DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Applicant’s submission of a certified English translation of the foreign priority document JP2018-180107 on 02/12/2026 is acknowledged and accepted, and the previous rejections of record over Wakimoto are overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically, Claim 1 recites, “wherein a proximal end of the bent portion is coincident with the recessed form of the one joined portion”. Applicant has cited [0013, 0022, 0026] and Fig. 11 for support. Although the Examiner acknowledges that Fig. 11 provides support for the bent portion being located very near the one joined portion, Fig. 14 appears to indicate that the recessed form of the one joined portion is independent of the bent portion, thereby suggesting that Applicant did not necessarily envision the recessed form of the one joined portion as being a part of (i.e. coincident with) the bent portion. The cited paragraphs do not appear to provide further support for the newly added limitation. Additionally, the instant specification indicates that the drawings are schematic illustrations [0014], thereby casting doubt on the ability of Fig. 11 alone to support the newly added limitation.
As such, there does not appear to be sufficient support for the limitation “wherein a proximal end of the bent portion is coincident with the recessed form of the one joined portion”, and Claim 1 and dependent Claims 2 and 4 are rejected as introducing new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanda et al. (US-20120189899-A1) as evidenced by Okuda et al. (US-20150104694-A1) and as evidenced by Shimizu et al. (JP-2011070918-A; see also English translation mailed 06/05/2024 for citations) and as evidenced by Wakimoto et al. (US-20200212413-A1), and in view of Ando et al. (JP-2014179435-A; see also English translation mailed 06/05/2024 for citations).
Regarding Claim 1, Kanda discloses a secondary battery (1, Fig. 4; [0012]) comprising:
a battery case (2, Fig. 4) having an opening [0036, 0062];
an electrode body (electrode module 15, Fig. 4) which has a positive plate (positive electrode plate 41) and a negative plate (negative electrode plate 42) and is inserted in the battery case (see Fig. 4) [0036, 0044];
a sealing plate (battery cover 3, Fig. 4) which seals the opening (see Fig. 4) [0062]; and
an external terminal (electrode terminal 8, Fig. 4) attached to the sealing plate (battery cover 3) [0017],
wherein one end of at least one of the positive plate and the negative plate is provided with a current collection tab (electrode tab 5, Fig. 4), the one end directed toward the sealing plate (battery cover 3; see Fig. 4).
Kanda discloses that the current collection tab (electrode tab 5) may be formed of a conductive metallic plate material [0013], and is comprised of a plurality of individual tabs which are gathered into a bundle [0035, 0038] (see Fig. 4). Therefore, although Kanda does not specifically teach that the current collection tab comprises a plurality of metal foils, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the current collection tab of a plurality of metal foils with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful current collection tab, since a metal foil is a form of a metallic plate material. The plurality of metal foils are stacked in a stacking direction, and each metal foil directly extends from the one end (see Fig. 4).
Kanda further discloses (see annotation of Kanda Fig. 4, below):
the current collection tab (electrode tab 5) is electrically connected to the external terminal (electrode terminal 8) via a current collection terminal member (electrode lead 7) disposed between the electrode body (electrode module 15) and the sealing plate (battery cover 3) [0036, 0041, 0046],
the plurality of metal foils includes a first metal foil and a second metal foil defining opposite outermost surfaces of the current collection tab in the stacking direction,
wherein the first metal foil is directly adjacent to the current collection terminal member (electrode lead 7), and the second metal foil is exposed to an interior of the battery case.
Annotation of Kanda Fig. 4.
Kanda discloses that the electrode lead (i.e. current collection terminal member) is folded twice in a meandering shape [0016, 0018, 0041]. Kanda discloses that the meandering shape of the electrode lead is able to generate elastic force like a spring, thereby decreasing stress on a bonding portion between the electrode lead and the electrode tab [0044-0045]. Kanda discloses that folding the electrode leads only once does not allow the electrode leads to sufficiently work as an elastic member [0008]. Kanda also contemplates that the electrode tab (i.e. current collection tab) may be formed in a meandering shape in an alternative embodiment (not depicted) [0012-0014, 0037].
