DETAIL ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 5, 7 and 8 are Canceled Claims.
Claims 1-4, 6 and 9-17 are rejected under - 35 USC §103 Rejection.
Claims 1-4, 6 and 9-17 are rejected under - 35 USC §101 Rejection.
Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, filed (12/30/2025), with respect to pending claims 1-4, 6 and 9-17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
See below rejection for full detail.
All claims stand and fall together under the following argument(s).
See below rejection for full detail and specifically following argument(s):
Arguments
Regarding 35 USC §103 Rejection:
The Applicant argues (page 5, lines 25-29):
“It is respectfully submitted that none of the cited references teach the subject matter of generating a forecast based on the initial conditions model state. As outlined above, an initial conditions model state is not the same as a set of initial conditions. As discussed above, the state modeling is used to determine how a system responds to inputs rather than the inputs themselves.”.
Examiner respectfully disagree and point to the Zhao, where discloses calibrate the hydrological model parameters/[corresponds to the initial condition data structure(model state), e.g., model parameters directly corresponds to and are constrained by data formatting requirements. The initial conditions model state comprising the input data reception(the tool accepts various data formats).
The claim 1 does not specified the details of initial conditions model state.
For instance: what type of conditions? Or what is information associated with initial condition. Therefore the Examiner assumes that initial condition model state corresponds to the model parameters (with data formatting requirements).
Regarding 35 USC §101 Rejection:
The Applicant argues (page 5, lines 4-11):
Claims 1 to 4, 6 and 9 to 17 are rejected under U.S.C. 101 since the Examiner has suggested that the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Applicant respectfully disagrees. It is respectfully submitted that the inclusion of the subject matter of initial condition model states necessarily roots the innovation in computer technology. The concept of "state modeling" is widely used to design and analyze how systems behave and transition between conditions in response to inputs or events. Retraction of Examiner's rejection of Claims 1 to 4, 6 and 9 to 17 is respectfully requested.”
The examiner respectfully disagree. There is no indication that the combination of elements/units improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology or technical field.
The computer merely uses a as a tool to perform an abstract idea-see MPEP 2106.05(f).
Thus the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, and the claims are non-eligible under 35 USC 101.
The steps of “determining via a processor, a set of forecast initial conditions in the form of an initial conditions model state based on the set of real-world observations and a library of archived model states” directed to an mathematical steps or mental steps(comparison, observation), which is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 1-4, 6 and 9-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as addressed below.
The new 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (Vol. 84 No. 4, Jan 7, 2019 pp 50-57) has been applied and the claims are deemed as being patent ineligible.
The current 35 USC 101 analysis is based on the current guidance (Federal Register vol. 79, No. 241. pp. 74618-74633). The analysis follows several steps. Step 1 determines whether the claim belongs to a valid statutory class. Step 2A prong 1 identifies whether an abstract idea is claimed. Step 2A prong 2 determines whether any abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. If the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application the claim is patent eligible under 35 USC 101. Last, step 2B determines whether the claims contain something significantly more than the abstract idea. In most cases the existence of a practical application predicates the existence of an additional element that is significantly more.
Under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a
statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C.
101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The below claim is considered to be in a statutory category (process).
Under Step 1, Claims 1-4, 6 and 9-17 are statutory.
Under Step 2A Prong 1, the independent claims 1, 14 and 17 all include abstract ideas as highlighted (using a bold font) shown below.
“1. A method of real-time simulation and forecasting in a fully-integrated hydrologic environment comprising:
receiving a set of input field data relating to weather information;
simulating, via a processor, a set of real-world observations based on the set of input field data; and
determining, via the processor, a set of forecast initial conditions in the form of an initial conditions model state, based on the set of real-world observations and a library of archived model states;
generating a three-dimensional (3D) digital forecast model for surface water and groundwater simulation based on the initial conditions model state; and
displaying the 3D digital forecast model to a user.”
