DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 15 are currently pending.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claims 4 and 11 are currently cancelled.
Claims 2, 7, 9, 12-14, and 16 were previously cancelled.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2019/104167 which claims the benefit of CN 201811032489.5 with an effective filing date of 05 September 2018 as reflected in the filing receipt mailed on 26 July 2021. The certified copy of the foreign application filed on 05 March 2021 is acknowledged.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendments filed on 22 July 2026 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10, 11, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 1 has been amended to remove the parenthetical. The rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 adding “wherein the ethylene glycol obtained from step (vi) has ultraviolet transmittances of 75% or more at a wavelength of 220 nm, 92% or more at a wavelength of 275 nm, and 99% or more at a wavelength of 350 nm” not taught by Barnicki and Ren, and cancellation of claims 4 and 11 are sufficient to overcome the rejections of:
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnicki (US20120184783, published 19 July 2012) in view of Ren et al. (WO2018089600, published 17 May 2018, hereinafter Ren); and,
Claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnicki (US20120184783, published 19 July 2012) in view of Ren et al. (WO2018089600, published 17 May 2018, hereinafter Ren), as applied to claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 15 in the 35 USC 103 rejection above, in further view of Frank et al. (“Separation of Glycol Ethers and Similar LCST-Type Hydrogen-Bonding Organics from Aqueous Solution Using Distillation or Liquid-Liquid Extraction”, published 2007, Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research, Vol. 46, Pgs. 3774-3786, hereinafter Frank).
The above rejections are withdrawn. Due to the amendments to claim 1 and cancellation of claims, new ground(s) of rejection is/are provided below
New Ground of Rejection Not Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendment of the Claims Resulting in Second Action Non-Final Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1, step (v) recites the limitation “the water-insoluble azeotropic agent”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 15 depend from base claim 1 and are included in this rejection as they do not correct the informalities identified in base claim 1.
New Rejections Based on the Amendments to the Claims in the reply filed on 22 July 2026
For clarity between the new and previous rejections, the specific new rejections below are in italics.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, and 15 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnicki (US20120184783, published 19 July 2012, PTO-892 dated 07 April 2025) in view of Ren et al. (WO2018089600, published 17 May 2018, PTO-892 dated 07 April 2025 as Liu, hereinafter Ren), in further view of Liu et al. (US20130331618, published 12 December 2013, instant PTO-892, hereinafter Liu).
Barnicki relates to the known prior art field of the separation and purification of a mixed diol stream to obtain ethylene glycol, see Abstract; Fig. 1: Paras. [0007]-[0018], where the mixed diol stream is produced from the hydrogenolysis of carbohydrates, such as sucrose, glucose, fructose, cellulose, sorbitol, or mixtures thereof, or the hydrogenolysis of glycerol, see Paras. [0056]-[0059].
Regarding instant application claim 1, Barnicki teaches a process for refining a carbohydrate based ethylene glycol from a mixture of diols, see Paras. [0004];[0056]-[0058], Fig. 1, comprising:
(i) mixing one or more azeotropic agent extractant hydrophobic solvents feeds 20 and 21, such as n-heptanol, octane, n-nonanol, and n-decanol, with non-petroleum based mixed diols containing ethylene glycol feed 6 to obtain an azeotrope-containing ethylene glycol feed 8, see Fig. 1; Paras. [0057];[0068]-[0070];[0088];[0090]-[0091] & Table;[0153]-[0154], where the hydrophobic solvent forms azeotropic mixtures under distillation conditions employed, see Para. [0071], and when distillation is chosen as the diol recovery method, the hydrophobic extractant is preferentially selected such that at least one component of the extractant forms a minimum boiling azeotrope with the diol components contained in the extract phase. Most preferably, the minimum-boiling azeotrope formed with the diol components is heterogeneous in nature, i.e., forms two liquid phases upon condensation. The diols contained in the extract phase are recovered by distillation wherein the diol-laden extract phase is fed to a distillation column, and the diols are removed overhead as the minimum-boiling azeotropes between at least one hydrophobic extractant component and the diol components to form a distillate product; and the bottoms product comprises a majority of the hydrophobic extractant components, see Paras. [0086]-[0090], meeting step (i) and the specific azeotrope agents in instant application claim 1;
