Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination, Affidavit and Amendment filed on 07/28/2026; and IDS filed on 07/28/2026.
Claims 1, 15, 92-97 have been amended.
Claim 6 has been canceled.
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-18, 92-97 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 13-14, 95-97 have been previously withdrawn from consideration.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 07/28/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection as set forth in the last Office action because of the reasons discussed below in the Response to Argument section.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-12, 15-18, 92-94 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 19/538,457 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the co-application recites a method of treating a PSMA expressing cancer in a subject, comprising administering to the subject a combination of a PD-1 inhibitor, a CTLA-4 inhibitor, and a compound of Formula Ia (Compound Ia) wherein Compound Ia is radiolabeled (see claim 1), wherein the PSMA-expressing cancer is a prostate cancer (see claim 5), wherein Compound Ia is radiolabeled with a radionuclide selected from .sup.177Lu and .sup.225Ac. (see claim 8), wherein the amount of the Compound Ia bound to .sup.177Lu that is administered is from about 6.5 GBq to about 8.5 GB (see claim 13), wherein the amount of the Compound Ia bound to .sup.225Ac that is administered is from about 2 MBq to about 3 MBq (see claim 15).
The difference between instant application and the patented claims is that the patent claims include additional limitations. Thus, the invention of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”, and, therefore, the application claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the patent and are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 2nd paragraph
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
After Applicant’s amendment, claim 1 still recites a few limitations of "Ia-Lu" and “Ia-Ac. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9-12, 15-18, 92-94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENDLER et al (177Lu-PSMA Radioligand Therapy for Prostate Cancer. Journal of Nuclear Medicine Aug 2017, 58 (8) 1196-1200) in view of MORGENSTERN et al (WO 2018/108287) and MOKHTARI et al (Combination therapy in combating cancer. Oncotarget, 2017, Vol. 8, (No. 23), pp: 38022-38043).
FENDLER teaches a method of treating metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer (see abstract) comprised of: administering beta-emitter therapy, such as 177Lu-PSMA (see pg. 1197, 1st col), which reads on Applicant’s 177Lu complexed with Formula I, wherein the dosage is 3.5-7.5 GBq (see pb. 1198, under Safety), which reads on Applicant’s range of about 2-8 GBq. Additional disclosures include: alpha-emitter therapy using 225Ac-PSMA-617 has induced promising response (see pg. 1199, 1st col).
FENDLER does not teach administering 225Ac-PSMA-617 in combination with 177Lu-PSMA-617.
MORGENSTERN teaches the prior art had known of using alpha emitter (see [0022]), such as Ac255-PSMA-617 (see [0013]), which reads on Applicant’s 225Ac complexed with Formula I, wherein the dosage is about 7MBq (see [0055]), which is about 4 MBq.
MOKHTARI teaches the prior art had known of combination therapy, a treatment modality that combines two or more therapeutic agents, is a cornerstone of cancer therapy. The amalgamation of anticancer drugs enhances efficacy compared to the mono-therapy approach because it targets key pathways in a characteristically synergistic or an additive manner (see abstract). A lower therapeutic dosage of each individual drug is required (see pg. 38023, 1st col).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate administering 225Ac-PSMA-617 in combination with 177Lu-PSMA-617. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it would have an additive effect in treating metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer, and reasonably would have expected success because both compounds treat metastatic castration-resistant prostate cancer.
