DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 12/14/23 was previously acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that that the subject matter of Group II (claims 16 and 33) is excluded. Claim 16 was amended to depend from claim 1 and thus includes all the features of claim 1 (claim 33 was canceled).
This argument was considered and found persuasive. The restriction requirement between Group I and Group II was withdrawn and claim 16 examined.
Election was made without traverse of BMP-2 and anti-cancer agent.
The requirement between Groups I/II and III/IV was still deemed proper and was made FINAL.
In the reply filed 7/29/24, Applicants amended claims 1, 15 and 35. Claims 2, 8, 14 and 18-33 were canceled.
In the RCE filed 3/14/25, Applicants amended claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 15 were amended.
In the reply filed 9/30/25, Applicants amended claims 1, 3 and 15.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-13, 15-17 and 34-35 are pending. Please note that claim 5 is rejoined.
Claims 7, 9-13, 17 and 34-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1, 3-6, and 15-16 read on the elected Group I/II and elected species and are under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/30/25 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections-Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN104096268 (10/15/2014; cited on IDS) and JP2012239697 (12/10/2012;cited on IDS) in view of Schlegel et al. (Biomaterials 18 (1997) 535-538) is withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN104096268 (cited on IDS), JP2012239697 (cited on IDS) and Schlegel et al. (Biomaterials 18 (1997) 535-538) in view of Tani et al. (“Doxorubicin-loaded calcium phosphate cement in the management of bone and soft tissue tumors” in vivo, 20; 55-60 (2006), previously presented) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-NEW
Claims 1, 3-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US2014/0288271) in view of Murphy et al. (Acta Biomaterialia 10(2014) 2250-2258,previously provided) as evidenced by Hydroxyapatite - American Chemical Society (accessed 1/16/26).
Zheng et al. teach embodiments of the subject invention are directed to collagen membrane, coverings, coatings and/or scaffolds which are particularly suitable for implantable medical devices, and methods of making and using the same in animal or human patients [0065]. The collagen membrane, scaffold or covering of fibres can be configured to substantially encase the target implantable device or may cover only a portion thereof [0091].
With respect to the limitation “wherein greater than 80% of collagen in the collagen containing membrane is type I collagen”, Zheng et al. teach a collagen membrane comprising greater than 80% (w/w) type 1 collagen bundles [0034,0081].
With respect to the limitation “having a thickness ranging from 25 μm to 200 μm, Zheng et al. teach collagen membrane that is at least 10 μm, preferably, the mem μm, brane is between about 10 μm and 400 μm thick, more preferably, between 50 μm and 200 μm thick. In some embodiments, the collagen membrane of the present invention is about 100 μm thick [0051].
With respect to “wherein a first side of the collagen containing membrane is a smooth surface with compact collagen bundles, and a second side of the collagen containing membrane is a rough and porous surface comprising loose collagen fibres”, Zheng et al. teach Fig.1 wherein the membrane possesses two distinct surfaces, a smooth surface featuring compact collagen bundles (Panel A), and a rough, porous surface of loose collagen fibres (Panel B).
Zheng et al. also teach the composition can contain bone morphogenic proteins and bisphosphonates [0077]. Zheng et al. also teach the collagen membrane for tissue implants such as for the jawbone [0090].
Zheng et al. does not teach the collagen is a “functionalized collagen containing membrane or wherein the drug carrier mixture comprises BMP-2 and a calcium containing carrier mixture. However, the teachings of Murphy et al. cure this deficiency.
Murphy et al. teach collagen-hydroxyapatite (CHA) scaffold comprising BMP-2 and zoledronic acid (ZA) for bone formation (Abstract, Table 1). The CHA scaffold containing BMP-2 meets the limitation of “functionalized collagen-containing membrane” and “calcium containing mixture”. As evidenced by the American Chemical Society, hydroxyapatite, sometimes referred to as durapatite, is a calcium phosphate/hydroxide mineral that occurs naturally in “phosphate rock”. Please note that MPEP 2131.01 states: that an extra reference or evidence can be used to show an inherent characteristic of the thing taught by the primary reference. In the instant case, the reference is relied upon only to establish that hydroxyapatite is a calcium containing carrier mixture.
