DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
The application was filed 10 March 2021 and is the national stage entry of PCT/NZ2019/050120 filed 10 September 2019. The Applicant claims priority to foreign application NZ746215 filed 10 September 2018. A translated copy of the foreign document has been provided. Therefore, the effective filing date of the application is 10 September 2018.
Examiner’s Note
The Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 19 May 2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 19 May 2026, it is noted that claim 1 has been amended and no new claims have been added. Support for the amendment may be found in para. 57 of the instant specification. No new matter has been added.
Declaration
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 19 May 2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1, 6, 7, 9-11, 15-17, 26, 27 based upon the teachings of Green, Eckenhoff, Lubrizol 2005, Merck, and Dixon as set forth in the last Office action because: the Applicant argues unexpected results regarding a certain set of polymers. For example, the Applicant has summarized data for Polyox 301, Polyox 303, Polyox 1105, Carbomer Ultrez 10, and Carbomer 980 N. The Applicant argues that the claimed polymers maintain a functional and relatively stable payout rate as ion concentration increases and that even at the highest ion concentrations tested, the aforementioned polymers allegedly provided meaningful payout. However, Poloxamer 407, HPMC, Carbomer 971, and Carbomer 934 were not able to resist changes in ion concentrations as well and are allegedly outside the scope of the claims. The Applicant speculates that these polymers are better able to resist these changes due to higher viscosity and/or more crosslinking. The Applicant argues that the limitations in claim 1 exclude certain polymers based on the molecular weight and viscosity and that other anionic poly(acrylic acid) interpolymers would also be able to resist the effects of changing cation concentrations.
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. As stated in response to the previously filed declaration, higher molecular weight and viscosity polyox is known in the art to have better swelling and gelling abilities, acting as a barrier in drug release studies (Shojaee, abs, pg. 1281). Therefore, it is unsurprising that a drug device in similar conditions, such as an aqueous system or passing through the gastrointestinal tract, would experience a similar effect related to the superior properties of a higher molecular weight or more viscous polymer.
Furthermore, the conditions in instant claim 1, such as “an ionic poly(acrylic acid) interpolymer” and “an anionic acrylic acid interpolymer that is water insoluble” are considered too broad in comparison to the data the Applicant has shown thus far. It is also too broad for the Applicant to claim and assume that all of these non-ionic polyethylene oxide homopolymers or poly(acrylic acid) interpolymers with these broad molecular weights, viscosities, etc. would exhibit these same exact properties. Therefore, the data are not commensurate in scope with the claims. “For objective evidence of secondary considerations to be accorded substantial weight, its proponent must establish a nexus between the evidence and the merits of the claimed invention.” Wyers v. Master Lock Co., 616 F.3d 1231, 1246 [95 USPQ2d 1525] (Fed. Cir. 2010) (quotation omitted). Where the offered secondary consideration actually results from something other than what is both claimed and novel in the claim, there is no nexus to the merits of the claimed invention. Tokai Corp. v. Easton Enters., Inc., 632 F.3d 1358, 1369 [97 USPQ2d 1673] (Fed. Cir. 2011) (“If commercial success is due to an element in the prior art, no nexus exists.”); Ormco Corp., 463 F.3d at 1312 (“[I]f the feature that creates the commercial success was known in the prior art, the success is not pertinent.”); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 [16 USPQ2d 1934] (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 15-17, 27, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green et al. (NZ 554633 A) and Mahalingam et al. (Evaluation of Polyethylene Oxide Compacts as Gastroretentive Delivery Systems, AAPS PharmSciTech, 2009), evidenced by materials.alfachemic.com, chempep.com, and fishersci.com.
