DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The art rejections still apply as presented previously. The cancellation of claim 18 has obviated the objection to claim 18.
Applicant asserts in section The claimed “first mixing unit” of the Remarks that Nicholas does not disclose a mixing unit. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is the Office’s position that junction at the convergence of flows 134 and 137 is a mixing unit. No specific definition of a mixing unit is provided and so the broadest reasonable interpretation is given. A pipeline through which two streams are input is a mixing unit since the streams would by necessity mix and a junction is a unit.
Applicant asserts in section The claimed “compressor” of the Remarks that Nicholas does not disclose compression of the combined stream of streams 134 and 137. But the Office has already recognized this. Thus, the obviousness statement for rearrangement. The rejection modifies Nicholas such that the compressor is downstream of the convergence of streams 134 and 137 and thus downstream of the mixing unit as explained in paragraph 3 above. There is not internal inconsistency since a mixing unit is present in Nicholas.
Applicant asserts in section McKeigue of the Remarks that the difference in the end products of the two plants of Nicholas and McKeigue means that difference separation methods are used in the two plants to obtain streams with different compositions. The Applicant is obfuscating the rejection. It is the Office’s position that using hydrogen as fuel for a combustor is not grounds for patentability. The purity of the hydrogen is not relevant for the motivation statement. Hydrogen is a highly combustible fuel and Nicholas is producing it and in need of fuel for combusting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicholas (US 4,732,596) in view of McKeigue (US 2010/0074811 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Nicholas discloses an apparatus comprising: a steam reformer 106 capable of reforming fuel to produce reformate comprising H2, CO, CO2, CH4, and H2O (column 4, lines 48-68); a cooling section 103 capable of cooling the reformate and condensing the water (column 5, lines 1-5); a PSA 230 downstream of the reformer 106 capable of producing purified CO2 stream 134 and CO2 scrubbed stream 136 (column 5, lines 5-15); a cold box 118 downstream of PSA 230 capable of receiving stream 136 and producing off-gas 137, H2-rich stream 138, and high-purity CO stream 133 (column 5, lines 19-22); a mixing unit arranged to receive streams 134 and 137 for recycling to the reformer 106 (column 5, lines 13-15); and a H2-rich recycle loop 145 capable of providing stream 138 to reformer 106 (column 5, lines 29-33). Nicholas discloses a compressor arranged to compress purified CO2 stream 134 from the PSA 230 (see Figure 2) but not that it arranged to compressed the combination of 134 and 137. Mere rearrangement of parts is not grounds for patentability, however. See MPEP 2144.04 VI C. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to move the compressor of Nicholas downstream of the mixing unit of Nicholas so that both the off-gas 137, too, would receive the benefits of compression afforded purified CO2 stream 134 since they are to be combined and sent to the same location.
Nicholas discloses a recycle loop 145 for providing effluent from cold box 118 to the reformer 106 but not that hydrogen can be provided to the burner of the reformer. McKeigue—in an invention for a steam reformer system with CO2 separation means—discloses utilizing hydrogen produced by the reformer for the burner of the reformer in to utilize system outputs as inputs (paragraph 66). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a means by which produced hydrogen in Nicholas can be used to replace or supplement burner fuel to increase process efficiency as suggested by McKeigue.
Regarding claims 11 and 15, Nicholas discloses ATR (claim 5).
Regarding claim 12, Nicholas discloses that the cold box uses a TSA system (column 13, lines 26-58).
Regarding claim 13, Nicholas discloses a second mixing unit capable of mixing the compressed carbon-rich stream 104 with process gas 100 (column 4, lines 55-59).
Regarding claim 17, Nicholas discloses a CO purity of 99.5% (column 4, lines 11-16).
Regarding claim 19, Nicholas discloses a H2 purity of 99.9+% (column 4, lines 17-20).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725