DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
1. Receipt of Applicants’ amendments/remarks filed 3/19/2026 are acknowledged. The current Office Action will replace the one mailed 12/23/2025.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
2. Information Disclosure Statement filed 1/21/2026 is acknowledged.
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
3. Rejections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-31 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stack (US 20080044479) in view of Patel et al. (WO 2007120608), GP 2587894, Carnell et al. (US Patent 8815952) and Pedersen et al. (US 20150272124).
Stack (US 20080044479) (hereinafter Stack) discloses a composition comprising water, chlorhexidine digluconate, cetyl alcohol, propylene glycol (1,2 propane diol a C3 alcohol) and triethanolamine (Example 1 table 1, para 0036). The chlorohexidine is present in an amount of 0.1-7 wt % (e.g., at least 0.05 wt %). Stack discloses the formulations can comprise a mixture of solvents. In some embodiments the formulation can comprise about 75 % PG and 25 % water (para 0132). The formulations include acrylic polymers (para 0030). The formulation includes use of chelating agents (e.g., VERSENE 100 (para 0032).
Stack does not disclose the chelating agent of claims 27 and 43. Patel et al. (WO 2007120608) (hereinafter Patel et al.) disclose chelating agents (disodium EDTA) can heighten the susceptibility of bacteria and other organisms to the antiseptic effects of the anti-microbial agent, thereby rendering the composition more effective in combating and/or preventing infection without the necessity of increasing the levels of the anti-microbial agent contained therein (para 0023). Disodium EDTA has the formation constant of claim 27 as disclosed in the instant specification. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include chelating agents such as disodium EDTA in the compositions of Stack. One would have been motivated to heighten the susceptibility of bacteria to the antiseptic effects of the anti-microbial agent.
Patel et al. (WO 2007120608) (hereinafter Patel et al.) disclose chelating agents (disodium EDTA) can heighten the susceptibility of bacteria and other organisms to the antiseptic effects of the anti-microbial agent, thereby rendering the composition more effective in combating and/or preventing infection without the necessity of increasing the levels of the anti-microbial agent contained therein (para 0023). Disodium EDTA has the formation constant of claim 27 as disclosed in the instant specification. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include chelating agents such as disodium EDTA in the compositions of Stack. One would have been motivated to heighten the susceptibility of bacteria to the antiseptic effects of the anti-microbial agent.
Stack does not disclose the chelating agent is present in an amount of 25 ppm to 100 ppm.
GP 2587894 disclose sanitization compositions containing a chelating agent of at least 0.01 % (100 ppm) (page 4,lines 17-20). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize the amount of chelating agent. One would have been motivated to add the desired amount of chelating agent to enhance the effectiveness of the antimicrobial agent.
Stack does not disclose trisodium HEDTA.
Carnell et al. (US Patent 8815952) (hereinafter Carnell et al.) disclose chelating agents such as disodium EDTA or trisodium HEDTA (col. 3, line 62-col. 4 line 36).
Pedersen et al. (US 20150272124) (hereinafter Pedersen et al.) disclose a chelating agent is a molecule capable of coordinating (binding) the metal ions commonly found in water sources to prevent the metal ions from interfering with the action of other ingredients and Examples include EDTA (para 0098-0099).These can be present from 10 ppm to 20,000 ppm (claim 26).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute the disodium EDTA for trisodium HEDTA as taught in Carnell et al. and Peterson et al. One would have been motivated to do so because simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results as both are art recognized chelating agents. The amounts of chelating agent that may be present overlaps with the claimed ppm.
5. Claims 27-38 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modak et al. (US 20200352991) in view of Patel et al. (WO 2007120608), Huang et al. (US 20070048345), GP 2587894-as cited on the IDS, Carnell et al. (US Patent 8815952) and Pedersen et al. (US 20150272124).
Modak et al. (US 20200352991) (hereinafter Modak et al.) disclose film forming formulations with antimicrobial agents for inhibiting bacterial growth (abstract). The reference teaches the compositions can contain solvents such as ethanol from 20 to 80 % (para 0170) and that the compositions contain water from 1 to 90 % (para 0171). The compositions contain chlorhexidine 1 % (para 0190, 0333). Chlorhexidine glucanate is disclosed (tables of Ex 15 and Ex 16). Moda et al. disclose that cellulose polymers include cellulose in amounts from 0.1 to 5 % (para 0070).
