Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 last 2 lines recites “to transport the offspring of said grand-mother cell trapping chamber” and is unclear, because the chamber cannot have any offspring. Furthermore, the limitation “the offspring” lacks antecedent basis in the claim. For prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted to mean “to transport a cell in said grand-mother cell trapping chamber”. Claims 2-13, 15-17 dependent on claim 1 are also rejected for said dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10-11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (US20110143964A1 published 06/16/2011; hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a microfluidic unit for isolating and culturing yeast cells (“for isolating and culturing yeast cells” is an intended use of the device and deemed to read on a device capable of processing yeast cells), comprising:
a medium inlet (an inlet of the inlet distribution channel 471 – Fig. 4A and paragraph 116), a medium outlet (an outlet of an outlet distribution channel 472 – Fig. 4A and paragraph 116), and a passage interconnecting said medium inlet and said medium outlet (a passage between the inlet and outlet formed by the inlet distribution channel 471, transport channels 430, 432, 434, 436, and the outlet distribution channel 472 – Fig. 4A);
a single cell trapping chamber in the passage (an upper portion of the transport channel 434 – Fig. 4A; hereinafter referred to chamber M), said single cell trapping chamber being a mother cell trapping chamber (chamber M is a mother cell trapping chamber – Fig. 4A), wherein the microfluidic unit further comprises:
a daughter cells trapping chamber in the passage (a lower portion of the transport channel 434 – Fig. 4A; hereinafter referred to chamber D), downstream of the single cell trapping chamber (the chamber D is downstream of the chamber M – Fig. 4A), and configured to retain daughter cells of a single cell (“daughter cells” and “a single cell” are materials worked upon by the apparatus and deemed to read on chambers capable of holding cells; see MPEP 2115) trapped in the single cell trapping chamber while allowing offspring of said daughter cells to escape with a flow of a medium in said passage (the chamber D is capable of retaining daughter cells and allowing offspring of said daughter cells to escape – Fig. 4A); and
[AltContent: textbox (chamber D)][AltContent: arrow]a grand-mother cell trapping chamber in the passage (an upper portion of the inlet distribution channel 471 – Fig. 4A; hereinafter chamber GM), upstream and in line with said mother cell trapping chamber (chamber GM is upstream and in line with the chamber M – see annotated Fig. 4A) and connected to the medium inlet by a channel (chamber GM is connected to the inlet by the inlet distribution channel 471 – Fig. 4A), the grand-mother cell trapping chamber including a first grand-mother cell outlet (a first GM outlet – Annotated Fig. 4A) and a second grand-mother cell outlet (a second GM outlet – Annotated Fig. 4A), wherein the first grand-mother cell outlet directly connects the grand-mother cell trapping chamber to the medium outlet (the first GM outlet connects the chamber GM directly to the outlet – Annotated Fig. 4A) and the second grand-mother cell outlet connects the grand-mother cell trapping chamber to the single cell trapping chamber (the second GM outlet connects the chamber GM to the chamber M – Annotated Fig. 4A), and
wherein the first grand-mother cell outlet is configured to transport the offspring of said grand-mother cell trapping chamber out of the microfluidic unit (the first GM outlet is capable of transporting a cell in the chamber GM out of the fluidic device – Annotated Fig. 4A; see 112b rejection).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 1, wherein the daughter cells trapping chamber comprises a plurality of daughter cell sub-chambers (chamber D comprises a plurality of chambers 420 – Fig. 4A) and the passage comprises selective sub-passages each individually connecting one of said plurality of daughter cell sub-chambers with the single cell trapping chamber (the transport channel 434 comprises a plurality of sub-passages each individually connecting one of plurality of the chambers 420 – annotated Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 2, wherein the selective sub-passages connect with the single cell trapping chamber at distinct locations arranged side-by-side (the sub-passages are at distinct locations and arranged side-by-side – Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 1, wherein the daughter cells trapping chamber forms a screen with openings (chamber D comprises a plurality of chambers 420 – Fig. 4A) (openings to the chambers 420 connected to chamber D forms a screen – annotated Fig. 4A and Figs. 1A, 2A, 3), each opening being configured for retaining a daughter cell so that said daughter cells trapping chamber is disposed to trap a plurality of daughter cells (each opening to a chamber 420 is capable of trapping a plurality of daughter cells – annotated Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 7, ,wherein the openings of the daughter cells trapping chamber are more than 80 (another preferred number of chambers in each device is above 100; therefore, there are also more than 100 openings because each chamber has one inlet and one outlet – paragraph 134).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 7, wherein the screen of the daughter cells trapping chamber extends along a main direction (the openings to the chambers 420 extend along a main direction – annotated Fig. 4A), the openings of said daughter cells trapping chamber being arranged in two parallel rows along said main direction (the openings to the chambers 420 are arranged in two parallel rows along a main direction – annotated Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 7, wherein the openings of the daughter cells trapping chamber are formed by pillars parallel to each other and extending between two substrates (the chambers 420 are formed on pillars formed by raised sections of the device (see isometric views in Figs. 2A-3) and extending between upper and lower substrates – annotated Fig. 4A and Figs. 1D and 6A).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 1, wherein the passage comprises a drain by-pass (a chamber stream 463 – annotated Fig. 4A) fluidly connecting the second grand-mother cell outlet of the grandmother cell trapping chamber to the medium outlet (chamber stream 463 connects the second GM outlet to a transport channel 433 leading to the outlet – annotated Fig. 4A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 9, 12-13, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 2, wherein each of the selective sub-passages has a diameter or width greater than or equal to 2μm and/or less than or equal to 5μm (there is no fundamental limitation on the size of the fluidic structures of the present invention – paragraph 134) (the center to center distance between adjacent chambers is in the range of 1 to 5,000 μm; therefore the diameter or width of each sub-passage formed between the chambers must also be between the size of 1 to 5,000 μm – paragraph 134).
