DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 16are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VEDANI (WO 2009/130725) in view of Harland (US 2001/0022332)
Re Claims 1; Vedani discloses a supply system (VH) for supplying electrical voltage, the supply system comprising:
at least one voltage supply (40) which has a voltage source; (Par 5 line 38-35) and at least two electrical load units (10), wherein:
the electrical load units each have a first input (12), a second input (11) and an electrical load (10 itself is the load. For instance, the detecting units 10 are preferably mounted on a bumper (or both bumpers) of a vehicle; more generally the detecting units 10 are mounted on the vehicle in such a manner that they can detect the presence of obstacles in the region in front of and/or in the region at the back of the vehicle itself. Page 4 line 27-35);
each of the electrical load units has a switch (15) which is arranged between the respective first (12) and the respective second inputs (11); (Fig. 1)
at least one electrical load unit is electrically coupled to the voltage supply; (Fig. 1)
the electrical loads are electrically connected in parallel with each other; (Fig. 1)
the electrical loads are connected between a supply line and ground; (Fig. 1)
each of the electrical load units is configured to autonomously drive the respective switch; (Fig. 1 and also see Page 8 line 20-35) and the electrical loads are sensors, and the sensors are arranged along an object to be monitored (Page 4 line 27-35)
the supply system is free of any communication links between the electrical load units. (Fig. 1a, the communication is between 10 and 20 not between 10 and 10 “Preferably, the succession of detecting units 10 is arranged from the first end 51 of the conductive path 50 to the second end 52 of the conductive path 50, and the signals used for communication between the detecting units 10 and control unit 20 propagate from the first to the second ends 51. 52. Page 11 line 8-15”)
wherein the first input and the second input are each electrically connected to an electric valve having a diode polarized in such a way that the diode is interconnected from a supply line to the to the electrical load unit in a forward direction
Vedani does not disclose
The sensors being wheel sensor and the wheel sensors are arranged along railway tracks, the wheel sensor are configured to detect vehicle moving along railway tracks and each wheel sensor is fixed to the railway tracks and the supply system extends over a length of several meters or several kilometers
However, Harland the sensors being wheel sensor and the wheel sensors are arranged along railway tracks, the wheel sensor are configured to detect vehicle moving along railway tracks and each wheel sensor is fixed to the railway tracks and the supply system extends over a length of several meters or several kilometers (Par 0017 and 34)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have coupled the sensors of Harland with the device of Vedani in order to enhance safety and convenience by detecting objects in the vehicle's surroundings, aiding in parking, and potentially preventing accidents.
Re Claim 2; Vedani discloses wherein the supply has at least one further voltage supply (VL 20) with a further voltage source. (Fig. 1)
Re Claim 3; Vedani discloses wherein each switch (15) is exclusively driven by information of the associated electrical load unit. (Page 6 line 11-35)
Re Claim 4; Vedani discloses wherein the voltage supply comprises a current limitation or a power limitation (60) (Fig. 1).
Re Claim 5; Vedani discloses wherein in each case two electrical load units are electrically connected to one another via exactly one supply line (Fig. 1).
Re Claim 6 and 7; Vedani discloses wherein the electrical loads each comprise a sensor In particular, each detecting unit is preferably provided with a sensor 16, adapted to generate radiation and to receive. corresponding reflected radiation so that the presence/closeness of obstacles can be determined. Preferably, sensor 16 can be able to determine the distance to which an obstacle is, relative to the vehicle on which apparatus 1 is mounted.
As diagrammatically shown in Fig. 2, sensor 16 can comprise an ultrasonic transducer 16a,- coupled to a transformer 16b interlocked with a pair of transistors 16c preferably operated in a push-pull modal (Fig. 2 and Page 4)
Vedani does not disclose wherein the electrical loads each comprise a sensor, an inductive sensor and wherein each of the electrical load units comprises an energy storage.
However, electrical load comprises an inductive sensor and an energy storage was known and it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to powered the loads with the additional power when the main power fails in order to provide a redundant power system. Furthermore, An inductive sensor is a device that uses the principle of electromagnetic induction to detect or measure objects and would have been obvious to have replaced the sensor with an inductive sensor since they are functionally equivalent.
Re Claim 8; Vedani discloses wherein the first inputs and the second inputs are each electrically connected to an electric valve (the diode between 12 and 13, Fig. 2).