Green et al. teach an intraruminal device capable of releasing at least two active ingredients (entire teaching, abs). The device may comprise an elongated body impervious to rumen fluids, a body defining a barrel having an end outlet, a column of matrices in the barrel, a compression arrangement within the body adapted to bias the column in the barrel to deliver the matrix to the outlet, and a variable geometry device to aid in rumen retention (claim 1). Acceptable carriers include sucrose esters (pg. 23) and hydroxymethyl cellulose (pg. 23), which is a gel former, as evidenced by the specification (para. 193), diluents include polyethylene glycol (other name: polyethylene oxide; evidenced by materials.alfachemic.com, pg. 1) (pg. 25) and wetting agents include acrylic acid or methacrylic acid polymers or copolymers (pg. 23), all addressing claim 1. Polyethylene glycol typically has a molecular weight from 300-10,000,000 g/mol (chempep.com, pg. 1), which is interpreted as addressing the molecular weight limitation of claim 1. Applicant’s elections of polyethylene oxide and polyacrylic acid are interpreted as also addressing the limitations in claim 1. Active agents include ectoparasiticides (pg. 21), as well as anthelmintics, such as benzimidazoles (pg. 21), which addresses claims 15-17, 27, and 28.
Green et al. do not teach an exact combination of an intraruminal device with a gel former, cross-linked anionic polymer, and non-ionic polymer in claim 1. Green does not specify a molecular weight of 0.9 million to about 7 million g/mol for polyethylene oxide in claim 1.
Mahalingam teaches that polyethylene oxide in combination with PVP results in a non-disintegrating type of dosage form, which is particularly suitable for gastroretentive drug delivery applications (abs).
In regards to selecting the combination of an intraruminal device, active ingredient, gel former, cross-linked anionic polymer, and a non-ionic polymer, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various
combination of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Green teaches an intraruminal device capable of releasing at least two active ingredients, whereas the claimed invention is directed towards an intraruminal device comprising an active ingredient, a gel former, at least one polymer. Since Green teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Since Green does not specify a molecular weight of 0.9 million to about 7 million g/mol for polyethylene oxide in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Mahalingam’s teaching of polyethylene oxide (PEO), which is interpreted as very high molecular weight polyethylene glycol (PEG) (evidenced by fishersci.com, pg. 1, where the compound with a molecular weight of one million is referred to polyethylene oxide but structurally is the same as polyethylene glycol), with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings because Green broadly teaches PEG and PVP in an intraruminal device, but does not specify a molecular weight, and Mahalingam teaches that higher molecular weight PEO results in a type of bioadhesive dosage form that is particularly suitable for gastroretentive applications. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 9-11, 15-17, 27, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eckenhoff (GB 2179252 A), Green et al. (NZ 554633 A), and Lubrizol 2005, as evidenced by Lubrizol 2020, Merck, and Dixon et al. (Veterinary drug residues).
Eckenhoff teaches an intraruminal dispenser composition (entire teaching; pg. 1, lns. 91-96) comprising a beneficial agent, partially impermeable wall, a hydrogel that expands to displace the formulation (pg. 2, lns. 1-5), an exit (abs), a density element that geometrically conforms to the shape of the dispenser (pg. 3, lns. 78-82), and an internal compartment that holds the contents (pg. 1, lns. 1-18). The internal components may include gel polymers or methyl cellulose derivatives (pg. 5, lns. 83-85, 104-105), which is interpreted as a gel former, polyethylene oxide polymers (interpreted as a homopolymer) with a molecular weight of 10,000-5,000,000 (pg. 5, lns. 121-122), and polyacrylic acid with a molecular weight of 80,000-200,000 (pg. 5, lns. 119-121), and a parasiticide or anthelminthic such as ivermectin or avermectin (pg. 6, ln. 123; pg. 7, lns. 14-15), all addressing claim 1, as well as claims 15, 16, and 28. The polymers used in the composition have a viscosity of 5,000-10,000,000 cP (pg. 5, lns. 92-94), addressing claims 6 and 10. Eckenhoff provides an example using Carbopol 934P, which is an example of a carbomer homopolymer (acrylic acid crosslinked with allyl sucrose or allyl pentaerythritol), as evidenced by Lubrizol (pg. 1), addressing claim 9. Ivermectin and avermectin are examples of a macrocyclic lactone and endo/ectoparasiticidal agent, as evidenced by Merck (pg. 1) and Dixon (pg. 1), addressing claims 17 and 27. The composition comprising polyacrylic acid, as opposed to an acrylate group, is interpreted as having no free anionic groups, addressing claim 7.
