Detailed Action
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-126 were originally filed on 19 March 2021. The preliminary amendment filed 19 March 2021 and 24 March 2021 have been entered and acknowledged. Claims 130-132 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 June 2024.
Claims 127, 128, 137, 142, 144, 145, 147, 148, 151, and 153 are under consideration.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to provisional application 62/734,771 filed 21 September 2018 and PCT application US2019/052396 filed 23 September 2019.
It is noted the provisional application does not disclose or contemplate all the limitations of the instant claim 137 which are drawn to synthetic binding agents with Seq ID Nos: 134 and 138. These sequences are not disclosed in the provisional application. Therefore, the instant application claim 137 will receive benefit of PCT/US2019 filed 23 September 2019.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of Applicant amending the claims the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 127 regarding the scope of the additional immunoglobulin Fab domains is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
For the purposes of applying prior art, the claim scope has been interpreted as set forth below
per the guidance set forth in MPEP § 2111. If Applicant disputes any interpretation set forth below,
Applicant is invited to unambiguously identify any alleged misinterpretations or specialized definitions in
the subsequent response to the instant action. Applicant is advised that a specialized definition should
be properly supported and specifically identified (see, e.g., MPEP § (IV), describing how Applicant may
act as their own lexicographer).
Claim 127 is drawn to a synthetic binding agent comprising “a human or humanized Immunoglobulin G (IgG)” in lines 2-3. The specification does not provide a limiting definition for a human or humanized IgG; however several references to an Fc region are made throughout the specification and depicted in Figure 1 as an intact Fc region with no reference to Fc fragments (see specification pgs. 10-11 para [00040], pg. 36 para [000148], pg. 61 para [000223], figure 1A-G, figure 9). Therefore, a human or humanized IgG is interpreted as full length Fc region and antibodies with Fc fragments (i.e., one amino less than a full length Fc region) are not within the scope of claim 127.
In addition, claim 151 is drawn to wherein “a pair of fragment antigen binding (IgG Fab)” in lines 3-4 and one or more additional fab domains in lines 4-7 wherein each Fab domain binds “a same epitope” in line 10. The specification does not provide a limiting definition for when an epitope is considered the same and when it is not. Therefore, “same” is given its plain and customary meaning and understood to mean all the Fab domains make physical contact with identical residues on RSV (see MPEP § 2111). Therefore, antibodies that make 1 or more/fewer physical contacts are not within the scope of claim 151. Claim 153 is similarly interpreted.
Withdrawn Claim Objections
In view of Applicant’s amendments to claim 137 said claim objection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 127, 128, 137, 142, 144, 145, 147, 148, 151, and 153 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 127 is drawn to wherein the synthetic binding agent reduces an average mobility of the RSV in mucus to less than 50% relative to its native mobility in mucus. The scope of “native mobility” is unclear. For example, when is the mobility considered native and when is it not. To put another way, does “native mobility” encompass wherein naturally occurring structures (e.g., naturally occurring antibodies, cells) are bound to RSV or alternatively is “native mobility” limited unbound RSV in mucus.
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the specification discloses “native mobility” as in the absence of any virus specific Ab and points to para [0072] of the specification (see Remarks pg. 12 last para). However, Applicant has pointed to a part of the disclosure that describes figures 2A and B. The particular line Applicant is quoting is not a definition but an example of “native mobility”. Therefore, the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 127 is hereby maintained.
Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite, “...so that the synthetic binding agent binds RSV and reduces an average mobility of the RSV in mucus to less than 50% relative to an average mobility of RSV in the absence of the synthetic binding agent”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 127, 128, 137, 142, 145-147, 151, and 153 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009/018386 A1 (referred to herein as Wu) as evidenced by US Patent Publication 2006/0216284 A1 (referred to herein as Tous, as cited on the PTO-892 mailed 12/29/2025) and US Patent 6,818,216 B2 (referred to herein as Young2, as cited on the PTO-892 mailed 12/29/2025).
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant argues amendments to claims 127, 151, and 153 to specifically recite, “each Fab domain comprises a heavy chain consisting of a variable heavy (VH) domain and a constant heavy 1 (CH1) domain” precludes the presence of light chain elements (see Remarks para spanning pgs. 6-7). This claim amendment raises new issues under 35 USC 112(b) (see below). However, in so far as Applicant is intending to amend claims 127, 151, and 153 to preclude the presences of light chain elements this is not persuasive. The original rejection pointed to the embodiment disclosed in figure 4T (see below) which comprises, in order, VL2-Cκ/λ-VH1-CH1-hinge-CH2-CH3.
However, Wu also discloses an alternative embodiment in figure 4N (see below) which comprises, in order, VH2-CH1-VH1-CH1-hinge-CH2-CH3 which precludes the presence of light chain elements on the heavy chain.
