DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant submitted amendments and remarks on December 10, 2025. Therein, Applicant submitted substantive arguments. Claims 1, 8, and 11 have been amended. No claims were added or cancelled.
The submitted claims are considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2-7, 12, and 14-16 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1 and claims 9, 10, and 13 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 8.
Applicant has further amended Claims 1, 8 and 11 to recite the claim limitation “such that coolant flows through the first sub-circuit from the inlet end of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the first sub-circuit in a second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit”. The concept of “backwards flow” is mentioned in the Specification (ref. Paragraph [0011]). However, it is still unclear how the “backwards flow” is defined relative to the flow behavior of the rest of the system. Further clarification is needed in order to describe the relationship between “backwards flow” in a sub-circuit and the behavior of the coolant flow of the other parts of the temperature control system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vespa, et al. (U.S Patent No. 10315493) in view of Bruemmer (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170044969) and further in view of Vandike, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9786963).
Regarding claim 1, Vespa, et al. teaches: A temperature control system for a vehicle, comprising: a main circuit comprising a tubing in which there is provided a coolant, a main circuit pump configured to pump said coolant through the tubing of the main circuit in a first flow direction, and at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit, said main circuit comprising a tubing portion; (Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31)." ; Col. 5, lines 47-52: "The various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another. Upstream being the direction opposite the flow of coolant as it circulates, and downstream being the direction in which the coolant flows as it circulates [chosen flow direction].")
a first sub-circuit for cooling or heating a first component located in the first sub-circuit, (Col. 5, lines 31-38: "…primary loop (30) has two parallel sub-loops, namely a first sub-loop (32) and a second sub-loop (34) in which the coolant may circulate [cooling]. […] first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) may include various components including the first heat source (20), a second heat source (36), and a first heat exchanger (38) [first sub-circuit for cooling first component].")
said first sub-circuit comprising a tubing that has an inlet end and an outlet end, which are connected to respective openings in the tubing portion of the main circuit at positions that are spaced apart from each other as seen in a longitudinal direction of the tubing portion of the main circuit, (Fig. 1, Col. 5, lines 31-35: "…first sub-loop (32) [first sub-circuit] […] in which the coolant may circulate. The first and second sub-loops (32), (34) share a common line (29) [inlet and outlet, longitudinal direction, ref. Fig. 1]." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
wherein the inlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit is configured for receiving coolant from the main circuit flowing in the first flow direction and the outlet end of the first sub-circuit is configured to allow fluid from the first sub-circuit to return to the main circuit, wherein the inlet end of the first sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit at a position downstream of a position at which the outlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit as seen in said first flow direction, (Col. 5, lines 36-52: "…first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) may include various components including the first heat source (20), a second heat source (36), and a first heat exchanger (38). The first sub-loop (32) may also include a reservoir (35) and/or a coolant pump (37) [first sub-circuit - fluid components]. [...] The various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an […] downstream position relative to one another [downstream connection]. […] downstream being the direction in which the coolant flows as it circulates [downstream connection]." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
at least one second sub-circuit for cooling or heating a second component located in the second sub-circuit, (Col. 5, lines 31-34: "…primary loop (30) has two parallel sub-loops, namely a first sub-loop (32) and a second sub-loop (34) in which the coolant may circulate [cooling]." ; Col. 6, lines 16-19: "In this form, the second sub-loop (34) of the primary loop (30) includes various components including the first heat source (20), the second heat source (36), and a second heat exchanger (39) [second sub-circuit for cooling second component].")
said second sub-circuit comprising a tubing that has an inlet end and an outlet end, which are connected to respective openings in the tubing portion of the main circuit at positions that are spaced apart from each other as seen in the longitudinal direction of the tubing portion of the main circuit, wherein the inlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit is configured for receiving coolant from the main circuit flowing in the first flow direction and the outlet end of the second sub-circuit is configured to allow fluid from the second sub-circuit to return to the main circuit, (Col. 6., lines 19-22: "…the second sub-loop (34) [second sub-circuit] of the primary loop (30) includes various components including the first heat source (20), the second heat source (36), and a second heat exchanger (39). The second sub-loop (34) may also include the reservoir (35) and/or the coolant pump (37). The first and second sub-loops (32), (34) share line (29) which includes the first heat source (20) and the second heat source (36) [inlet and outlet, longitudinal flow direction, ref. Fig. 1] ." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
wherein the inlet end of the second sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit at a position downstream of a position at which the outlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit as seen in said first flow direction, (Col. 16, lines 16-30: "…the second sub-loop (34) of the primary loop (30) includes various components including the first heat source (20), the second heat source (36), and a second heat exchanger (39). The second sub-loop (34) may also include the reservoir (35) and/or the coolant pump (37). [second sub-circuit - fluid components] [...] The various components of the second sub-loop (34) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another [downstream connection]. For example, the second heat exchanger (39) is positioned downstream of the second heat source (36) [downstream connection - example]." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
wherein: the first sub-circuit comprises a first pump configured to pump coolant in the second flow direction from said inlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit, (Col. 5, lines 38-49: "The first sub-loop (32) [first sub-circuit] may also include a reservoir (35) and/or a coolant pump (37). […] The various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another [pump for coolant in second flow direction from inlet to outlet end of tubing].")
a first sensor configured to measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t1 of said first component; (Col. 7, lines 9-11: "A sensor or any other suitable temperature sensing or measuring device may determine the measured temperature of the air in the cabin [sensor to measure temperature]." ; Col. 7, lines 24-29: "…preconditioning mode, as shown in FIG. 2, may further include the air heater (52) [first component] being off and the blower (56) not providing airflow to the cabin until the coolant circulating in the first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) is heated to a predetermined coolant temperature, for example approximately 60° C [measured temperature of coolant].")
and a control unit (Col. 6, lines 38-40: "The control valve (31) may be controlled, for example by an engine control unit (ECU) [control unit], to control the path in which coolant flows")
and wherein the control unit to the main circuit pump and to the at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit and is configured to control operation of the main circuit pump and said at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit (Col. 6, lines 38-40: "The control valve (31) may be controlled, for example by an engine control unit (ECU) [control unit], to control the path in which coolant flows" ; Col 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).").
