DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 7 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2020/0053743 A1) in view of Chen et al. (WO 2016/131344 A1, hereinafter “Chen”) and Huang et al. (US 2021/0185645 A1, hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Cheng teaches a terminal comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive sidelink control information (¶ [0055], ¶ [0058]. Provisional application # 62/716098: page 7, line 6-page 8, line 16, … the priority of NR-V2X and LTE-V2X will depend on the priority information in SCI, i.e., SCI-NR-V and SCl-format 1 for NR-V2X and LTE-V2X respectively…);
a control unit configured to perform control related to first transmission of terminal-to-terminal direct communication in a first RAT (Radio Access Technology) and control related to second transmission of terminal-to-terminal direct communication in a second RAT; and
a transmission unit configured to execute at least one of the first transmission and the second transmission, wherein, when the first transmission and the second transmission overlap in time domain, the control unit determines priorities of the first transmission and the second transmission based on the sidelink control information, and the transmission unit executes transmission with higher priority among the first transmission and the second transmission (¶ [0055], ¶ [0058]. Provisional application # 62/716098: page 7, line 6-page 8, line 16, … While UE receives a SCI contained a priority field with priority value “5”, … the priority of NR-V2X and LTE-V2X will depend on the priority information in SCI, i.e., SCI-NR-V and SCl-format 1 for NR-V2X and LTE-V2X respectively. For example, UE received a SCI-NR-V and a SCI-format 1 while the scheduling PSSCH for NR-V2X physical channel and for LTE-V2X PSSCH are overlapped in time domain. Since the priority in SCI-NR-V is “1” and the priority in SCl-format 1 is “4” UE will drop the PSSCH scheduled by SCI-format 1 according to priority contained in SCL. In another approach, UE will always drop the LTE-V2X PSSCH but transmit only NR-V2X PSSCH if they are scheduled in the overlapping time domain. in another approach, UE will always drop the NR-V2X PSSCH but transmit only LTE-V2X PSSCH if they are scheduled in the overlapping time domain. Where it is implicit that the terminal includes a reception unit, a control unit and a transmission unit to perform the steps listed above)
wherein the control unit performs control related to second reception of terminal-to-terminal direct communication in the second RAT (¶ [0055], ¶ [0058]. Provisional application # 62/716098: page 8: UE will only consider the slot and symbol which are indicated as “UL” as valid resource for transmit or receive LTE-V2X physical channel and NR-V2X physical channel.).
Cheng does not explicitly teach a reception unit configured to receive sidelink control information in terminal-to-terminal direct communication; and wherein the second transmission is transmission of HARQ-ACK in the second RAT.
Chen teaches receiving sidelink control information in terminal-to-terminal direct communication (pages 12-13, The second control signaling may be sent by the base station, for example, the base station sends Downlink Control Information (DCI) to schedule data transmission and retransmission of the D2D link, or is sent by the second UE. ), such as Sidelink Control Information (SCI), also known as Scheduling Assignment (Scheduling Assignment, Referred to as SA)). Chen further teaches a terminal transmitting HARQ-ACK based on a priority rule (page 9, the ACK/NACK feedback of the D2D UE has the highest priority, that is, if other transmissions collide, other transmissions are discarded.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive sidelink control information in terminal-to-terminal direct communication (i.e., receive the sidelink control information from another terminal) and to utilize HARQ-ACK/NACK in the first RAT and/or the second RAT (i.e. to transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK as the first transmission in the first RAT and/or as the second transmission in the second RAT) in the system of Cheng to utilize conventional techniques in the art to improve industrial applicability.
Cheng in view of Chen does not explicitly teach when the first transmission and the second reception overlap in time domain, the control unit controls the first transmission and the second reception based on priorities determined by the sidelink control information, and
wherein, when the first transmission has a higher priority than that of the second reception, the transmission unit executes the first transmission,
wherein, when the second reception has a higher priority than that of the first transmission, the reception unit executes the second reception.
