DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant firstly argues (pages 4-5):
Amended claim 1 is directed to a method in which
(i) a photonic structure that determines the optical functionality (e.g., a Bragg grating) is first generated,
(ii) the optical functionality is then measured to determine deviations from specified target parameters (including central operating wavelength and/or dispersion), and
(iii) a temporally separate post-processing step performs a spatially variable refractive-index modification using beam shaping and/or beam deflection to correct the deviations, wherein the spatially variable refractive-index modification is superimposed on the structure that determines the optical functionality.
Applicant will show bellow that the cited art does not teach or suggest this claimed sequence and does not disclose a post-processing correction that is superimposed on an already-generated photonic structure.
Fells
Fells indeed teaches laser writing of fiber Bragg gratings and the use of an active optical element/adaptive optics to correct aberrations when focusing inside a fiber.
However, as explained below, the passages relied on by the Examiner (Fells [0027]-[0028] and [0030]) are directed to aberration correction / focus optimization, not to post-processing correction of an already-formed grating based on functional measurement.
In paragraphs [0027]-[0028] Fells implements a feedback loop to monitor the laser focus and iteratively alter the correction applied to the active optical element, explicitly even at energies below the modification threshold to avoid modifying the fiber during feedback.
In paragraph [0030] Fells determines/updates aberration correction taking into account a "laser modified region" so that the wavefront correction counters refractive effects when writing through already-modified material. This remains a statement about beam/wavefront correction to enable subsequent laser modification, not about correcting the already-written photonic structure's functional parameters via an overlaid index correction.
In other words, Fells may derive a focusing correction "based upon a laser modified region," but that correction is applied to the laser wavefront to facilitate subsequent writing steps, not to implement the claimed post-processing step that superimposes a spatially variable index modification onto the existing structure to correct measured deviations of optical functionality.
The Examiner's mapping of "superimposed" to the fact that an FBG is formed by a series of index modifications conflates initial fabrication with the claim's requirement that the post-processing index modification is superimposed on the already present functional structure. Amended claim 1 requires the overlaid correction on a pre-existing refractive-index profile (as described in the present application's post-processing concept), not merely that the structure itself consists of index changes.
Accordingly, Fells does not disclose and does not render obvious measuring functional target parameters of an already generated structure and then performing a temporally separate post-processing correction that is superimposed on that structure.
Examiner notes that in view of the present amendments Fells is relied upon for the initial creation of FBG features and guiding to the corrective function to FBG features. However secondary references provide reworking/superimposed working to the already created FBG features and processing techniques, see outlines of secondary references below.
Applicant secondly argues (page 6):
DiGiovanni
DiGiovanni teaches a different, macroscopic "broad-area" tuning approach and explicitly distinguishes from grating techniques. Therefore there is no motivation to combine DiGiovanni with Fells.
DiGiovanni addresses refractive index modification along longer fiber sections to tune macroscopic parameters (e.g., dispersion / zero-dispersion wavelength) using comparatively low "treatments." The Examiner cites DiGiovanni for repeating treatments to avoid over-correction.
But DiGiovanni expressly contrasts its low-dose treatment regime with grating- element exposure levels (kJ/cm2) typical for creating gratings, emphasizing that it is exactly not a grating-writing approach.
Thus, DiGiovanni's "repeat treatments until suitable" concept relates to broad refractive-index profile tuning, not to a localized, spatially variable, superimposed correction of a pre-existing photonic structure (FBG) written with high-precision focusing and adaptive optics.
Given this explicit distinction and the different physical regime, a skilled person would not reasonably look to DiGiovanni to modify Fells in the specific manner required by amended claim 1 (measured-function post-processing superimposed on an existing grating structure).
DiGiovanni distances itself from FBG techniques (column 4, line 58 to column 5, line 17, "In contrast, ..."). Precise focusing using adaptive optics - as in Fells' work - plays no role here.
Fells and DiGiovanni describe clearly distinct technical approaches. A combination of both writings is therefore not obvious.