Vespa, et al. does not teach the second sub-circuit comprises a second pump configured to pump coolant in the second flow direction from said inlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit; a second sensor configured to measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of said second component; which is connected to the first sensor and to the second sensor and which is configured to control operation of the first pump based on input received from the first sensor and to control operation of the second pump based on input received from the second sensor; is connected based on input received from the first sensor and the second sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor (cooling circuit), Bruemmer teaches: the second sub-circuit comprises a second pump configured to pump coolant in the second flow direction from said inlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit; (Paragraph [0047]: "…second cooling branch (27), a second heat source (12) is disposed, and a second coolant pump (19) [second sub-circuit with second pump]." ; Paragraph [0049]: "…coolant outlet (24), coolant can flow from the second thermostat (17) to the second heat source (12), and along the second coolant pump (19) via a coolant intake (23) back into the first thermostat (17) [second flow direction - inlet to outlet part of connection].")
a second sensor configured to measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of said second component; (Paragraph [0049]: "The second thermostat (17) has a valve body (28), which allows for an opening and closing of the second thermostat (17) […] By an adjustment of the valve body (28), the flow of the coolant can be controlled within the second thermostat [second sensor]. This can be done in particular temperature-dependent [second temperature measurement].")
which is connected to the first sensor and to the second sensor and which is configured to control operation of the first pump based on input received from the first sensor and to control operation of the second pump based on input received from the second sensor, (Paragraph [0067]: "…first thermostat (60) and the second thermostat (62) are each formed by plate thermostats. The coolant enters through a coolant intake (64) into an area that allows for distribution into the two thermostats (60), (62) [first and second sensor]" ; Paragraph [0064]: "…first heat source (11), the heat exchanger (14), the bypass branch (15) and the coolant pump (13) [first pump] are disposed within the first cooling branch (26). In the second cooling branch (27), the second heat source (12) and the second coolant pump (19) [second pump] are arranged.")
is connected based on input received from the first sensor and the second sensor (Paragraph [0067]: "…first thermostat (60) and the second thermostat (62) are each formed by plate thermostats. The coolant enters through a coolant intake (64) into an area that allows for distribution into the two thermostats (60), (62) [first and second sensor]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vespa, et al. to include the teaching of Bruemmer based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of optimizing a cooling circuit for multiple heating sources in a vehicle (Bruemmer Paragraph [0014]).
The combination of Vespa, et al. and Bruemmer does not teach such that coolant flows through the first sub-circuit from the inlet end of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the first sub-circuit in a second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit; such that coolant flows through the at least second sub-circuit from the inlet end of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the second sub-circuit in the second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit.
In a similar field of endeavor (opposite coolant flow), Vandike, et al. teaches: such that coolant flows through the first sub-circuit from the inlet end of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the first sub-circuit in a second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit; (Fig. 4, Col. 8, lines 33-40: "In the arrangement of FIG. 4, all fluid flows through the first closed path (138) [first sub-circuit in first flow direction], […] in the same flow direction. Depending upon the size and spacing of the cylinders and the cooling and heating requirements of the thermally regulated load (148), one of the fluid flows can be reversed in flow direction to provide a counter flow regime for improved heat transfer [reversed, or backwards flow].")
such that coolant flows through the at least second sub-circuit from the inlet end of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the second sub-circuit in the second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit (Fig. 4, Col. 8, lines 33-40: "In the arrangement of FIG. 4, all fluid flows through […] the second closed path (142) [second sub-circuit in second flow direction], […] in the same flow direction. Depending upon the size and spacing of the cylinders and the cooling and heating requirements of the thermally regulated load (148), one of the fluid flows can be reversed in flow direction to provide a counter flow regime for improved heat transfer [reversed, or backwards flow].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al. and Bruemmer to include the teaching of Vandike, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of providing opposite flow of coolant within a sub-circuit of a temperature control system (Vandike, et al. Col. 7, lines 38-43, Col. 8, lines 33-52).
Regarding claim 2, Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: A temperature control system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to activate the main circuit pump and/or said at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit, as a response to input received from said first sensor or from said second sensor, or from a sensor in the main circuit that measures a temperature of the coolant in the first sub-circuit and/or the second sub-circuit indicating that sufficient heating or cooling of the first component or second component is not achieved by control of the first and second pump (Vespa, et al. Col. 7, lines 14-19: " The ECU, an onboard computer, or any other suitable vehicle component may determine if the measured temperature is less than the desired temperature of the air in the cabin. In both the first phase and second phase of the preconditioning mode, coolant may be circulated in the first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) [measured temperature from sensor - less than sufficient heating of component] ; Vespa, et al. Col. 6, lines 36-41: "In yet another form, the primary loop (30) may further include a control valve (31) disposed downstream of the second heat source (36). The control valve (31) may be controlled, for example by an engine control unit (ECU) [control unit], to control the path in which coolant flows in the primary loop (30)." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).").
Regarding claim 4, Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: A temperature control system according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the tubing of the main circuit that presents openings to which the respective first and second ends of the first and second sub-circuits are connected is separable from an upstream part of said tubing of the main circuit and a downstream part of said tubing of the main circuit by means of tubing connections (Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 31-35: "The primary loop (30) has two parallel sub-loops, namely a first sub-loop (32) and a second sub-loop (34) in which the coolant may circulate. The first and second sub-loops (32), (34) share a common line (29) [tubing connection structure - sub-circuits]." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 47-49: "The various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another [first sub-circuit - upstream/downstream]." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 6, lines 27-33: "The various components of the second sub-loop (34) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another [second sub-circuit - upstream/downstream]." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).").
Regarding claim 5, Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: A temperature control system according to claim 1, wherein said first component and said second component are components of a vehicle (Vespa, et al. Col. 7, line 64 to Col. 7, line 1: "…efficiently heating a cabin of a vehicle. The method comprises providing a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (100) such as that described above and shown in FIG. 1 [system components of vehicle].").
Regarding claim 6, Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. remain as applied to claim 5, and in a further embodiment, teach: A temperature control system according to claim 5, wherein at least one of the first component and the second component is a battery for accumulation of electric energy (Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 62-66: "…first sub-loop (32) partially extends into a case (50) of the HVAC system (100) to place the first heat exchanger (38) adjacent an air heater (52) [first component]. According to one form, the air heater (52) may be an electric heater that is powered by a traction battery (54) [battery for accumulation of electric energy].").
Regarding claim 8, Vespa, et al. teaches: A vehicle, comprising a temperature control system, comprising: a main circuit comprising a tubing in which there is provided a coolant, a main circuit pump configured to pump said coolant through the tubing of the main circuit in a first flow direction, and at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit, said main circuit comprising a tubing portion; (Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31)." ; Col. 5, lines 47-52: "The various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another. Upstream being the direction opposite the flow of coolant as it circulates, and downstream being the direction in which the coolant flows as it circulates [chosen flow direction].")
a first sub-circuit for cooling or heating a first component located in the first sub-circuit, (Col. 5, lines 31-38: "…primary loop (30) has two parallel sub-loops, namely a first sub-loop (32) and a second sub-loop (34) in which the coolant may circulate [cooling]. […] first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) may include various components including the first heat source (20), a second heat source (36), and a first heat exchanger (38) [first sub-circuit for cooling first component].")