Huang teaches when the first transmission and the second reception overlap in time domain, the control unit controls the first transmission and the second reception based on priorities determined by the control information corresponding to the sidelink, and wherein, when the first transmission has a higher priority than that of the second reception, the transmission unit executes the first transmission (Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶ [0274], a method for determining a priority sequence between an LTE sidelink and an NR sidelink…For UE, sending of the NR sidelink and sending or reception of the LTE sidelink may overlap in a time-domain position. In FIG. 2B, the sending of the NR sidelink is likely to cause large interference to the reception of the LTE sidelink. The method of the embodiment is also applicable under the condition that the NR sidelink is replaced by the LTE sidelink and the LTE sidelink is replaced by the NR sidelink. ¶ [0275], [0278] 3. The LTE sidelink is prioritized higher than the NR sidelink by default. [0279] 4. The NR sidelink is prioritized higher than the LTE sidelink by default. ¶ [0282], ¶ [0284], ¶ [0286], Under the condition that the time domain resources of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink overlap, the UE may adjust a sending resource of the sidelink with the lower priority. In other words, when the first transmission (e.g., NR sidelink) has higher priority than the second reception (e.g., LTE sidelink), the transmission unit executes the first transmission),
wherein, when the second reception has a higher priority than that of the first transmission, the reception unit executes the second reception (Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶ [0274], a method for determining a priority sequence between an LTE sidelink and an NR sidelink…For UE, sending of the NR sidelink and sending or reception of the LTE sidelink may overlap in a time-domain position. In FIG. 2B, the sending of the NR sidelink is likely to cause large interference to the reception of the LTE sidelink. The method of the embodiment is also applicable under the condition that the NR sidelink is replaced by the LTE sidelink and the LTE sidelink is replaced by the NR sidelink. ¶ [0275], [0278] 3. The LTE sidelink is prioritized higher than the NR sidelink by default. [0279] 4. The NR sidelink is prioritized higher than the LTE sidelink by default. ¶ [0286], Under the condition that the time domain resources of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink overlap, the UE may adjust a sending resource of the sidelink with the lower priority. In other words, when the second reception (e.g., LTE sidelink) has higher priority than the first transmission (e.g., NR sidelink), the reception unit executes the second reception).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to control the first transmission/reception and the second transmission/reception based on priorities determined by the sidelink control information (i.e., execute the first transmission/reception when the first transmission/reception has a higher priority than that of the second transmission/reception, and to execute the second transmission/reception when the second transmission/reception has a higher priority than that of the first transmission/reception) in the system of Cheng in view of Chen to further enhance system efficiency and reliability (¶ [0006] of Huang).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng teaches a communication system supporting terminal-to-terminal direct communication in a first RAT and terminal-to-terminal direct communication in a second RAT, the communication system comprising:
a first terminal; and a second terminal (¶ [0055], ¶ [0058]. Provisional application # 62/716098: pages 7-8, where it is implicit that there are at least two terminals transmitting/receiving V2X messages), the first terminal comprising:
a reception unit configured to receive sidelink control information (¶ [0055], ¶ [0058]. Provisional application # 62/716098: page 7, line 6-page 8, line 16, … the priority of NR-V2X and LTE-V2X will depend on the priority information in SCI, i.e., SCI-NR-V and SCl-format 1 for NR-V2X and LTE-V2X respectively…);
a control unit configured to perform control related to first transmission of terminal- to-terminal direct communication in a first RAT (Radio Access Technology) and control related to second transmission of terminal-to-terminal direct communication in a second RAT (¶ [0055], ¶ [0058]. Provisional application # 62/716098: page 7, line 6-page 8, line 16);
a transmission unit configured to execute at least one of the first transmission and the second transmission,
wherein, when the first transmission and the second transmission overlap in time domain, the control unit determines priorities of the first transmission and the second transmission based on the sidelink control information, and the transmission unit executes transmission with higher priority among the first transmission and the second transmission (¶ [0055], ¶ [0058]. Provisional application # 62/716098: page 7, line 6-page 8, line 16, … While UE receives a SCI contained a priority field with priority value “5”, UE will drop LTE UL physical transmission if UE has received scheduling information of NR-V2X, LTE and NR physical channel while the PSSCH of NR-V2X, LTE UL physical channel and NR UL physical channel are overlapped in time domain… the priority of NR-V2X and LTE-V2X will depend on the priority information in SCI, i.e., SCI-NR-V and SCl-format 1 for NR-V2X and LTE-V2X respectively. For example, UE received a SCI-NR-V and a SCi-format 1 while the scheduling PSSCH for NR-V2X physical channel and for LTE-V2X PSSCH are overlapped in time domain. Since the priority in SCI-NR-V is “1” and the priority in SCl-format 1 is “4” UE will drop the PSSCH scheduled by SCi-format 1 according to priority contained in SCL. In another approach, UE will always drop the LTE-V2X PSSCH but transmit only NR-V2X PSSCH if they are scheduled in the overlapping time domain. in another approach, UE will always drop the NR-V2X PSSCH but transmit only LTE-V2X PSSCH if they are scheduled in the overlapping time domain. Where it is implicit that the terminal includes a reception unit, a control unit and a transmission unit to perform the steps listed above), and
wherein the control unit performs control related to second reception of terminal-to-terminal direct communication in the second RAT (¶ [0055], ¶ [0058]. Provisional application # 62/716098: page 8: UE will only consider the slot and symbol which are indicated as “UL” as valid resource for transmit or receive LTE-V2X physical channel and NR-V2X physical channel.), and
the second terminal comprising:
a reception unit configured to execute at least one of first reception corresponding to the first transmission and second reception corresponding to the second transmission (¶ [0055], ¶ [0058]. Provisional application # 62/716098: 7-9, where it is implicit that there is at least one second terminal comprising a reception unit configured to at least one of first reception corresponding to the first transmission transmitted by the first terminal and second reception corresponding to the second transmission transmitted by the first terminal).
