DETAILED ACTION
Any rejection of record in the previous office actions not addressed herein is withdrawn. New grounds of rejection are presented herein that were not necessitated by applicant’s amendment of the claims since the office action mailed 12/20/2024. Therefore, this action is not final.
Receipt is acknowledged of an amendment, filed 6/19/2025, in which claim 4 was amended. Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-14, 21, 23-25, 36-45 and 49 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and the species (A) the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1; (B) the A36S substitution; (C) the 5’UTR of SEQ ID NO: 6; and (D) the 3’UTR of SEQ ID NO: 24 in the reply filed on 7/10/2024 is acknowledged. The response indicated that claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-14 and 21 encompass the elected species.
Upon further consideration, the species election requirement for (A) has been withdrawn. Each of SEQ ID NOS: 1, 2, 3 and 4 are under consideration. The species election requirement for 5’ UTR and 3’ UTR has been maintained.
Claims 23-25, 36-45 and 49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/10/2024.
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-14 and 21 are under consideration as.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “F36L substitution.” This is a clear typographical error. The correct substitution is “F368L substation.” See pages 4, 14 and 15 of the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a new rejection:
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 depends from claim 2 and recites, “wherein the polypeptide of SEQ. ID. NO.: 1 has an amino acid substitution selected from the group consisting of A36S substitution, S45F substitution, R47Q substitution, V50G substitution, G63C substitution, T65A substitution, S83Y substitution, Q90R substitution, C103Y substitution, V105I substitution, C111F substitution, H118Q substitution, L151V substitution, P176L substitution, K181E substitution, S183L substitution, Il84T substitution, R190Q substitution, R206H substitution, Q266R substitution, H277L substitution, Q278P substitution, D291V substitution, A299V substitution, I305V substitution, A322T substitution, S336P substitution, G347A substitution, M350T substitution, L354F substitution, and F36L substitution, or a combination thereof.” Claim 2 recites, “ wherein the mRNA coding region encodes the polypeptide of SEQ. ID. NO.: 1.” SEQ ID NO: 1 does not include any variable residues. Thus, claim 2 requires the exact sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 to be present, whereas the dependent claim is broader in scope and encompasses many different substitutions relative to the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1. Accordingly, the dependent claim does not include all of the limitations of the claim from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment to the claim in the reply filed 6/19/2025. The amendment clarifies which sequences are protein and which are RNA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeRosa et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0110857 A1; see the entire reference) in view of Simon-Chazottes et al (Virology, Vol. 417, pages 147-153, 2011; see the entire reference) and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al (Japanese Journal of Veterinary Research, Vol. 60, pages 95-103, 2012), as evidenced by GenBank Accession No. NP_001077394.1 (publicly available May 2017, printed as pages 1/3-3/3).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 13, DeRosa et al teach methods for effective delivery of messenger RNA (mRNA) to the central nervous system (CNS), by delivering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an mRNA encoding a protein encapsulated within a liposome, such that the administering of the composition results in the intracellular delivery of mRNA in neurons in the brain and/or spinal cord (e.g., Abstract). DeRosa et al teach that the method is useful for the treatment of CNS diseases, disorders or conditions, including Cree encephalitis, and Rasmussen’s Encephalitis (e.g., Abstract; paragraph [0103]). DeRosa et al teach that the mRNA may be used to deliver a protein deficient in a CNS disease, disorder or condition (e.g., paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 8, DeRosa et al teach the method where the mRNA comprises a 5’ UTR and/or 3’ UTR sequence, such as sequences derived from mRNA molecules which are stable, such as globin, actin, GAPDH, tubulin, histone, or citric acid cycle enzymes (e.g., paragraphs [0023] and [0143]-[0146]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, DeRosa et al teach the method where the mRNA encoding the therapeutic protein comprises one or more modified nucleotides, such as N-1-methyl pseudouridine (e.g., paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, DeRosa et al teach the method where the mRNA is a codon-optimized sequence (e.g., paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 14, DeRosa et al teach the method where DNS delivery comprises injection directly into the CNS and/or CSF, such as intrathecal injection (e.g., paragraphs [0191]-[0196]-[0203]).
DeRosa et al do not teach the method for the treatment of West Nile virus infection, where the mRNA encodes Mus musculus resistant 2’-5’-oligoadenylate synthetase 1b (rOas1b).