Eckenhoff does not explicitly teach a sucrose ester or an exact combination of an intraruminal device comprising an active ingredient, sucrose ester gel former, a non-ionic polymer and/or cross-linked anionic polymer in claim 1. Eckenhoff also does not explicitly teach a cross-linked anionic polymer comprising a block copolymer of polyethylene glycol and a long chain alkyl acid ester in claim 11.
Green et al. teach an intraruminal device capable of releasing at least two active ingredients (entire teaching, abs). The device may comprise an elongated body impervious to rumen fluids, a body defining a barrel having an end outlet, a column of matrices in the barrel, a compression arrangement within the body adapted to bias the column in the barrel to deliver the matrix to the outlet, and a variable geometry device to aid in rumen retention (claim 1). Acceptable carriers include sucrose esters (pg. 23) and hydroxymethyl cellulose (pg. 23), which is a gel former, as evidenced by the specification (para. 193), diluents include polyethylene glycol (other name: polyethylene oxide) (pg. 25) and wetting agents include acrylic acid or methacrylic acid polymers or copolymers (pg. 23).
Lubrizol 2005 teaches that Carbopol interpolymers (carbomer homopolymers or copolymers containing a block copolymer of polyethylene glycol and a long chain alkyl acid ester, pg. 3) provide benefits and advantages such as thickening efficiency, suspending capability, long viscous flow (pg. 8), and good controlled release properties (pg. 1).
In regards to selecting a combination of an antiparasitic agent, gel former, polyacrylic acid, and polyethylene oxide, “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G.Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “When the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742.
Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combination of various disclosed ingredients from within a prior art disclosure, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.”
Eckenhoff teaches an intraruminal device capable of releasing an active ingredient and further comprising polyethylene oxide and polyacrylic acid, whereas the claimed invention is directed towards an intraruminal device comprising an active ingredient, a gel former, at least one polymer. Since Eckenhoff teaches the individual components of the claimed composition, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to select the different combinations of ingredients to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Since Eckenhoff does not explicitly teach a cross-linked anionic polymer comprising a block copolymer of polyethylene glycol and a long chain alkyl acid ester in claim 11 or a sucrose ester in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a Carbopol interpolymer from Lubrizol’s teaching to address the deficiency in Eckenhoff, as Eckenhoff teaches various Carbopol components (Example 1, pg. 5, ln. 117). Additionally, Eckenhoff and Green teach intraruminal devices that are somewhat impermeable to fluids and can release at least two active agents. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute or combine one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues unexpected results regarding a certain set of polymers. For example, the Applicant has summarized data for Polyox 301, Polyox 303, Polyox 1105, Carbomer Ultrez 10, and Carbomer 980 N. The Applicant argues that the claimed polymers maintain a functional and relatively stable payout rate as ion concentration increases and that even at the highest ion concentrations tested, the aforementioned polymers allegedly provided meaningful payout. However, Poloxamer 407, HPMC, Carbomer 971, and Carbomer 934 were not able to resist changes in ion concentrations as well and are allegedly outside the scope of the claims. The Applicant speculates that these polymers are better able to resist these changes due to higher viscosity and/or more crosslinking. The Applicant argues that the limitations in claim 1 exclude certain polymers based on the molecular weight and viscosity and that other anionic poly(acrylic acid) interpolymers would also be able to resist the effects of changing cation concentrations.
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. As stated in response to the previously filed declaration, higher molecular weight and viscosity polyox is known in the art to have better swelling and gelling abilities, acting as a barrier in drug release studies (Shojaee, abs, pg. 1281). Therefore, it is unsurprising that a drug device in similar conditions, such as an aqueous system or passing through the gastrointestinal tract, would experience a similar effect related to the superior properties of a higher molecular weight or more viscous polymer.