Re Claim 9; Vedani discloses wherein the electric valves each comprise a diode or a transistor. (Fig. 2)
Re Claim 16; Vedani discloses wherein for each electrical load unit, opening of the respective switch is to lead to an interruption of a supply path (Fig. 1)
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vedani in view of Harland and further in view of Vogel (US 2011/0317321)
Re Claim10; Vedani discloses a switch as disclose above.
Hida does not disclose wherein a resistor is connected in parallel with each switch.
However, Vogel discloses resistor (9) is connected in parallel with each switch. (Fig. 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have a resistor with the switch in order to guide and limit a short-circuit current in the event of a short circuit. (Par 0046)
Claim(s) 11-15 and 18-19are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Vedani in view of Harland and further in view of Brosh et al (US 5,962,929)
Re Claim 11; Vedani discloses wherein each of the electrical load units as discussed above.
Vedani does not disclose comprises a measuring device (30) configured to determine the voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit. (Fig. 2).
However, Brosh discloses a measuring device (30) configured to determine the voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit. (Fig. 2 and also see Col. 2 Line 29-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have included a measuring device (30) configured to determine the voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit in order to compares the voltage across the switch to a reference. If the voltage across the switch exceeds the reference voltage, an output from the detector 30 triggers conduction of an SCR 32, which acts as a semiconductor switch providing a low resistance path for the current source 10 around the switch 16
Re Claim 12; Vedani discloses wherein each of the electrical load units is adapted to drive the respective switch in dependence of the voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit. (Fig. 1, (Page 6 line 11-35)
Re Claim 13; Brosh discloses wherein for each electrical load unit the switch is opened when the voltage applied to the electrical load unit is below a predefinable minimum value. (Col. 2 line 15-37)
Re Claim 14 and 15; Brosh disclose a switch opening and closing as discussed above.
Brosh does not disclose the opening of the switch takes place after a predefinable period of time when the voltage applied to the electrical load unit is below or above a predefinable minimum value.
However, opening and closing a switch based on a threshold was known and it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have controlled the switch based on the threshold in order to drive the switch effectively so that the load is powered effectively.
Re Claims 18; Vedani discloses a supply system (VH) for supplying electrical voltage, the supply system comprising:
at least one voltage supply (40) which has a voltage source; (Par 5 line 38-35) and at least two electrical load units (10), wherein:
the electrical load units each have a first input (12), a second input (11) and an electrical load (10 itself is the load. For instance, the detecting units 10 are preferably mounted on a bumper (or both bumpers) of a vehicle; more generally the detecting units 10 are mounted on the vehicle in such a manner that they can detect the presence of obstacles in the region in front of and/or in the region at the back of the vehicle itself. Page 4 line 27-35);
each of the electrical load units has a switch (15) which is arranged between the respective first (12) and the respective second inputs (11); (Fig. 1)
at least one electrical load unit is electrically coupled to the voltage supply; (Fig. 1)
the electrical loads are electrically connected in parallel with each other; (Fig. 1)
the electrical loads are connected between a supply line and ground; (Fig. 1)
each of the electrical load units is configured to autonomously drive the respective switch; (Fig. 1 and also see Page 8 line 20-35) and the electrical loads are sensors, and the sensors are arranged along an object to be monitored (Page 4 line 27-35)
the supply system is free of any communication links between the electrical load units. (Fig. 1a, the communication is between 10 and 20 not between 10 and 10 “Preferably, the succession of detecting units 10 is arranged from the first end 51 of the conductive path 50 to the second end 52 of the conductive path 50, and the signals used for communication between the detecting units 10 and control unit 20 propagate from the first to the second ends 51. 52. Page 11 line 8-15”)
Vedani does not disclose
The sensors being wheel sensor and the wheel sensors are arranged along railway tracks, the wheel sensor are configured to detect vehicle moving along railway tracks and each wheel sensor is fixed to the railway tracks and the supply system extends over a length of several meters or several kilometers.
wherein the first input and the second input are each electrically connected to an electric valve having a diode polarized in such a way that the diode is interconnected from a supply line to the to the electrical load unit in a forward direction
However, Harland the sensors being wheel sensor and the wheel sensors are arranged along railway tracks, the wheel sensor are configured to detect vehicle moving along railway tracks and each wheel sensor is fixed to the railway tracks and the supply system extends over a length of several meters or several kilometers (Par 0017 and 34)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have coupled the sensors of Harland with the device of Vedani in order to enhance safety and convenience by detecting objects in the vehicle's surroundings, aiding in parking, and potentially preventing accidents.
