DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2017214449A to Ochiai (hereinafter Ochiai) in view of US 2017/0051132 to Yamanaka et al. (hereinafter Yamanaka). For the purposes of examination, citations for Ochiai are taken from a machine translation of the document obtained from the European Patent Office website in November 2025.
Regarding Claims 1, 3, and 4. Ochiai teaches a polyolefin resin foam sheet [0001].
Ochiai teaches the polyolefin resin foam sheet has a mass per unit area, i.e. an area density, of 15 to 110 g/m2 [0014]. The polyolefin resin foam sheet comprise a polyolefin resin, such as a polyethylene resin and/or a polypropylene resin [0019]. The polyolefin resin foam sheet may also comprise a flame retardant [0032].
Ochiai teaches the thickness of the polyolefin resin foam sheet is preferably 0.4 to 3.0 mm [0014]. While this range is not identical to the claimed range of 2 to 15 mm, it does overlap. It has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05) Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a thickness for the polyolefin resin foam sheet at the upper end of the range disclosed by Ochiai, e.g. 2 – 3.0 mm, which is the part of the range that overlaps with the instantly claimed range. The motivation would have been that a higher thickness would be expected to provide great cushioning properties, which Ochiai expressly identifies as an intended objective for the disclosed polyolefin resin foam sheets [0013].
Ochiai is silent with respect to specific flame retardants which may be used in the polyolefin resin foam sheets. However, Yamanaka teaches the concept of utilizing phosphorus spiro compounds as flame retardants in polyolefin resin compositions [0012] – [0014]. Ochiai and Yamanaka are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely polyolefin resin compositions. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select a phosphorus spiro compound as taught by Yamanaka as the only flame retardant in the polyolefin resin foam sheet of Ochiai. The motivation would have been that Yamanaka shows that phosphorus spiro compounds are known in the art to be suitable phosphorus-based flame retardants for use in polyolefin resin compositions. Moreover, these phosphorus spiro flame retardants are described by Yamanaka to have high flame retardancy and satisfactory physical properties with no associated decrease in heat resistance ([0003] and [0015]).
Ochiai is silent with respect to the foam’s ability to satisfy at least one of the instantly claimed conditions (1) and (2). However, Ochiai, when modified with in the manner above, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. The claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a polyolefin resin foam sheet satisfying conditions (1) and/or (2), would then implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4 – 6, filed September 16, 2025, are persuasive with respect to the rejections of the instant claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of US 2015/0133571 to Claessen et al. (hereinafter Claessen) and in view of US 4,542,164 to Nishioka et al. (hereinafter Nishioka) and Yamanaka et al. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of JP 2017214449A to Ochiai and Yamanaka et al.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764