Simon-Chazottes et al teach that West Nile virus (WNV) is a positive-sense, single-stranded RNA flavivirus that infects a wide range of vertebrate hosts and causes severe illness in humans, including encephalitis, meningitis, or flaccid paralysis (e.g., page 147, left column). Simon-Chazottes et al teach that in vitro experiments demonstrated that expression of full-length mouse OAS1B protein (rOas1b of the claims) but not the C-terminally truncated form inhibits WNV replication inside infected mouse cells (e.g., page 147, right column). Simon-Chazottes et al teach that there is mounting evidence that the OAS family may play a crucial role in antiviral host immunity to WNV, because, similar to mouse strains, genetic variations in human and horse OAS1 are risk factors for infection with neuropathogenic WNV (e.g., page 147, right column; page 149, right column). Simon-Chazottes et al teach expression of the cDNA corresponding to Oas1b mRNA expresses in resistant MBT/Pas mice via transgenesis in susceptible BALB/c mice, resulting in upregulation of Oas1b expression in BALB/c mice and resistance against lethal WNV-induced encephalitis (e.g., page 148, left column, 1st full paragraph). At the left column of page 151, Simon-Chazottes et al state the following:
Together, the results of knock-in and transgenesis experiments establish that expression of a full-length OAS1B protein is a cornerstone in the resistance to infection with flaviviruses.
Important for the outcome of the disease in transgenic made were the levels of Oas1bMBT mRNA in the brain prior to and after infection.
Thus, Simon-Chazottes et al teach the level of OAS1B mRNA in brain is important to resistance to WNV infection.
Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al teach the evaluation of antiviral activity of mouse Oas1b (rOas1b of the claims) and chicken OAS-A in hamster BHK-21 cells transfected with pmOas1b-FL-EGFP and ChOAS-A-FL, respectively (e.g., page 98, paragraph bridging columns; page 99). Tag-El-Din Hassan et al teach the mOas1b protein sequence of NP_001077394.1 (e.g., Fig. 1). Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al teach that both the chicken and mouse Oas1b proteins were effective at inhibiting replication of WNV in hamster BHK-21 cells (e.g., page 99, paragraph bridging columns). In contrast, Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al teach that human OASL has been shown to possess antiviral activity against single-stranded RNA viruses such as picornavirus and encephalomyocarditis viruses (e.g., page 101, left column, full paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods for effective delivery of messenger RNA (mRNA) to the central nervous system (CNS), by delivering to a subject in need thereof a composition comprising an mRNA encoding a protein of DeRosa et al to include the coding sequence of full length mouse Oas1b taught by Simon-Chazottes et al and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al, because DeRosa et al teach it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use mRNA encoding a protein for therapeutic purposes, including various forms of encephalitis, and Simon-Chazottes et al and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al teach that mouse Oas1b is capable of providing to resistant to West Nile Virus replication, which is known to result in encephalitis. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification, because Simon-Chazottes et al teach that the expression of full-length mouse Oas1b is “a cornerstone in the resistance to infection with flaviviruses.” See page 151, left column. Further Simon-Chazottes et al teach that what is important is Oas1b mRNA levels in the brain, and DeRosa et al specifically teach how to deliver mRNA to the brain for therapeutic purposes. Moreover, one would have had a reasonable expectation of success in administering the mouse Oasb1 mRNA to a human for the purpose of treating West Nile virus infection, because Tag-El-Din Hassan et al teach that mouse Oas1b is function for inhibition of West Nile virus replication across species, specifically demonstrating the nucleic acid encoding NP_001077394.1 is functional in hamster cells. Even the more distantly related chicken protein was function in hamster. Thus, one would have had a reasonable expectation of success in administering the mouse Oas1b mRNA, including mRNA encoding NP_001077394.1, to the brain of a human for the purpose of inhibiting West Nile virus replication.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of being able to inhibit West Nile virus replication in a human for therapeutic purposes.
Regarding claim 3, Tag-El-Din Hassan et al teach the mOas1b protein sequence of NP_001077394.1. Shown below is an alignment of the protein sequence of NP_001077394.1 (Query) and instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (Sbjct).
The alignment shows that the sequence of NP_001077394.1 is that of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 with Q266R, A322T, S336P and L354F substitution mutations.
Regarding claim 4, Tag-El-Din Hassan et al teach the mOas1b protein sequence of NP_001077394.1. Shown below is an alignment of the protein sequence of NP_001077394.1 (Query) and instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (Sbjct).
The alignment shows that the sequence of NP_001077394.1 is that of instant SEQ ID NO: 2.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeRosa et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0110857 A1; see the entire reference) in view of Simon-Chazottes et al (Virology, Vol. 417, pages 147-153, 2011; see the entire reference) and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al (Japanese Journal of Veterinary Research, Vol. 60, pages 95-103, 2012) as applied to claim1, 3, 8 and 10-14 above, and further in view of GenBank Accession No. Q60856.3 (publicly available June 2017, printed as pages 1/7-7/7; see the entire reference).
