Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,13,28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 as amended recites inter alia “…at least one application comprises an identifier corresponding to the use case type of the at least one application…….unicast connection establishment request comprises the identifier of the use case type indicated in the broadcast information…”
The specification is silent with respect to the highlighted portion(s) of the limitation and therefore constitutes as new matter and rejected accordingly.
Claims 13, 28-30 recite similar features and therefore rejected for same reasonings as claim 1.
Further claims 2,4-7,9-11,14-15,17-20,22 are also rejected due to their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4-7,9-11,13-15,17-20,22 and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (US 20210315033 A1) hereinafter as Zhao, in view of Buckley et al (US 20180359612 A1) hereinafter as Buckley further in view of Hu et al (US 20200305176 A1) hereinafter as Hu.
Regarding claim(s) 1,13, 28 and 29, Zhao discloses a method performed by a source user equipment (UE) (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ ..124, terminals 10 serve as source and destination UEs) the method comprising:
broadcasting information for unicast connection establishment (See Fig(s). 5, step S2111, See ¶ 5, 126 UEs communicate in a broadcast manner …, and provides a unicast connection establishment method for a direct link.); wherein the information for unicast connection establishment comprises:
identity information of at least one application (See ¶ 6. Applications such as: vehicle formation, advanced driving, sensor information sharing, and remote control inherently incorporate identity information of the specific application.), the at least one application comprising a use case type of the unicast connection (See Fig(s). 2 step S220, resource configuration information is type of use case type, See ¶ 193-194, 216-217, a use case type can be any use case as established under 3GPP V2X phase 3…one example being resource configuration information);
wherein the identity information of the at least one application comprises an See ¶ 6), and identity information of a destination UE (See ¶ 5: an SA carries target identification information of UE, NOTE: Zhao does not specifically comprise an identifier corresponding to the use case type of application);
unicast connection establishment message comprising radio bearer configuration information, radio parameter configuration, or a combination thereof (See ¶ 69-71, . when determining the transmission configuration information for performing the unicast data communication with the target terminal, …the service configuration information of the first terminal includes at least one of communication capability information of the direct link, the measurement result information of the radio channel environment and the service characteristic information.).
Zhao fails to disclose an identifier corresponding to the use case type of the at least one application; and
receiving, from the destination UE, a unicast connection establishment request in response to broadcasting the information for unicast connection establishment, wherein the unicast connection establishment request comprises the identifier of the use case type indicated in the broadcast information; and
transmitting a unicast connection establishment message to the destination UE in response to the unicast connection establishment
Buckley discloses an identifier corresponding to the use case type of the at least one application (See Fig(s). 3, data store 320, See ¶ abstract, 150,178, the Data Store 320 may have access to a database (not shown) comprising a mapping of device (or user) identifiers to App-IDs.)
App IDs are used to ensure that the receiving device receives the specific data associated with the requested application so as to efficiently download data without other erroneous information. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Buckley within Zhao, so as to efficiently download requested application data without other erroneous information.
Hu discloses receiving, from a destination user equipment, a unicast connection establishment request in response broadcasting the information for unicast connection establishment (See Fig(s). 3, step 302, 306,receiving feedback from second device in unicast mode that establishes unicast connection ….See ¶ 25,211 one-to-one association between the second radio device as a source (or sender) and the first radio device as a target (or destination) can be established based on broadcast information.); establishment, wherein the unicast connection establishment request comprises the identity information of at least one application indicated in the broadcast information (See ¶ 66, 86, 130, 243, the first and/or the second radio device, may be configured to exchange the data with or forward the data from or to the Internet and/or a host computer. Including program code (e.g., for mobile applications or “apps”); and
transmitting a unicast connection establishment message to the destination UE in response to the unicast connection establishment request (again See ¶ 211, unicast addressing for the control feedback and/or a one-to-one association between the second radio device as a source (or sender) and the first radio device as a target (or destination) of the control feedback. Alternatively or in addition, the control feedback may be uniquely associated with the underlying data transmission.).
Establishing unicast communication between devices/UEs based on specific applications allows for reliable data transmissions and error correction quickly.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hu within Zhao, to have reliable data transmissions and error correction between devices quickly.
Further regarding claim(s) 13, Zhao discloses method performed by destination UE (mirrored with respect to the source UE) for receiving information for unicast connection establishment by source UE (See Fig(s). 2 step S220, Fig. 7, steps S710, S720).
Further with regards to claims 28-29, Zhao discloses processor and memory for source and destination UEs (See Fig(s). 13, blocks 1301 and 1303).
Regarding claim(s) 2,14, Zhao discloses receiving, from the destination UE, a unicast connection establishment complete message in response to the unicast connection establishment message (See ¶ 167-168 the first terminal establishes the unicast connection of the direct link with the target terminal. By a process of establishing a unicast connection of the direct link with the target terminal by the first terminal, so that the unicast communication may realize an association between the first terminal and the target terminal and an interaction of some communication basic information between the first terminal and the target terminal, for example, interaction related to terminal capability, resource configuration and radio channel environment. )
and in response to the destination UE applying at least one of the radio bearer configuration information or the radio parameter configuration information to establish radio bearers for the at least one application (See ¶ 18-20, establishing the unicast connection of the direct link with the target terminal according to the acquired information:…. measurement result information of a radio channel environment of the target terminal).