Therefore, although not disclosed in a specific embodiment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed the current collection tab (electrode tab 5) in a meandering shape such that the current collection tab (electrode tab 5) includes at least two curved portions, with a reasonable expectation that such a configuration would result in a successful current collection tab capable of providing sufficient elastic function such that stress is decreased on the bonding portion between the current collection tab and the current collection terminal member (MPEP 2144.06, I; MPEP 2123, I-II).
By forming the current collection tab such that it has at least two curved portions, each metal foil of the current collection tab would also necessarily include at least two curved portion. Therefore, the first metal “defines a first curved portion and a second curved portion between the electrode body and the current collection terminal member, wherein in the stacking direction of the plurality of metal foils, the first curved portion bulges toward the second metal foil and the second curved portion bulges away from the second metal foil”. Such a configuration can be depicted in the annotation of modified Kanda Fig. 4, below.
Annotation of Modified Kanda Fig. 4.
Furthermore, Okuda, Shimizu, and Wakimoto all evidence that it is known in the art to form a current collection tab with two curved portions (i.e. a meandering shape) between an electrode body and a current collection terminal member (see annotations, below; [Okuda: 0068-0071, 0083]; [Shimizu: 0017-0018, 0051-0053]; [Wakimoto: 0029-0030, 0035-0038]).
Annotations of Okuda Fig. 1B (top, left), Shimizu Fig. 16 (top, right) and Wakimoto Fig. 6 (bottom), evidencing known shapes of current collection tabs
Kanda further discloses that the current collection tab (electrode terminal 5) and the current collection terminal member (electrode lead 7) are joined by ultrasonic wave (corresponds to ultrasonic welding) [0039]. Joining the current collection tab and the current collection terminal member via ultrasonic wave would necessarily result in a structure wherein “a joined area between the current collection tab and the current collection terminal member includes a plurality of joined portion each of which has a recessed form due to joining by the ultrasonic wave” since the prior art renders obvious ultrasonic wave as the method of joining, and the instant application evidences that joining by ultrasonic wave results in joined portions with a recessed form [instant specification: 0020-0021].
Kanda discloses that:
the joined area extends in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the electrode body and the current collection terminal member oppose each other (see annotation of Kanda Fig. 4, below),
the second metal foil defines a surface of the joined area facing away from the current collection terminal member, wherein said surface of the joined area is exposed to the interior of the battery case (see annotation of Kanda Fig. 4, below).
Annotation of Kanda Fig. 4.
Although the annotation of Kanda Fig. 4 (above) shows the current collection tab without the meandering shape, Examiner notes that the connection between the current collection tab and the current collection terminal member is not proposed to change when the current collection tab has a meandering shape, and therefore the “joined area” as depicted in Kanda Fig. 4 (above) is representative of the “joined area” formed between the current collection tab and the current collection terminal member when the current collection tab has a meandering shape.
Kanda discloses that stress is generated at the ends of the bonded portion between the electrode tab and the electrode lead [0009, 0045]. This stress can lead to the electrode lead or a bonding portion around an end thereof being damaged, thereby resulting in a short-circuit [0004, 0010]. Kanda discloses that an object of the invention is to prevent damage to the electrode tab or the electrode lead due to such stress [0011, 0046-0049]. Kanda does not teach that a depth of the recessed form of one of the joined portions at one end of the joined area is smaller than a depth of the recessed form of the other joined portions.
Ando teaches an ultrasonic bonding apparatus and a method for ultrasonic bonding which can suppress cracking and peeling [0007-0008]. Ando teaches that the method of ultrasonic bonding can be applied to a band-shaped metal plate having a bent neck portion [0009]. The ultrasonic bonding apparatus (10, Fig. 1) is provided with protrusions (14 and 23, Fig. 1) of different heights [0014]. As a result, the depth of the indentation (19, Fig. 4) formed by the first protrusion is shallow in comparison with the depth of the indentation (19, Fig. 4) formed by a second protrusion [0010, 0024] (see annotation of Ando Fig. 4, below). Advantageously, Ando teaches that, by forming the depth of the first protrusion adjacent to the bent neck portion to be shallow, a decrease in rigidity of the metal plate on the end of the bonding surface is suppressed, cracks originating from the end of the joining surface on the neck side are suppressed, and peeling of the metal plates can be suppressed [0010, 0024].
