DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 4, 5, and 8 have been cancelled. No new matter has been introduced. Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9-17 remain pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is objected to for a typographical error wherein the claim recites “a second predetermined period of time corresponding to the time delay from starting the pump assembly” and should instead recite “a second predetermined period of time corresponding to a time delay from starting the pump assembly” to reflect that the time delay is a new claim element.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite where it recites “the electronic control unit activates an acoustic signal to sound to notify a user that the time delay mode”. It is not clear what this claim limitation is meant to require. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner has understood the claim to mean “the electronic control unit activates an acoustic signal to provide a sound to notify a user that the time delay mode”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is indefinite where it is unclear due to its recitation "is arranged one of on the pump housing". It is not clear what this claim limitation is meant to require. For the purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner has understood the claim to mean “is arranged on one of on the pump housing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2, 7, and 9-17 are rendered indefinite due to their dependency on, and thus requirement of the indefinite limitations of, indefinite independent claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation “wherein a means is present for prematurely terminating an activated time delay such that the pump assembly is activated by the control unit” of claim 13 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as it uses a generic placeholder (“means”), is described by functional language (“for prematurely terminating an activated time delay”), and does not recite any further structure. Thus, the limitation is interpreted to require the presence of a switch, button, screen, voice control module, lever, slide, or other equivalent means which functionally allow for a user input to be entered into the breastpump.
Additionally, the claim limitation “means adapted to allow the mother to select the duration of the time delay at the start” of claim 17 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as it uses a generic placeholder (“means”), is described by functional language (“adapted to allow the mother to select the duration of the time delay”), and does not recite any further structure. Thus, the limitation is interpreted to require the presence of a switch, button, screen, voice control module, lever, slide, or other equivalent means which functionally allow for a user input to be entered into the breastpump.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 9-10, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pirzada et al. (US 20150112298, henceforth Pirzada).
Regarding claim 1, Pirzada discloses an electrically operated breastpump (pump 1, fig. 1) for expressing human breast milk ([0002] and [0020]) from the breasts of a mother ([0002] and [0020], the disclosed breasts are understood to be the breasts of a mother as in [0047]) having an electric pump assembly (motor 60, fig. 3) and an electronic control unit (microprocessor 50, fig. 3) for controlling the pump assembly ([0025]), and a switch (keypad 4, fig. 1, where all of the buttons on the keypad make up a switch) in communication with the electronic control unit of the breastpump (see fig. 3, keypad 4 communicates with microprocessor 50 as shown), the switch configured to selectively activate the breastpump (see [0018], [0023], [0024], and [0026]), deactivate the breastpump (see [0018], [0023], [0024], and [0044], the keypad 4 is used for setting the device to Shabbat mode, and after sessions the device automatically turns off, or deactivates, and thus the keypad is configured to selectively deactivate the breastpump as claimed), and activate a time delay mode of the breastpump (see [0026], [0035], and [0038], the keypad is used to set the device to the desired mode which includes a time delay mode which is the Shabbat mode of the device), wherein the pump assembly can be activated in a time-delayed manner ([0034]) before starting expressing the breastmilk (see [0034]-[0037], the user activates the time delay where they select/create the preset settings for a program and initiate the program, at which point they can leave the machine until it automatically initiates pumping at the specified time, or after the set time delay; since there is no intervening step required between the setting of the program, which is the activation of the claimed time delay, and the automatic initiation of pumping as disclosed) by means of the control unit (see [0033]-[0034]) such that, upon actuation of the switch for a duration of time (the summative duration of time that the keypad is pressed such as to turn the device on, navigate to the Shabbat mode, and set the device to the Shabbat mode with the desired time settings is considered to be the claimed duration of time; this is the sequence of events shown in fig. 6; note that the claim does not require continuous pressing of the switch) longer than a first predetermined period of time corresponding to a period of time in which the actuation of the switch would result in immediate activation of the pump assembly (the summative duration of