Cheng does not explicitly teach a reception unit configured to receive sidelink control information in terminal-to-terminal direct communication; and wherein the second transmission is transmission of HARQ-ACK in the second RAT.
Chen teaches receiving sidelink control information in terminal-to-terminal direct communication (pages 12-13, The second control signaling may be sent by the base station, for example, the base station sends Downlink Control Information (DCI) to schedule data transmission and retransmission of the D2D link, or is sent by the second UE. ), such as Sidelink Control Information (SCI), also known as Scheduling Assignment (Scheduling Assignment, Referred to as SA)). Chen further teaches a terminal transmitting HARQ-ACK based on a priority rule (page 9, the ACK/NACK feedback of the D2D UE has the highest priority, that is, if other transmissions collide, other transmissions are discarded.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive sidelink control information in terminal-to-terminal direct communication (i.e., receive the sidelink control information from another terminal) and to utilize HARQ-ACK/NACK in the first RAT and/or the second RAT (i.e. to transmit HARQ-ACK/NACK as the first transmission in the first RAT and/or as the second transmission in the second RAT) in the system of Cheng to utilize conventional techniques in the art to improve industrial applicability.
Cheng in view of Chen does not explicitly teach when the first transmission and the second reception overlap in time domain, the control unit controls the first transmission and the second reception based on priorities determined by the sidelink control information, and
wherein, when the first transmission has a higher priority than that of the second reception, the transmission unit executes the first transmission,
wherein, when the second reception has a higher priority than that of the first transmission, the reception unit executes the second reception.
Huang teaches when the first transmission and the second reception overlap in time domain, the control unit controls the first transmission and the second reception based on priorities determined by control information corresponding to the sidelink, and wherein, when the first transmission has a higher priority than that of the second reception, the transmission unit executes the first transmission (Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶ [0274], a method for determining a priority sequence between an LTE sidelink and an NR sidelink…For UE, sending of the NR sidelink and sending or reception of the LTE sidelink may overlap in a time-domain position. In FIG. 2B, the sending of the NR sidelink is likely to cause large interference to the reception of the LTE sidelink. The method of the embodiment is also applicable under the condition that the NR sidelink is replaced by the LTE sidelink and the LTE sidelink is replaced by the NR sidelink. ¶ [0275], [0278] 3. The LTE sidelink is prioritized higher than the NR sidelink by default. [0279] 4. The NR sidelink is prioritized higher than the LTE sidelink by default. ¶ [0282], ¶ [0284], ¶ [0286], Under the condition that the time domain resources of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink overlap, the UE may adjust a sending resource of the sidelink with the lower priority. In other words, when the first transmission (e.g., NR sidelink) has higher priority than the second reception (e.g., LTE sidelink), the transmission unit executes the first transmission),
wherein, when the second reception has a higher priority than that of the first transmission, the reception unit executes the second reception (Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶ [0274], a method for determining a priority sequence between an LTE sidelink and an NR sidelink…For UE, sending of the NR sidelink and sending or reception of the LTE sidelink may overlap in a time-domain position. In FIG. 2B, the sending of the NR sidelink is likely to cause large interference to the reception of the LTE sidelink. The method of the embodiment is also applicable under the condition that the NR sidelink is replaced by the LTE sidelink and the LTE sidelink is replaced by the NR sidelink. ¶ [0275], [0278] 3. The LTE sidelink is prioritized higher than the NR sidelink by default. [0279] 4. The NR sidelink is prioritized higher than the LTE sidelink by default. ¶ [0286], Under the condition that the time domain resources of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink overlap, the UE may adjust a sending resource of the sidelink with the lower priority. In other words, when the second reception (e.g., LTE sidelink) has higher priority than the first transmission (e.g., NR sidelink), the reception unit executes the second reception).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to control the first transmission/reception and the second transmission/reception based on priorities determined by the sidelink control information (i.e., execute the first transmission/reception when the first transmission/reception has a higher priority than that of the second transmission/reception, and to execute the second transmission/reception when the second transmission/reception has a higher priority than that of the first transmission/reception) in the system of Cheng in view of Chen to further enhance system efficiency and reliability (¶ [0006] of Huang).
