], FIG. 1), and with the hard coat sub layer I being made of, e.g., a condensation reaction product of glycidoxypropyltrialkoxysilane compounds (with glycidyl being a cationically curable group, overlapping the formula of claim 1, [0024]-[0026], [0034], with an amount of siloxane based polymer, A and B in Nomura, overlapping the amount of formula C in the sub layer I in Nomura as in claim 1, [0036], [0051]-[0053], and with the silica layer II providing scratch resistance, [0022]).
Nomura does not disclose that the silica layer II is formed of the claimed ingredients. However, Leivo is also directed to silica films for providing scratch resistance and hardness (overlapping claim 3) and teaches that such a film may be made by condensation of only silane compounds within the scope of formula A and/or B (e.g., tetralkoxysilane, bistriethoxysilyl ethane, and/or 1-4 carbon alkyl trialkoxysilanes), which forms a silica network (consisting of the claimed silane compounds, with no other required solid ingredients such that the silica network is substantially 100% of the cured layer, as in claim 1), and with the silane compounds being partially condensed prior to coating and then fully polymerized after being coated (see abstract, [0001], [0012], [0032]-[0043], [0141]-[0159], [0196], [0207]-[0217]). There are no required Si-N linkages as claimed.
The above process from Leivo of partial condensation prior to full condensation appears to fall within a sol-gel process as claimed (i.e., the individual compounds would start out in solution as a sol and gel as the condensation reaction proceeds). Even without this teaching from Leivo, the sol-gel limitation is a product by process limitation that is not given patentable weight as it does not require any difference in the final structure of the silica film compared to the silica film of Leivo. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP 2113.
Thus, it would have been obvious to have used the silica film of Leivo for the silica film called for in Nomura because Leivo film provides the desired scratch resistance was well as various other beneficial properties (e.g., hardness and refractive index [0012]).
Modified Nomura does not disclose the claimed nitrogen compound. However, Murugesan is also directed to curing partially condensed siloxane compositions for form hard coatings ([0006], [0058]-[0059]), as called for in Nomura and Leivo, that includes a “super base” catalyst, ([0006]), such as 2-undecylimidazole, ([0042]), which inherently meets the limitations of claims 6-9, to allow for lower amounts of catalyst to be used and to provide improved properties ([0006]), with amounts ranging from 1 to 75 ppm ([0018]). Thus, it would have been obvious to have used the catalyst from Murugesan as the catalyst in modified Nomura because it provides the catalysis properties while allowing for less of the catalyst to be used and while providing improved properties ([0006]).
The above amount of base catalyst in modified Nomura (from Murugesan) overlaps the nitrogen amount in claim 1.
Modified Nomura does not require any silazane compounds or otherwise require any Si-N bonds, as in claim 1.
Regarding the properties of claims 1-4, although modified Nomura does not explicitly disclose these properties as claimed, given the overlap in modified Nomura regarding the type and amount of materials used for the hard coat layer I and the silica layer II compared to the present application, these claimed properties would inherently be present in the embodiments of Nomura that overlap the embodiments of the present application.
Regarding the substrate layer thickness and claims 12-16, Modified Nomura teaches all of the above subject matter but does not disclose the substrate layer thickness and the limitations of claims 12-16. However, Thothadri is also directed to hard coat layers that are made up of two sub layers, 204 and 208, applied to a base film, 202, to form an overall hard coat film (“cover lens film,” 102, 200) for use in display devices (like Nomura), and teaches that the bottom base layer upon which the hard coat layers are applied may include an underlying polarizer 104 (as in claim 1, so as to provide polarization for the display, [0018], FIG. 1A), with the base layer/substrate and polarizer layer (separately or together) corresponding to the claimed optical functional layer and having a thickness (separate or together) that overlaps the range ([0016], [0018]). Thus, it would have been obvious to have included a polarizing layer in the bottom base layer of modified Nomura, as taught by Thothadri, to provide a polarizing effect to the underlying display device, and to have used the above thicknesses because Thothtadri teaches they are suitable for such a display device.
Thothadri also teaches that the multiple cover lens films, 200, may be stacked on each other multiple times ([0039]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that stacking multiple hard coat films (cover lens films) on top of each other in an overall protective film for a display device allows for increased durability (because damage must penetrate through more hard layers before getting through to the underlying functional display layers). Such an arrangement would result in hard sub layer1a/hard sub layer1b/substrate1/hard sub layer2a/hard sub layer2b/substrate2/hard sub layer3a/hard sub layer3b/substrate3, which includes both types of hard sub layers being formed above and below each of the multiple base films (substrate1 and substrate2), as in claims 12-16, (with Nomura already teaching that the silica/glass film II should be on top of the hard coat layer I when the pair of hard sub layers are stacked, as in claims 13 and 16). Thus, it would have been obvious to have stacked multiple hard coat films (each comprising a pair of hard coat sub-layers and a substrate) from modified Nomura on top of one another over the display device of modified Nomura (resulting in the layers of claims 12-16), as taught by Thothadri, because doing so increases durability because damage must penetrate through more hard layers before getting through to the underlying functional display layers.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, 11-14 of copending Application No. 17283701 in view of Nomura et al. (JPWO 2013/151169, see machine translation) in view of Thothadri et al. (U.S. 2020/0057178). The claims are not identical but they are not patentably distinct because Nomura and Thothadri render obvious the missing limitations from the copending application (e.g., the underlying hard coat sublayer and the use of multiple stacked hard coats, see explanation in rejection above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-8, 12-16 of copending Application No. 17284130 in view of Nomura et al. (JPWO 2013/151169, see machine translation). The claims are not identical but they are not patentably distinct because Nomura renders obvious the missing limitations from the copending application (e.g., the underlying hard coat sublayer, see explanation in rejection above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection. Remarks which are still deemed relevant are addressed below and are not persuasive.
The previous 112 rejection is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant argues there is no disclosure in the prior art of using the same super base catalyst as in the present application in a way that avoids Si-N bonds. As explained in the rejection, the prior art does not form Si-N bonds and the use of the catalyst in the prior art would not produce Si-N bonds the same way it does not produce Si-N bonds as used in the present application.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose using XPS to measure nitrogen content. This is not persuasive because the prior art teaches an amount of nitrogen compounds that inherently results in a nitrogen content overlapping the claimed range. The prior art does not need to describe measuring the property via the exact same methodology as claimed when the underlying property is inherent.
Applicant also argues that the prior art does not disclose the claimed F formula which is not persuasive because the prior art teaches forming the corresponding polymer using only trialkoxysilane monomers, which would result in only the claimed “c” repeating units and thus falls within the claimed formula.
Applicant argues no motivation to combine and hindsight. However, Applicant is simply ignoring the motivations provided by the prior art. The references also do not solve different technical problems in isolation.
Applicant argues teaching away and unexpected results without any explanation. The claims are not commensurate in scope with the data anyway.
The double patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787