(ii) subjecting the azeotrope-containing ethylene glycol feed 8 to reflux in a distillation tower 4, see Fig. 1; Paras. [0153]-[0154], where the distillation is conducted at 0.2 bar absolute or 150 torr aka 20 kPa, see Paras. [0251]-[0252];[0256]-[0257], and one or more hydrocarbons are added to the distillation feed stream or provided as reflux to the distillation column to enhance the azeotropic separation of the diols, such as the hydrophobic solvents, see Paras. [0071];[0086]-[0091];[0153]-[0155], meeting step (ii) and within the pressure range in instant application claim 1;
(iii) extracted stream 9 containing ethylene glycol exits from the top of the distillation tower 4, see Fig. 1; Paras. [0087]-[0088];[0153]-[0154], meeting step (iii) in instant application claim 1;
(iv) extracted stream 9 already contains water or water is added to the distillate product to assist in the generation of two liquid phases, where the ethylene glycol partitions/dissolves into the water, see Paras. [0090]-[0091];[0154], meeting step (iv) in instant application claim 1;
(v) extracted stream 9 is decanted/separated in decanter 5 to create azeotropic agent extractant hydrophobic solvents feed streams 10 and 12, and hydrophilic phase containing ethylene glycol stream 11, see Fig. 1; Paras. [0153]-[0154], meeting step (v) in instant application claim 1;
(vi) hydrophilic phase containing ethylene glycol stream 11 is sent for further processing, such as by distillation where water and hydrophobic solvents are separated from the ethylene glycol, see Paras. [0071];[0091];[0100];[0153]-[0154];[0187], meeting step (vi) in instant application claim 1;
The mixed diol stream comprises (i) 0.1 weight percent to 50 weight percent of one or more diols selected from ethylene glycol, 1,2-propanediol, 1,3-propanediol 1,2-butanediol, 1,3-butanediol, 1,4-butanediol, and 2,3-butanediol; (ii) 5 weight percent to 90 weight percent glycerol; each based on the total weight of the mixed diol stream with an extractant, see Paras. [0025]-[0030], meeting the ethylene glycol comprising ethylene glycol and butanediol in instant application claim 1; and,
The feed mixed diol stream, comprising (i) 50 weight percent to 99.99 weight percent, ethylene glycol; (ii) 0.01 weight percent to 50 weight percent of one or more four-carbon diols selected from 1,2-butanediol, 1,3-butanediol, 1,4-butanediol, and 2,3-butanediol; each based on the total weight of diols, and (iii) 0 weight percent to 50 weight percent water, based on the total weight of diols and water, with an extractant, comprising (i) a hydrophobic solvent selected from alkanols having from 6 to 20 carbon atoms, see Paras. [0019]-[0024];[0045]-[0050], where the hydrophobic solvents are in a concentration to form azeotropic mixtures under distillation conditions employed, see Paras. [0071]-[0072], i.e., the feed consists of an ethylene glycol raw material feed of 99.9 % ethylene glycol including 0.01% butanediols mixed with a hydrophobic solvent alkanol extractant/azeotrope, meeting:
The feed consists of one or more azeotropic agents and the non-petroleum based-ethylene glycol in instant application claim 1.
Regarding instant application claim 3, Barnicki teaches one or more azeotropic agent extractant hydrophobic solvents include n-heptanol, octane, n-nonanol, and n-decanol, see Paras. [0068]-[0072];[0234]-[0235], Table, meeting the specific azeotropic agents in instant application claim 3.
Regarding instant application claim 8, Barnicki teaches the mixed diol derived by the hydrogenolysis of sorbitol glycerol, comprises about 40 to 90 weight percent 1,2-propanediol, about 10 to about 60 weight percent ethylene glycol, and about 0.1 to about 10 weight percent 1,2-butanediol, see Paras. [0025]-[0030];[0059];[0127], meeting the ethylene glycol in instant application claim 8.
Regarding instant application claim 10, Barnicki teaches the mixed diol stream comprises (i) 0.1 weight percent to 50 weight percent of one or more diols selected from ethylene glycol, 1,2-propanediol, 1,3-propanediol 1,2-butanediol, 1,3-butanediol, 1,4-butanediol, and 2,3-butanediol; (ii) 5 weight percent to 90 weight percent glycerol; each based on the total weight of the mixed diol stream with an extractant, see Paras. [0025]-[0030], meeting and within the ranges in instant application claim 10.