Modak et al. does not disclose chelating agents.
Patel et al. (WO 2007120608) (hereinafter Patel et al.) disclose chelating agents (disodium EDTA) can heighten the susceptibility of bacteria and other organisms to the antiseptic effects of the anti-microbial agent, thereby rendering the composition more effective in combating and/or preventing infection without the necessity of increasing the levels of the anti-microbial agent contained therein (para 0023). Disodium EDTA has the formation constant of claim 27 as disclosed in the instant specification. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to include chelating agents such as disodium EDTA in the compositions of Modak et al. One would have been motivated to heighten the susceptibility of bacteria to the antiseptic effects of the anti-microbial agent.
Modak et al. disclose chlorhexidine and its salts and chlorhexidine gluconate does not disclose chlorhexidine digluconate.
Huang et al. (US 20070048345) (hereinafter Huang et al.) disclose biocides include chlorhexidine gluconate and chlorhexidine digluconate (para 0010). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute the chlorhexidine gluconate for chlorhexidine digluconate. One would have bene motived to do so because both are biguanide compounds used as biocides and simple substitution of one antimicrobial for another would yield predictable results.
Modak et al. does no disclose the chelating agent is present in an amount of 25 ppm to 100 ppm.
GP 2587894 disclose sanitization compositions containing a chelating agent of at least 0.01 % (100 ppm) (page 4,lines 17-20). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to optimize the amount of chelating agent. One would have been motivated to add the desired amount of chelating agent to enhance the effectiveness of the antimicrobial agent.
Modak et al. does not disclose trisodium HEDTA.
Carnell et al. (US Patent 8815952) (hereinafter Carnell et al.) disclose chelating agents such as disodium EDTA or trisodium HEDTA (col. 3, line 62-col. 4 line 36).
Pedersen et al. (US 20150272124) (hereinafter Pedersen et al.) disclose a chelating agent is a molecule capable of coordinating (binding) the metal ions commonly found in water sources to prevent the metal ions from interfering with the action of other ingredients and Examples include EDTA (para 0098-0099).These can be present from 10 ppm to 20,000 ppm (claim 26).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute the disodium EDTA for trisodium HEDTA as taught in Carnell et al. and Peterson et al. One would have been motivated to do so because simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results as both are art recognized chelating agents. The amounts of chelating agent that may be present overlaps with the claimed ppm.
6. Claims 27 and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modak et al. (US 20200352991) in view of Patel et al. (WO 2007120608) and Huang et al. (US 20070048345), GP 2587894-as cited on the IDS, Carnell et al. (US Patent 8815952) and Pedersen et al. (US 20150272124) as applied to claims 27-38 and 49 above, and further in view of Hobbs et al. (US 20100282409).
Modak et al. does not disclose emollient esters. Hobbs et al. (US 20100292409) (hereinafter Hobbs et al.) disclose antimicrobial compositions that contain emollient esters that further provides enhanced antimicrobial efficacy (para 0118). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to further include emollient esters in the composition of Modak. One would have been motivated to do so to further provide for enhanced antimicrobial efficacy.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
7. Applicants arguments have been fully considered and are not persuasive for the reasons below. Applicants argue that the disclosure identifies a problem to which antimicrobial compositions comprising chlorhexidine are susceptible. The compositions can be susceptible to spontaneous crystallization of metal ions with chlorhexidine counterions, such as calcium gluconate crystallization, when formulated with high levels of solvent such as alcohol. The composition of claim 27 inhibits or reverses crystal formation. Examples 1-2 indicate that compositions containing 25 pm to 100 ppm HEDTA Na3 inhibited crystallization. The person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify Stack by substituting disodium EDTA with HEDTA Na3 and including any chelating agent in amount of 25 ppm to 100 ppm. Carnell lists about 70 chelating agents and fails to recognize that any chelating agent can reduce crystallization of calcium gluconate or another metal ions with chlorhexidine counterions. Najeet discloses a chelating agent may heighten the susceptibility of bacteria and other organisms to the antiseptic effects of other anti-microbial agents. Carwell et al. disclose concentrations of 500 ppm at minimum.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings.”); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991). Pedersen et al. (US 20150272124) disclose amounts of chelating agents can be present in overlapping amounts as claimed.
CORRESPONDENCE
/Danah Al-Awadi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615