time that the keypad is pressed such as to turn the device on, navigate to the immediate pumping mode, and start the device is considered to be the first predetermined period of time; this is the sequence of events shown in fig. 4; note that the claim does not require continuous pressing of the switch; since the sequence shown in fig. 6 requires all of the events of fig. 4 as well as setting the timer for automatic activation, it is considered to be a longer period of time as claimed), the electronic control unit activates an acoustic signal (see [0024], controller 50 causes a buzzing or beeping from buzzer 54 which is an acoustic signal) to sound to notify a user that the time delay mode of the breastpump is activated (see [0024], the alarm goes off when the device switches phases, which would happens during Shabbat mode as controlled by keypad 4 as in [0037]), such that after expiration of a second predetermined period of time (the predetermined period of time is the amount of time from when the mother activates Shabbat mode to when the expression of breastmilk is scheduled to occur; this is a period of time which is predetermined relative to the expression of breastmilk, see [0033]-[0036]) corresponding to the time delay from starting of the pump assembly (the predetermined period of time is the time delay since it is the same period of time between the setting of Shabbat mode and the starting of the pumping for expression of breastmilk), the expression of the breastmilk automatically begins without further action by the mother (see [0037], the machine automatically initiates once in Shabbat mode without further intervention), permitting application of the breastpump to the mother’s breasts after switching on the pump assembly during the time delay and before the pump assembly begins expression of the breastmilk (this is understood to be true in view of [0033]-[0039] where it is disclosed that the mother can set the device into Shabbat mode, leave it and use it without pressing any buttons according to the user-programmed Shabbat schedule, and then the device can be left to count down and the mother’s breasts can be inserted into the device when it is meant to be used while the clock is counting down but before the expression of milk has been activated).
Regarding claim 2, Pirzada discloses the breastpump wherein the time delay can be activated or deactivated by the mother ([0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Pirzada discloses the breastpump wherein the pump assembly and the control unit are arranged in a pump housing (cover 2, fig. 1) and wherein the switch is arranged on one of on the pump housing, in the pump housing (see fig. 1, keypad 4 is arranged on cover 2 as shown), or on a breast shield in communication with the pump housing.
Regarding claim 9, Pirzada discloses the breastpump wherein a display unit is present (see figs. 1 and 3, the claimed display unit is made up of front cover 5, electronic screen component 52, and buzzer 54), which, during the time delay, issues a signal which can be perceived by the mother (“breastfeeding events can be listed on display 5 during the Shabbat period of time so that the user, without pressing any buttons, can read and review the schedule for using the device 1”, [0038]).
Regarding claim 10, Pirzada discloses the breastpump wherein an optical display unit is present (see fig. 1, the claimed optical display unit is made up of front cover 5, electronic screen component 52, and buzzer 54 of [0024]), which, during the time delay, gives an indication as to when the pump assembly will start (“breastfeeding events can be listed on display 5 during the Shabbat period of time so that the user, without pressing any buttons, can read and review the schedule for using the device 1”, [0038]).
Regarding claim 12, Pirzada discloses the breastpump wherein the display unit issues the acoustic signal ([0024]).
Regarding claim 15, Pirzada discloses the breastpump wherein a duration of the time delay can be selected by the mother ([0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Pirzada discloses the breastpump wherein the duration of the time delay is stored in the control unit as a predetermined time value (see [0034]-[0036], step 25 includes the controller starting a clock or a timer – at this moment, the controller would then be storing the amount of time that the time delay will last, or the duration of the time delay as claimed, as a time value which is predetermined relative to the starting of breastmilk expression).
Regarding claim 17, Pirzada discloses the breastpump further comprising means adapted to allow the mother to select the duration of the time delay at the start (see [0034]-[0036], the user, or the mother, must press a menu button to select the desired mode for pumping which then sets the duration of the time delay after which the pumping can proceed; a menu button is an art effective means for a user inputting information into a system, see the Claim Interpretation section above with regards to claim 17; also note that [0038] discloses that the system and process can “result in a pre-programmable breastfeeding pump, which creates a preset time for initialization and a preset schedule of a series of events for breastfeeding over a period of time such as over a 24 hour or 30 hour period of time ”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirzada et al. (US 20150112298, henceforth Pirzada) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Simmons et al. (US 20160287767, henceforth Simmons).
