DETAILED ACTION
Examiner prosecuting this application has changed.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 58-59 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
A restriction and species election requirement was mailed on 01/03/2024, delineating ten inventive groups, including Group I (drawn to a fusion protein), Group II (drawn to a polynucleotide), and Group III (drawn to a viral particle). Newly submitted claim 58 is drawn to a polynucleotide (Group II), and claim 59 is drawn to a viral particle (Group III). In the Applicant’s response filed 03/04/2024, Applicant elected without traverse Group I, drawn to a fusion protein. Claims 58 and 59 are thus considered to be drawn to the inventions of unelected inventive Groups II and III.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 58-59 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claims Status
Claims 2-5, 8, 10-16, 18-20, 23-26, 29-52 is/are cancelled and claims 53-59 is/are newly added. Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 17, 21-22, 27-28, 53-59 is/are currently pending with claims 21-22, 27-28, 58-59 withdrawn. Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 17, 53-57 is/are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6-7, 9, 17, 53-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1 and 53 recite the broad recitation “Cas13d”, and the claims also recite “CasRX” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation (line 3 of each claim: “the…protein is CasRX/Cas13d”). The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. As taught by Gearing (2018), “CasRX” is a specific Cas13d species derived from the species Ruminococcus favefaciens, while “Cas13d” is a genus of proteins, including but not limited to “CasRX”. As such, “CasRX” and “Cas13d” are not interchangeable terms. Claims 6, 9, and 17 depend on claim 1 and claims 54-57 depend on claim 53 but do not clarify this indefiniteness of claims 1 and 53; as such, claims 6, 9, 17, and 54-57 are also rejected for this indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17, 53, 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsu (WO2019040664A1, effective filing date 08/22/2017; provided by Applicant with IDS filed 03/10/2021).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches a fusion protein comprising a CasRX protein (claims 20-21: “CasRX” is a Cas13d ortholog from R. flavefaciens) and METTL14 (page 43 lines 13-28).
Regarding claim 17, Hsu teaches that the fusion protein is bound to a guide RNA (claims 24, 26).
Regarding claim 53, Hsu teaches a fusion protein comprising a CasRX protein (claims 20-21: “CasRX” is a Cas13d ortholog from R. flavefaciens) and AlkB homolog 5, RNA demethylase (ALKBH5) (page 43 lines 13-28).
Regarding claim 57, Hsu teaches that the fusion protein is bound to a guide RNA (claims 24, 26).
Response to Arguments – 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9, 53-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (WO2019040664A1, effective filing date 08/22/2017; provided by Applicant with IDS filed 03/10/2021), in view of Zhang (US20200248169A1, effective filing date 06/26/2017; previously cited in the action mailed 06/20/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches a fusion protein comprising a CasRX protein (claims 20-21: “CasRX” is a Cas13d ortholog from R. flavefaciens) and METTL14 (page 43 lines 13-28).
Regarding claim 17, Hsu teaches that the fusion protein is bound to a guide RNA (claims 24, 26).
Regarding claim 53, Hsu teaches a fusion protein comprising a CasRX protein (claims 20-21: “CasRX” is a Cas13d ortholog from R. flavefaciens) and AlkB homolog 5, RNA demethylase (ALKBH5) (page 43 lines 13-28).
Regarding claim 57, Hsu teaches that the fusion protein is bound to a guide RNA (claims 24, 26).
However, Hsu does not teach that the fusion protein comprises a linker.
Zhang teaches that proteins can be joined via linker to form a fusion protein.
Regarding claims 6 and 54, Zhang teaches that Cas13d-effector domain fusion proteins can comprise linkers joining the Cas13d and effector domains (paragraphs [0095], [0009], [0587]; claims 1-3).
Regarding claims 7, 9, 55, and 56, Zhang teaches that the linker can be a peptide linker or a non-peptide linker (paragraph [0096], “suitable linkers…include, but are not limited to, straight or branched-chain carbon linkers, heterocyclic carbon linkers, or peptide linkers”).
Zhang teaches that linkers in fusion proteins provide the benefit of preserving “some minimum distance or other spatial relationship between” the proteins which comprise the fusion protein, and such a distance can be “sufficient to ensure that each protein retains its required functional property” (paragraph [0096]). Hsu teaches that the fusion Cas13d-METTL14 and Cas13d-ALKBH5 proteins preserve the RNA-guided RNA-binding function of Cas13d and the RNA methylation (METTL14) or RNA demethylation (ALKBH5) functions of the effector domains (page 43 lines 13-28; claims 1-2). While Hsu does not teach that the Cas13d domain and the effector domain of a fusion protein are linked by a linker (peptide or non-peptide), the teachings of Zhang regarding the benefits provided by linkers would render obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the fusion protein of Hsu should be modified by the addition of a peptide or non-peptide linker between the Cas13d domain and the effector domain, in order to preserve the functional properties of both domains.
Response to Arguments – 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9, and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument; Applicant’s arguments specifically challenged the references Noack (2018) and Zhang (above) for not teaching a Cas13d-METTL14 or Cas13d-ALKBH5 fusion protein. As Hsu teaches these elements, Applicant’s prior arguments are moot.
Conclusion
For those applications where applicant wishes to communicate with the examiner via Internet communications, e.g., email or video conferencing tools, the following is a sample authorization form which may be used by applicant:
"Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file."
To facilitate processing of the internet communication authorization or withdraw of authorization, the Office strongly encourages use of Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via EFS-Web using the document description Internet Communications Authorized or Internet Communications Authorization Withdrawn to facilitate processing. See MPEP 502.03(II).
/AFRICA M MCLEOD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/RAM R SHUKLA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1635