“14. A system for generating a real-time simulation and forecast in a fully-integrated hydrologic environment comprising:
an initial conditions assimilator for receiving a set of input field data relating to weather information and a set of archived model states and comparing the set of input field data and the set of archived model states to determine which of the set of archived model states best match the set of input field data, wherein
the determined set of archived model states represents forecast initial conditions; and
a simulation component for generating a three-dimensional (3D) digital forecast model for surface water and groundwater simulation based on the forecast initial conditions, in the form of an initial conditions model state, and a set of weather input data; and
a display component for displaying the 3D digital forecast model to a user.”
“17. A non-transitory computer readable medium containing computer instruction stored therein for causing a computer processor to perform:
receiving a set of input field data;
simulating a set of real-world observations based on the set of input field data; and
determining a set of forecast initial conditions based on the set of real-world observations and a library of archived model states;
generating a three-dimensional (3D) digital forecast model based on the set of forecast initial conditions; and
displaying the 3D digital forecast model, a user.”
The highlighted step above is considered to be equivalent of a mathematical concept and mental steps performed in the human mind (including observation and evaluation).
Under step 2A prong 2,
Claims 1, 14 and 17 do not direct to any practical application, the claim just defining field of use for calculation and do not tie to any particular device or measurements.
The steps of “receiving a set of input field data” a merely data gathering step for the abstract /mathematical limitation and only adds an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.
The step of “an initial conditions assimilator for receiving a set of input field data and a set of archived model states” just insignificant additional steps.
The additional step to the claims 1 and 17: “displaying the digital forecast model a user.” and step of “a display component for displaying the digital forecast model to a user.” Just insignificant additional steps, because just outputting data on the display.
Under step 2B:
The claims 1, 14 and 17 do not comprise any significant elements/steps.
The steps of “receiving a set of input field data” a merely data gathering step for the abstract /mathematical limitation and only adds an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception.
The step of “an initial conditions assimilator for receiving a set of input field data and a set of archived model states” just insignificant additional steps.
The claims 1 and 17 comprises the “processor”, “computer” and “non-transitory computer readable medium containing computer instructions stored therein for causing a computer processor” just a general part of the computer and software running on the computer.
As recited in the MPEP, 2106.07(b), merely adding a generic computer component (processor and memory), or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134S. Ct. 2347, 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs, v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093-
94.
The dependent claims 2-4, 9, 12, 13, and 15 merely extend the details of the abstract idea.
The claims 6, 10, and 16 additionally comprising insignificant extra solution activity.
The claim 11 just additionally describes the type of data.
Therefore claims 2-4, 6, 9-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 10, 12, 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al., (US Pub.20170168195), [hereinafter Zhao] in view of
Martin (Us Pub.20020107720), hereinafter Martin and Messager (WO2018138340A1), hereinafter Messager and Coppola, JR et al., (US Pub.20030078901A1), hereinafter Coppola and Kim (KR20140163480A), [hereinafter Kim].
The limitation of “initial condition model state” is same as “initial conditions”.
is not distinguished between the “initial conditions” and “ initial conditions model state”.
Regarding Claims 1 or 17, Zhao disclose a method of real-time simulation and forecasting in a fully-integrated hydrologic environment or [non-transitory computer readable medium containing computer instructions stored therein for causing a computer processor to perform:] comprising:
receiving a set of input field data (para [0014], where Qt obs is the observed streamflow at time t (t=1, 2, . . . , N), Qt,t−k pre is the forecasted streamflow at time t which is based on inputs of forecast-time k hours earlier than the time t, N is a total number of observations);
determining, [via a processor], a set of forecast initial conditions in the form of an initial conditionals model state based on the set of real-world observations and a library of archived model states (para [0023]-[0025], where utilize the optimized algorithms to calibrate the hydrological model parameters/[initial condition] by a novel objective function, which is sum of the squared errors between the forecasted/[library of archived models states] and observed/[real world observation] streamflow within multiple lead times as follows).
Zhao do not disclose: simulating, via a processor, a set of real-world observations based on the set of input field data;
generating a three-dimensional (3D) digital forecast model for surface water and groundwater simulation based on the initial conditions model state;
displaying the 3D digital forecast model to a user.