said first sub-circuit comprising a tubing that has an inlet end and an outlet end, which are connected to respective openings in the tubing portion of the main circuit at positions that are spaced apart from each other as seen in a longitudinal direction of the tubing portion of the main circuit, (Fig. 1, Col. 5, lines 31-35: "…first sub-loop (32) [first sub-circuit] […] in which the coolant may circulate. The first and second sub-loops (32), (34) share a common line (29) [inlet and outlet, longitudinal direction, ref. Fig. 1]." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
wherein the inlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit is configured for receiving coolant from the main circuit flowing in the first flow direction and the outlet end of the first sub-circuit is configured to allow fluid from the first sub-circuit to return to the main circuit, wherein the inlet end of the first sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit of a position downstream of a position at which the outlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit as seen in said first flow direction; (Col. 5, lines 36-52: "…first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) may include various components including the first heat source (20), a second heat source (36), and a first heat exchanger (38). The first sub-loop (32) may also include a reservoir (35) and/or a coolant pump (37) [first sub-circuit - fluid components]. [...] various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an […] downstream position relative to one another [downstream connection]. […] downstream being the direction in which the coolant flows as it circulates [downstream connection]." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
at least one second sub-circuit for cooling or heating a second component located in the second sub-circuit, (Col. 5, lines 31-34: "…primary loop (30) has two parallel sub-loops, namely a first sub-loop (32) and a second sub-loop (34) in which the coolant may circulate [cooling]." ; Col. 6, lines 16-19: "In this form, the second sub-loop (34) of the primary loop (30) includes various components including the first heat source (20), the second heat source (36), and a second heat exchanger (39) [second sub-circuit for cooling second component].")
said second sub-circuit comprising a tubing that has an inlet end and an outlet end, which are connected to respective openings in the tubing portion of the main circuit at positions that are spaced apart from each other as seen in the longitudinal direction of the tubing portion of the main circuit, (Col. 6., lines 19-22: "…the second sub-loop (34) [second sub-circuit] of the primary loop (30) includes various components including the first heat source (20), the second heat source (36), and a second heat exchanger (39). The second sub-loop (34) may also include the reservoir (35) and/or the coolant pump (37). The first and second sub-loops (32), (34) share line (29) which includes the first heat source (20) and the second heat source (36) [inlet and outlet, longitudinal flow direction, ref. Fig. 1]." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
wherein the inlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit is configured for receiving coolant from the main circuit flowing in the first flow direction and the outlet end of the second sub-circuit is configured to allow fluid from the second sub-circuit to return to the main circuit, wherein the inlet end of the second sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit at a position downstream of a position at which the outlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit as seen in said first flow direction, (Col. 16, lines 16-30: "…the second sub-loop (34) of the primary loop (30) includes various components including the first heat source (20), the second heat source (36), and a second heat exchanger (39). The second sub-loop (34) may also include the reservoir (35) and/or the coolant pump (37). [second sub-circuit - fluid components] [...] The various components of the second sub-loop (34) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another [downstream connection]. For example, the second heat exchanger (39) is positioned downstream of the second heat source (36) [downstream connection - example]." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
wherein: the first sub-circuit comprises a first pump configured to pump coolant in the second flow direction from said inlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit, (Col. 5, lines 38-49: "The first sub-loop (32) [first sub-circuit] may also include a reservoir (35) and/or a coolant pump (37). […] The various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another [pump for coolant in second flow direction from inlet to outlet end of tubing].")
a first sensor configured to measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t1 of said first component; (Col. 7, lines 9-11: "A sensor or any other suitable temperature sensing or measuring device may determine the measured temperature of the air in the cabin [sensor to measure temperature]." ; Col. 7, lines 24-29: "…preconditioning mode, as shown in FIG. 2, may further include the air heater (52) [first component] being off and the blower (56) not providing airflow to the cabin until the coolant circulating in the first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) is heated to a predetermined coolant temperature, for example approximately 60° C [measured temperature of coolant].")
and a control unit (Col. 6, lines 38-40: "The control valve (31) may be controlled, for example by an engine control unit (ECU) [control unit], to control the path in which coolant flows")
and wherein the control unit the main circuit pump and to the at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit and is configured to control operation of the main circuit pump and said at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit (Col. 6, lines 38-40: "The control valve (31) may be controlled, for example by an engine control unit (ECU) [control unit], to control the path in which coolant flows" ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).").
Vespa, et al. does not teach the second sub-circuit comprises a second pump configured to pump coolant in the second flow direction from said inlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit; a second sensor configured to measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of said second component; which is connected to the first sensor and to the second sensor and which is configured to control operation of the first pump based on input received from the first sensor and to control operation of the second pump based on input received from the second sensor, is connected to based on input received from the first sensor and the second sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor (cooling circuit), Bruemmer teaches: and the second sub-circuit comprises a second pump configured to pump coolant in the second flow direction from said inlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit; (Paragraph [0047]: "…second cooling branch (27), a second heat source (12) is disposed, and a second coolant pump (19) [second sub-circuit with second pump]." ; Paragraph [0049]: "Via a coolant outlet (24), coolant can flow from the second thermostat (17) to the second heat source (12), and along the second coolant pump (19) via a coolant intake (23) back into the first thermostat (17) [direction - inlet to outlet part of connection].")
a second sensor configured to measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of said second component; (Paragraph [0049]: "The second thermostat (17) has a valve body (28), which allows for an opening and closing of the second thermostat (17) […] By an adjustment of the valve body (28), the flow of the coolant can be controlled within the second thermostat [second sensor]. This can be done in particular temperature-dependent [second temperature measurement].")
which is connected to the first sensor and to the second sensor and which is configured to control operation of the first pump based on input received from the first sensor and to control operation of the second pump based on input received from the second sensor, based on input received from the first sensor and the second sensor (Paragraph [0067]: "…first thermostat (60) and the second thermostat (62) are each formed by plate thermostats. The coolant enters through a coolant intake (64) into an area that allows for distribution into the two thermostats (60), (62) [first and second sensor]" ; Paragraph [0064]: "…first heat source (11), the heat exchanger (14), the bypass branch (15) and the coolant pump (13) [first pump] are disposed within the first cooling branch (26). In the second cooling branch (27), the second heat source (12) and the second coolant pump (19) [second pump] are arranged.")
is connected to based on input from the first sensor and the second sensor (Paragraph [0067]: "…first thermostat (60) and the second thermostat (62) are each formed by plate thermostats. The coolant enters through a coolant intake (64) into an area that allows for distribution into the two thermostats (60), (62) [first and second sensor]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vespa, et al. to include the teaching of Bruemmer based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of optimizing a cooling circuit for multiple heating sources in a vehicle (Bruemmer Paragraph [0014]).
The combination of Vespa, et al. and Bruemmer does not teach such that coolant flows through the first sub-circuit from the inlet end of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the first sub-circuit in a second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit; such that coolant flows through the at least second sub-circuit from the inlet end of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the second sub-circuit in the second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit.