Examiner notes that DiGiovanni is in view of the FBG creation/modification methods of Fells, DiGiovanni providing obviousness to continual correcting after measuring of grating. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Because DiGiovanni provides advantage to re-processing a fiberoptic cable in a continual re-checking manner so as not to overshoot corrections, it would be obvious to apply the method to existing fiber modification techniques.
Applicant thirdly argues (pages 6-7):
Kouda
Kouda does not teach post-correction of an already completed FBG by superimposed index modification. Kouda it addresses thermal measurement issues in a different context.
The Examiner relies on Kouda [0011]-[0012] for the statement that, due to heating, the device must be cooled to room temperature to measure characteristics "after correction and adjustment", implying post-processing measurement and correction.
Kouda indeed explains that temperature rise changes refractive index, requiring cooling before measuring characteristics, and frames an objective of precisely correcting refractive index of a core portion of an optical waveguide device.
However, Kouda does not disclose the claimed workflow of:
(1) generate an FBG (photonic structure determining optical functionality),
(2) measure the FBG's optical functionality vs target parameters, and
(3) perform a temporally separate post-processing step that superimposes a spatially variable refractive-index modification on the already generated structure using beam shaping/deflection via adaptive optics.
At most, Kouda provides a motivation to cool before measurement in a thermally affected process.
Kouda does not supply the missing teaching of superimposed corrective index modification on an existing photonic structure as now explicitly claimed. Instead, Kouda attempts to achieve the target values directly in the initial writing process.
Examiner notes that DiGiovanni provides obviousness for re-working of diffraction gratings as responded to argument above notes, Kouda provides taking measurements cold as noted by Applicant. Kouda also provides obviousness to an application of correcting refraction via laser controlled directly to refraction sites of fiber, the corrections techniques being obvious to material science known to generating refractions, providing reworking means to the desired reworking of DiGiovanni:
“When the energy density of the light absorbed in the local region exceeds a threshold value for altering the material constituting the core material, the bonding state of the atoms and molecules constituting the core material changes, and the vaporization occurs. , Melting, alteration, thermal expansion, etc. Then, the internal pressure in this local region rises sharply. Thereafter, if the core material cools and the structure is reorganized, it will be denser than before irradiation. When densification occurs, the refractive index increases. In this case, since the density around the portion to be increased in density is reduced but widely dispersed, the amount of change in the refractive index need not be considered very small.
If the power density of the laser light in the converging portion greatly exceeds the ablation threshold of the core material, the material in the central portion where the laser light is condensed enters the surrounding material, The parts are reduced in density. When the energy is further increased, the central portion becomes a hole. When the density is reduced, the refractive index decreases, and when the density is low, the refractive index is 1.0.
Becomes Although there is a portion where the density is reduced or the density is increased around the hole, the amount of change in the refractive index is small due to wide dispersion, and there is no need to consider it.
According to the above-described principle, the amount of change in the refractive index which has been increased and decreased can be controlled by controlling the energy of the pulse laser beam, the pulse repetition frequency, the irradiation time, the number of pulses, the scan speed, and the like. Is possible. The alteration threshold of the core portion of the optical waveguide differs depending on the type of the core material. Also, by controlling the laser irradiation conditions, The heat generated at the same time as the change in the refractive index can also serve as a heat treatment, and a color center that is unstable with respect to the heat generated when the refractive index changes can be removed by the heat.” Kouda [0016-0018].
Applicant fourthly argues (page 7):
Dugan
Dugan refers to integrated optics, in which waveguide structures can be created in substrates and then trimmed by index modification.
For example, a test signal can be coupled in to control the modification until a target value is reached.
FBGs are mentioned in Dugan (paragraph [0050]), but only as part of the pre-generated waveguide structure - not as a subsequently modified structure.
The structure trimmed by Dugan is the waveguide itself - not an FBG. However, the examiner transfers the trimming of the waveguide to a post-trimming of an FBG, as claimed in the invention.
Dugan thus describes "post-processing," but not the claimed sequence of Generate FBG - measure function - correction by superimposed index modification using adaptive optics. This transfer is submitted to be retrospective, namely based on hindsight, and not objectively justified by Dugan's disclosure.
