DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffith et al. (US 5,505,531) in view of Georgin (US 2018/0326952).
Regarding claim 1, Griffith discloses a method for braking an aircraft (see Abstract; col. 3, lines 18-32) having right and left brake disc heat stacks (see col. 1, lines 21-24, “large commercial aircraft [with] . . . aircraft wheels (rotors) interleaved with stationary members (stators)”), comprising: engaging a braking run for said aircraft upon landing and prior to taxiing (see col. 5, lines 23-25), said braking run comprising: determining an actual rate of deceleration of the aircraft (see col. 5, lines 1-3, “actual aircraft deceleration”); calculating a required rate of deceleration of the aircraft (see col. 5, lines 1-3, “predetermined aircraft deceleration”); making a comparison of the actual and required rates of deceleration of the aircraft (see col. 5, lines 1-3, “[d]eceleration error”); and during said braking run, controlling the application and release of brake pressure to the right and left brakes of the aircraft as a function of said comparison (see col. 6, lines 14-19) while establishing a minimum braking pressure demand that precludes the discs of the heat stacks from going into separation as a consequence of non-braking activities that cause a deceleration of the aircraft (see col. 3, lines 33-45; col. 7, lines 6-15).
Griffith does not disclose that the right and left brake disc heat stacks controlled by right and left brake pedals, or that the minimum braking pressure ensures the capability of differential braking between the right and left brake pedals and associated right and left brakes, the same said variable minimum braking pressure demand being linked to and simultaneously effecting features (i) and (ii).
Georgen teaches a method for braking an aircraft (see Abstract) having right and left (see ¶ 0024, “control a left side wheel and a right side wheel independently to allow for differential braking”) brake disc heat stacks (see ¶ 0021, “brake disk stack”) controlled by right and left brake pedals (see ¶ 0034, “a left pedal brake provides left pedal inputs and a right pedal brake provides right pedal inputs”), engaging a braking run for said aircraft upon landing prior to taxiing (see ¶ 0002), said braking run comprising: during said braking run, establishing a variable minimum braking pressure demand (see ¶ 0045, “priority to the manual input”), wherein a minimum braking pressure ensures the capability of differential braking between the right and left brake pedals and associated right and left brakes (see ¶ 0024, “[a]ircraft braking system 100 may be configured . . . to allow for differential braking,” see also ¶ 0048, “priority to received force signals (e.g., the braking force command 124) over received deceleration signals,” (emphasis added), see also ¶ 0036, “[t]he braking force command 124 may comprise a single braking signal or multiple braking signals (e.g., the braking force command 124 may comprise a separate braking command for a right pedal and a left pedal, and/or the like)”) (emphasis added).
It would have been obvious to combine the differential braking steps and capability of Georgen with the braking method and apparatus of Griffith to allow for pilot control of differential braking to maintain the desired course during aircraft landing (see ¶ 0024). Furthermore, the combination of the teachings of Georgen with Griffith would result in the minimum braking pressure demand being linked to and simultaneously effecting features (i) and (ii), i.e. the braking method would result in a minimum pressure to (i) preclude the discs of the heat stack from going into separation (see Georgen, col. 3, lines 33-45; col. 7, lines 6-15), and (ii) ensure the capability of differential braking (see Griffith, ¶ 0048, priority is given to manual differential braking over target deceleration).
Regarding claim 3, Georgen teaches that the establishment of a said variable minimum brake pressure demand is separately performed for the right and left brakes (see ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 4, Georgen teaches that said step of controlling the application and release of brake pressure comprises correlating displacement of the right and left brake pedals with pressure demand (see ¶ 0033).
Regarding claim 5, Georgen teaches that said step of controlling the application and release of brake pressure comprises correlating displacement of the right and left pedals with required deceleration (see ¶ 0037).
Regarding claim 6, Griffith teaches that the non-braking activities are selected from a group consisting of aerodynamic drag and reverse thrust (see col. 3, lines 33-45; col. 7, lines 6-15).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
July 9, 2026