In a similar field of endeavor (opposite coolant flow), Vandike, et al. teaches: such that coolant flows through the first sub-circuit from the inlet end of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the first sub-circuit in a second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit (Fig. 4, Col. 8, lines 33-40: "In the arrangement of FIG. 4, all fluid flows through the first closed path (138) [first sub-circuit in first flow direction], […] in the same flow direction. Depending upon the size and spacing of the cylinders and the cooling and heating requirements of the thermally regulated load (148), one of the fluid flows can be reversed in flow direction to provide a counter flow regime for improved heat transfer [reversed, or backwards flow].")
such that coolant flows through the at least second sub-circuit from the inlet end of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the second sub-circuit in the second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit (Fig. 4, Col. 8, lines 33-40: "In the arrangement of FIG. 4, all fluid flows through […] the second closed path (142) [second sub-circuit in second flow direction], […] in the same flow direction. Depending upon the size and spacing of the cylinders and the cooling and heating requirements of the thermally regulated load (148), one of the fluid flows can be reversed in flow direction to provide a counter flow regime for improved heat transfer [reversed, or backwards flow].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al. and Bruemmer to include the teaching of Vandike, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of providing opposite flow of coolant within a sub-circuit of a temperature control system (Vandike, et al. Col. 7, lines 38-43, Col. 8, lines 33-52).
Regarding claim 9, Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. remain as applied to claim 8, and in a further embodiment, teach: A vehicle in claim 8, wherein said first component and said second component is any one of: a battery for accumulation of electric energy a compressor an electric heater device a condenser or power electronics (Vespa, et al. Col. 7, line 64 to Col. 7, line 1: "…efficiently heating a cabin of a vehicle. The method comprises providing a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (100) such as that described above and shown in FIG. 1 [system components of vehicle]." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 64-66: "…the air heater (52) may be an electric heater [electric heater device]").
Regarding claim 10, Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. remain as applied to claim 9, and in a further embodiment, teach: A vehicle according to claim 9, at least one of the first component or the and second component is a battery for the accumulation of electric energy (Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 62-66: "…first sub-loop (32) partially extends into a case (50) of the HVAC system (100) to place the first heat exchanger (38) adjacent an air heater (52) [first component]. According to one form, the air heater (52) may be an electric heater that is powered by a traction battery (54) [battery for accumulation of electric energy].").
Regarding claim 14, Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: A temperature control system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit comprises an inlet and an outlet connected to the main circuit, and wherein the respective inlets and outlets of the first and second sub-circuits are connected to the main circuit upstream of the inlet of the at least one unit (Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 31-25: "…primary loop (30) has two parallel sub-loops, namely a first sub-loop (32) and a second sub-loop (34) in which the coolant may circulate. The first and second sub-loops (32), (34) share a common line (29) [inlet and outlet connection]." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 47-49: "The various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an upstream [upstream] or downstream position relative to one another." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 6, lines 27-29: "The various components of the second sub-loop (34) may be arranged in an upstream [upstream] or downstream position relative to one another." ; Vespa, et al. Col 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30).").
Regarding claim 15, Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: A temperature control system according to claim 1, wherein the respective inlets and outlets of the first and second sub-circuits are connected to the main circuit downstream of the main circuit pump (Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 31-25: "…primary loop (30) has two parallel sub-loops, namely a first sub-loop (32) and a second sub-loop (34) in which the coolant may circulate. The first and second sub-loops (32), (34) share a common line (29) [inlet and outlet connection]." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 47-49: "The various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream [downstream] position relative to one another." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 6, lines 27-29: "The various components of the second sub-loop (34) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream [downstream] position relative to one another." ; Vespa, et al. Col 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
Regarding claim 16, Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: A temperature control system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to activate the main circuit pump and/or said at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit, as a response to input received from a sensor located in the main circuit between the respective inlets and outlets of the first and second sub-circuits that indicates that sufficient heating or cooling of the first component or second component is not achieved by control of the first and/or second pumps (Vespa, et al. Col. 7, lines 14-19: " The ECU [control unit], an onboard computer, or any other suitable vehicle component may determine if the measured temperature is less than the desired temperature of the air in the cabin. In both the first phase and second phase of the preconditioning mode, coolant may be circulated in the first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) [measured temperature from sensor - less than sufficient heating of component by pump]" ; Vespa, et al. Col. 6, lines 36-41: "In yet another form, the primary loop (30) may further include a control valve (31) disposed downstream of the second heat source (36). The control valve (31) may be controlled, for example by an engine control unit (ECU) [control unit], to control the path in which coolant flows in the primary loop (30)." ; Vespa, et al. Col 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vespa, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10315493), Bruemmer (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170044969), and Vandike, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9786963) in view of Quix (U.S. Patent No. 10337389).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. do not teach wherein the main circuit pump of the main circuit has a lower maximum output, measured in liters per minute, than a sum of a maximum output of the first and the second pumps.
In a similar field of endeavor (controlling coolant flows of a split cooling system), Quix teaches: A temperature control system according to claim 1, wherein the pump of the main circuit has a lower maximum output, measured in liters per minute, than a sum of a maximum output of the first and the second pumps (Fig. 11, Col. 23, lines 23-39: “…rate of flow V, prevailing during said phases, of the coolant in liters per minute (I/min) [maximum output]. […] first curve (W1) for the measurement location at a coolant pump of the split cooling system, a second curve (W2) for the measure-ment location within the secondary circuit of the split cooling system […] A fourth and last curve (W4) represents the measurement location of the cooler arrangement within the main circuit.").
As described by Quix, Fig. 11 shows that the curve representing the total split cooling system (which is a sum of the first and second pumps) (W1) shows a higher flow rate value at its peak relative to the standard cooling system within the main circuit (W4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al, Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. to include the teaching of Quix based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process by which coolant flows in a split cooling system of a vehicle engine (Quix Col. 5, lines 4-12).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vespa, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10315493), Bruemmer (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170044969), and Vandike, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9786963) in view of Gering, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8191618).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. do not teach wherein the first component has a preferred operation temperature range a-b, and the second component has a preferred operation temperature range c-d, and wherein range a-b overlaps range c-d.
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle thermal management), Gering, et al. teaches: A temperature control system according to claim 1, wherein the first component has a preferred operation temperature range a-b, and the second component has a preferred operation temperature range c-d, and wherein range a-b overlaps range c-d (Col. 3, lines 55-59: “internal combustion engine coolant/fluid in loop (104) [first component] to help warm batteries (110) [second component]. (TBatt<Tmin) and (TPCM<Tmin) and (TRad>TPCM).”).