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected width or diameter 1 to 5,000 μm in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 4, wherein the passage comprises exit sub-passages each individually connecting one of said plurality of daughter cell sub-chambers downstream with the medium outlet (the transport channel 434 comprises exit passages each individually connecting one of plurality of the chambers 420 to the outlet of the outlet distribution channel 472 – Fig. 4A), each of said exit sub-passages having a diameter greater than 5μm (there is no fundamental limitation on the size of the fluidic structures of the present invention – paragraph 134) (the center to center distance between adjacent chambers is in the range of 1 to 5,000 μm; therefore the diameter or width of each exit sub-passages formed between chambers must also be between the size of 1 to 5,000 μm – paragraph 134).
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected width or diameter 1 to 5,000 μm in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 5, wherein the selective sub-passages extend parallel to each other along a main direction of the microfluidic unit (the sub-passages are parallel each other and extend in a main direction of the device – annotated Fig. 4A), the exit sub-passages extending at least partially transversely to said main direction (the exit passages extend partially into the transport channel 437 that is transverse to the main direction of the device – annotated Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 7, wherein the openings of the daughter cells trapping chamber have, each, a diameter or width greater than or equal to 2μm and/or less than or equal to 5μm (there is no fundamental limitation on the size of the fluidic structures of the present invention – paragraph 134) (the center to center distance between adjacent chambers is in the range of 1 to 5,000 μm; therefore the opening of each chamber must also be between the size of 1 to 5,000 μm – paragraph 134).
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected width or diameter 1 to 5,000 μm in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I)
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 7, wherein the single cell trapping chamber has an exit towards the daughter cells trapping chamber with a passage diameter or width greater than or equal to 2μm and/or less than or equal to 5μm (there is no fundamental limitation on the size of the fluidic structures of the present invention – paragraph 134) (the center to center distance between adjacent chambers is in the range of 1 to 5,000 μm; therefore the opening of each chamber 420 must also be between the size of 1 to 5,000 μm – paragraph 134).
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected width or diameter 1 to 5,000 μm in the range that corresponds to the claimed range (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 12, wherein the passage between the single cell trapping chamber and the daughter cells trapping chamber forms at least one meander (a meander in the transport channel 436 between the chamber M and chamber D – annotate Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 15, wherein the drain bypass (the chamber stream 463 passes through a chamber 420 – Fig. 4A) has a diameter that is greater than 5µm (there is no fundamental limitation on the size of the fluidic structures of the present invention – paragraph 134) (the center to center distance between adjacent chambers is in the range of 1 to 5,000 μm; therefore the opening of a chamber 420 must also be between the size of 1 to 5,000 μm – paragraph 134).
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected width or diameter 1 to 5,000 μm in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I)
Regarding claim 17, Zhou teaches the microfluidic unit according to claim 1, wherein the passage between the grand-mother cell trapping chamber and the mother cell trapping chamber (the passage having a portion of the flow through the chambers 420 with chamber stream 465 – Fig. 4A) has a diameter or width that is greater than or equal to 2μm and/or less than or equal to 5μm (there is no fundamental limitation on the size of the fluidic structures of the present invention – paragraph 134) (the center to center distance between adjacent chambers is in the range of 1 to 5,000 μm; therefore the portion of the passage at the opening of a chamber 420 must also be between the size of 1 to 5,000 μm – paragraph 134).
The claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range; in cases where the claimed range overlaps or falls within the prior art range, a prima facie case of obviousness of the range exists. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected width or diameter 1 to 5,000 μm in the range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s addition arguments with respect to the 102/103 rejections of the claims have been considered, and a new prior art rejection has been made in order to address the amended claim language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/ELIZABETH A ROBINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1796