Regarding claims 11-13, Cheng in view of Chen and Huang teaches the terminal as claimed in claim 7,
Cheng does not explicitly teach wherein, when the first reception and the second transmission overlap in time domain, the control unit controls the first reception and the second transmission based on priorities determined by the sidelink control information, and
wherein, when the second transmission has a higher priority than that of the first reception, the transmission unit executes the second transmission, wherein, when the first reception has a higher priority than that of the second transmission, the reception unit executes the first reception.
However, Cheng teaches wherein, when the first transmission and the second transmission overlap in time domain, the control unit controls the first transmission and the second transmission based on priorities determined by the sidelink control information, and wherein, when the second transmission has a higher priority than that of the first transmission, the transmission unit executes the second transmission and when the first transmission has a higher priority than that of the second transmission, the reception unit executes the first transmission (¶ [0055], ¶ [0058]. Provisional application: Page 8, the priority of NR-V2X and LTE-V2X will depend on the priority information in SCI, i.e., SCI-NR-V and SCl-format 1 for NR-V2X and LTE-V2X respectively. For example, UE received a SCI-NR-V and a SCI-format 1 while the scheduling PSSCH for NR-V2X physical channel and for LTE-V2X PSSCH are overlapped in time domain. Since the priority in SCI-NR-V is “1” and the priority in SCl-format 1 is “4” UE will drop the PSSCH scheduled by SCI-format 1 according to priority contained in SCI. In another approach, UE will always drop the LTE-V2X PSSCH but transmit only NR-V2X PSSCH if they are scheduled in the overlapping time domain. in another approach, UE will always drop the NR-V2X PSSCH but transmit only LTE-V2X PSSCH if they are scheduled in the overlapping time domain… the UE will only consider the slot and symbol which are indicated as “UL” as valid resource to transmit or receive LTE-V2X physical channel and NR-V2X physical channel).
Further, Huang teaches wherein, when the first reception and the second transmission overlap in time domain, the control unit controls the first reception and the second transmission based on priorities determined by control information corresponding to the sidelink, and wherein, when the second transmission has a higher priority than that of the first reception, the transmission unit executes the second transmission, wherein, when the first reception has a higher priority than that of the second transmission, the reception unit executes the first reception (Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶ [0274], a method for determining a priority sequence between an LTE sidelink and an NR sidelink…For UE, sending of the NR sidelink and sending or reception of the LTE sidelink may overlap in a time-domain position. In FIG. 2B, the sending of the NR sidelink is likely to cause large interference to the reception of the LTE sidelink. The method of the embodiment is also applicable under the condition that the NR sidelink is replaced by the LTE sidelink and the LTE sidelink is replaced by the NR sidelink. ¶ [0275], [0278] 3. The LTE sidelink is prioritized higher than the NR sidelink by default. [0279] 4. The NR sidelink is prioritized higher than the LTE sidelink by default. ¶ [0286], Under the condition that the time domain resources of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink overlap, the UE may adjust a sending resource of the sidelink with the lower priority)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to control the first transmission/reception and the second transmission/reception based on priorities determined by the sidelink control information (i.e., execute the second transmission/reception when the second transmission/reception has a higher priority than that of the first transmission/reception, and to execute the first transmission/reception when the first transmission/reception has a higher priority than that of the second transmission/reception) in the system of Cheng in view of Chen to further enhance system efficiency and reliability (¶ [0006] of Huang).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments filed on August 5, 2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
8. Applicant argues “…Without acquiescing to the Examiner's position, independent claim 7 has been amended to recite, in part:
(i) "wherein, when the first transmission and the second reception overlap in time domain, the control unit controls the first transmission and the second reception based on priorities determined by the sidelink control information,"
(ii) "wherein, when the first transmission has a higher priority than that of the second reception, the transmission unit executes the first transmission, and
(iii) "wherein, when the second reception has a higher priority than that of the first transmission, the reception unit executes the second reception."…
Cheng does not teach the above-referenced limitations (i)-(iii)…
Chen fails to supply that which Cheng lacks regarding the above-referenced limitations (i)-(iii)…