Murphy et al. teach that CHA demonstrates a capacity for both rhBMP-2 and bisphosphonates binding and delivery, which may make it superior for combination treatment compared to commercially available pure collagen scaffolds. Murphy et al. further teach that the CHA scaffolds demonstrate a capacity for mineralization in the absence of additional osteogenic factors and can be seen as a template for developing multicomponent scaffolds to allow for improved delivery of multiple pharmaceutical or biological agents (p. 2257, last para.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the scaffold of Zheng et al. to include a drug carrier mixture and a calcium containing mixture as taught by Murphy et al. in order to achieve predictable bone growth effects associated with BMP-2 while retaining the advantageous membrane morphology and handling characteristics taught by Zheng et al. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that Murphy et al. demonstrates binding and controlled release of BMP-2 from collagen-hydroxyapatite systems.
With respect to the limitation “artificial periosteum” in the preamble, please note that MPEP 2111.02 II states "a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention." In the instant case, the preamble does not affect the structure. The preamble in this case recites a statement of purpose or use, and therefore was not treated as a claim limitation. Furthermore, the claim body describes a structurally complete invention.
With respect to claims 3-4 and 6, zoledronic acid is a bone active agent that is a bisphosphonate. Murphy et al. teach osteoblast viability in the presence of Collagen, HA was protective (Fig.3). Murphy et al. teach that BMP-2 activates osteoblasts (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 5, Murphy et al. teach decreased osteoclasts in the presence of ZA (Fig. 7). ZA meets the limitation of bone active agent that inhibits osteoclasts.
With respect to claim 16, the scaffold of Murphy et al. is a hydroxyapatite functionalized collagen membrane.
Claims 1, 3-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US2014/0288271) and Murphy et al. (Acta Biomaterialia 10(2014) 2250-2258) as evidenced by Hydroxyapatite - American Chemical Society (accessed 1/16/26) in view of Tani et al. (“Doxorubicin-loaded calcium phosphate cement in the management of bone and soft tissue tumors” in vivo, 20; 55-60 (2006) previously presented).
The teachings of Zheng et al. and Murphy et al. are presented above in detail. The references do not teach an anti-cancer agent. However, the teachings of Tani et al. cure this deficiency.
Tani et al. the feasibility of adding anticancer drugs such as doxorubicin, which is widely used to treat malignant bone soft tissue tumors, to CPC to develop a new material which can release the drug, as well as fill the postoperative bony defects (p. 59, 1st col., 2nd to last para.). Tani et al. teach doxorubicin loaded calcium phosphate cement (CPC) markedly inhibited proliferation of sarcoma cells in a mouse model and the results indicate that doxorubicin loaded CPC may be useful in the local treatment of malignant bone and soft tissue tumors (Abstract). Tani et al. teach in the treatment of primary or secondary bone neoplasms, complete excision with reliable reconstruction is an essential procedure and the data showed that doxorubicin loaded CPC should be useful as a defect filling material.
With respect to claim 15, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include doxorubicin in the scaffold composition of Zheng et al. and Murphy et al. in order to locally treat and reconstruct bone and soft tissue tumors as taught by Tani et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would look to the teachings of Tani et al. and have a motivation to include an anti-cancer agent in the composition of Zheng et al. and Murphy et al. in order to reconstruct bone after bone tumors because Murphy et al. teach the scaffold allows for improved delivery of multiple pharmaceutical or biological agents and Tani et al. teach that doxorubin loaded CPC should be used as a defect filing material. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that multiple therapeutic agents are delivered in the scaffolds of Murphy et al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,314,939 in view of Murphy et al. (Acta Biomaterialia 10(2014) 2250-2258) as evidenced by Hydroxyapatite - American Chemical Society (accessed 1/16/26).
The USPN claims a collagen containing membrane comprising greater than 80% type I collagen fibres, wherein the collagen-containing membrane has a first surface and a second surface that are distinct from each other with the first surface being a smooth surface having compact collagen bundles and the second surface being a rough, porous surface of loose collagen fibres (claim 1). The USPN teaches the membrane is between 50 μm and 200 μm thick. MPEP 804 states: those portions of the specification which provide support for the reference claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in the application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the reference patent or application.
The USPN does not teach the collagen is a “functionalized collagen containing membrane or wherein the drug carrier mixture comprises BMP-2 and a calcium containing carrier mixture. However, the teachings of Murphy et al. cure this deficiency.
Murphy et al. teach collagen-hydroxyapatite (CHA) scaffold comprising BMP-2 and zoledronic acid (ZA) for bone formation (Abstract, Table 1). The CHA scaffold containing BMP-2 meets the limitation of “functionalized collagen-containing membrane” and “calcium containing mixture”. As evidenced by the American Chemical Society, hydroxyapatite, sometimes referred to as durapatite, is a calcium phosphate/hydroxide mineral that occurs naturally in “phosphate rock”. Please note that MPEP 2131.01 states: that an extra reference or evidence can be used to show an inherent characteristic of the thing taught by the primary reference. In the instant case, the reference is relied upon only to establish that hydroxyapatite is a calcium containing carrier mixture.