Messager discloses simulating, via a processor( Page 7, lines 20-22, where the meteorological device 26 comprises an information processing unit 56 comprising a computer memory 58 and one or more processors 60 associated with the memory 58), a set of real-world observations based on the set of input field data(page 7, lines 6-10, where the simulation module 44 is configured for the digital assimilation of data/[digital forecast model], in particular for the assimilation of meteorological data and conventional oceanographic data, and, optionally (see below description on Page 6, lines 26-29), radiance data and / or radar data. of surface; see also (page 6, lines 26-29 , where meteorological data and conventional oceanographic data are obtained from a network of meteorological stations, meteorological satellites, on-board measuring instruments (aircraft, ships, etc.), received raw and / or after treatment by one or more weather forecasting centers (digital grid weather analyzes and forecasts));
generating a digital forecast model based on the initial conditions model state (page 7, lines 6-10, where the simulation module 44 is configured for the digital assimilation of data/[digital forecast model], in particular for the assimilation of meteorological data and conventional oceanographic data, and, optionally (see below description on Page 6, lines 26-29), radiance data and / or radar data. of surface[ forecast initial condition]. Data assimilation makes it possible to take into account differences between data planned for a given instant and data observed at the same time to update and correct the numerical forecast); see also (page 6, lines 26-29 , where meteorological data and conventional oceanographic data are obtained from a network of meteorological stations, meteorological satellites, on-board measuring instruments (aircraft, ships, etc.), received raw and / or after treatment by one or more weather forecasting centers (digital grid weather analyzes and forecasts)).
displaying the forecast model to the user (Page 7, line 14 and 8, 21-24, where display screen 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide digital forecast model by Messager into Zhao in order to more accurately predict the storm/weather forecasting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to displaying forecast by Messager into Zhao in order to more easily analyzed the storm/weather forecasting.
Coppola discloses model for surface water and groundwater simulation (para [002], where (b) optimizing groundwater/surface water control variables, and/or (c) sensitivity analysis, to identify physical relationships between input and output variables used to model the groundwater/surface water system or to analyze the performance parameters of the neural network; para [007], where the groundwater/surface water model can make other predictions such as hydraulic gradients, groundwater flow velocities (direction and magnitude), fluxes into or out of surface water bodies, and the fate and transport of contaminants).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide model the groundwater/surface water system by Coppola into digital forecasting model of Messager and further into Zhao in order to more easily analyzed the storm/weather forecasting speed and direction and magnitude.
Kim discloses a three-dimensional (3D) model (Claim A, where three-dimensional numerical model construction unit 150 of the floodplain shuttle facility …constructing a 3D numerical model capable of simulating turbid water distribution)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a three-dimensional (3D) digital model by Kim into Zhao in order to allows users to predict and simulate where water might flow in a particular area.
Regarding Claim 9, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1, further Zhao disclose comprising:
comparing the forecast model with the selected model states to determine if there is variability and/or range between the forecast model and the selected model states (para [0023]-[0025], where utilize the optimized algorithms to calibrate the hydrological model parameters/[initial condition] by a novel objective function, which is sum of the squared errors between the forecasted/[library of archived models states] and observed/[real world observation] streamflow within multiple lead times as follows); and
updating the library or archived model states to include the digital forecast model if variability or range is determined (para [0023]-[0025], where utilize the optimized algorithms to calibrate the hydrological model parameters/[initial condition] by a novel objective function, which is sum of the squared errors between the forecasted/[library of archived models states]).
Zhao does not disclose 3D digital forecast model.
Messager discloses digital forecast model (page 7, lines 6-10, where the simulation module 44 is configured for the digital assimilation of data/[digital forecast model], in particular for the assimilation of meteorological data and conventional oceanographic data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide digital forecast model by Messager in combination of Zhao and Coppola, JR and Kim in order to more accurately predict the storm/weather forecasting.