Thus, even if two or more of the cited references are combined, the combination still fails to teach or suggest the claimed sequence and the feature that the post-processing spatially variable index modification is superimposed on the already generated structure determining optical functionality (e.g., an FBG), following measurement of deviations from specified target parameters. Accordingly, amended claim 1 is not obvious over the cited art.
Examiner notes that Dugan provides obviousness to correcting a waveguide FBG, Dugan is not cited to the invention as a whole and so does not need to alone include an operation of first creation of waveguide features.
Dugan is provided as a support reference to obviate modification of existing FBG undergoing laser induced modifications –“ It is now possible to selectively form various index of refraction profiles, both longitudinally and transversely within a waveguide. Further, often waveguides are merely a component of an optical device. In such cases, it may be desirable to alter the index of refraction of the waveguide to achieve a desired output of the optical device. FIG. 8A shows a portion of an optical device, an interleaver 200, in which the waveguide trimming technique described above may be used to improve or correct performance of a defective device.” Dugan [0051].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fells (US 2020/0166698), in view of Kouda (JP 2001/311847 A), DiGiovanni (US 8,591,777) and Dugan (US 2003/0035640).
Regarding claim 1, Fells discloses method for producing an optical component by means of laser radiation, comprising the following method steps:
- generating a structure (112) in the material of the component (110) which gives the component an optical functionality, whereby the optical functionality is that of a fiber Bragg grating (Bragg grating “One such optical component is the fibre Bragg grating (FBG)” [0003]),
feedback to optimise the focus at a laser pulse energy below a modification threshold of the fibre so as not to modify the fibre during the feedback process.” [0027-0028]),
whereby the target parameters determine a central operating wavelength a dispersion of the component or a combination thereof (operating wavelength and dispersion thereof being the operational function of a Bragg grating system, modification to the system would necessarily change a parameter thereof “a method of laser modification of an optical fibre comprising applying a correction to the laser to counteract aberration effects in the manufacture of fibre Bragg gratings.” [0001]),
- modifying the refractive index in the material of the component (Bragg grating as modified “The core 110 comprises index modifications 112, which together form a fibre” [0003]) by means of laser beams in a multiple step index cores or in the case of a photonic crystal fibre, multiple guides formed by omitting index modification in the periodic structure. The method may comprise forming a photonic crystal waveguide comprising a photonic band gap. The periodic structure may be written using the active optical element to generate multiple beams. The method may comprise introducing an asymmetry in the waveguide to make it polarisation maintaining, e.g, a non-circular step index waveguide. The method may comprise introducing an asymmetry in an otherwise periodic structure of a photonic crystal fibre.” [0051]),
wherein, in the and/or adaptive optics (deflection/focus/shaping optics as disclosed above [0016] [0117], as the fiber is processed a feedback loop occurs to modify laser beam responsive to changes of the processing “The method may comprise measuring the laser focus within the optical fibre and determining the correction based at least upon that measurement. The method may comprise imaging the laser focus within the fibre (e.g., using a camera and/or fluorescence) and modifying the correction applied to the active optical element based upon that measurement of the focus. Hence, the method may comprise implementing a feedback loop to monitor the focus within the fibre and modify the correction based upon the monitored focus. The method may include monitoring the focus within the fibre and using an algorithm to iteratively alter the correction applied to the active optical element in order to improve the focus within the fibre. The algorithm may repeatedly change the configuration of the active optical element (e.g. the display on an SLM) until the imaged focus spot size is at a minimum. The method may include carrying out feedback to optimise the focus at a laser pulse energy below a modification threshold of the fibre so as not to modify the fibre during the feedback process.” [0027-0028]
The refractive properties are accounted for “The method may include determining a correction based upon a laser modified region within the fibre. Thus, the aberration correction may counteract the refractive effects of a laser modified region within the fibre, in addition to counteracting the refractive effects of the (unmodified) fibre. The method may therefore be used to laser modify a region of the fibre using light which has passed through a laser modified region.” [0030]
Beam shaping “The elliptical focus arises because of diffraction and aberration may make the focus less elliptical by distorting it. The adaptive optics of the laser system may be used to precisely shape the beam focus 333 to a small point as per FIG. 6B. Moreover, using a high NA lens and applying both aberration correction and beam shaping corrections to the AOE 320, the focus 333 can be shaped to generate a uniform disc-shaped focus over the whole core 110.” [0117]), whereby the optical functionality is that of a fiber Bragg grating (“The method may therefore comprise modifying a plurality of regions within the fibre at predetermined separations to create a fibre Bragg grating” [0036]), whereby the target parameters determine a central operating wavelength and/or a dispersion of the component (“FBGs reflect light at a wavelength determined by the pitch of the refractive index modulation” [0004]).