Regarding claim 7, Pirzada discloses the breastpump wherein the breast pump has a speech recognition module (microphone 56, see [0024], the microphone can be used to read audio statements from a user and is thus a speech recognition module). Additionally, Pirzada discloses a switch using buttons (keypad 4, fig. 1, [0034]) for activating the time delay via the mother ([0034]).
Pirzada does not teach the use of the speech recognition module for activating the time delay via the mother, or what the speech recognition module is used for. Simmons teaches that voice recognition modules ([0031], voice recognition technology) and buttons (button or user interface 109, [0031]) can be used interchangeably in breast pump devices to achieve the same functionality ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the voice recognition module in place of the buttons of Pirzada for the activation of the time delay via the mother as Simmons teaches that a voice recognition module can be used to functionally replace buttons and because such a modification would have yielded the same, predictable result of the time delay being activated by the mother.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirzada et al. (US 20150112298, henceforth Pirzada) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Blomquist (US 20030163223, henceforth Blomquist).
Regarding claim 11, Pirzada does not disclose the breastpump wherein the optical display unit shows a changing clock or a changing bar or a decreasing numerical increment. Blomquist teaches a pump (pump 100, fig. 1) comprising an optical display unit (screen 106, figs. 1 and 2) showing a decreasing numerical increment (see countdown timer of [0158] and [0176], also see banner 404 in fig. 19) during a delay period (predetermined time of [0176]) prior to a changing of pump state (see [0177], the pump is activated at the end of the predetermined time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the optical display unit of Pirzada to show a decreasing numerical increment during a delay period prior to changing of a pump state as in Blomquist ([0176], [0177]) for providing notification to the user as to how much time is remaining in the delay period ([0158], [0176]).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirzada et al. (US 20150112298, henceforth Pirzada) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dobrusskin et al. (US 20210244865, henceforth Dobrusskin).
Regarding claim 13, Pirzada discloses the breastpump wherein there is an activated time delay (see [0034], the time delay as in claim 1 is the same time delay in the present claim, however it has now been activated by the mother making it the claimed activated time delay) and wherein the pump assembly is activated by the control unit ([0034], [0037]).
Pirzada does not disclose the breastpump wherein a means is present for prematurely terminating the activated time delay such that the pump assembly is activated by the control unit. Dobrusskin teaches a pump (breast pump device 100, fig. 1) comprising a means for prematurely terminating an activated time delay (see [0056], “If after a predetermined period of time the breast detector has not detected a breast in the breast receiving portion 130, then the controller can still initiate the second operating mode. Alternatively, the controller 110 may initiate the second operating mode based on an input of the user or based on an external signal even if no breast has been detected.” – the predetermined period of time is the activated time delay, and this can instead be prematurely terminated through a user input as taught; this is done through some input means) such that a pump assembly (vacuum source 120, see Abstract) is activated by a control unit (controller 110 which controls vacuum source 120, see Abstract and [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a means for prematurely terminating the activated time delay of Pirzada as in Dobrusskin such that the pump assembly is activated by the control unit for giving the user additional control over the device and allowing for an override of the time delay as desired (this is what occurs in Dobrusskin [0056]).
Regarding claim 14, Pirzada as modified by Dobrusskin discloses that the means for prematurely terminating the time delay is done through a user input (see rejection of claim 13 above).
Pirzada as modified does not explicitly disclose the breastpump wherein the means is a switch. However, Pirzada teaches that its user inputs are done through switches (keypad 4, fig. 1 and see [0018], [0026], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the switches of Pirzada for the means of terminating the time delay since the switches of Pirzada are the means for providing user inputs in the device of Pirzada as modified by Dobrusskin (see Pirzada [0018]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2026 regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) in view of Pirzada et al. (US 20150112298, henceforth Pirzada) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that the present amendments overcome Pirzada. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Pirzada, the setting of the device to the Shabbat mode includes the user pressing on the keypad (which makes up the switch as claimed) more times for more settings (phase settings and scheduling of the pumping sessions) as compared to the immediate activation mode pressing of the keypad (which involves only the phase settings), prompts the electronic control unit to later deliver buzzes when the device changes phases during activation, which meets the claim language as presented.
Thus, Examiner respectfully finds Applicant’s arguments unpersuasive and rejects the claims as indicated in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL J MARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783