DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s reply filed on 9/8/25 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11 are pending. Claims 5, 7 and 8 have been withdrawn. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-3, 6, 9, and 11 are under consideration.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of Claims 1-3, 6, 9 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in view of the amended claim.
The rejection of Claims 1-3, 6, 9 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite are withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
Rejections Maintained and New Grounds of Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sapre et al. (WO 2014/111790; cited in IDS) in view of Liao et al. (US 2014/0276478; previously cited).
Sapre et al. teach a stable transdermal pharmaceutical drug delivery system of rivastigmine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, which provides an enhanced absorption of drug through skin, and remains stable during a longer storage period (e.g. abstract).
Sapre et al. teach that the transdermal drug delivery system comprises a backing layer, rivastigmine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, an adhesive material, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients and a release liner (e.g. Claim 1 and Examples). Sapre et al. teach that the dosage amount of rivastigmine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in the composition may present from about 2 mg to about 25 mg, and that the surface area is 2-30 cm2 and the patch comprises, resulting in 0.07-12.5 mg/cm2, which overlaps the claimed range (e.g. page 6, lines 6-8 and page 12, lines 1-2). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I). Sapre et al. teach that the system may comprise the filler magnesium aluminometasilicate in an amount of about 1-10% by weight, which overlaps the claimed range (e.g. page 8, lines 18-23). Sapre et al. teach that the adhesive material may contain silicones or rubber, but also teach numerous alternatives and rubber is not present in the Examples, therefore Sapre et al. teach embodiments wherein the self-adhesive matrix layer comprises a silicone adhesive and does not include a rubber-based adhesive polymer (e.g. page 6, line 28 - page 7, line 29).
Sapre et al. teach the inclusion of a release controlling membrane (e.g. page 10, lines 16-23), but are silent as to the material. This is made up for by the teachings of Liao et al.
Liao et al. teach transdermal drug delivery systems for the transdermal administration of tertiary amine drugs, such as rivastigmine, comprising a polymer drug matrix, a rate-controlling membrane and a skin-contacting face adhesive apart from the polymer matrix (e.g. abstract). Liao et al. teach that the rate controlling membrane comprises an ethylene vinyl acetate film (e.g. paragraphs 0125-0127; Claim 23).
Regarding Claims 1-3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select the ethylene vinyl acetate rate-controlling membrane of Liao et al. for use in the patch of Sapre et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. Sapre et al. suggest the inclusion of rate-controlling membranes but do not provide examples thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seek out additional guidance on an membrane material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success in selecting the ethylene vinyl acetate taught by Liao et al., because both of Liao and Sapre are directed to transdermal patches comprising rivastigmine.
Regarding Claim 6, Sapre et al. teach that the system may comprise 1-40 wt% rivastigmine and the filler magnesium aluminometasilicate in an amount of about 1-10% by weight, which overlaps the claimed range (e.g. page 6, lines 4-8, and page 8, lines 18-23). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claim 11, Sapre et al. teach that in some embodiments, the transdermal drug delivery system includes silicone-based polymer adhesives, including those commercially available as BIO-PSA® X7-4301 and BIO-PSA® X7-4303 (e.g. page 7, lines 25-29) (i.e. a mixture of two or more having different properties).
Claims 1-3, 6, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 2014/0276478; previously cited) in view of Sapre et al. (WO 2014/111790; cited in IDS).
Liao et al. teach transdermal drug delivery systems for the transdermal administration of tertiary amine drugs, such as rivastigmine, fentanyl or rotigotine, comprising a polymer matrix comprising a free base form of the drug and at least one carboxyl group-containing compound. In some embodiments, the systems include a rate-controlling membrane and a skin-contacting face adhesive apart from the polymer matrix. (e.g. abstract).
Liao et al. teach that the transdermal drug delivery system comprises a backing layer, rivastigmine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, an adhesive material, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients and a release liner (e.g. paragraph 0048 and 0049). Liao et al. exemplify 10-15 mg/cm2 rivastigmine (e.g. Examples). Liao et al. teach that the rate controlling membrane comprises an ethylene vinyl acetate film (e.g. paragraphs 0125-0127; Claim 23). Liao et al. teach that the adhesive material may contain silicones or rubber, but also teach numerous alternatives and rubber is not present in the Examples, therefore Liao et al. teach embodiments wherein the self-adhesive matrix layer comprises a silicone adhesive and does not include a rubber-based adhesive polymer (e.g. paragraphs 0052-0055 and 0083-0087).