Barnicki further teaches the purity of the ethylene glycol product is greater than 99.99 weight percent, based the total weight of the diols and the total amount of the three-carbon diols and the four-carbon diols is less than 100 ppm by weight, based on the total weight of the diols, see Paras. [0178]-[0181], and process streams rich in ethylene glycol, such as 13 and 10, are further processed in refining columns to produce higher purity ethylene glycol, see Paras. [0153]-[0155]; Figs. 1-2.
Barnicki does not teach:
The instant application claim 1 limitations of wherein the non-petroleum based ethylene glycol comprises pentanediol, hexanediol and
, wherein the non-petroleum based ethylene glycol comprises impurities which affect the ultraviolet transmittance of ethylene glycol, and wherein the ethylene glycol obtained from step (vi) has ultraviolet transmittances of 75% or more at a wavelength of 220 nm, 92% or more at a wavelength of 275 nm, and 99% or more at a wavelength of 350 nm; and,
The limitations of instant application claims 6 and 15.
Ren relates to the known prior art of producing bio-based ethylene glycol from glucose, xylose, sucrose, fructose, and mixtures thereof, see Abstract; Paras. [0013]-[0017], and is applied to teach the same.
Regarding instant application claim 1, Ren teaches wherein the bio-based ethylene glycol produced from agricultural waste comprising pentanediol, hexanediol and
aka of 2-[(5- methyltetrahydro-2-furanyl)methoxy]ethanol, see Paras. [0016]-[0022], meeting the composition of the ethylene glycol in instant application claim 1.
Regarding instant application claims 6 and 15, Ren teaches the bio-based ethylene glycol is extracted from plant mass, such as sugar cane, corn wheat, cassava, agricultural waste, and wood chips, see Paras. [0005]-[0006];[0013];[0016]-[0018], meeting the limitations in instant application claim 6 and in instant application claim 15.
Regarding instant application claim 1, Ren teaches impurities in the bio-based ethylene glycol affect the transparency of PET materials made from the ethylene glycol, see Paras. [0023]-[0025];[0036], meeting the non-petroleum based ethylene glycol comprises impurities which affect the ultraviolet transmittance of ethylene glycol limitations in instant application claim 1.
Liu is in the known prior art field of methods for improving the quality of ethylene glycol products by solving the technical problem of low UV-light transmittance of the ethylene glycol products, see Abstract, where the ethylene glycol is a non-petroleum ethylene glycol and an important index for measuring the quality of the fiber-grade ethylene glycol products is the UV-light transmittance at 220 nm, because it will affect the luster and chrominance of the downstream polyester products, see Paras. [0004]-[0005], and is applied to teach the same.
Regarding the limitations of instant application claim 1, Liu teaches when purifying ethylene glycol although the purity of ethylene glycol is already very high, the UV-light transmittances at 220 nm, 275 nm and 350 nm of the ethylene glycol products still do not reach a very ideal value (as required by the Chinese National Standards of the superior grade of ethylene glycol products, the UV-light transmittances at 220 nm, 275 nm and 350 nm of the ethylene glycol products shall be respectively greater than 75, 95 and 98). The reason lies in that the trace impurities and even trace impurities at a ppm grade have remarkable impact on the UV-light transmittance of the products, see Para. [0017], where after distillation/rectification/etc. the ethylene glycol is further catalytically refined to obtain the UV-light transmittance of the ethylene glycol products of greater than 75 at 220 nm, greater than 95 at 275 nm, and greater than 98 at 350 nm, see Paras. [0007];[0010];[0017]-[0019], such as 80 at 220 nm, 97 at 275 nm and 100 at 350 nm, see Para. [0027], meeting:
Within the transmittance ranges at the wavelengths in instant application claim 1.