Therefore, Wu discloses the claimed structure as intended by the claim amendments.
Second, Applicant argues the teachings of Tous and Young2 do not remedy the deficiencies of Wu (see Remarks pg. 7, 2nd para).
Given Wu teaches the claimed structure the 35 USC 103 rejection is hereby maintained.
Claims 127 and 144 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009/018386 A1 (referred to herein as Wu) and Zhao (see Zhao as cited on the PTO-892 mailed 12/29/2025) as evidenced by US Patent Publication 2006/0216284 A1 (referred to herein as Tous as cited on the PTO-892 mailed 12/29/2025) and US Patent 6,818,216 B2 (referred to herein as Young2 as cited on the PTO-892 mailed 12/29/2025).
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the teachings of Zhao, Tous, and Young2 do not remedy the deficiencies of Wu (see Remarks pg. 8, 1st full para).
The 35 USC 103 rejection is maintained for the reasons set forth above.
Claims 148 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2009/018386 A1 (referred to herein as Wu) and Smith (see Smith as cited on the PTO-892 mailed 12/29/2025).
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the teachings of Zhao, Smith, Tous, and Young2 do not remedy the deficiencies of Wu (see Remarks pg. 8, middle para).
The 35 USC 103 rejection is maintained for the reasons set forth above.
Double Patenting
Claims 127, 128, 137, 142, 143, 145-148, 151, and 153 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 9 of U.S. Patent 12,115,219 B2 (referred to herein as ‘219 patent) and Wu.
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Wu does not teach or suggest the claimed structure (see Remarks pg. 9, 2nd para).
Therefore, for the reasons set forth above the non-statutory double patenting rejection is hereby maintained.
Claims 144 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 9 of U.S. Patent 12,115,219 B2 (previously referred to as copending Application No. 16/982682, referred to herein as ‘219 patent), Wu, and Zhao.
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Wu does not teach or suggest the claimed structure (see Remarks pg. 9, 5th para).
Therefore, for the reasons set forth above the non-statutory double patenting rejection is hereby maintained.
Claims 127, 128, 137, 142, 143, 145-148, 151, and 153 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 29, 35, and 37 of copending Application No. 18/884822 (referred to herein as ‘822 application) in view of Wu.
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues pursuant to MPEP 804(I)(B)(1)(b)(i) the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection should be withdrawn if it is the only pending rejection (see Remarks pg. 10, 1st full para). However, this provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection is not the only pending rejection.
Therefore, for the reasons set forth above the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection is hereby maintained.
Claims 144 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 29, 35, and 37 of copending Application No. 18/884,822 (referred to herein as ‘822 application) in view of Wu, and Zhao.
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues pursuant to MPEP 804(I)(B)(1)(b)(i) the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection should be withdrawn if it is the only pending rejection (see Remarks pg. 10, 5th para). However, this provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection is not the only pending rejection.
Therefore, for the reasons set forth above the provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection is hereby maintained.
Claims 127, 128, 137, 142, 144-148, 151, and 152 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 35, 58, 65, and 66 of copending Application No. 18/869,268 (referred to herein as ‘268 application).
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited passage refers generally to “drug agents trapped within mucus” and identifies related applications (see Remarks pg. 11, 1st full para).
However, The ‘267 application states,
“Any appropriate drug agent may be used, including but not limited to drug agents that are mucosal trapping drug agents and/or immunotherapeutics. In general these drug agents may be drug agents for treating a respiratory disorder/disease, including disorders/diseases that are transmitted by respiration.
In particular, the drug agents described herein may include drug agents that are trapped within mucus, as described, e.g., in each of US 10,829,543, US 10,100,102, US 10,793,623, U.S. patent application no 16/982,682 (titled "COMPOSITIONS AND METHODS FOR INHIBITING PATHOGEN INFECTION" and filed 3/20/2019), U.S. patent application no. 35 17/063,122 (titled "OPTIMIZED CROSSLINKERS FOR TRAPPING A TARGET ON A SUBSTRATE" and filed 10/5/2020), and U.S. patent application no. 17/278,217 (titled “SYNTHETIC BINDING AGENTS FOR LIMITING PERMEATION THROUGH MUCUS" and filed Sep 23, 2019), each of which is herein incorporated by reference in its entirety.” (see specification pgs. 23-24 para [0083-0084]).
The ‘267 application generically describes the drug agents in paragraph 0083 then follows with a description of more specific structures (i.e., particular species) from patents and application in para 0084. Thus, the ‘267 application is intended to administer the drug agents trapped within mucus as described in the referenced patents and applications. The instantly claimed product and a method of treating a subject necessarily anticipates the product to be administered.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is hereby maintained.