Huang fails to supply that which Cheng and Chen lack regarding the above-referenced limitations (i)-(iii). Specifically, paragraph [0274] of Huang describes that sending of an NR sidelink and reception of an LTE sidelink may overlap in a time-domain position. However, while paragraph [0132] identifies sidelink control information as an example of physical-layer information through which resource-related information may be sent, Huang is silent with respect to controlling the first transmission and the second reception based on priorities determined by the sidelink control information when the first transmission and the second reception overlap in time domain, as required by the above-referenced limitation (i)…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091,231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case: Cheng in view of Chen teaches a reception unit configured to receive sidelink control information in a terminal-to-terminal direct communication;
a control unit configured to perform control related to first transmission of terminal-to- terminal direct communication in a first RAT (Radio Access Technology) and control related to second transmission of terminal-to-terminal direct communication in a second RAT; and a transmission unit configured to execute at least one of the first transmission and the second transmission, wherein, when the first transmission and the second transmission overlap in time domain, the control unit determines priorities of the first transmission and the second transmission based on the sidelink control information, and the transmission unit executes transmission with higher priority among the first transmission and the second transmission; and wherein the control unit performs control related to second reception of terminal-to-terminal direct communication in the second RAT, as set forth above
Huang teaches when the first transmission and the second reception overlap in time domain, the control unit controls the first transmission and the second reception based on priorities determined by control information corresponding to the sidelink, and wherein, when the first transmission has a higher priority than that of the second reception, the transmission unit executes the first transmission (Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶ [0274], a method for determining a priority sequence between an LTE sidelink and an NR sidelink…For UE, sending of the NR sidelink and sending or reception of the LTE sidelink may overlap in a time-domain position. In FIG. 2B, the sending of the NR sidelink is likely to cause large interference to the reception of the LTE sidelink. The method of the embodiment is also applicable under the condition that the NR sidelink is replaced by the LTE sidelink and the LTE sidelink is replaced by the NR sidelink. ¶ [0275], [0278] 3. The LTE sidelink is prioritized higher than the NR sidelink by default. [0279] 4. The NR sidelink is prioritized higher than the LTE sidelink by default. ¶ [0282], The UE receives a sidelink related priority sequence list from the base station or a core network element or the V2X server. ¶ [0284], The UE receives the PPPP value corresponding to the NR sidelink from the base station or the core network element or the V2X server. ¶ [0286], Under the condition that the time domain resources of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink overlap, the UE may adjust a sending resource of the sidelink with the lower priority. In other words, when the first transmission (e.g., NR sidelink) has higher priority than the second reception (e.g., LTE sidelink), the transmission unit executes the first transmission),
wherein, when the second reception has a higher priority than that of the first transmission, the reception unit executes the second reception (Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶ [0274], a method for determining a priority sequence between an LTE sidelink and an NR sidelink…For UE, sending of the NR sidelink and sending or reception of the LTE sidelink may overlap in a time-domain position. In FIG. 2B, the sending of the NR sidelink is likely to cause large interference to the reception of the LTE sidelink. The method of the embodiment is also applicable under the condition that the NR sidelink is replaced by the LTE sidelink and the LTE sidelink is replaced by the NR sidelink. ¶ [0275], [0278] 3. The LTE sidelink is prioritized higher than the NR sidelink by default. [0279] 4. The NR sidelink is prioritized higher than the LTE sidelink by default. ¶ [0286], Under the condition that the time domain resources of the LTE sidelink and the NR sidelink overlap, the UE may adjust a sending resource of the sidelink with the lower priority. In other words, when the second reception (e.g., LTE sidelink) has higher priority than the first transmission (e.g., NR sidelink), the reception unit executes the second reception).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to control the first transmission/reception and the second transmission/reception based on priorities determined by the sidelink control information (i.e., execute the first transmission/reception when the first transmission/reception has a higher priority than that of the second transmission/reception, and to execute the second transmission/reception when the second transmission/reception has a higher priority than that of the first transmission/reception) in the system of Cheng in view of Chen to further enhance system efficiency and reliability (¶ [0006] of Huang).
Therefore, Cheng in view of Chen render obvious the amended claims (7, 14 and 15), as set forth above.
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MANDISH RANDHAWA whose telephone number is (571)270-5650. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday (9 AM-7 PM). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477