In reference to the above claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the carbohydrate feed source such as sucrose, glucose, fructose, cellulose, sorbitol, or mixtures thereof of Barnicki with the plant based mass such as glucose, xylose, sucrose, fructose, and mixtures thereof containing the ethylene glycol impurities as taught by Ren with a reasonable predictability of success for the purpose of advantageously producing bio-derived ethylene glycol for making bio-derived PET bottles that are significantly more transparent than polyester bottles made from petroleum-based ethylene glycol, see Ren, Paras. [0006]-[0009];[0023]-[0025];[0036].
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product or process was not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense, see MPEP 2143 I.E. Since patents are part of the literature of the prior art relevant for all they contain, see MPEP 2123, and both Barnicki and Ren teach bio-derived ethylene glycol, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to purify a biomass-derived mixed diol stream with select impurities by pursuing the known options within their technical grasp before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for knowledge generally available within the ethylene glycol purification art regarding the selection of the bio-based feed, for the benefit of advantageously producing bio-derived ethylene glycol for making bio-derived PET bottles that are significantly more transparent than polyester bottles made from petroleum-based ethylene glycol, see Ren, Paras. [0006]-[0009];[0023]-[0025];[0036]; and MPEP 2141.
In reference to the above claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have varied the ethylene glycol refining column of Barnicki to refine an ethylene glycol with the purity transmittance wavelength levels as taught by Liu with a reasonable predictability of success for the purpose of purifying a mixed ethylene glycol and diol stream in order to obtain purified ethylene glycol at an internationally recognized general index for judging the superior grade of ethylene glycol products for use of the purified ethylene glycol in products that require high UV-light transmission, such as polyester products, see Liu, Paras. [0004]-[0006];[0017].
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense, see MPEP 2143 I.E. Since patents are part of the literature of the prior art relevant for all they contain, see MPEP 2123, and Barnicki and Liu both teach the purification of ethylene glycol, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to modify Barnicki by relying upon Liu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for knowledge generally available within the ethylene glycol purification art regarding the optimal UV transmittance of the product ethylene glycol, see MPEP 2143 B & G and 2141, for the benefit of purifying a mixed ethylene glycol and diol stream in order to obtain purified ethylene glycol at an internationally recognized general index for judging the superior grade of ethylene glycol products for use of the purified ethylene glycol in products that require high UV-light transmission, such as polyester products, see Liu, Paras. [0004]-[0006];[0017]; and, MPEP 2141 and 2143 I. B-D.
As stated in Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 189 USPQ 449, reh’g denied,
426 U.S. 955 (1976), “[w]hen a work is available in one field of endeavor, design
incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field
or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §
103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to
improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it
would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its
actual application is beyond his or her skill”, see MPEP 2141.
In addition, the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is
already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set
of percentage ranges, such as the concentration of the chemicals in the mixed diol feedstock and the % UV transmittance of the ethylene glycol product at differing wavelengths, is the optimum combination of percentages, see MPEP 2144.05.
Selection of a known material, such as a carbohydrate ethylene glycol source, based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), see MPEP 2144.07.
It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of proportions, such as distillation pressures, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions, see MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 5 is newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnicki (US20120184783, published 19 July 2012, PTO-892 dated 07 April 2025) in view of Ren et al. (WO2018089600, published 17 May 2018, PTO-892 dated 07 April 2025 as Liu, hereinafter Ren) in further view of Liu et al. (US20130331618, published 12 December 2013, instant PTO-892, hereinafter Liu), as applied to claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, and 15 in the 35 USC 103 rejection above, in further view of Frank et al. (published 2007, Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research, Vol. 46, PTO-892 dated 22 January 2026, hereinafter Frank), as evidenced by Methyl Heptyl Ketone (published June 1999, instant PTO-892, hereinafter MHK).
The teachings of Barnicki, Ren, and Liu are as discussed above in the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, and 15.
Barnicki teaches wherein the one or more azeotropic agents is 5-ethyl-2-nonanone, see Para. [0234], Table.
Barnicki, Ren, and Liu do not teach the instant application claim 5 limitation of wherein the one or more azeotropic agents is 2-nonanone.
Frank relates to the known prior art of the azeotropic solvent distillation or liquid-liquid extraction of glycol ethers, see Abstract, and is applied to teach the same.