Both Kanda and Ando are drawn to joining two structure via ultrasonic bonding (i.e. ultrasonic wave). Furthermore, both Kanda and Ando form a joined area directly adjacent to a bent portion (see annotation of Kanda Fig. 4 above, and Ando Fig. 4 below). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used an ultrasonic bonding apparatus including a low-height protrusion adjacent to the bent portion as taught by Ando in order to ultrasonically bond the current collection tab and the current collection terminal member of Kanda with a reasonable expectation that such a form of ultrasonic bonding would result in successfully decreasing the rigidity of the end of the bonding surface, thereby reducing stress at the end of the joining surface on the bent side.
By adopting the method of ultrasonic joining taught by Ando, modified Kanda further renders obvious that “a depth of the recessed form of one joined portion at one end of the joined area is smaller than a depth of the recessed form of other joined portions” (see annotation of Ando Fig. 4, below).
Annotation of Ando Fig. 4.
Modified Kanda further discloses that the current collection tab (electrode tab 5) defines “a bent portion that bends away and separates from the current collection terminal member” (see annotation of Kanda Fig. 4, below).
Annotation of Kanda Fig. 4.
Since no special definition is provided in the instant specification for the term “bent portion”, the term is given its broadest reasonable interpretation. As such, the “bent portion” is broadly and reasonably interpreted as including a portion of the current collection tab that bends away and separates from the current collection terminal member, but not excluding other structure. Therefore, the bent portion is interpreted as including a portion of the current collection tab which extends into the recessed form such that “a proximal end of the bent portion is coincident with the recessed form of the one joined portion”.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kanda renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above. Ando is relied upon to teach the depth of the joined portions. Ando teaches that the ultrasonic bonding apparatus (10, Fig. 1b) has a low-height protrusion (23, Fig. 1b) such that the rigidity of the joined surface adjacent to the bent portion is decreased, thereby suppressing cracking at the joint end surface and peeling of the bonded members [0024]. Ando further discloses that, in order to secure a sufficient joining area, the height of the protrusion must be such that it can press against the metal plate during joining [0015].
Therefore, although modified Kanda does not disclose that the depth of the recessed form of the one joined portion is 50% or greater and 80% or less of the depth of the recessed form of the other joined portions, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to have optimized the depth of the recessed form of the one joined portion, including a depth which is 50% or greater and 80% or less of the depth of the recessed form of the other joined portions with a reasonable expectation that such a depth would result in a successful joining surface capable of reducing the rigidity of the joined surface adjacent to the bent portion while ensuring a sufficiently secure joining area (MPEP 2144.05, II).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kanda renders obvious all of the limitations as set forth above, including that the current collection tab is formed in a meandering shape (see rejection of Claim 1, above), and includes at least two curved portions between the electrode body and the current collection terminal member as depicted in the annotation of modified Kanda Fig. 4 (below).
Annotation of Modified Kanda Fig. 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s argument that the rejections over Ando do not render obvious amended Claim 1 (Remarks, Pg. 6), has been carefully considered but was respectfully not found persuasive. As laid out in the 112(a) rejection (see above), it is unclear that Applicant has sufficient support for this limitation. Additionally, absent a special definition, any portion of the current collection tab can be considered to be part of the bent portion, including a portion which is coincident with the recessed form of the one joined portion (see rejection of Claim 1, above). Although Applicant has pointed to an annotation of Ando Fig. 4 to demonstrate the differences between the instant application and the prior art (see Remarks Pg. 6), the Examiner notes that the rejections of record do not rely on Ando to teach the bent portion.
Applicant’s argument that the rejections over Wakimoto in view of Ando are rendered moot since Wakimoto is no longer prior art in view of the certified English translation of the priority application is persuasive (Remarks, Pgs. 5, 7), and the previous rejections over Wakimoto are withdrawn.
Conclusion
/D.C.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 7/22/2026