Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 23, 24, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are currently pending and under consideration.
Priority
In view of Applicant pointing to the particular paragraphs in US Provisional Application 62/733,625 (referred to herein as ‘625) filed September 19, 2018 which provide support for the particular dose range and timing the instant claims will receive benefit of the US Provisional Application ‘625 filed 19 September 2018.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 8 recites a method of treating cancer in a subject, the method comprising administering a variant CD80-Fc fusion protein in an amount of between 0.1 mg/kg to 1.0 mg/kg, inclusive, once a week (Q1W) or once every three weeks (Q3W) (see claim 1 lines 3-5). This claim is interpreted as requiring a minimum of two doses as the language of the claim recites “once a week” and “once every three weeks”. Therefore, administration of a single dose within the recited dose range is not within the scope of claim 1.
Withdrawn Rejections
In view of Applicant submitting a statement asserting Swanson2 and the instant application were each owned by Alpine Immune Sciences, Inc. thereby disqualifying Swanson2 as prior art under U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) the following rejections:
the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 23, 24, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 over Demonte, Swanson2, and Kornacker2, wherein Swanson2 qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), and
the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 55, 56, and 59 over DeMonte, Swanson2, Kornacker2, and Horn (see Horn et al. as cited on the IDS dated 02/15/2022) as evidenced by Tirapu (as cited on PTO-892 dated 04/10/2024), wherein Swanson2 qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
are hereby withdrawn.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 23, 24, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97 and 224-227 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues amending the claim to recite “wherein the IgV domain is amino acids 35-141 of Seq ID No: 1” (see Response to Non-final received 16 July 2025, referred to herein as Remarks, pg. 11 2nd full para).
Claim 1 has been amended to recite two different sequence identifiers. Previous versions of the claim recited only Seq ID No: 2 and the amino acid residues (i.e., 35-141) corresponding to the IgV domain. Thus, the variant CD80 extracellular domain or a portion thereof was derived from Seq ID No: 2. However, amending the claim to recite Seq ID No: 1 now renders the scope of the claim unclear. For example, is the “wherein the IgV domain is amino acids 35-141 of Seq ID No: 1” in lines 11-12 intended to modify the IgV domain recited in line 6 or alternatively line 11.
It is also unclear how the claimed substitutions relate to Seq ID No: 1. For example, are the substitutions relative to amino acids in Seq ID No: 1, in which case the amino acids do not correspond to the positions numbers claimed (e.g., position 18 of Seq ID No: 1 is N). Alternatively, are the positions relative to the subsequence of amino acids 35-141 of Seq ID No: 1, if so, is position 35 now position 1.
Examiner recommends claim 1 be amended to recite, “set forth in Seq ID No. 2 or a portion thereof comprising the IgV domain, wherein the IgV domain comprises amino acid residues 1-X of Seq ID No: 2” (lines 11-12).
Therefore, the U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 23, 24, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97 and 224-227 is hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 23, 24, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/022945 A1 (referred to herein as Demonte, as cited on the IDS dated 02/15/2022 as #144) published 1 February 2018, WO2017/181152 A2 (referred to herein as Swanson2 for clarity over the previous Swanson reference, as cited on the IDS dated 02/15/2022 #142) published 19 October 2017, and WO2017/048878 A1 (referred to herein as Kornacker2 for clarity over the previous Kornacker reference, as cited on the IDS dated 02/15/2022 #138) published 23 March 2017. It is noted DeMonte, Swanson2, and Kornacker2 qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
It is noted Swanson2 is drawn to PCT/US2017/027817 which is also related to the following US Patents: 11,078,282 B2, 11,498,967 B2, 11,479,609 B2, 11,117,950 B2 and 11,359,022 B2.
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has asserted Swanson2 is disqualified as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) because the inventors on Swanson2 are those of the present application (see Remarks pg. 12, end of 1st full para). However, Swanson2 was published before 19 September 2018 and the discloses Michael Kornacker as an inventor who is not listed as an inventor on the instant application; therefore, Swanson2 qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Applicant argues Swanson2 does not disclose the D90G substitution, Demonte and Kornacker 2 do not teach or suggest a method of treating cancer comprising the instantly claimed substitutions in the variant CD80-Fc protein, and an ordinary artisan would not deviate from the substitutions taught by Demonte and Kornacier2 (see Remarks pg. 12, 5th para-pg. 13, 2nd para).