Regarding instant application claim 5, Frank teaches 2-nonanone also known within the art as methyl heptyl ketone (MHK), as evidenced by MHK, Pg. 1, Col. 1, Cautionary Response Information, Common Synonyms, is a liquid-liquid azeotropic agent for the extraction of glycol ethers, such as ethylene glycol ethers, from mixed aqueous fluids, see Pg. 3774, Col. 2, First Full Para.-Pg. 3775, Materials and Methods; Pg. 3779, Col. 2, Liquid-Liquid Extraction Using a Steam-Strippable Solvent – Pg. 3780, Col. 2, Ln. 11; Fig. 4; Tables 10-13, meeting the 2-nonanone azeotrope limitation in instant application claim 5.
In reference to the above claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the nonanone of Barnicki with the 2-nonanone as taught by Frank with a reasonable predictability of success for the purpose of economically extracting ethylene glycol from a mixture of diols in an aqueous solution, see Frank, Pg. 3774, Col. 2, First Full Para. – Pg. 3775, Col. 1, Ln. 4.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense”, see MPEP 2143 I.E. Since patents are part of the literature of the prior art relevant for all they contain, see MPEP 2123, and both Barnicki and Frank teach nonanone extractants, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to purify a mixed diol aqueous stream by pursuing the known options within their technical grasp before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for knowledge generally available within the ethylene glycol purification art regarding the selection of known nonanone ethylene glycol extractants/azeotropes for the benefit of economically extracting ethylene glycol from a mixture of diols in an aqueous solution, see Frank, Pg. 3774, Col. 2, First Full Para. – Pg. 3775, Col. 1, Ln. 4; and MPEP 2141.
As stated in Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 189 USPQ 449, reh’g denied,
426 U.S. 955 (1976), “[w]hen a work is available in one field of endeavor, design
incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field
or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §
103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to
improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it
would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its
actual application is beyond his or her skill”, see MPEP 2141.
Selection of a known material, such as a nonanone isomer, based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), see MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 22 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The rejections of Barnicki in view of Ren; and, Barnicki in view of Ren in further view of Frank have been amended to add Liu because Liu teaches the ultraviolet transmittance limitations of currently amended claim 1. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments that Barnicki, Ren, and Frank do not disclose the limitations as recited in amended claim 1 have been considered but are not persuasive for the reasons set forth in the new grounds of rejection above and the response to arguments below.
In response to Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-8 of the remarks filed on 22 July 2026 that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify the processes of Barnicki to include a step of subjecting the azeotrope-containing ethylene glycol feed to reflux in an azeotropic or rectification tower, the hydrophobic solvents of Barnicki are not applied as azeotropic agents, and Barnicki teaches away from the hydrophobic solvents as azeotropic agents used in a distillation reflux. These arguments have been considered but are not persuasive for the reasons detailed below.
Patents part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain, see MPEP 2123, and the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed, see MPEP 2123.
In this case, Barnicki specifically teaches one or more hydrocarbons may be added to the distillation feed stream or provided as reflux to the distillation column to enhance the azeotropic separation of the diols, see Paras. [0090]-[0091];[0153]-[0155], where the mixed diol stream is contacted with an extractant that comprises at least one hydrophobic solvent selected from n-heptanol, n-hexanol, cyclohexanol, 4-methyl-2-pentanol, n-octanol, n-nonanol, n-decanol, hexane, heptane, octane, decane, see Paras. [0068]-[0070]. If more than one hydrophobic solvent is used as the extractant, these solvents may or may not form azeotropic mixtures under distillation conditions employed, see Para. [0071]. When distillation is chosen as the diol recovery method, the hydrophobic extractant is preferentially selected such that at least one component of the extractant forms a minimum boiling azeotrope with the diol components contained in the extract phase. Most preferably, the minimum-boiling azeotrope formed with the diol components is heterogeneous in nature, i.e., forms two liquid phases upon condensation, and diols contained in the extract phase are recovered by distillation wherein the diol-laden extract phase is fed to a distillation column, and the diols are removed overhead as the minimum-boiling azeotropes between at least one hydrophobic extractant component and the diol components to form a distillate product; and the bottoms product comprises a majority of the hydrophobic extractant components, see Paras. [0086]-[0090].