Kim discloses (3D) digital model (Claim A, where three-dimensional numerical model construction unit 150 of the floodplain shuttle facility …constructing a 3D numerical model capable of simulating turbid water distribution)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a (3D) digital model by Kim in combination of Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR in order to allows users to predict and simulate where water might flow in a particular area.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1, further Zhao disclose:
receiving a set of weather forecast data (para [0014], where Qt obs is the observed streamflow at time t (t=1, 2, . . . , N), Qt,t−k pre is the forecasted streamflow at time t which is based on inputs of forecast-time k hours earlier than the time t, N is a total number of observations); and
processing the set of forecast initial conditions and the set of weather forecast data to generate the 3D forecast model (para [0023]-[0025], where utilize the optimized algorithms to calibrate the hydrological model parameters/[initial condition] by a novel objective function, which is sum of the squared errors between the forecasted/[library of archived models states] and observed/[real world observation] streamflow within multiple lead times as follows). The “initial conditions” corresponds to the model parameters.
Zhao does not disclose 3D digital forecast model.
Messager discloses digital forecast model (page 7, lines 6-10, where the simulation module 44 is configured for the digital assimilation of data/[digital forecast model], in particular for the assimilation of meteorological data and conventional oceanographic data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide digital forecast model by Messager in combination of Zhao and Coppola, JR and Kim in order to more accurately predict the storm/weather forecasting.
Kim discloses (3D) digital model (Claim A, where three-dimensional numerical model construction unit 150 of the floodplain shuttle facility …constructing a 3D numerical model capable of simulating turbid water distribution)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a (3D) digital model by Kim in combination of Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR in order to allows users to predict and simulate where water might flow in a particular area.
Regarding Claim 12, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim disclose the method of Claim 10 further, Zhao disclose comprising:
generating a forecast and/or simulation based on the weather forecast data (para [010], where a method for forecasting flood during multiple lead times; para [0035], where the conventional method has a value of 53.8%, 15.4% and 7.7% with the longest forecasting lead time of 6 h for the calibration…in Table 1, the results of the two methods indicate that they are effective to the practical implementation for forecasting 5 h lead time flows).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim disclose the method of Claim 12, but do not disclose comprising:
displaying the forecast and/or simulation.
Messager disclose displaying the forecast and/or simulation (Page 8, line 21-24, during a restitution step 140, the restitution module 48 restores the result of the simulation or of an associated bulletin, by display, printing and / or transmission to a remote system, for example an internet server or a user such as a weather forecasting organization 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to displaying forecast by Messager into Zhao and Coppola, JR and Kim in order to more easily analyzed the storm/weather forecasting.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al., (US Pub.20170168195), [hereinafter Zhao] in view of Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim and further in view of Altschule (US Pub.20170102482), hereinafter Altschule.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1 wherein determining the set of forecast initial conditions, but do not disclose the set of forecast initial conditions comprises:
comparing the set of real-world observations with the archived model states; and selecting the model state or model states that best match with the set of real-world observations as the initial conditional model state.
Altschule disclose the set of forecast initial conditions comprises:
comparing the set of real-world observations with the archived model states (Abstract, where forensic weather analyzer compares actual meteorological readings with data from multiple weather models); and
selecting the model state or model states that best match with the set of real-world observations as the initial conditional model state (para [008], where data is compared and a forensic weather model is selected as the weather model that most closely matches the meteorological readings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to the set of real-world observations with the archived model states as taught by Altschule in combination of Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim in order to more accurately predict the storm/weather forecasting.
Regarding Claim 14, Zhao disclose a system for generating a real-time simulation (para [007], where traditional method addresses hydrological simulation) and forecast in a fully-integrated hydrologic environment comprising:
an initial conditions assimilator for receiving a set of input field data relating to weather information (para [0023]-[0025], where utilize the optimized algorithms to calibrate the hydrological model parameters/[initial condition] by a novel objective function, which is sum of the squared errors between the forecasted/[library of archived models states] and observed/[real world observation] streamflow within multiple lead times as follows) and a set of archived model states (para [0014], where Qt obs is the observed streamflow at time t (t=1, 2, . . . , N), Qt,t−k pre is the forecasted streamflow at time t which is based on inputs of forecast-time k hours earlier than the time t, N is a total number of observations), wherein the determined set of archived model states represents forecast initial conditions (para [006], where uses real-time observed or weather predicted rain fall data) based on the set of input field data (para [0024]-[0026], where input the hydrological variables (i.e. precipitation and evaporation) to the established hydrological models).