Regarding claim(s) 4, 17, Hu discloses the source UE receives the unicast connection establishment request further in response to the destination UE determining to transmit the unicast connection establishment request based at least in part on the identity corresponding to the at least one application; and the unicast connection establishment request comprises: wherein the unicast connection establishment request comprises at least one of: the source UE receives the unicast connection establishment request further in response to the destination UE determining to transmit the unicast connection establishment request based at least in part on the identity corresponding to the at least one application (See Fig(s). 3, step 302, 306,receiving feedback from second device in unicast mode that establishes unicast connection ….See ¶ 25,211 one-to-one association between the second radio device as a source (or sender) and the first radio device as a target (or destination) can be established based on broadcast information.);
identity information of at least one application indicated in the broadcast information identity information of the source user equipment identity information of the destination user equipment; and position information of the destination user equipment; or combination thereof (See ¶ 30, the unicast communication may identify the respective radio device as the target or destination using its ProSe UE ID of the respective radio device being the target or destination a shorter SA L1 ID). Reasons for combining same as claim 1
Regarding claim(s) 5, 18, Hu discloses wherein the unicast connection establishment message comprises at least one of: identity information of the source user equipment; identity information of the destination user equipment; quality of service configuration information; or combination there of, (See Fig(s). the unicast communication may identify the respective radio device as the target or destination using its ProSe UE ID. A MAC layer of the respective radio device being the target or destination a shorter SA L1 ID). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 6, 15,19 Hu discloses comprising: starting a timer for receiving the unicast connection establishment request; and keeping in a reception mode for receiving at least one unicast connection establishment request in response to the broadcast information before the timer expires (See ¶ 211-212, connection establishment phase incorporates TTI which can be used to determine the amount of time to establish a unicast connection between UEs., See ¶ 195, 197,Timer expiration is determined by value k that may be fixed or variable for timing relationship between transmitter and receiver and that is used before the timer expires.). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 7 and 20, Hu discloses wherein a value of the timer is one of the following: a value determined by the source user equipment; a default value configured by a base station; and a preconfigured value (See ¶ 195, 197 a timing control field with timing relation inherently has a timer value from source user equipment 608 See Fig(s). 6B). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 9, 22, Zhao discloses wherein the identity information of the source user equipment comprises: a ProSe proximity-based services user equipment identity (See ¶ 144-146, See Fig(s). 5, step S2111, identification information of the first terminal (i.e. source), is location based); or
Regarding claim(s) 10, Zhao discloses, wherein the identity information of the destination user equipment comprises a ProSe proximity-based services user equipment identity (See ¶ 157-159.. identification information of the second terminal),
Regarding claim(s) 11, Zhao discloses wherein the reserved resource for receiving at least one unicast connection establishment request is determined by one of the following: being determined by the source user equipment; being configured by a base station; and being preconfigured (See ¶ 231-233.. the first terminal may negotiation with the target terminal for the specific transmission resources which is interpreted as reservation of resources.).
Regarding claim(s) 30, Zhao discloses wherein: the use case type is a Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) use case type selected from vehicle platooning, extended sensors, advanced driving, and remote driving (See ¶ 6, V2X technology (Rel-14/Rel-15 LTE V2X technology), UEs always communicate in a broadcast manner to implement transmission of safety-related services. With the further development of the car networking technology, some new application scenarios appear, such as: vehicle formation, advanced driving, sensor information sharing, and remote control.);
Zhao fails to disclose receiving the unicast connection establishment request is further in response to the destination lE determining an interest in the at least one application based at least in part on the identifier corresponding to the use case.
Buckley discloses an identifier corresponding to the use case type of the at least one application (See Fig(s). 3, data store 320, See ¶ abstract, 150,178, the Data Store 320 may have access to a database (not shown) comprising a mapping of device (or user) identifiers to App-IDs.) App IDs are used to ensure that the receiving device receives the specific data associated with the requested application so as to efficiently download data without other erroneous information. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Buckley within Zhao, so as to efficiently download requested application data without other erroneous information.
Zhao further discloses radio bearer configuration information is for a radio bearer to be established between the source lE and the destination lE and indicates at least one of a Quality of Service (QoS) flow to radio bearer mapping configuration, a radio bearer identity, a Service Data Adaptation Protocol (SDAP) configuration related to the radio bearer, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) configuration related to the radio bearer, a Radio Link Control (RLC) configuration related to the radio bearer, a logical channel prioritization related to the radio bearer, or a radio parameter configuration (See ¶ 69-71, . when determining the transmission configuration information for performing the unicast data communication with the target terminal, …the service configuration information of the first terminal includes at least one of communication capability information of the direct link, the measurement result information of the radio channel environment and the service characteristic information.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2,4-7,9-11,13-5,17-20,22 and 28-30 have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411