DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Nicholas reference still applies but the Okamoto reference is no longer used. The arguments pertaining to Okamoto are therefore moot. New rejections and objections are present resultant from amendment.
Applicant makes one argument to Nicholas specifically that does not involve Okamoto. Applicant asserts at the bottom of 8 to the top of page 9 that “there is no teaching or suggestion to combine the purified CO2 stream and cold box off-gas into a single carbon-rich recycle stream prior to compression and return to the reformer.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As cited in the rejection, Nicholas is explicit: “The removed CO2 together with the hydrogen purge gas is discharged into line 134, compressed and recycled to the reformer feed” (column 5, lines 13-15).
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 10 be found allowable, claim 18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nicholas (US 4,732,596) in view of McKeigue (US 2010/0074811 A1).
Regarding claims 9, 10, and 18, Nicholas discloses an apparatus comprising: a steam reformer 106 capable of reforming fuel to produce reformate comprising H2, CO, CO2, CH4, and H2O (column 4, lines 48-68); a cooling section 103 capable of cooling the reformate and condensing the water (column 5, lines 1-5); a PSA 230 downstream of the reformer 106 capable of producing purified CO2 stream 134 and CO2 scrubbed stream 136 (column 5, lines 5-15); a cold box 118 downstream of PSA 230 capable of receiving stream 136 and producing off-gas 137, H2-rich stream 138, and high-purity CO stream 133 (column 5, lines 19-22); a mixing unit arranged to receive streams 134 and 137 for recycling to the reformer 106 (column 5, lines 13-15); and a H2-rich recycle loop 145 capable of providing stream 138 to reformer 106 (column 5, lines 29-33). Nicholas discloses a compressor arranged to compress purified CO2 stream 134 from the PSA 230 (see Figure 2) but not that it arranged to compressed the combination of 134 and 137. Mere rearrangement of parts is not grounds for patentability, however. See MPEP 2144.04 VI C. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to move the compressor of Nicholas downstream of the mixing unit of Nicholas so that both the off-gas 137, too, would receive the benefits of compression afforded purified CO2 stream 134 since they are to be combined and sent to the same location.
Nicholas discloses a recycle loop 145 for providing effluent from cold box 118 to the reformer 106 but not that hydrogen can be provided to the burner of the reformer. McKeigue—in an invention for a steam reformer system with CO2 separation means—discloses utilizing hydrogen produced by the reformer for the burner of the reformer in to utilize system outputs as inputs (paragraph 66). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide a means by which produced hydrogen in Nicholas can be used to replace or supplement burner fuel to increase process efficiency as suggested by McKeigue.
Regarding claims 11 and 15, Nicholas discloses ATR (claim 5).
Regarding claim 12, Nicholas discloses that the cold box uses a TSA system (column 13, lines 26-58).
Regarding claim 13, Nicholas discloses a second mixing unit capable of mixing the compressed carbon-rich stream 104 with process gas 100 (column 4, lines 55-59).
Regarding claim 17, Nicholas discloses a CO purity of 99.5% (column 4, lines 11-16).
Regarding claim 19, Nicholas discloses a H2 purity of 99.9+% (column 4, lines 17-20).
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725