Fells is silent regarding After generating the structure, checking and reworking refractive substrate.
However Digiovanni teaches After generating the structure repeatedly checking refractive index for subsequent post-process changes “A method of creating optical fiber to exhibit predetermined length-dependent characteristics (e.g., chromatic dispersion, polarization mode dispersion, cutoff wavelength, birefringence) includes the steps of: characterizing the fiber's selected characteristic(s) as a function of length; and performing a "treatment" which modifies the refractive index over the given length to adjust the defined parameter to fall within a defined tolerance window. These steps may be repeated one or more times until the measure of the parameter falls with the defined tolerance limits.” (abstract).
The advantage of After generating the structure, repeatedly making corrections post processing to a refractive index medium, is to ensure accuracy of the refractive index and/or to not over modifying the refractive index “The dosage and duration of each treatment is controlled to ensure that an over-correction is not created. In particular, one or more treatments may be applied to the fiber until the refractive index profile is suitable for the specific application.” (column 2-3, lines 59-4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fells and Digiovanni before him or her, to modify post the refractive forming step of Fells to include the corrective step of quantifying refraction before applying further refractive processing steps of Digiovanni, to ensure accuracy of tuning the refractive feature without over modifying a refractive index thereof.
Fells is silent regarding the processing of modifying diffraction structures as a post processing step at a time line beyond a function of feedback processing that is temporally separate.
However Kouda teaches a post processing step wherein the workpiece is cooled (temporally separate) so that already generated diffractive structures can be checked at use temperatures for deviations and applying laser corrections/adjustments thereto “A seventh problem is that when the excimer laser is irradiated to change the refractive index of the GeO 2 -doped glass, a part of the laser light is absorbed by the glass. That is, the temperature rises. When the temperature rises, Since the refractive index of the glass changes, it is necessary to cool the temperature of the device to room temperature in order to measure the device characteristics after correction and adjustment. Therefore, it was not possible to measure device characteristics on the spot while making corrections and adjustments.” [0011-0012]).
The advantage of providing a temporally separate post processing step to diffractive structures, is to improve detect deviations of the diffractive structure and to provide adjustments/corrections “Since the refractive index of the glass changes, it is necessary to cool the temperature of the device to room temperature in order to measure the device characteristics after correction and adjustment. Therefore, it was not possible to measure device characteristics on the spot while making corrections and adjustments. An object of the present invention is to correct the refractive index of the core portion of an optical waveguide device with high precision to improve device characteristics, and to provide a long-term reliable optical waveguide device.” [0012-0013]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fells and Kouda before him or her, to modify the undisclosed time difference of loop processing of diffractive structures of Fells to include the subsequent to cool down detection of diffractive structures deviations of Kouda because, to improve detection of deviations at use temperatures of the diffractive structure and to provide adjustments/corrections thereto.
Fells is silent regarding modifying temporally separate, wherein the spatially variable modification of the refractive index is superimposed on the structure that determines the optical functionality in the material of the component.