Furthermore, the conditions in instant claim 1, such as “an ionic poly(acrylic acid) interpolymer” and “an anionic acrylic acid interpolymer that is water insoluble” are considered too broad in comparison to the data the Applicant has shown thus far. It is also too broad for the Applicant to claim and assume that all of these non-ionic polyethylene oxide homopolymers or poly(acrylic acid) interpolymers with these broad molecular weights, viscosities, etc. would exhibit these same exact properties. Therefore, the data are not commensurate in scope with the claims. “For objective evidence of secondary considerations to be accorded substantial weight, its proponent must establish a nexus between the evidence and the merits of the claimed invention.” Wyers v. Master Lock Co., 616 F.3d 1231, 1246 [95 USPQ2d 1525] (Fed. Cir. 2010) (quotation omitted). Where the offered secondary consideration actually results from something other than what is both claimed and novel in the claim, there is no nexus to the merits of the claimed invention. Tokai Corp. v. Easton Enters., Inc., 632 F.3d 1358, 1369 [97 USPQ2d 1673] (Fed. Cir. 2011) (“If commercial success is due to an element in the prior art, no nexus exists.”); Ormco Corp., 463 F.3d at 1312 (“[I]f the feature that creates the commercial success was known in the prior art, the success is not pertinent.”); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 [16 USPQ2d 1934] (Fed. Cir. 1990).
The Applicant argues that Green does not describe the use of high molecular-weight PEG (Remarks, pg. 10).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Green teaches use of diluents, such as polyethylene glycol (other name: polyethylene oxide; evidenced by materials.alfachemic.com, pg. 1) (pg. 25) and wetting agents include acrylic acid or methacrylic acid polymers or copolymers (pg. 23). Polyethylene glycol typically has a molecular weight from 300-10,000,000 g/mol (chempep.com, pg. 1). Therefore, the polyethylene glycol used in Green’s teaching is interpreted as addressing the non-ionic polyethylene oxide homopolymer with a molecular weight of 0.9-7 million g/mol in instant claim 1. Furthermore, Mahalingam teaches that polyethylene oxide in combination with PVP results in a non-disintegrating type of dosage form, which is particularly suitable for gastroretentive drug delivery applications (abs).
Since Green does not specify a molecular weight of 0.9 million to about 7 million g/mol for polyethylene oxide in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Mahalingam’s teaching of polyethylene oxide (PEO), which is interpreted as very high molecular weight polyethylene glycol (PEG), with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been led to combine the teachings because Green broadly teaches PEG and PVP in an intraruminal device, but does not specify a molecular weight, and Mahalingam teaches that higher molecular weight PEO results in a type of bioadhesive dosage form that is particularly suitable for gastroretentive applications. “Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07).”
The Applicant argues that there is an unexpected technical effect and a skilled artisan would not have been led to expect superior payout (Remarks, pg. 10).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. It is too broad for the Applicant to claim and assume that all of these non-ionic polyethylene oxide homopolymers or poly(acrylic acid) interpolymers with these broad molecular weights, viscosities, etc. would exhibit these same exact properties. Therefore, the data are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
The Applicant argues that Green does not teach PEO within the claimed molecular weight range or the claimed specific acrylic polymers (Remarks, pgs. 11-12).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Green teaches use of diluents, such as polyethylene glycol (other name: polyethylene oxide; evidenced by materials.alfachemic.com, pg. 1) (pg. 25) and wetting agents include acrylic acid or methacrylic acid polymers or copolymers (pg. 23). Polyethylene glycol typically has a molecular weight from 300-10,000,000 g/mol (chempep.com, pg. 1). Therefore, the polyethylene glycol used in Green’s teaching is interpreted as addressing the non-ionic polyethylene oxide homopolymer with a molecular weight of 0.9-7 million g/mol in instant claim 1.
The Applicant rebuts the obviousness rejection over Eckhenhoff, Green, and Lubrizol in view of the unexpected results (Remarks, pgs. 13).
Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The conditions claimed in instant claim 1, such as “an ionic poly(acrylic acid) interpolymer” and “an anionic acrylic acid interpolymer that is water insoluble” are considered too broad in comparison to the data the Applicant has shown thus far. It is also too broad for the Applicant to claim and assume that all of these non-ionic polyethylene oxide homopolymers or poly(acrylic acid) interpolymers with these broad molecular weights, viscosities, etc. would exhibit these same exact properties. Therefore, the data are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
Conclusion
/D.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613