First, in response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Second, the language of claim 1 recites, “the variant CD8 extracellular domain or the portion thereof comprises the amino acid substitutions” (i.e., open language); therefore, while the instantly claimed substitutions may be discloses with other substitutions the other substitutions are permissible given the open language allows for unrecited elements (see MPEP § 2111.03(I)).
As set forth in the Non-Final mailed 28 March 2025, an ordinary artisan would combine H18Y/A26E/E35D/M47L/V68M/A71G/D90G given i. Demonte teaches the particular position and substitutions H18Y, A26E, E35D, M47L, V68M, and A71G and the particular position 90, ii. Kornacker2 teaches the D90G in particular, and iii. Swanson2 provides further support disclosing substitutions at one or more positions including 90. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art selecting from known mutations that increase PD-L1 binding would involve choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP § 2143).
Therefore the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 23, 24, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 over Demonte, Swanson2, and Kornacker2 is hereby maintained.
Claims 1, 55, 56, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMonte, Swanson2, Kornacker2, and Horn (see Horn et al. as cited on the IDS dated 02/15/2022) as evidenced by Tirapu (as cited on PTO-892 dated 04/10/2024). It is noted, DeMonte, Swanson2, and Kornacker2 qualifies as 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) art.
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Swanson2 does not qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and Horn does not cure the deficiencies of DeMonte, Swanso2, and Kornacker (see Remarks pg. 14, 1st and 2nd para).
For the reasons set forth above the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 55, 56, and 59 is hereby maintained.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 23, 24, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2018/022945 A1 (referred to herein as Demonte, as cited on the IDS dated 02/15/2022 as #144) published 1 February 2018, WO2016/168771 (referred to herein as Swanson3 for clarity over the previous Swanson reference, as cited on the IDS dated 02/15/2022 #134) published 20 October 2016, and WO2017/048878 A1 (referred to herein as Kornacker2 for clarity over the previous Kornacker reference, as cited on the IDS dated 02/15/2022 #138) published 23 March 2017. It is noted DeMonte, Swanson3, and Kornacker2 qualify as 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) art.
It is noted Swanson3 is drawn to PCT/US2016/027995 which is also related to US Patent 11,319,359 B2.
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues DeMonte and Kornacker2 do not teach or suggest a method of treating a cancer in a subject comprising administering a variant CD80-Fc comprising the instantly claimed substitutions, an ordinary artisan would have no reason to deviate from the substitutions taught individually by DeMonte, Swanson3, and Kornacker2, and references do not teach wherein the tumor is positive for PD-L1 or CD28 and/or surface negative for CD80 or CD86 (see Remarks pg. 15, 2nd and 3rd para).
First, DeMonte discloses, “The present disclosure relates to therapeutic compositions for modulating immune response in the treatment of cancer” (see DeMonte pg. 1 para [0003]), and “the disease or condition is a tumor or cancer” (see DeMonte pg. 15 para [0044]). Kornacker2 discloses, “the present invention relates to transmembrane immunomodulatory proteins (TIPs) and immune cells engineered to express such immunomodulatory proteins for modulating immune response in the treatment of cancer” (see Kornacker2 pg. 1 para [0003]), “the provided TIP-engineered cells provide an immunotherapy platform… in the treatment of a variety of oncological and immunological indications” (see Kornacker2 pg. 11 para [0045]), and “other cancers which can be treated by the methods of the invention” (see Kornacker2 pg. 74 para [0204]). Thus, both DeMonte and Kornacker disclose methods of treating cancer.
Second, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Demonte teaches H18Y, A26E, E35D, M47L, V68M, and A71G substitutions across various CD80 variants increase PD-L1 binding and suggests position D90 is also mutation tolerant (see DeMonte pgs. 92-94, Table 3, pg. 211, Table 13A, e.g., Seq ID Nos: 819, 859, 873, 875, 967, 981, and 989) while both Kornacker2 and Swanson3 disclose D90G also increased PD-L1 binding (see Kornacker pg. 52 Table 2; Swanson3 pgs. 50-51 Table 2). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have modified a variant 80 polypeptide in a CD112 linked to CD80 polypeptide to comprise H18Y/A26E/E35D/M47L/V68M/A71G/D90G given DeMonte discloses the H18Y, A26E, E35D, M47L, V68M, and A71G substitutions and position D90 is mutation tolerant while Kornacker2 and Swanson3 teach the particular D90G substitution also increases PD-L1 binding. Swanson3 also teaches substitutions at up to ten positions of the wildtype CD80. Selecting from known mutations that increase PD-L1 binding would involve choosing from a finite number of identified predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP § 2143).