The references do not specifically teach the exact amounts of therapeutic agents or administration times as claimed by Applicant. The amount of a therapeutic and administration times in a method of treating prostate cancer is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of active agent and administration times in order to best achieve the desired results, such as effective treatment of the cancer and decrease of adverse effects, especially as discussed above, MOKHTARI teaches lower therapeutic dosage of each individual drug is required (see pg. 38023, 1st col). Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of active agent amounts and administration times would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Note, Applicant’s specification provides no experimental data, but only a prophetic example (see Applicant’s only example at [0221]) stating: “Patients with PSMA positive scans will be administered a single dose of Compound Ia-Ac on day 1, cycle 1 of the clinical regimen of 7.4 GBq Compound Ia-Lu, administered 6 weekly for a maximum of 5 cycles. Subjects will be reviewed weekly for assessment of adverse events (onset, duration, grade and relatedness to treatment) during cycle 1 only. DLT will be determined by AE on cycle 1 only”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that a Declaration under 3 7 C.F .R. § 1.132 of Dr. Fatima Rangwala that refers to data from Meyer et al., Widjaja et al., and from Sheikh et al. that provides data corresponding to the claimed treatment methods. In addition, Applicants respectfully assert that the data described in Dr. Rangwala's declaration demonstrates either (1) greater than expected results ( e.g., maintained efficacy with decreased dosage), and/or (2) absence of an expected property (e.g., xerostemia). See MPEP 716.02(a)(I) and (IV). As declared by Dr. Rangwala, Meyer examines the effect of combining 225 Ac and 177Lu. See Declaration, ,i 8. While Meyer notes that 225 Ac is attractive because of its higher energy, "the same radiobiologic features that make 225 Ac attractive against tumors also present a tradeoff at the expense of higher-grade toxicities." (Meyer p. 1773, left column). Further, Meyer states that the "most significant adverse effect of a-particle PSMA-targeted radionuclide therapy with small molecules ... is xerostomia, making the salivary glands a key dose-limiting organ." Id Dr. Rangwala further describes the data in Meyer that is provided by the claimed method of the above-captioned application. See Declaration, ,i 9. According to Dr. Rangwala, Meyer describes the comparison between three different dosing regimens: (1) 177Lu-PSMA-617, (2) 225Ac-PSMA-617, and (3) a combination of 177Lu-PSMA-617 and 225Ac-PSMA-617. For dosing regimen (3), the amount of each of 177Lu-PSMA-617 and 225 Ac-PSMA-617 was half as much as the individual doses from regimen (1) and (2). As shown in Fig. 4 of Meyer, the difference between regimen (2) and regimen (3) was not statistically significant, with a p value of0.108 (left, see also caption for Fig. 4) for the group treated three weeks after inoculation (see caption for Figure 4) and a p value of 0.171 (right, see also caption for Fig. 6) for the group treated five weeks after inoculation. In other words, Meyer provides that combining the two therapies, but administering a lower amount of each, provided a similar therapeutic benefit as administering 225 Ac-PSMA-617 alone. See Declaration ,i 10. However, as noted by Dr. Rangwala, "the treatment of 225 Ac-PSMA-617 alone was known to cause undesirable incidences of xerostomia." Id., (emphasis in original) Dr. Rangwala further describes data for the combination therapy of 177Lu and 225 Ac for treating prostate cancer that was published in Widjaja and Sheikh. See Declaration ,i,i 11-13. As noted in the Declaration, the "PSMA" used in Sheikh and Widjaja was PSMA I&T, which is described along with PSMA-617 in Fendler. See Fendler, p. 1197, left column. As described by Dr. Rangwala, Widjaja discloses that "[t]andem approaches combining [177Lu]Lu-PSMA and Actinium-225 ([225 Ac]Ac)-PSMA may offer safety and efficacy by exploiting both radionuclides." Widjaja at p. 2. To investigate this, Widjaja describes retrospective study of 23 patients that had metastatic castration resistant prostate cancer (mCRPC) and were treated with a tandem therapy of 1.982 ± 1.434 MBq of 177Lu-PSMA and 5.95 ± 1.56 MBq of 225Ac-PSMA. See, id at p. 3. The treated patients experienced a median PSA reduction of -12.35% after two treatment cycles. See id at p. 4. The tandem therapy was also "generally well tolerated." Id As explained by Dr. Rangwala, Widjaja describes that the "dual radiotherapeutic approach may offer a favorable safety profile, while preserving the potent therapeutic efficacy associated with targeted alpha and beta therapy." Id at p. 7 (emphasis added). The increase in tolerability is important because, as noted by Widjaja, "the intensified radiation from Actinium-225 comes at the cost of increased toxicity, including a higher incidence of [chronic kidney disease] and hematological adverse events." Id at 7. Widjaja concludes that "The combined use of the a-emitting Actinium-225 and the ~--emitting Lutetium-177 appears to offer a synergistic therapeutic effect leading to high efficacy and safety of tandem RLT." Id at p. 9, (emphasis added). As declared by Dr. Rangwala, the data in Widjaja of "the combined use of the a-emitting Actinium-225 and the ~-emitting Lutetium-177 indicates a synergistic therapeutic effect." Declaration, ,i 15, (emphasis in original). Dr. Rangwala further declares that this therapeutic effect "is further supported by the data in Meyer, which shows that even while administering half the amount of each of Actinium-225 and Lutetium-177, the efficacy of the therapy was maintained while the side effects were decreased." Id, (emphasis in original). Dr. Rangwala thus concludes that' [t]hese results, from both mice and humans, show that the tandem therapy recited in the claims of the above-captioned application provide a significant and practical advantage over the results provided in the art cited in the Office Action.
The Examiner finds this argument unpersuasive, because the discovery of the alleged synergistic amounts by Meyer et al., Widjaja et al., and Sheikh et al could be allowable for these authors; however, Meyer et al., Widjaja et al., and Sheikh et al are not inventors in the instant application. Additionally, Applicant’s claims are broader in scope of the claimed amounts versus the synergistic amounts disclosed in Meyer et al., Widjaja et al., and Sheikh et al.
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618