Therefore, Barnicki specifically teaches subjecting the azeotrope-containing ethylene glycol feed to reflux in an azeotropic distillation tower, and the instantly claimed azeotropic agents are hydrophobic azeotropic solvents, such as decanol, heptanol, and nonanone, that are used in an azeotropic distillation separation of glycols from the azeotropic hydrophobic solvent.
A rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. Another rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of modifying Barnicki to select the optimal hydrophobic azeotropic solvents for an azeotropic distillation separation of glycols from the azeotropic hydrophobic solvents by applying the differing known optimal hydrophobic azeotropic solvents and azeotropic distillation separation as taught by Barnicki with a reasonable predictability of success for the purpose of separating a mixed stream of diols by selecting a hydrophobic extractant such that at least one component of the extractant forms a minimum boiling azeotrope with the diol components contained in the extract phase thus increasing the purity of the ethylene glycol recovered, see Barnicki, Paras. [0100];[0109]-[0115];[0180]; and MPEP 2143 I. B-D.
For the reasons indicated above, Applicant’s above arguments are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments on pages 5 and 9 of the remarks filed on 22 July 2026 that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have possessed the motivation or guidance to arrive at the processes of the amended claims from the disclosure of Barnicki and Ren, and the Examiner's contention is impermissibly based on hindsight after reading the Applicant's disclosure. These arguments have been considered but are not persuasive for the reasons detailed below.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art, see MPEP 2145.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the diol containing sucrose feed source of Barnicki, see Para. [0057], with the plant based diol containing sucrose feed source as taught by Ren with a reasonable predictability of success for the purpose of advantageously producing bio-derived ethylene glycol, see Ren, Paras. [0006]-[0009];[0023]-[0025];[0036], with purity levels at the internationally recognized wavelengths indicative of the optimal UV-light transmittance of downstream products made from the non-petroleum ethylene glycol, see Liu, Paras. [0004]-[0005];[0017].
Since patents are part of the literature of the prior art relevant for all they contain, see MPEP 2123, and both Barnicki and Ren teach bio-derived ethylene glycol from sugars, such as sucrose, glucose, and fructose, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to purify a biomass-derived mixed diol stream with select impurities within the sugars by pursuing the known options within their technical grasp for the benefit of advantageously producing bio-derived ethylene glycol for making bio-derived PET bottles that are significantly more transparent than polyester bottles made from petroleum-based ethylene glycol, see Ren, Paras. [0006]-[0009];[0023]-[0025];[0036]; and MPEP 2141.
Since both Barnicki and Ren teach bio-derived ethylene glycol from sugars, such as sucrose, glucose, and fructose, the prior art contains detailed enabling methodology, a suggestion to modify the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and evidence suggesting the modification would be successful, see MPEP 2145 X.B.; therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to try the plant based ethylene glycol having low impurities as taught by Ren as the feedstock in the separation and purification of ethylene glycol mixed diol streams of Barnicki in order to advantageously produce bio-derived ethylene glycol for making bio-derived PET bottles that are significantly more transparent than polyester bottles made from petroleum-based ethylene glycol, see Ren, Paras. [0006]-[0009];[0023]-[0025];[0036].
Furthermore, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper, see In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971) and MPEP 2145 X.A. Only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made has been applied to determine obviousness.
For the reasons indicated above, Applicant’s above arguments are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments on pages 9-10 of the remarks filed on 22 July 2026 that the experiments in Frank do not pertain to the separation of ethylene glycol. These arguments have been considered but are not persuasive for the reasons detailed below.
A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention), see MPEP 2141.01(a). In this case, Frank is specifically in the field of the azeotropic separation of glycols and is specifically directed to the problem to be solved of the separation of ethylene glycols, such as ethylene glycol ethers, using 2-nonanone aka methyl heptyl ketone as an azeotropic agent, see Pg. 3774, Col. 2, First Full Para.-Pg. 3775, Materials and Methods; Pg. 3779, Col. 2, Liquid-Liquid Extraction Using a Steam-Strippable Solvent – Pg. 3780, Col. 2, Ln. 11; Fig. 4; Tables 10-13.
For the reasons indicated above, Applicant’s above arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
This action is a second action Non-Final rejection in view of the new 35 USC 112(b) ground of rejection above not necessitated by Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
/YO/Examiner, Art Unit 1692
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693