Specifically, in Gering, et al., the value of Tbatt is described as the average or representative temperature within the battery, the value of Tmin is the desirable battery temperature, TPCM is the average or representative temperature within the phase change material (PCM) module of the heat exchanger (HX), and Trad is the representative temperature of the internal combustion engine radiator coolant/fluid in loop (104). As a byproduct of the mathematical relationship stated in the earlier citation, it can be concluded that the temperatures of the engine coolant and the battery overlap (within the heat exchanger) when pump (P2) is on.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. to include the teaching of Gering, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve a thermal management system in which heat is transferred from an internal combustion engine to an electrochemical storage device (Gering, et al. Col. 2, lines 10-23).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vespa, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10315493), Bruemmer (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170044969), and Vandike, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9786963) in view of Gering, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8191618) and further in view of Kelty, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8899492).
Regarding claim 11, Vespa, et al. teaches: A method of controlling operation of a temperature control system comprising: a main circuit comprising a tubing in which there is provided a coolant, a main circuit pump configured to pump said coolant through the tubing of the main circuit in a first flow direction, and at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit, said main circuit comprising a tubing portion; (Col. 7, line 64 to Col. 8, line 1: "The present disclosure also provides a method of efficiently heating a cabin of a vehicle. The method comprises providing a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system (100) such as that described above and shown in FIG. 1 [method of temperature control]." ; Col 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31)." ; Col. 5, lines 47-52: "The various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another. Upstream being the direction opposite the flow of coolant as it circulates, and downstream being the direction in which the coolant flows as it circulates [chosen flow direction].")
a first sub-circuit for cooling or heating a first component located in the first sub-circuit, (Col. 5, lines 31-38: "…primary loop (30) has two parallel sub-loops, namely a first sub-loop (32) and a second sub-loop (34) in which the coolant may circulate [cooling]. […] first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) may include various components including the first heat source (20), a second heat source (36), and a first heat exchanger (38) [first sub-circuit for cooling first component].")
said first sub-circuit comprising a tubing that has an inlet end and an outlet end, which are connected to respective openings in the tubing portion of the main circuit at positions that are spaced apart from each other as seen in a longitudinal direction of the tubing portion of the main circuit, (Fig. 1, Col. 5, lines 31-35: "…first sub-loop (32) [first sub-circuit] […] in which the coolant may circulate. The first and second sub-loops (32), (34) share a common line (29) [inlet and outlet, longitudinal direction, ref. Fig. 1]." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
wherein the inlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit is configured for receiving coolant from the main circuit flowing in the first flow direction and the outlet end of the first sub-circuit is configured to allow fluid from the first sub-circuit to return to the main circuit, wherein the inlet end of the first sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit of a position downstream of a position at which the outlet of the tubing of the first sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit as seen in said first flow direction; (Col. 5, lines 36-52: "…first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) may include various components including the first heat source (20), a second heat source (36), and a first heat exchanger (38). The first sub-loop (32) may also include a reservoir (35) and/or a coolant pump (37) [first sub-circuit - fluid components]. [...] various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an […] downstream position relative to one another [downstream connection]. […] downstream being the direction in which the coolant flows as it circulates [downstream connection]." ; Col 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
at least one second sub-circuit for cooling or heating a second component located in the second sub-circuit, (Col. 5, lines 31-34: "…primary loop (30) has two parallel sub-loops, namely a first sub-loop (32) and a second sub-loop (34) in which the coolant may circulate [cooling]." ; Col. 6, lines 16-19: "In this form, the second sub-loop (34) of the primary loop (30) includes various components including the first heat source (20), the second heat source (36), and a second heat exchanger (39) [second sub-circuit for cooling second component].")
said second sub-circuit comprising a tubing that has an inlet end and an outlet end, which are connected to respective openings in the tubing portion of the main circuit at positions that are spaced apart from each other as seen in the longitudinal direction of the tubing portion of the main circuit, (Col. 6., lines 19-22: "…second sub-loop (34) [second sub-circuit] of the primary loop (30) includes various components including the first heat source (20), the second heat source (36), and a second heat exchanger (39). The second sub-loop (34) may also include the reservoir (35) and/or the coolant pump (37). The first and second sub-loops (32), (34) share line (29) which includes the first heat source (20) and the second heat source (36) [inlet and outlet, longitudinal flow direction, ref. Fig. 1]." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
wherein the inlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit is configured for receiving coolant from the main circuit flowing in the first flow direction and the outlet end of the second sub-circuit is configured to allow fluid from the second sub-circuit to return to the main circuit, wherein the inlet end of the second sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit at a position downstream of a position at which the outlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit is connected to the tubing portion of the main circuit as seen in said first flow direction, (Col. 16, lines 16-30: "…the second sub-loop (34) of the primary loop (30) includes various components including the first heat source (20), the second heat source (36), and a second heat exchanger (39). The second sub-loop (34) may also include the reservoir (35) and/or the coolant pump (37). [second sub-circuit - fluid components] [...] The various components of the second sub-loop (34) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another [downstream connection]. For example, the second heat exchanger (39) is positioned downstream of the second heat source (36) [downstream connection - example]." ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) [tubing medium] may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37), the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
wherein: the first sub-circuit comprises a first pump configured to pump coolant in the second flow direction from said inlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the tubing of the first sub-circuit, (Col. 5, lines 38-49: "The first sub-loop (32) [first sub-circuit] may also include a reservoir (35) and/or a coolant pump (37). […] The various components of the first sub-loop (32) may be arranged in an upstream or downstream position relative to one another [pump for coolant in direction from inlet to outlet end of tubing].")
a first sensor configured to measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t1 of said first component; (Col. 7, lines 9-11: "A sensor or any other suitable temperature sensing or measuring device may determine the measured temperature of the air in the cabin [sensor to measure temperature]." ; Col. 7, lines 24-29: "…preconditioning mode, as shown in FIG. 2, may further include the air heater (52) [first component] being off and the blower (56) not providing airflow to the cabin until the coolant circulating in the first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) is heated to a predetermined coolant temperature, for example approximately 60° C [measured temperature of coolant].")
and a control unit (Col. 6, lines 38-40: "The control valve (31) may be controlled, for example by an engine control unit (ECU) [control unit], to control the path in which coolant flows")
and wherein the control unit the main circuit pump and to the at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit and is configured to control operation of the main circuit pump and said at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit (Col. 6, lines 38-40: "The control valve (31) may be controlled, for example by an engine control unit (ECU) [control unit], to control the path in which coolant flows" ; Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
a) measuring a parameter reflecting a temperature t1 of a first component (Col. 7, lines 24-29: "…preconditioning mode, as shown in FIG. 2, may further include the air heater (52) [first component] being off and the blower (56) not providing airflow to the cabin until the coolant circulating in the first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) is heated to a predetermined coolant temperature, for example approximately 60° C [measured temperature of coolant].")
main circuit pump (Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).")
main circuit (Col 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30).").