The combined teachings of DeRosa et al, Simon-Chazottes et al, and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al are described above and applied as before.
DeRosa et al, Simon-Chazottes et al, and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al do not teach the method where the mRNA encodes the Oas1b polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1.
Q60856.3 teaches an amino acid sequence of mouse Oas1b, which displays antiviral activity against flaviviruses such as West Nile virus (WNV) (e.g., page 3/7, Comment Section; enumerated amino acid sequence at page 7/7). The alignment of instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (Query) and Q60856.3 (Sbjct) is shown here below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of DeRosa et al, Simon-Chazottes et al, and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al to include an mRNA sequence encoding the mouse Oas1b protein of Q60856.3, because Simon-Chazottes et al and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al teach mouse Oas1b provides resistance to WNV, and Q60856.3 teaches that the specific mouse Oas1b sequence provides the same function. It would have been obvious to substitute one coding sequence for the other in order to achieve the predictable result of providing a sequence capable of treating WNV infection.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeRosa et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0110857 A1; see the entire reference) in view of Simon-Chazottes et al (Virology, Vol. 417, pages 147-153, 2011; see the entire reference) and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al (Japanese Journal of Veterinary Research, Vol. 60, pages 95-103, 2012) as applied to claims 1, 3, 8 and 10-14 above, and further in view of de Fougerolles et al (US Patent No. 9,533,047 B2; see the entire reference).
The combined teachings of DeRosa et al, Simon-Chazottes et al, and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al are described above and applied as before.
DeRosa et al, Simon-Chazottes et al, and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al do not teach the method where the 5’ UTR of the mRNA is SEQ ID NO: 6, and/or the 3’ UTR of the mRNA is SEQ ID NO: 24.
De Fougerolles et al teach pharmaceutical compositions containing modified mRNA (mmRNA), where the mmRNA is introduced into cells to modulate protein expression with enhanced efficiency of expression (e.g., column 2, lines 3-13; column 4, lines 65-67; column 5, lines 10-23). De Fougerolles et al teach that the mmRNAs can be used as therapeutic agents and can be administered to a subject to produce a therapeutic protein in the subject (e.g., column 13, lines 44-59). De Fougerolles et al teach that it is beneficial to provide a 5’ untranslated region (UTR) and/or a 3’ UTR in the mmRNA(e.g., column 10, lines 30-67). De Fougerolles et al teach that mmRNA is produced according to standard laboratory methods and materials, where the open reading frame of the gene of interest may be flanked by a 5’ UTR containing a strong Kozak translational initiation signal, and an alpha-globin 3’ UTR which may include an oligo(dT) sequence for templated addition of a poly-A tail, which is 160 nucleotides in length and encoded in the template for in vitro transcription (e.g., column 53, lines 10-31; column 60, lines 48-55). De Fougerolles et al specifically teach the use of the 5’ UTR and 3’ UTR sequence given in SEQ ID NO: 6 (e.g., column 64, lines 8-32).
SEQ ID NO: 6 of de Fougerolles et al (Sbjct) comprises the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 6 (Query):
SEQ ID NO: 6 of de Fougerolles et al (Sbjct) comprises the sequence of nucleotides 1-101 of instant SEQ ID NO: 24 (Query):
SEQ ID NO: 6 of de Fougerolles et al (Sbjct) is identical to nucleotides 1-50 and 1178-1284 of instant SEQ ID NO: 42 (Query):
The remaining sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 24 and (AAAAA) is present in the transcript by de Fougerolles et al, because de Fougerolles et al teach the addition of a polyA tail of 160 nucleotides (e.g., column 60, lines 48-55). Thus, de Fougerolles et al teach that it is within the skill of the art to produce mmRNA with the sequence of instant SEQ ID NOS: 6 and 24 flanking a coding sequence for an open reading frame.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combined teachings of DeRosa et al, Simon-Chazottes et al, and Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al to include the 5’ UTR, 3’ UTR and polyA sequences taught by de Fougerolles et al, because DeRosa et al teach the method where the mRNA comprises a 5’ UTR and/or 3’ UTR sequence, such as sequences derived from mRNA molecules which are stable, such as globin, and de Fougerolles et al teach it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use the sequence of 5’ UTR, 3’ UTR of SEQ ID NO: 6 with the addition of a polyA tail for the production of therapeutic mRNA, where the 3’ UTR is an alpha-globin 3’ UTR. One would have expected to use the specific sequences taught by de Fougerolles et al to provide UTR sequences known to function in the context of therapeutic mRNA. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to receive the expected benefit of including sequences deems as beneficial for enhanced protein production as taught by de Fougerolles et al.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeRosa et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0110857 A1; see the entire reference) in view of Simon-Chazottes et al (Virology, Vol. 417, pages 147-153, 2011; see the entire reference), Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al (Japanese Journal of Veterinary Research, Vol. 60, pages 95-103, 2012), and de Fougerolles et al (US Patent No. 9,533,047 B2; see the entire reference) as applied to claims 1, 3, 8, 10-14 and 21 above, and further in view of Chakraborty et al (US Patent No. 9,192,651 B2; see the entire reference).