Third, the language of claim 1 recites, “the variant CD8 extracellular domain or the portion thereof comprises the amino acid substitutions” (i.e., open language); therefore, while the instantly claimed substitutions may be discloses with other substitutions the other substitutions are permissible given the open language allows for unrecited elements (see MPEP § 2111.03(I)).
Fourth, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., wherein the tumor is positive for PD-L1 or CD28 and/or surface negative for CD80 or CD86) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). It is noted, the recited limitation is set forth in instant claim 55 which is not rejected here. Applicant is arguing limitations not recited in the instant claims.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 23, 24, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 over DeMonte, Swanson3, and Kornacker2. It is noted DeMonte, Swanson3, and Kornacker2 qualify as 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) art.
Claims 1, 55, 56, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeMonte, Swanson3, Kornacker2, and Horn (see Horn et al. as cited on the IDS dated 02/15/2022) as evidenced by Tirapu (as cited on PTO-892 dated 04/10/2024). It is noted, DeMonte qualifies as 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) art.
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued for the reasons set forth above (i.e., Horn does not cure the deficiencies of DeMonte, Swanson3, and Kornacker2) the rejection should be withdrawn; however, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections above are maintained. Thus, for the reasons set forth above the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 55, 56, and 59 is hereby maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 12, 13, 17, 19, and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,639,375 B2 (referred to herein as ‘375 patent, as cited in IDS mailed 1 March 2024), Horn, and Kornacker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-9, 17, 18, 20, 27, and 28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,230,588 B2 (referred to herein as ‘588 patent, as cited in IDS mailed 15 February 2022), Horn, and Kornacker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 17, 18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,117,948 B2 (referred to herein as ‘948 patent, as cited in IDS mailed 15 February 2022), Horn, and Kornacker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 10, and 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,096,988 B2 (referred to herein as ‘988 patent, as cited in IDS mailed 15 February 2022), Horn, and Kornacker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 7, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,117,949 B2 (referred to herein as ‘949 patent, as cited in IDS mailed 15 February 2022), Horn, and Kornacker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,117,950 B2 (referred to herein as ‘950 patent, as cited in IDS mailed 15 February 2022), Horn, and Kornacker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 12, 29, 32, 38, 69, 75, 147, and 148 of the copending Application 18/182,308 (referred to herein as ‘308 application) in view of Horn and Kornacker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 11, 15, 19, 20, 23, 25, 26 and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 11,078,282 B2 (referred to herein as ‘282 patent, as cited on the IDS dated 02/15/2022), Horn, DeMonte, and Kornaker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2-8, 13, 14, 16, 18, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,498,967 B2 (referred to herein as ‘967 patent, as cited on the IDS dated 03/01/2024), Horn, DeMonte, and Kornaker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 10-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,479,609 B2 (referred to herein as ‘609 patent, as cited on the IDS dated 03/01/2024), Horn, DeMonte, and Kornaker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9-14, 17, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,359,022 B2 (referred to herein as ‘022 patent, as cited on the IDS dated 03/01/2024), Horn, DeMonte, and Kornaker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,319,359 B2 (referred to herein as ‘359 patent, as cited on the IDS dated 03/01/2024), Horn, DeMonte, and Kornaker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 14, 15, 32, 43-45, 47-49, 55, 56, 59, 83, 86, 90-97, and 224-227 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 126, 129, 132, 135, 136, 196, 197-201, 204, of the copending Application 17/962,413 (referred to herein as ‘413 application) in view of Horn, DeMonte, and Kornacker2 as evidenced by Tirapu.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Similar to above Applicant argues the references do not teach a variant CD80 comprising the instantly claimed substitutions (see Remarks pg. 18, 2nd and 6th full para, pg. 19, 2nd and 6th para, pg. 20, 2nd full para, para spanning pgs. 20-21) or they rejections be held in abeyance until there is allowable subject matter (see Remarks pg. 17, 5th para, pg. 20, 5th full para).
Therefore, for the reasons stated above and no allowable subject matter the above listed nonstatutory double patenting rejections are hereby maintained.
Conclusion
No claim allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1644 /AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644