However Dugan teaches modifying temporally separate (post index creation modification, see below [0051]), Wherein the spatially variable modification of the refractive index is superimposed on the structure that determines the optical functionality in the material of the component, (reworking of already formed refraction sites “It is now possible to selectively form various index of refraction profiles, both longitudinally and transversely within a waveguide. Further, often waveguides are merely a component of an optical device. In such cases, it may be desirable to alter the index of refraction of the waveguide to achieve a desired output of the optical device. FIG. 8A shows a portion of an optical device, an interleaver 200, in which the waveguide trimming technique described above may be used to improve or correct performance of a defective device.” [0051], “The techniques described can be used to improve, alter or correct performance of waveguide-based optical devices” (abstract)), and obviousness to testing post initial processing (“In general a test signal is used as input to a device under consideration and its throughput is analyzed with respect to certain characteristics of the signal. These signal characteristics are representative of a functionality of the device and can constitute a performance metric or mismatch between a measured value and a desired performance specification.” [0075]), testing that inclusive of operational parameters including central wavelength performance analysis ((dispersion thereof per nature of Bragg grating function) for guiding subsequent processing/trimming “The test signal used to diagnose the device can be derived from a wavelength-tuneable, narrow-bandwidth laser or a wavelength-fixed, broad-bandwidth laser both operable over a wavelength range of interest, for example the telecommunications S, C, or L bands. Several characteristics of the input signal can be used to test the performance of waveguide-based devices. The signal throughput to be measured may be derived from one or more output waveguides from the device under consideration and may be analyzed with respect to the signal wavelength, polarization, amplitude, etc. Several embodiments of closed-loop trimming involving waveguide-based circuit components can be realized.” [0076]).
The advantage of modifying temporally separate, wherein the spatially variable modification of the refractive index is superimposed on the structure that determines the optical functionality in the material of the component, to include post processing analysis of wave guide having refractive modifications via operational spectrum of wavelengths and subsequently reworking the wave guide based on the post processing analysis, is to enhance/improve alter or correct a Bragg Grating (“An exemplary longitudinal index of refraction profile is shown in FIG. 7 displaying a waveguide that may act like a wavelength dependent intra-waveguide distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) or Bragg grating (both unchirped and chirped). Of course, numerous other waveguide index of refraction profiles may be achieved with the present trimming techniques.” [0050]) of the waveguide (“Generally, to improve, alter or correct performance of defective devices, a trimming is performed to modify the index of refraction in a localized region or different local regions of the existing waveguide by applying the ultra-short pulses within the waveguide, near the waveguide, or some combination of both and directing the movement of the ultra-short pulses therein. As will be apparent, the trimming technique is controllable in that one can trim any portion of a waveguide in both longitudinal or axial (i.e., along the main or propagation axis of the waveguide) and transverse (i.e., orthogonal to the main waveguide axis) directions. In fact, the localized region of the waveguide may constitute any region from a portion of the cross section of the waveguide to the entire waveguide structure itself. The disclosed embodiments, however, are not limited to trimming only a waveguide core or surrounding cladding, but also include generally forming waveguide structures within the bulk of an optical substrate.” [0037]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Fells alone or as already modified before him or her, to modify/add to refractive forming step of Fells the corrective steps corresponding to functional performance analysis testing of Dugan, to enhance/improve alter or correct refraction features within waveguides.
Regarding claim 2, Fells as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Fells as already modified further teaches wherein the laser radiation used for modifying the refractive index in the post- processing step is pulsed (post processing as disclosed above in view of Kouda), wherein the pulse duration is from 10 fs to 10 ps (it is known in the art of laser modification that shorter duration laser pulses localize heat better however have an increased cost such that it would be merely routine optimization to balance consideration of material capability to receiving longest pulse while maintaining desirable results because the range of available pulse width of lasers to choose from is finite, see MPEP Routine Optimization 2144.05 II. B. “The method described here is illustrated using a femtosecond infra-red fabrication laser to modify the fibre, but the techniques may be applied to fabrication systems of any wavelength or any pulse width.” [0113]), and the central wavelength is in the range of from 150 nm to 10 pm (as disclosed above [0113] selecting a wavelength is finite to the range of wavelengths capable of altering the selected material such that Routine Optimization 2144.05 II. B. of the finite range of wavelengths would be obvious to try).