Liao et al. teach the inclusion of 0-20 wt% fillers (e.g. paragraph 0064), but do not teach the filler magnesium aluminometasilicate in an amount of about 1-10% by weight. This is made up for by the teachings of Sapre et al.
Sapre et al. teach that the transdermal drug delivery system comprises a backing layer, rivastigmine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, an adhesive material, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients and a release liner (e.g. Claim 1 and Examples). Sapre et al. teach that the dosage amount of rivastigmine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in the composition may present from about 2 mg to about 25 mg, and that the surface area is 2-30 cm2 and the patch comprises, resulting in 0.07-12.5 mg/cm2, which overlaps the claimed range (e.g. page 6, lines 6-8 and page 12, lines 1-2). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I). Sapre et al. teach that the system may comprise the filler magnesium aluminometasilicate in an amount of about 1-10% by weight, which overlaps the claimed range (e.g. page 8, lines 18-23). Sapre et al. teach that the adhesive material may contain silicones or rubber, but also teach numerous alternatives and rubber is not present in the Examples, therefore Sapre et al. teach embodiments wherein the self-adhesive matrix layer comprises a silicone adhesive and does not include a rubber-based adhesive polymer (e.g. page 6, line 28 - page 7, line 29).
Regarding Claims 1-3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the magnesium aluminometasilicate of Sapre et al. in the patch of Liao et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. Liao et al. suggest the inclusion of fillers but do not provide examples thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to seek out additional guidance on an appropriate filler. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success in selecting a filler taught by Sapre, because both of Liao and Sapre are directed to transdermal patches comprising rivastigmine.
Regarding Claim 6, Liao et al. teach that the system may comprise 10-40 wt% rivastigmine and Sapre et al. teach the filler magnesium aluminometasilicate in an amount of about 1-10% by weight, which overlaps the claimed range (e.g. paragraph 0014). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding Claim 9, Liao et al. teach 0-1wt% of an antioxidant (e.g. paragraph 0017).
Regarding Claim 11, Liao et al. teach that in some embodiments, the transdermal drug delivery system includes silicone-based polymer adhesives, including those commercially available as BIO-PSA® 7-4100, -4200 and -4300 product series (e.g. paragraph 0085) (i.e. a mixture of two or more having different properties).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6, 9 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,318,360 in view of Sapre et al. (WO 2014/111790; cited in IDS).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant and copending claims recite a rivastigmine patch for transdermal treatment comprising a backing film; a rivastigmine matrix layer comprising rivastigmine; a self-adhesive matrix layer comprising an adhesive that adheres to the skin; and a release liner that is removed before use, wherein the content per patch area of the rivastigmine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is 5.4 to 15 mg/cm2 based on the rivastigmine free base. Claim 10 of ‘360 recites that the rivastigmine patch comprises a release-controlling membrane that is an ethylene vinyl acetate film between the rivastigmine matrix layer and the self-adhesive matrix layer; and Claim 11 recites that the self-adhesive matrix layer comprises a mixture of two or more silicone adhesives having different physical properties.
The difference being that the instant claims recite that the matrix layer comprises 10-30 % by weight of magnesium aluminometasilicate.
However, this is obvious over the teachings of Sapre et al.
Sapre et al. teach that the transdermal drug delivery system comprises a backing layer, rivastigmine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, an adhesive material, one or more pharmaceutically acceptable excipients and a release liner (e.g. Claim 1 and Examples). Sapre et al. teach that the system may comprise the filler magnesium aluminometasilicate in an amount of about 1-10% by weight, which overlaps the claimed range (e.g. page 8, lines 18-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the magnesium aluminometasilicate of Sapre et al. in the patch of US 12,318,360. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success in selecting a filler taught by Sapre, because both of Sapre and ‘360 are directed to transdermal patches comprising rivastigmine.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/25 have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration and the broadening of the claims, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sapre and Liao, of record.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619