Murphy et al. teach that CHA demonstrates a capacity for both rhBMP-2 and bisphosphonates binding and delivery, which may make it superior for combination treatment compared to commercially available pure collagen scaffolds. Murphy et al. further teach that the CHA scaffolds demonstrate a capacity for mineralization in the absence of additional osteogenic factors and can be seen as a template for developing multicomponent scaffolds to allow for improved delivery of multiple pharmaceutical or biological agents (p. 2257, last para.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the scaffold of the USPN to include a drug carrier mixture and a calcium containing mixture as taught by Murphy et al. in order to achieve predictable bone growth effects associated with BMP-2 while retaining the advantageous membrane morphology and handling characteristics taught by the USPN. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that Murphy et al. demonstrates binding and controlled release of BMP-2 from collagen-hydroxyapatite systems.
With respect to the limitation “artificial periosteum” in the preamble, please note that MPEP 2111.02 II states "a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention." In the instant case, the preamble does not affect the structure. The preamble in this case recites a statement of purpose or use, and therefore was not treated as a claim limitation. Furthermore, the claim body describes a structurally complete invention.
With respect to claims 3-4 and 6, zoledronic acid is a bone active agent that is a bisphosphonate. Murphy et al. teach osteoblast viability in the presence of Collagen, HA was protective (Fig.3). Murphy et al. teach that BMP-2 activates osteoblasts (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 5, Murphy et al. teach decreased osteoclasts in the presence of ZA (Fig. 7). ZA meets the limitation of bone active agent that inhibits osteoclasts.
With respect to claim 16, the scaffold of Murphy et al. is a hydroxyapatite functionalized collagen membrane.
Claims 1, 3-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,314,939 and Murphy et al. (Acta Biomaterialia 10(2014) 2250-2258) as evidenced by Hydroxyapatite - American Chemical Society (accessed 1/16/26) in view of Tani et al. (“Doxorubicin-loaded calcium phosphate cement in the management of bone and soft tissue tumors” in vivo, 20; 55-60 (2006) previously presented).
The teachings of the USPN and Murphy et al. are presented above in detail. The references do not teach an anti-cancer agent. However, the teachings of Tani et al. cure this deficiency.
Tani et al. the feasibility of adding anticancer drugs such as doxorubicin, which is widely used to treat malignant bone soft tissue tumors, to CPC to develop a new material which can release the drug, as well as fill the postoperative bony defects (p. 59, 1st col., 2nd to last para.). Tani et al. teach doxorubicin loaded calcium phosphate cement (CPC) markedly inhibited proliferation of sarcoma cells in a mouse model and the results indicate that doxorubicin loaded CPC may be useful in the local treatment of malignant bone and soft tissue tumors (Abstract). Tani et al. teach in the treatment of primary or secondary bone neoplasms, complete excision with reliable reconstruction is an essential procedure and the data showed that doxorubicin loaded CPC should be useful as a defect filling material.
With respect to claim 15, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include doxorubicin in the scaffold composition of the USPN and Murphy et al. in order to locally treat and reconstruct bone and soft tissue tumors as taught by Tani et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would look to the teachings of Tani et al. and have a motivation to include an anti-cancer agent in the composition of the USPN and Murphy et al. in order to reconstruct bone after bone tumors because Murphy et al. teach the scaffold allows for improved delivery of multiple pharmaceutical or biological agents and Tani et al. teach that doxorubin loaded CPC should be used as a defect filing material. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that multiple therapeutic agents are delivered in the scaffolds of Murphy et al.
Claims 1, 3-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,226,548 in view of Murphy et al. (Acta Biomaterialia 10(2014) 2250-2258) as evidenced by Hydroxyapatite - American Chemical Society (accessed 1/16/26).
The USPN claims a collagen containing membrane comprising greater than 80% type I collagen fibres, wherein the collagen-containing membrane has a first surface and a second surface that are distinct from each other with the first surface being a smooth surface having compact collagen bundles and the second surface being a rough, porous surface of loose collagen fibres (claim 1). The USPN teaches the membrane is between 50 μm and 200 μm thick. MPEP 804 states: those portions of the specification which provide support for the reference claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in the application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the reference patent or application.