Vespa, et al. does not teach the second sub-circuit comprises a second pump configured to pump coolant in the second flow a direction from said inlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit; a second sensor configured to measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of said second component; which is connected to the first sensor and to the second sensor and which is configured to control operation of the first pump based on input received from the first sensor and to control operation of the second pump based on input received from the second sensor, based on input received from the first sensor and the second sensor, and if any of the conditions a<t1<b or c<t2<d is not achieved by means of control of the output of the first pump or the second pump, and operation of the at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit in addition to controlling the output of the first and second pumps such that a<t1<b and c<t2<d.
In a similar field of endeavor (cooling circuit), Bruemmer teaches: the second sub-circuit comprises a second pump configured to pump coolant in the second flow direction from said inlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the tubing of the second sub-circuit; (Paragraph [0047]: "…second cooling branch (27), a second heat source (12) is disposed, and a second coolant pump (19) [second sub-circuit with second pump]." ; Paragraph [0049]: "…coolant outlet (24), coolant can flow from the second thermostat (17) to the second heat source (12), and along the second coolant pump (19) via a coolant intake (23) back into the first thermostat (17) [second flow direction - inlet to outlet part of connection].")
a second sensor configured to measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of said second component; (Paragraph [0049]: "The second thermostat (17) has a valve body (28), which allows for an opening and closing of the second thermostat (17) […] By an adjustment of the valve body (28), the flow of the coolant can be controlled within the second thermostat [second sensor]. This can be done in particular temperature-dependent [second temperature measurement].")
which is connected to the first sensor and to the second sensor and which is configured to control operation of the first pump based on input received from the first sensor and to control operation of the second pump based on input received from the second sensor, (Paragraph [0067]: "…first thermostat (60) and the second thermostat (62) are each formed by plate thermostats. The coolant enters through a coolant intake (64) into an area that allows for distribution into the two thermostats (60), (62) [first and second sensor]" ; Paragraph [0064]: "…first heat source (11), the heat exchanger (14), the bypass branch (15) and the coolant pump (13) [first pump] are disposed within the first cooling branch (26). In the second cooling branch (27), the second heat source (12) and the second coolant pump (19) [second pump] are arranged.")
is connected to based on input received from the first sensor and the second sensor, (Paragraph [0067]: "…first thermostat (60) and the second thermostat (62) are each formed by plate thermostats. The coolant enters through a coolant intake (64) into an area that allows for distribution into the two thermostats (60), (62) [first and second sensor]")
and if any of the conditions a<t1<b or c<t2<d is not achieved by means of control of the output of the first pump or the second pump, and operation of the at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit in addition to controlling the output of the first and second pumps such that a<t1<b and c<t2<d (Paragraph [0048]: "Via a coolant outlet (22), the mixed coolant can flow back to the first heat source (11) along the coolant pump (13) [first pump - control within proper temperature range]." ; Paragraph [0049]: "Via a coolant outlet (24), coolant can flow from the second thermostat (17) to the second heat source (12), and along the second coolant pump (19) via a coolant intake (23) back into the first thermostat (17) [second pump - control within proper temperature range].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vespa, et al. to include the teaching of Bruemmer based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of optimizing a cooling circuit for multiple heating sources in a vehicle (Bruemmer Paragraph [0014]).
The combination of Vespa, et al. and Bruemmer does not teach such that coolant flows through the first sub-circuit from the inlet end of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the first sub-circuit in a second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit, which is opposite of that of the first flow direction of coolant through the main circuit; such that coolant flows through the at least second sub-circuit from the inlet end of the second sub-circuit to the outlet of the second sub-circuit in the second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit.
In a similar field of endeavor (opposite coolant flow), Vandike, et al. teaches: such that coolant flows through the first sub-circuit from the inlet end of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the first sub-circuit in a second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit, which is opposite of that of the first flow direction of coolant through the main circuit; (Fig. 4, Col. 8, lines 33-40: "In the arrangement of FIG. 4, all fluid flows through the first closed path (138) [first sub-circuit in first flow direction], […] in the same flow direction. Depending upon the size and spacing of the cylinders and the cooling and heating requirements of the thermally regulated load (148), one of the fluid flows can be reversed in flow direction to provide a counter flow regime for improved heat transfer [reversed, or backwards flow].")
such that coolant flows through the at least second sub-circuit from the inlet end of the second sub-circuit to the outlet of the second sub-circuit in the second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit (Fig. 4, Col. 8, lines 33-40: "In the arrangement of FIG. 4, all fluid flows through […] the second closed path (142) [second sub-circuit in second flow direction], […] in the same flow direction. Depending upon the size and spacing of the cylinders and the cooling and heating requirements of the thermally regulated load (148), one of the fluid flows can be reversed in flow direction to provide a counter flow regime for improved heat transfer [reversed, or backwards flow].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al. and Bruemmer to include the teaching of Vandike, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of providing opposite flow of coolant within a sub-circuit of a temperature control system (Vandike, et al. Col. 7, lines 38-43, Col. 8, lines 33-52).
The combination of Vespa, et al, Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. does not teach b) comparing the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t1 of the first component to a preferred operation temperature range a-b of the first component or c) controlling an output of the first pump on basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the first component t1 toward the preferred operation temperature range a-b (a<t1<b).
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle thermal management), Gering, et al. teaches: b) comparing the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t1 of the first component to a preferred operation temperature range a-b of the first component (Col. 5, lines 62-65: “…heater core [first component] […] predetermined temperature range [preferred operation temperature range].")
c) controlling an output of the first pump on basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the first component t1 toward the preferred operation temperature range a-b (a<t1<b) (Col. 8, lines 1-18: "…pump (P2) [first pump] may recirculate fluid in the loop (104) [output] to the heat exchanger (116) in order to remove excess heat from the heat exchanger (116) […] excess heat from the phase change material (214, 218) is transferred to the fluid in the loop (104), valves (V5) and (V3) are appropriately controlled to route the fluid from the heat exchanger 116, with the received excess heat, to the internal combustion engine cabin (118) if the temperature of the internal combustion engine cabin (118) is less than a predetermined temperature range [temperature control toward preferred operation]. ; […] is within a predetermined temperature range [maintaining temperature control within preferred operation], then valve (V3) is controlled to route the fluid from the heat exchanger (116), with the received excess heat, to the internal combustion engine radiator (120) and bypassing the internal combustion engine cabin (118).").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. to include the teaching of Gering, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve a thermal management system in which heat is transferred from an internal combustion engine to an electrochemical storage device (Gering, et al. Col. 2, lines 10-23).
The combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, Vandike, et al., and Gering, et al. do not teach d) measuring a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of the second component, e) comparing the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t2 of the second component to a preferred operation temperature range c-d of the second component, f) controlling an output of the second pump on a basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the second component t2 toward the preferred operation temperature range c-d (c<t1<d), or repeating said a) thru f) steps substantially continuously.
