DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/22/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amendment does not obviate the rejections of record.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 of the Remarks that the invention of Krenzke is concerned about the redox reaction being isothermal and that “Krenzke is silent on the flow of oxidizer or reductant gases as a measure to control and ensure a difference between α and β within a given range, least of all within a range of 0.01 and 0.05, and also because Krenzke is silent on a process that sets out from δred of 0.1 - 0.2 to arrive at a δox between 0.1 - 0.2.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees that the isothermal process of Krenzke is mutually exclusive from the control of the α (δox) and β (δred) values.
Krenzke states at the bottom of column 1, top of column 2 on page 4090 that “The reduction nonstoichiometry is δred=0.2 at 1223K and reaches δred=0.25 above 1273K,” the middle of column 2 that “…the limit on the non-stoichiometry swing is virtually equivalent to δred,” and further in column 2 that “Thus, chemical equilibrium thermodynamics point to isothermal operation of the cycle for large δox at temperatures from 1223 to 1273K, where the lower temperature limit allows for high-quality syngas production during the ceria reduction step and the upper limit avoids phase transition in ceria. Moreover, this temperature range is well-matched to operating temperatures possible with commercial central receiver solar facilities.” Krenzke therefore establishes that: performing the redox reaction at 1223K such that β =0.2 is desirable; that deviating from that temperature directly affects the β value; that a large α is also desired; and that the upper limit of α is virtually equivalent to β.
It is the Office’s position that the explicit teaching in Krenzke of controlling the reaction temperatures is the same as maintaining the β-α in the range of 0.01 to 0.05 as claimed. Column 1 on page 4091 discloses that the control/maintenance is done with process gas flow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krenzke ("Thermodynamic Analysis of Syngas Production via the Solar Thermochemical Cerium Oxide Redox Cycle with Methane-Driven Reduction").
Krenzke discloses a process comprising: generating hydrogen and carbon dioxide (syngas) from methane by contacting ceria with the methane to reduce the ceria and then regenerating the ceria with steam and carbon dioxide (Section 1 Introduction). Krenzke discloses a process temperature range of at least 473 to 1673 K (Figure 3). Krenzke discloses that δred is at least 0 to 0.25 (see Figure 4) and the lower limit of δOX is 0.001 with an upper limit virtually equivalent to δred (pg 4090, col 2, para 1). δred – δOX corresponds to β-α of the claims and thus encompasses the claimed ranges. It is the Office’s position that the explicit teaching in Krenzke of controlling the reaction temperatures is the same as maintaining the β-α in the range of 0.01 to 0.05 as claimed. Column 1 on page 4091 discloses that the control/maintenance is done with process gas flow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krenzke as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Scheffe (“Synthesis, Characterization, and Thermochemical Redox Performance of Hf4+, Zr4+, and Sc3+ Doped Ceria for Splitting CO2”).
Krenzke fails to disclose the use of ceria and Zr. Scheffe—in an invention for generating hydrogen and carbon dioxide (syngas) from methane through oxidation and reduction—discloses Ce0.85Zr0.15O2 (Table 1) with the methane to reduce the ceria and then regenerating the ceria with steam and carbon dioxide for its ability to produce renewable fuels and precursors at elevated temperatures (Introduction). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the Ceria-Zirconium compounds of Scheffe in the process of Krenzke for its value in producing syngas at elevated temperatures.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krenzke as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Steinfeld (US 2016/0114312 A1).
Krenzke fails to disclose an open-cell foam structure. Steinfeld—in an invention for thermochemical cycles based on redox reactions to product syngas (paragraph 2)—discloses utilizing an improved open-cell foam ceria structure to enhance radiation penetration and allows more reactive material to be redoxed (paragraph 42). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize an open-cell structure for the metal oxides of Krenzke, Scheffe, or Ahlborg so as to enhance the efficacy of the reactions as suggested by Steinfeld.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725