Regarding claim 6, Fells discloses the method according to claim 1, Fell further discloses wherein, in order to generate the spatially variable modification, the pulse energy, the repetition rate and/or the number of laser pulses applied in the material of the component, per volume or per surface area, is varied (energy absorption over time is implicant to generating changes to material, variable optimization of wavelength, pulse duration and pulse energy is anticipated not only to material properties but further to alter range of desired modification features within material “By controlling the stage velocity and/or pulse repetition rate, the pitch of the FBG 114 may be varied and hence the Bragg reflection wavelength may be varied. By controlling the pulse energy, the grating strength may be controlled. Higher pulse energy may be used to create higher refractive index changes and stronger coupling coefficients for the FBG 114.” [0112]).
Regarding claim 7, Fells discloses the method according to claim 1, Fell further discloses wherein the component is clamped in a retainer (retainer 340 during laser modification “The fibre 100 is held in V-groove clamps 340 under tension.” [0111]) during the modification of the refractive index, and/or an immersion fluid is used for coupling the laser radiation into the material of the component (immersion laser processing anticipated “The method may comprise using a dry objective lens so that focussed light passed from ambient air directly into the fibre. Alternatively, an immersion medium may be used such as oil or the like.” [0052]).
Regarding claim 8, Fells discloses the method according to claim 1, Fells further discloses wherein the optical component is an optical fiber or an optical fiber system (any optical fiber anticipated “The optical fibre may comprise a sapphire fibre, a sapphire-based fibre, a sapphire doped glass fibre, a photonic crystal fibre, a polymer fibre, a silica fibre, a hydrogel fibre, a high refractive index optical fibre (e.g. having a refractive index greater than 1.5, greater than 1.6, or greater than 1.7), a non-cylindrical optical fibre, a multimode fibre, a polarisation maintaining fibre, an air-hole fibre, and/or a multi-core fibre. The optical fibre may comprise any suitable material.” [0044]), in particular a single core or multicore optical fiber (single/multicore anticipation as disclosed above [0044]).
Regarding claim 9, Fells discloses the method according to claim 1, Fells further discloses wherein the optical functionality is that of an aperiodic fiber Bragg grating (periodic and aperiodic grating spacing anticipated “The optical fibre may be translated along its longitudinal axis at a constant speed, and the repetition rate of the laser pulses together with the longitudinal movement of the fibre may define a periodic modification of the fibre. The fibre may be translated at a varying speed and the spacing between modified regions of the fibre may be different” [0031]), a long-period grating (continues/long period grating anticipated “The fibre may be moved sufficiently slowly so that the modified regions within the fibre overlap and hence a continuous line of the fibre may be laser modified” [0031]), or a volume Bragg grating.
Regarding claim 11, Fells discloses the method according to claim 1, Fells further discloses wherein the optical component is a single core or multicore optical fiber (single or multiple cores anticipated “Producing the modified region may comprise forming at least a section of an optical core of the fibre. The method may comprise laser modifying the fibre to from an optical core therein. The method may comprise forming a plurality of sections of optical cores, and may comprise forming a plurality of optical cores. Each core may have different optical properties.” [0035]).
Regarding claim 12, Fells as modified teaches the method according to claim 1, Fells as already modified teaches wherein, during the post- processing step, the adaptive optics are dynamically adjusted to control an intensity and wavefront progression of the laser radiation in the material of the component (beam is adaptively shaped to account for distortions from substrate “For example, spatial light modulators (SLMs), and deformable mirrors (or micro-deformable mirrors), and adaptive lenses are active optical elements which may be used to dynamically impose spatially varying modulations on a laser beam's profile to thereby control e.g. its phase and/or propagation properties.” Emphasis added [0016] “The adaptive optics of the laser system may be used to precisely shape the beam focus 333 to a small point as per FIG. 6B. Moreover, using a high NA lens and applying both aberration correction and beam shaping corrections to the AOE 320, the focus 333 can be shaped to generate a uniform disc-shaped focus over the whole core 110.” [0117]).
Conclusion
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761