The combination does not disclose wherein the first input and the second input (the nodes before and after the switch) are each electrically connected to an electric valve having a diode polarized (32) in such a way that the diode is interconnected from a supply line to the to the electrical load unit in a forward direction
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have added a diode to the input in order to provide protection of feedback current to the circuit.
Re Claims 19; Vedani discloses a supply system (VH) for supplying electrical voltage, the supply system comprising:
at least one voltage supply (40) which has a voltage source; (Par 5 line 38-35) and at least two electrical load units (10), wherein:
the electrical load units each have a first input (12), a second input (11) and an electrical load (10 itself is the load. For instance, the detecting units 10 are preferably mounted on a bumper (or both bumpers) of a vehicle; more generally the detecting units 10 are mounted on the vehicle in such a manner that they can detect the presence of obstacles in the region in front of and/or in the region at the back of the vehicle itself. Page 4 line 27-35);
each of the electrical load units has a switch (15) which is arranged between the respective first (12) and the respective second inputs (11); (Fig. 1)
at least one electrical load unit is electrically coupled to the voltage supply; (Fig. 1)
the electrical loads are electrically connected in parallel with each other; (Fig. 1)
the electrical loads are connected between a supply line and ground; (Fig. 1)
each of the electrical load units is configured to autonomously drive the respective switch; (Fig. 1 and also see Page 8 line 20-35) and the electrical loads are sensors, and the sensors are arranged along an object to be monitored (Page 4 line 27-35)
the supply system is free of any communication links between the electrical load units. (Fig. 1a, the communication is between 10 and 20 not between 10 and 10 “Preferably, the succession of detecting units 10 is arranged from the first end 51 of the conductive path 50 to the second end 52 of the conductive path 50, and the signals used for communication between the detecting units 10 and control unit 20 propagate from the first to the second ends 51. 52. Page 11 line 8-15”)
wherein the first input and the second input are each electrically connected to an electric valve having a diode polarized in such a way that the diode is interconnected from a supply line to the to the electrical load unit in a forward direction
Vedani does not disclose
The sensors being wheel sensor and the wheel sensors are arranged along railway tracks, the wheel sensor are configured to detect vehicle moving along railway tracks and each wheel sensor is fixed to the railway tracks and the supply system extends over a length of several meters or several kilometers
each of the electrical load units comprises a measuring device configured to determine a voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit; and each of the electrical load units is adapted to drive the respective switch, which is the only switch between the respective first and the respective second inputs, in dependence of the voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit.
However, Harland the sensors being wheel sensor and the wheel sensors are arranged along railway tracks, the wheel sensor are configured to detect vehicle moving along railway tracks and each wheel sensor is fixed to the railway tracks and the supply system extends over a length of several meters or several kilometers (Par 0017 and 34)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have coupled the sensors of Harland with the device of Vedani in order to enhance safety and convenience by detecting objects in the vehicle's surroundings, aiding in parking, and potentially preventing accidents.
The combination does not disclose each of the electrical load units comprises a measuring device configured to determine a voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit; and each of the electrical load units is adapted to drive the respective switch, which is the only switch between the respective first and the respective second inputs, in dependence of the voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit.
Brosh discloses each of the electrical load units comprises a measuring device (24, 30) configured to determine a voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit; and each of the electrical load units is adapted to drive the respective switch (16), which is the only switch between the respective first and the respective second inputs, in dependence of the voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit. (Col. 2 lime 36-50)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have detect voltage determine a voltage applied to the respective electrical load unit in order to protect the load from excessive voltage and/or power.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant begins by asserting that Vedam does not disclose wheel sensors and therefore cannot satisfy the requirement that the electrical loads are wheel sensors arranged along railway tracks. This argument treats “wheel sensor” as a rigid structural term, even though the claim defines the sensor entirely by its function: detecting vehicles moving along railway tracks. Vedam’s detecting units perform precisely this function. They are fixed along the track, they detect the presence of a vehicle, and they generate detection signals. A person of ordinary skill would readily understand that Vedam’s detecting units are functional equivalents of the claimed wheel sensors. The applicant’s attempt to distinguish Vedam on the basis of nomenclature rather than functionality is not persuasive.