The combined teachings of DeRosa et al, Simon-Chazottes et al, Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al and de Fougerolles et al are described above and applied as before. Further, SEQ ID NO: 6 of de Fougerolles et al (Sbjct) is identical to nucleotides 1-50 and 1178-1284 of instant SEQ ID NO: 42 (Query):
The remaining sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 42 (AAAAA) is present in the transcript by de Fougerolles et al, because de Fougerolles et al teach the addition of a polyA tail of 160 nucleotides (e.g., column 60, lines 48-55). Thus, de Fougerolles et al teach that it is within the skill of the art to produce mmRNA with the sequence of instant SEQ ID NOS: 6 and 24 flanking a coding sequence for an open reading frame. Moreover, de Fougerolles et al teach that the mmRNA are typically codon-optimized (e.g., column 86, lines 15-28).
Moreover, Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al teach mRNA encoding mouse Oas1b (rOas1b of the claims) expressed in cells transfected with pmOas1b-FL-EGFP (e.g., page 98, paragraph bridging columns; page 99). Tag-El-Din Hassan et al teach the mOas1b protein sequence of NP_001077394.1 (e.g., Fig. 1). Instant SEQ ID NO: 42 (Query) encodes the amino acid sequence of NP_001077394.1 (Sbjct):
DeRosa et al, Simon-Chazottes et al, Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al and de Fougerolles et al do not teach the method where the mRNA comprises the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 42. Specifically, the mRNA where the coding sequence is nucleotides 47-1174 of SEQ ID NO: 42 followed by the stop codon UAG.
Chakraborty et al teach methods for the therapeutic use of mRNA molecules (e.g., Abstract). Chakraborty et al teach that the mRNA is constructed by selecting a target sequence encoding a polypeptide, where the target polynucleotide sequence is codon optimized (e.g., paragraph bridging columns 36-37; column 37). Chakraborty et al teach that codon optimization methods are known in the art and may be useful in efforts to achieve one or more of several goals, including increase mRNA stability and adjust translational rates (e.g., column 37, line 30 to column 38, line 40). Chakraborty et al teach that codon optimization tools, algorithms and services are known in the art (e.g., column 37, lines 46-51). Further, Chakraborty et al teach it is beneficial to flank the open reading frame (ORF) encoding the protein with 5’ UTR and/or 3’ UTR (e.g., column 38, lines 40-67). Chakraborty et al teach that Tables 2 and 3 provide a listing of exemplary UTRs that can be used in the primary construct as flanking regions, where Table 2 shows 5’ UTRs and Table 3 shows 3’ UTRs (e.g., columns 39-52). Table 2 shows the 5’ UTR sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (Db), which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 6 (Qy) when transcribed to mRNA.
Chakraborty et al teach SEQ ID NO: 9 for the alpha-globin 3’ UTR in table 3. SEQ ID NO: 9 (Db) is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 24 (Qy) when transcribed into mRNA.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of DeRosa et al, Simon-Chazottes et al, Tag-El-Din-Hassan et al and de Fougerolles et al to include the codon optimization of the sequence encoding mouse Oas1b taught by Tag-El-Din Hassan et al along with an AUG stop codon, because both de Fougerolles et al and Chakraborty et al teach it is within the ordinary skill in the art to use mRNA sequences that have been codon optimized for the production of therapeutic mRNA. Chakraborty et al teach that codon optimization methods were known in the art and routinely applied for stability and control of expression, and one could have pursued these known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. Due to codon degeneracy, there is a finite number of predictable solutions to alter the codons encoding the mouse Oas1b protein with a stop codon. One would have sought out these solutions in order to provide stability and increased expression of the mouse Oas1b protein in the therapeutic context.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8, 10-14 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Jennifer Dunston
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1637
/Jennifer Dunston/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1637