The USPN does not teach the collagen is a “functionalized collagen containing membrane or wherein the drug carrier mixture comprises BMP-2 and a calcium containing carrier mixture. However, the teachings of Murphy et al. cure this deficiency.
Murphy et al. teach collagen-hydroxyapatite (CHA) scaffold comprising BMP-2 and zoledronic acid (ZA) for bone formation (Abstract, Table 1). The CHA scaffold containing BMP-2 meets the limitation of “functionalized collagen-containing membrane” and “calcium containing mixture”. As evidenced by the American Chemical Society, hydroxyapatite, sometimes referred to as durapatite, is a calcium phosphate/hydroxide mineral that occurs naturally in “phosphate rock”. Please note that MPEP 2131.01 states: that an extra reference or evidence can be used to show an inherent characteristic of the thing taught by the primary reference. In the instant case, the reference is relied upon only to establish that hydroxyapatite is a calcium containing carrier mixture.
Murphy et al. teach that CHA demonstrates a capacity for both rhBMP-2 and bisphosphonates binding and delivery, which may make it superior for combination treatment compared to commercially available pure collagen scaffolds. Murphy et al. further teach that the CHA scaffolds demonstrate a capacity for mineralization in the absence of additional osteogenic factors and can be seen as a template for developing multicomponent scaffolds to allow for improved delivery of multiple pharmaceutical or biological agents (p. 2257, last para.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the scaffold of the USPN to include a drug carrier mixture and a calcium containing mixture as taught by Murphy et al. in order to achieve predictable bone growth effects associated with BMP-2 while retaining the advantageous membrane morphology and handling characteristics taught by the USPN. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that Murphy et al. demonstrates binding and controlled release of BMP-2 from collagen-hydroxyapatite systems.
With respect to the limitation “artificial periosteum” in the preamble, please note that MPEP 2111.02 II states "a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention." In the instant case, the preamble does not affect the structure. The preamble in this case recites a statement of purpose or use, and therefore was not treated as a claim limitation. Furthermore, the claim body describes a structurally complete invention.
With respect to claims 3-4 and 6, zoledronic acid is a bone active agent that is a bisphosphonate. Murphy et al. teach osteoblast viability in the presence of Collagen, HA was protective (Fig.3). Murphy et al. teach that BMP-2 activates osteoblasts (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 5, Murphy et al. teach decreased osteoclasts in the presence of ZA (Fig. 7). ZA meets the limitation of bone active agent that inhibits osteoclasts.
With respect to claim 16, the scaffold of Murphy et al. is a hydroxyapatite functionalized collagen membrane.
Claims 1, 3-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,226,548 and Murphy et al. (Acta Biomaterialia 10(2014) 2250-2258) as evidenced by Hydroxyapatite - American Chemical Society (accessed 1/16/26) in view of Tani et al. (“Doxorubicin-loaded calcium phosphate cement in the management of bone and soft tissue tumors” in vivo, 20; 55-60 (2006) previously presented).
The teachings of the USPN and Murphy et al. are presented above in detail. The references do not teach an anti-cancer agent. However, the teachings of Tani et al. cure this deficiency.
Tani et al. the feasibility of adding anticancer drugs such as doxorubicin, which is widely used to treat malignant bone soft tissue tumors, to CPC to develop a new material which can release the drug, as well as fill the postoperative bony defects (p. 59, 1st col., 2nd to last para.). Tani et al. teach doxorubicin loaded calcium phosphate cement (CPC) markedly inhibited proliferation of sarcoma cells in a mouse model and the results indicate that doxorubicin loaded CPC may be useful in the local treatment of malignant bone and soft tissue tumors (Abstract). Tani et al. teach in the treatment of primary or secondary bone neoplasms, complete excision with reliable reconstruction is an essential procedure and the data showed that doxorubicin loaded CPC should be useful as a defect filling material.
With respect to claim 15, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include doxorubicin in the scaffold composition of the USPN and Murphy et al. in order to locally treat and reconstruct bone and soft tissue tumors as taught by Tani et al. A person of ordinary skill in the art would look to the teachings of Tani et al. and have a motivation to include an anti-cancer agent in the composition of the USPN and Murphy et al. in order to reconstruct bone after bone tumors because Murphy et al. teach the scaffold allows for improved delivery of multiple pharmaceutical or biological agents and Tani et al. teach that doxorubin loaded CPC should be used as a defect filing material. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that multiple therapeutic agents are delivered in the scaffolds of Murphy et al.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TARA L MARTINEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1654