The applicant next argues that Vedam’s conductive path 50 is a communication link and therefore cannot satisfy the requirement that the supply system be free of communication links between the electrical loads and the supply system. This argument mischaracterizes Vedam. The conductive path 50 is a shared line that carries both power and data, which is a common architecture in distributed railway detection systems. The claim does not prohibit a supply line that also carries data; it prohibits communication links between the electrical loads and the supply system. Vedam’s communication occurs between the detecting units and the control unit, not between the loads and the supply system. The applicant’s interpretation is therefore too narrow and does not align with how supply lines are understood in the art.
The applicant then asserts that Hartland does not disclose supply lines between wheel counting stations because the figure does not explicitly depict them. This argument relies on an absence of illustration rather than an absence of teaching. Hartland clearly describes wheel counting stations that require electrical power and a computer 90 connected to multiple stations. The electrical supply infrastructure is inherent in the system. A person of ordinary skill would not interpret the lack of a drawn line in a figure as evidence that no supply line exists. The applicant’s argument is therefore not grounded in a reasonable reading of Hartland.
When Vedam and Hartland are considered together, the combination readily teaches the claimed supply system. Vedam provides a distributed supply architecture, and Hartland provides wheel sensors arranged along a track. A person of ordinary skill would naturally combine these teachings to create a supply system that powers wheel sensors without requiring communication links between the loads and the supply system. The applicant’s argument that the combination “either leads to a supply line that is also a communication link or to a setup without a supply line” is based on an artificially constrained reading of the references. The combination remains fully capable of meeting the limitations of Claim 1.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments for Claim 18
The applicant’s traversal of Claim 18 centers on the diode limitation. They argue that Vedam’s diode is reverse‑biased rather than forward‑biased and therefore cannot meet the requirement that the diode be polarized in such a way that it is interconnected from the supply line to the electrical load unit in a forward direction. This argument is overly literal. Vedam teaches a diode used to control current flow direction and protect the detecting unit. The specific polarity shown in one embodiment does not limit the obviousness of using a diode in the forward direction for current control. Reversing diode polarity is a routine design choice for a person of ordinary skill. The applicant’s argument treats the disclosed embodiment as a rigid constraint rather than an example.
The applicant also argues that Hartland does not disclose any diode and therefore cannot cure Vedam’s alleged deficiency. This misunderstands the role of Hartland in the combination. Hartland is relied upon for wheel sensors and track arrangement, not diode circuitry. Under §103, the references do not need to individually teach all limitations. They must collectively render the claim obvious. The applicant’s argument incorrectly applies an element‑by‑element standard to individual references rather than to the combination.
When Vedam’s diode‑based current control is combined with Hartland’s distributed wheel sensors, the result is an obvious system in which diodes are used to prevent backflow and ensure stable supply to sensors arranged along a track. This is a straightforward engineering adaptation. The applicant’s argument does not undermine the motivation to combine or the teachings of the references.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments for Claim 19
The applicant’s traversal of Claim 19 focuses on voltage measurement and voltage‑dependent switching. They argue that Vedam does not teach a measuring device configured to determine voltage applied to each load unit and that Vedam’s switch is not driven in dependence on voltage. This argument treats voltage measurement as a specialized, non‑obvious feature, even though measuring voltage is a routine and foundational electrical engineering practice. Vedam teaches detecting units that monitor electrical conditions and switches that operate based on electrical state. Adding voltage measurement to such a system is a trivial modification for a person of ordinary skill. The applicant’s argument artificially elevates a basic engineering function into a non‑obvious feature.
The applicant also argues that Hartland does not teach voltage measurement or switching and therefore cannot cure Vedam’s alleged deficiency. As with Claim 18, this argument incorrectly assumes that each reference must individually teach all limitations. Hartland contributes the distributed wheel sensors and track arrangement; it is not relied upon for voltage measurement.
The applicant’s argument regarding Brosh is similarly unpersuasive. They assert that Brosh teaches current‑dependent SCR control rather than voltage‑dependent switching. However, Brosh teaches electrical load control based on measured electrical parameters and the use of semiconductor switching devices. Adapting Brosh’s current‑dependent control to voltage‑dependent control is a routine modification. A person of ordinary skill would readily understand how to implement voltage‑based switching using the same architecture. The applicant’s argument does not meaningfully distinguish Brosh.
When Vedam, Hartland, and Brosh are considered together, they collectively teach or render obvious a system in which distributed electrical load units measure voltage and drive switches based on that voltage. The applicant’s traversal does not overcome the rejection.
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
07/15/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836