DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2017214449A to Ochiai (hereinafter Ochiai) in view of US 4,542,164 to Nishioka et al. (hereinafter Nishioka) and US 2017/0051132 to Yamanaka et al. (hereinafter Yamanaka). For the purposes of examination, citations for Ochiai are taken from a machine translation of the document obtained from the European Patent Office website in November 2025.
Regarding Claims 1, 3, and 4. Ochiai teaches a polyolefin resin foam sheet [0001].
Ochiai teaches the polyolefin resin foam sheet has a mass per unit area, i.e. an area density, of 15 to 110 g/m2 [0014]. The polyolefin resin foam sheet comprise a polyolefin resin, such as a polyethylene resin and/or a polypropylene resin [0019]. The polyolefin resin foam sheet may also comprise a flame retardant [0032].
Ochiai teaches the thickness of the polyolefin resin foam sheet is preferably 0.4 to 3.0 mm [0014]. While this range is not identical to the claimed range of 2 to 15 mm, it does overlap. It has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05) Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a thickness for the polyolefin resin foam sheet at the upper end of the range disclosed by Ochiai, e.g. 2 – 3.0 mm, which is the part of the range that overlaps with the instantly claimed range. The motivation would have been that a higher thickness would be expected to provide great cushioning properties, which Ochiai expressly identifies as an intended objective for the disclosed polyolefin resin foam sheets [0013].
Ochiai is silent with respect to specific flame retardants which may be used in the polyolefin resin foam sheets. However, Yamanaka teaches the concept of utilizing phosphorus spiro compounds as flame retardants in polyolefin resin compositions [0012] – [0014]. Ochiai and Yamanaka are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely polyolefin resin compositions. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a phosphorus spiro compound as taught by Yamanaka as the only flame retardant in the polyolefin resin foam sheet of Ochiai. The motivation would have been that Yamanaka shows that phosphorus spiro compounds are known in the art to be suitable phosphorus-based flame retardants for use in polyolefin resin compositions. Moreover, these phosphorus spiro flame retardants are described by Yamanaka to have high flame retardancy and satisfactory physical properties with no associated decrease in heat resistance ([0003] and [0015]).
Ochiai is also silent with respect to the gel fraction crosslinking degree of the polyolefin resin foam sheet. However, Nishioka teaches the concept of providing a polyolefin resin foam with a degree of crosslinking of 10 to 60% and preferably 15 to 50%, in terms of gel content (Column 8, Lines 1 – 13). Ochiai and Nishioka are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely polyolefin resin foams. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the polyolefin resin foam sheet of Ochiai with a degree of crosslinking in the range of 10 to 60% or preferably 15 to 50%, as taught by Nishioka. The motivation would have been that Nishioka teaches this degree of crosslinking provides advantages such as the prevention of the formation of coarse cells (Column 8, Lines 1 – 13), which is a concern Ochiai seeks to avoid [0037].
Ochiai is further silent with respect to the foam’s ability to satisfy at least one of the instantly claimed conditions (1) and (2). However, Ochiai, when modified in the manner proposed, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a polyolefin resin foam sheet satisfying conditions (1) and/or (2), would then implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 9. Ochiai teaches a polyolefin resin foam sheet of Claim 1. Ad detailed in the rejection of Claim 1, it is the Office’s position that, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a thickness for the polyolefin resin foam sheet at the upper end of the range disclosed by Ochiai, e.g. 2 – 3.0 mm. Ochiai further teaches a preferred mass per unit urea of 20 to 100 g/m2 [0014]. Using these values, the polyolefin resin foam sheet of Ochiai having a thickness of 2 to 3.0 mm can be calculated to have a most preferred apparent density of roughly 7 to 50 kg/m3.
Regarding Claim 10. Ochiai teaches a polyolefin resin foam sheet of Claim 9. Ad detailed in the rejection of Claim 1, it is the Office’s position that, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the polyolefin resin foam of Ochiai with a degree of crosslinking of preferably 15 to 50% as taught by Nishioka.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the applied references do not teach the new limitation setting forth the polyolefin resin foam sheet have “a gel fraction crosslinking degree of 20 to 60% by mass”. In response, the Office respectfully submits that this limitation is taught by newly cited US 4,542,164 to Nishioka et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764