In a similar field of endeavor (temperature control for extending battery life) Kelty, et al. (US 8999492) teaches: d) measuring a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of the second component (Fig. 7, Steps (701-703), Col. 6, lines 50-55: “…signal to the temperature control system (409). […] determines the temperature of ESS (401) [measuring a parameter reflecting temperature] using temperature sensor (415)")
Specifically, Kelty, et al. describes the ESS temperature as the "electronic storage system", or battery temperature.
e) comparing the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t2 of the second component to a preferred operation temperature range c-d of the second component (Fig. 7, Step (705), Col. 6, lines 65-67, Col. 7, lines 1-3: “…compares the monitored ESS temperature [comparing the measuring parameter] with a target temperature (step 705), […] Preferably the target temperature is set in the range of 20° C. to 55° C. [operation temperature range];”)
f) controlling an output of the second pump on a basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the second component t2 toward the preferred operation temperature range c-d (c<t1<d); (Step (805), Col. 8, lines 19-23: “…monitored ESS temperature [temperature of second component] is within the target temperature range, […] pumping the coolant [controlling an output of the second pump] through loop (517), loop (517) preferably coupled to a radiator (601)”)
repeating said a) thru f) steps substantially continuously (Step (711), Col.7, lines 15-17: “…process continues (step 711) [repeating]”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, Vandike, et al., and Gering, et al. to include the teaching of Kelty, et al. (US 8999492) based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve a method for controlling the temperature of the energy storage system in an electric vehicle (Kelty, et al. ‘492 Col. 1, lines 15-18).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vespa, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10315493), Bruemmer (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170044969), and Vandike, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9786963) in view of Gering, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8191618) and further in view of Kelty, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8117587).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. teaches: a) measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t1 of a first component; (Vespa, et al. Col. 7, lines 24-29: "…preconditioning mode, as shown in FIG. 2, may further include the air heater (52) [first component] being off and the blower (56) not providing airflow to the cabin until the coolant circulating in the first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) is heated to a predetermined coolant temperature, for example approximately 60° C [measured temperature of coolant].")
and if any of the conditions a<t1<b or c<t2<d is not achieved by means of control of the output of the first pump or the second pump, controlling operation the output of the first and second pumps such that a<t1<b and c<t2<d (Bruemmer Paragraph [0048]: "Via a coolant outlet (22), the mixed coolant can flow back to the first heat source (11) along the coolant pump (13) [first pump - control within proper temperature range]." ; Bruemmer Paragraph [0049]: "Via a coolant outlet (24), coolant can flow from the second thermostat (17) to the second heat source (12), and along the second coolant pump (19) via a coolant intake (23) back into the first thermostat (17) [second pump - control within proper temperature range].")
main circuit pump and operation of the at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit (Col 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).").
The combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. does not teach b) compare the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t1 of the first component to a preferred operation temperature range a-b of the first component, or c) controlling an output of the first pump on basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the first component t1 toward the preferred operation temperature range a-b (a<t1<b).
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle thermal management), Gering, et al. teaches: b) compare the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t1 of the first component to a preferred operation temperature range a-b of the first component; (Col. 5, lines 62-65: “…heater core [first component] […] predetermined temperature range [preferred operation temperature range].”)
c) controlling an output of the first pump on basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the first component t1 toward the preferred operation temperature range a-b (a<t1<b) (Col. 8, lines 1-18: "…pump (P2) [first pump] may recirculate fluid in the loop (104) [output] to the heat exchanger (116) in order to remove excess heat from the heat exchanger (116) […] excess heat from the phase change material (214, 218) is transferred to the fluid in the loop (104), valves (V5) and (V3) are appropriately controlled to route the fluid from the heat exchanger 116, with the received excess heat, to the internal combustion engine cabin (118) if the temperature of the internal combustion engine cabin (118) is less than a predetermined temperature range [temperature control toward preferred operation]. […] is within a predetermined temperature range [maintaining temperature control within preferred operation], then valve (V3) is controlled to route the fluid from the heat exchanger (116), with the received excess heat, to the internal combustion engine radiator (120) and bypassing the internal combustion engine cabin (118).").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. to include the teaching of Gering, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve a thermal management system in which heat is transferred from an internal combustion engine to an electrochemical storage device (Gering, et al. Col. 2, lines 10-23).
The combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, Vandike, et al., and Gering, et al. do not teach a temperature control system according to claim 1, wherein said control unit is configured to perform the following operations: d) measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of the second component; e) comparing the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t2 of the second component to a preferred operation temperature range c-d of the second component; f) controlling an output of the second pump on a basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the second component t2 toward the preferred operation temperature range c-d (c<t2<d), or repeating said a) thru f) steps substantially continuously.
In a similar field of endeavor (temperature control for extending battery life) Kelty, et al. (US 8117857) teaches: A temperature control system according to claim 1, wherein said control unit is configured to perform the following operations: (Col. 1, line 63 to Col. 2, lines 1-3: “…temperature control system”)
d) measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of the second component; (Col. 3, lines 1-2: “…ESS [second component] temperature,")
e) comparing the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t2 of the second component to a preferred operation temperature range c-d of the second component; (Col. 3, lines 2-3: "c) comparing […] ESS [second component] temperature with a preset temperature range [preferred operation temperature range],")
f) controlling an output of the second pump on a basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the second component t2 toward the preferred operation temperature range c-d (c<t2<d) (Col. 3, lines 3-9: “d) activating a first ESS [second component] cooling system implementation if the current ESS temperature is within the preset temperature range")
repeating said a) thru f) steps substantially continuously (Col. 3, lines 9-10: “g) repeating steps b) through f)").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, Vandike, et al., and Gering, et al. to include the teaching of Kelty, et al. (US 8117857) based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve an apparatus for controlling the temperature of the energy storage system in an electric vehicle (Kelty, et al. ‘857 Col. 1, lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. teaches: a) measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t1 of a first component; (Vespa, et al. Col. 7, lines 24-29: "…preconditioning mode, as shown in FIG. 2, may further include the air heater (52) [first component] being off and the blower (56) not providing airflow to the cabin until the coolant circulating in the first sub-loop (32) of the primary loop (30) is heated to a predetermined coolant temperature, for example approximately 60° C [measured temperature of coolant].")
and if any of the conditions a<t1<b or c<t2<d is not achieved by means of control of the output of the first pump or the second pump, controlling operation the output of the first and second pumps such that a<t1<b and c<t2<d (Bruemmer Paragraph [0048]: "Via a coolant outlet (22), the mixed coolant can flow back to the first heat source (11) along the coolant pump (13) [first pump - control within proper temperature range]." ; Bruemmer Paragraph [0049]: "Via a coolant outlet (24), coolant can flow from the second thermostat (17) to the second heat source (12), and along the second coolant pump (19) via a coolant intake (23) back into the first thermostat (17) [second pump - control within proper temperature range].")
main circuit and operation of the at least one unit for cooling or heating the coolant in the main circuit (Vespa, et al. Col. 5, lines 26-29: "As shown in FIG. 1, the HVAC system (100) includes a primary loop (30) [main circuit] and a secondary loop (40). A coolant, or other suitable low pressure heat exchange medium, may be circulated in or through the primary loop (30)." ; Vespa, et al. Col. 6, lines 22-26: "The common line (29) may extend from the reservoir (35) through the pump (37) [main circuit pump], the first heat source (20), and the second heat source (36) to the control valve (31).").
The combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. do not teach b) compare the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t1 of the first component to a preferred operation temperature range a-b of the first component, or c) controlling an output of the first pump on basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the first component t1 toward the preferred operation temperature range a-b (a<t1<b).
In a similar field of endeavor (vehicle thermal management), Gering, et al. teaches: b) compare the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t1 of the first component to a preferred operation temperature range a-b of the first component; (Col. 5, lines 62-65: “…heater core [first component] […] predetermined temperature range [preferred operation temperature range].”)
c) controlling an output of the first pump on basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the first component t1 toward the preferred operation temperature range a-b (a<t1<b) (Col. 8, lines 1-18: "…pump (P2) [first pump] may recirculate fluid in the loop (104) [output] to the heat exchanger (116) in order to remove excess heat from the heat exchanger (116) […] excess heat from the phase change material (214, 218) is transferred to the fluid in the loop (104), valves (V5) and (V3) are appropriately controlled to route the fluid from the heat exchanger 116, with the received excess heat, to the internal combustion engine cabin (118) if the temperature of the internal combustion engine cabin (118) is less than a predetermined temperature range [temperature control toward preferred operation]. […] is within a predetermined temperature range [maintaining temperature control within preferred operation], then valve (V3) is controlled to route the fluid from the heat exchanger (116), with the received excess heat, to the internal combustion engine radiator (120) and bypassing the internal combustion engine cabin (118).").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. to include the teaching of Gering, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve a thermal management system in which heat is transferred from an internal combustion engine to an electrochemical storage device (Gering, et al. Col. 2, lines 10-23).
The combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, Vandike, et al., and Gering, et al. does not teach a vehicle according to claim 8, wherein said control unit is configured to perform the following operations: d) measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of the second component; e) comparing the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t2 of the second component to a preferred operation temperature range c-d of the second component; f) controlling an output of the second pump on a basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the second component t2 toward the preferred operation temperature range c-d (c<t2<d), or repeating said a) thru f) steps substantially continuously.
In a similar field of endeavor (temperature control for extending battery life) Kelty, et al. (US 8117857) teaches: A vehicle according to claim 8, wherein said control unit is configured to perform the following operations: (Col. 1, lines 57-63: "…thermal management system for an electric vehicle is disclosed")
d) measure a parameter reflecting a temperature t2 of the second component; (Col. 3, lines 1-2: “…ESS [second component] temperature,")
e) comparing the measured parameter reflecting the temperature t2 of the second component to a preferred operation temperature range c-d of the second component; (Col. 3, lines 2-3: "c) comparing […] ESS [second component] temperature with a preset temperature range [preferred operation temperature range],")
f) controlling an output of the second pump on a basis of said comparison so as to control the temperature of the second component t2 toward the preferred operation temperature range c-d (c<t2<d) (Col. 3, lines 3-9: “d) activating a first ESS [second component] cooling system implementation if the current ESS temperature is within the preset temperature range”)
repeating said a) thru f) steps substantially continuously (Col. 3, lines 9-10: “g) repeating steps b) through f)").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, Vandike, et al., and Gering, et al. to include the teaching of Kelty, et al. (US 8117857) based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve an apparatus for controlling the temperature of the energy storage system in an electric vehicle (Kelty, et al. ‘857 Col. 1, lines 7-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant asserted that amended claims 1, 8, and 11 were patentable over Vespa, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10315493) in view of Bruemmer (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170044969) and in further view of Okamoto, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20120012285) because the references did not meet the claim limitations “such that coolant flows through the first sub-circuit from the inlet end of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the first sub-circuit in a second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit; such that coolant flows through the at least second sub-circuit from the inlet end of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the second sub-circuit in the second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit”. Please note that Vandike, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9786963) was cited in order to teach these features. In Vandike, et al., the fluid flow in the vehicle’s heating and cooling system has the features of the ability to flow “…through the first closed path (138)” and “…the second closed path (142) […] in the same flow direction” and enables “…one of the fluid flows can be reversed in flow direction to provide a counter flow regime for improved heat transfer” (Col. 8, lines 33-40). Subsequently, it would have been obvious to combine Vandike, et al. with Vespa, et al. and Bruemmer because Vespa, et al. teaches a vehicle heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system with a main cooling circuit and a main circuit pump (Col. 5, lines 26-29, Col. 6, lines 22-26, and Col. 5, lines 47-52) and Bruemmer teaches a second sensor to measure the temperature of a vehicle component (Paragraphs [0049] and [0067]).
Therefore, it can be concluded that since the combination of Vespa, et al., Bruemmer, and Vandike, et al. reads on the claim limitations “such that coolant flows through the first sub-circuit from the inlet end of the first sub-circuit to the outlet end of the first sub-circuit in a second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit; such that coolant flows through the at least second sub-circuit from the inlet end of the second sub-circuit to the outlet end of the second sub-circuit in the second flow direction that is backwards relative to the first flow direction of coolant flowing through the main circuit”, as stated in amended claims 1, 8, and 11, the arguments presented by the Applicant are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Enomoto, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10183548) describes a thermal management system for a vehicle in which a switching valve is connected to a device in a group of a plurality of devices, such as a heat medium flowing through a first pump and second pump which are in parallel with each other.
Uto, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10570805) teaches a cooling system for a vehicle which has a first and second cooling circuit containing a first and second cooling pump.
Busse, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7451808) teaches an arrangement of components for exchanging heat for motor vehicles for a primary heating system consisting of a pump, a control device, and a heat exchanger.
Okamoto, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20120012285) teaches a dehumidification system which enables the existence of opposite flow directions within a heat exchanger unit.
Lake, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6138466) teaches an electric vehicle cooling system which enables the reverse of refrigerant flow through heat exchangers via a four way switch.
Applicant is considered to have implicit knowledge of the entire disclosure once a reference has been cited. Therefore, any previously cited figures, columns and lines should not be considered to limit the references in any way. The entire reference must be taken as a whole; accordingly, the Examiner contends that the art supports the rejection of the claims and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TORRENCE S MARUNDA II/ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663