Claims 127, 128, 137, 142, 144-148, 151, and 152 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 9 of copending Application No. 17/889,141 (referred to herein as ‘141 application).
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited passage refers generally to “drug agents trapped within mucus” and identifies related applications (see Remarks para spanning pgs. 11-12).
The ‘141 application states,
“Any appropriate drug agent may be used, including but not limited to drug agents that are mucosal trapping drug agents and/or immunotherapeutics. In general these drug agents may be drug agents for treating a respiratory disorder/disease, including disorders/diseases that are transmitted by respiration.
In particular, the drug agents described herein may include drug agents that are trapped within mucus, as described, e.g., in each of US 10,829,543, US 10,100,102, US 10,793,623, U.S. patent application no 16/982,682 (titled "COMPOSITIONS AND METHODS FOR INHIBITING PATHOGEN INFECTION" and filed 3/20/2019), U.S. patent application no. 35 17/063,122 (titled "OPTIMIZED CROSSLINKERS FOR TRAPPING A TARGET ON A SUBSTRATE" and filed 10/5/2020), and U.S. patent application no. 17/278,217 (titled “SYNTHETIC BINDING AGENTS FOR LIMITING PERMEATION THROUGH MUCUS" and filed Sep 23, 2019), each of which is herein incorporated by reference in its entirety.” (see specification pg. 17 para [0062-0063]).
The ‘141 application generically describes the drug agents in paragraph 0062 then follows with a description of more specific structures (i.e., particular species) from patents and application in paragraph 0063. Thus, the ‘141 application is intended to administer the drug agents trapped within mucus as described in the referenced patents and applications. The instantly claimed product and a method of treating a subject necessarily anticipates the product to be administered.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 128 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In so far as claim 127 is intended to require each Fab domain of the pair of Fab domains be linked to an additional Fab domain wherein a first Fab of the pair of Fab domains is linked to a first additional Fab domain and wherein a second Fab of the pair of Fab domains is linked to a second additional Fab domain for a minimum of four Fab domains and in so far as “the additional Fab domains” is intended to refer to “an additional immunoglobulin Fab domains” in lines 4-5 of claim 127 then claim 128 does not further limit claim 127. Claim 128 id drawn to wherein the additional Fab domains comprises 2 which is a total of 4 already required by claim 127.
Applicant's arguments filed 27 April 2026 (referred to herein as Remarks) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues claim 128 has been amended to remove the recitation of “2” from the claim; however, this amendment was not made.
Therefore, the 35 USC 112(d) rejection is hereby maintained.
The following rejections are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 127, 128, 137, 142, 144-148, and 153 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 127 recites the limitation "the human or humanized IgG (IgG Fab)" in line 6 (claim 127). The scope of this structure is unclear. Claim 127 recites both “human or humanized IgG (IgG)” (lines 2-3) and “a pair of fragment antigen binding (IgG Fab) domains” (lines 3-4). It is unclear if “the human or humanized IgG (IgG Fab) recited in line 6 refers to the human or humanized IgG recited in lines 2-3 as the text suggests or alternatively to the pair of fragment antigen binding domains as the “(IgG Fab)” abbreviation suggests. In addition, it is unclear if the human or humanized IgG recited in lines 2-3 encompasses the pair of Fab domains, Fc region, the flexible amino acid linker, and the additional Fab domains or alternatively if the human or humanized IgG is limited to a pair of Fab domains and Fc region. For example is the claim drawn to antibody comprising a pair of Fab domains, Fc region, flexible linkers, and one or more additional Fab domains (singular structure), or alternatively, an antibody comprising 1. a pair of Fab domains and Fc region and 2. One or more additional Fab domains wherein 1 and 2 are linked via flexible linkers. To put another way, what is the minimum structure of the “human or humanized immunoglobulin G (IgG) recited in lines 2-3).
In addition, the claim establishes “IgG Fab” as the abbreviation for the pair of Fab domains however uses the same abbreviation to refer to the human or humanized Immunoglobulin G. However, the claim establishes “IgG” as the abbreviation for this structure.
In addition, the claim amendment “wherein each Fab domain of the IgG fab and additional Fab domains comprises a heavy chain consisting of a variable heavy (VH) domain and a constant heavy 1 (CH1) domain” in lines 8-9 is unclear. A heavy chain necessarily comprises a CH2 and CH3 domain. Therefore, it is unclear how the heavy chain can consist of a structure that does not include these domains.
Claim 153 is drawn to “a second Fab domain of the human or humanized IgG Fab is linked to a second additional immunoglobulin by a flexible linker” in lines 6-7. It is unclear if the claimed structure (see bold text) is an entire antibody or a second additional Fab. For the purposes of prior art searching claim 153 is understood as being drawn to Fab structures.
Conclusion
No claim allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1644
/AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644