Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims filed on 12/23/2025 are acknowledged and entered. According to the Amendments to the claims, claims 9-12 has /have been cancelled previously. Accordingly, claims 1-8 and 13-16 are pending in the application. An action on the merits for claims 1-8 and 13-16 are as follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapoor et al. (US 2006/0165552 A1) in view of LEE et al. (US 2016/0271739 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Kapoor et al. disclose a solid wire (electrode of the present invention can be a solid wire electrode, [0007]) for gas metal arc welding (suitable welding means and methods such as… gas metal arc welding, [0029]), comprising a chemical composition containing, in mass%:
C: 0.2 % to 0.8 % (0-0.6 %, [0014]),
Si: 0.15 % to 0.90 % (0.3 %, [0014]),
Mn: (0-4 %, [0014]),
P: 0.03 % or less (0-0.06 %, [0014]),
S: 0.03 % or less (0-0.1 %, [0014]),
Ni: 0.01 % to 10.00 % (0-26 %, [0014]),
Cr: 0.4 % to 4.0 % (0-25 %, [0014]),
Mo: 0.01 % to 3.50 % (0-7 %, [0014]),
B: 0.0001 % or more and less than 0.0010 % (0-1 %, [0014]),
N: 0.003 % to 0.12 % (0-0.4 %, [0014]),
V: 0.001 % to 0.04 % (0-0.5 %, [0014]),
with the balance consisting of Fe (Iron: 60-99.9 %, [0014]) and inevitable impurities (see details under [0014]).
Kapoor et al. disclose the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Mn: 17.0 % to 28.0 %.
LEE et al. further teach a solid wire for gas metal arc welding (gas metal arc welding had the same compositions as the submerged arc welding solid wires of Example 2, [0106]), comprising a chemical composition containing, in mass%: Mn: 17.0 % to 28.0 %. (manganese (Mn): 15% to 32%, [0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kapoor et al. with LEE et al.’s further teaching of Mn: 17.0 % to 28.0 %; because LEE et al. teach, in Para. [0029] of providing an excellent solid wire including manganese within a certain range for a formation of austenite and with a relatively inexpensive price.
Regarding Independent Claim 5, Kapoor et al. disclose a solid wire (electrode of the present invention can be a solid wire electrode, [0007]) for gas metal arc welding (suitable welding means and methods such as… gas metal arc welding, [0029]), comprising a chemical composition containing, in mass%:
C: 0.2 % to 0.8 % (0-0.6 %, [0014]),
Si: 0.15 % to 0.90 % (0.3 %, [0014]),
Mn: (0-4 %, [0014]),
P: 0.03 % or less (0-0.06 %, [0014]),
S: 0.03 % or less (0-0.1 %, [0014]),
Ni: 0.01 % to 10.00 % (0-26 %, [0014]),
Cr: 0.4 % to 4.0 % (0-25 %, [0014]),
Mo: 0.01 % to 3.50 % (0-7 %, [0014]),
B: 0.0001 % or more and less than 0.0010 % (0-1 %, [0014]),
N: 0.003 % to 0.12 % (0-0.4 %, [0014]),
with the balance consisting of Fe (Iron: 60-99.9 %, [0014]) and inevitable impurities (see details under [0014]).
Kapoor et al. disclose the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above; except does not disclose Mn: 17.0 % to 28.0 %.
LEE et al. further teach a solid wire for gas metal arc welding (gas metal arc welding had the same compositions as the submerged arc welding solid wires of Example 2, [0106]), comprising a chemical composition containing, in mass%: Mn: 17.0 % to 28.0 %. (manganese (Mn): 15% to 32%, [0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kapoor et al. with LEE et al.’s further teaching of Mn: 17.0 % to 28.0 %; because LEE et al. teach, in Para. [0029] of providing an excellent solid wire including manganese within a certain range for a formation of austenite and with a relatively inexpensive price.
Regarding Claims 2-4, 6-8 and 13-16, Kapoor et al. in view of Amata et al. teach the invention as claimed and as discussed above, and Kapoor et al. further disclose:
Claim 2, wherein the chemical composition further contains, in mass%, at least one selected from the group consisting of Ti: 0.04 % or less (0-0.7 %, [0014]) and Nb: 0. 04 % or less.
Claim 3, wherein the chemical composition further contains, in mass%, at least one selected from the group consisting of Cu: 1.0 % or less, Al: 0.1 % or less (0-0.6 %, [0014]), Ca: 0.01 % or less, and Rare Earth Metals (REM): 0.02 % or less.
Claim 4, wherein the chemical composition further contains, in mass%, at least one selected from the group consisting of Cu: 1.0 % or less, Al: 0.1 % or less (0-0.6 %, [0014]), Ca: 0.01 % or less, and Rare Earth Metals (REM): 0.02 % or less.
Claim 6, wherein the chemical composition further contains, in mass%, at least one selected from the group consisting of V: 0.04 % or less, Ti: 0.04 % or less (0-0.7 %, [0014]) and Nb: 0. 04 % or less.
Claim 7, wherein the chemical composition further contains, in mass%, at least one selected from the group consisting of Cu: 1.0 % or less, Al: 0.1 % or less (0-0.6 %, [0014]), Ca: 0.01 % or less, and Rare Earth Metals (REM): 0.02 % or less.
Claim 8, wherein the chemical composition further contains, in mass%, at least one selected from the group consisting of Cu: 1.0 % or less, Al: 0.1 % or less (0-0.6 %, [0014]), Ca: 0.01 % or less, and Rare Earth Metals (REM): 0.02 % or less.
Claim 13, wherein the solid wire provides a weld metal having an absorbed energy vE-196 in a Charpy impact test at a test temperature of -196 °C is 28 J or more. Clearly, “the solid wire” is capable of “provides a weld metal having an absorbed energy vE-196 in a Charpy impact test at a test temperature of -196 °C is 28 J or more” as claimed. Note: since the combination of cited prior art teach all the structure limitation of the claim already, and when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claim, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01).
Claim 14, wherein the solid wire provides a weld metal having an absorbed energy vE-196 in a Charpy impact test at a test temperature of -196 °C is 28 J or more. Clearly, “the solid wire” is capable of “provides a weld metal having an absorbed energy vE-196 in a Charpy impact test at a test temperature of -196 °C is 28 J or more” as claimed. Note: since the combination of cited prior art teach all the structure limitation of the claim already, and when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claim, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01).
Claim 15, wherein the solid wire provides a weld metal having an absorbed energy vE-196 in a Charpy impact test at a test temperature of -196 °C is 28 J or more. Clearly, “the solid wire” is capable of “provides a weld metal having an absorbed energy vE-196 in a Charpy impact test at a test temperature of -196 °C is 28 J or more” as claimed. Note: since the combination of cited prior art teach all the structure limitation of the claim already, and when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claim, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01).
Claim 16, wherein the solid wire provides a weld metal having an absorbed energy vE-196 in a Charpy impact test at a test temperature of -196 °C is 28 J or more. Clearly, “the solid wire” is capable of “provides a weld metal having an absorbed energy vE-196 in a Charpy impact test at a test temperature of -196 °C is 28 J or more” as claimed. Note: since the combination of cited prior art teach all the structure limitation of the claim already, and when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claim, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112.01).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action as stated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is advised to refer to the Notice of References Cited for pertinent prior art.
/KUANGYUE CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761