Zhao does not disclose:
comparing the set of input field data and the set of archived model states to determine which of the set of archived model states best match the set of input field data;
a simulation component for generating a three-dimensional (3D) digital forecast model for surface water and groundwater simulation based on the forecast initial conditions, in the form of an initial conditions model state, and a set of weather input data;
a display component for displaying the digital forecast model to a user.
Altschule disclose comparing the set of input field data and the set of archived model states (Abstract, where forensic weather analyzer compares actual meteorological readings with data from multiple weather models) to determine which of the set of archived model states best match the set of input field data (para [008], where data is compared and a forensic weather model is selected as the weather model that most closely matches the meteorological readings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to comparing the set of input field data and the set of archived model states as taught by Zhao into Altschule in order to more accurately predict the storm/weather forecasting.
Coppola discloses model for surface water and groundwater simulation (para [002], where (b) optimizing groundwater/surface water control variables, and/or (c) sensitivity analysis, to identify physical relationships between input and output variables used to model the groundwater/surface water system or to analyze the performance parameters of the neural network; para [007], where the groundwater/surface water model can make other predictions such as hydraulic gradients, groundwater flow velocities (direction and magnitude), fluxes into or out of surface water bodies, and the fate and transport of contaminants).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide model the groundwater/surface water system by Coppola into digital forecasting model of Messager and further into Zhao in order to more easily analyzed the storm/weather forecasting speed and direction and magnitude.
Messager disclose a simulation component for generating a digital forecast model based on the forecast initial conditions in the form of an initial conditions model (Page 8, lines 33-34, where initial condition as for establishing a reliable digital prediction by numerical simulation) state and a set of weather input data (page 7, lines 6-10, where the simulation module 44 is configured for the digital assimilation of data/[digital forecast model], in particular for the assimilation of meteorological data and conventional oceanographic data, and, optionally (see below description on Page 6, lines 26-29), radiance data and / or radar data. of surface [forecast initial condition]. Data assimilation makes it possible to take into account differences between data planned for a given instant and data observed at the same time to update and correct the numerical forecast); see also (page 6, lines 26-29 , where meteorological data and conventional oceanographic data are obtained from a network of meteorological stations, meteorological satellites, on-board measuring instruments (aircraft, ships, etc.), received raw and / or after treatment by one or more weather forecasting centers (digital grid weather analyzes and forecasts)).
a display component for displaying the digital forecast model to a user (Page 8, line 21-24, during a restitution step 140, the restitution module 48 restores the result of the simulation or of an associated bulletin, by display, printing and / or transmission to a remote system, for example an internet server or a user such as a weather forecasting organization 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide digital forecast model by Messager into Zhao in order to more accurately predict the storm/weather forecasting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to displaying forecast by Messager into Zhao in order to more easily analyzed the storm/weather forecasting.
Kim discloses a three-dimensional (3D) digital model (Claim A, where three-dimensional numerical model construction unit 150 of the floodplain shuttle facility …constructing a 3D numerical model capable of simulating turbid water distribution)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a (3D) digital model by Kim into Zhao in order to allows users to predict and simulate where water might flow in a particular area.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Messager, Coppola, JR, Kim and Altschule, as applied above and further in view of Ochiai et al.,(Pat. 5796611), hereinafter Ochiai.
Regarding Claim 3, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR, Kim and Altschule disclose the method of Claim 2 wherein selecting the model state or model states, but does not disclose comprises:
performing an optimization approach on between the archived model states against the real- world observations.
Ochiai disclose performing an optimization approach on between the archived model states against the real- world observations (Col. 10, lines 6-14, where learning and forecasting part 203 gives the optimized weights transferred from the database 202 to the FNN model as initial values, and performs re-learning by using the radar image transferred from input section 100 and the past radar image transferred from the database 202).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide optimization approach on between the archived model states against the real-world observations as taught by Ochiai in combination of Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR, Kim and Altschule in order to more accurately determine the storm/weather forecasting model.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR, Kim and Altschule and Ochiai disclose the method of Claim 3.
Additionally, to limitation above Zhao disclose selecting the model state or model states (para [0033], where selected to calibrate and validate the model) further comprises:
evaluating the archived model states against the real-world observations using a user-defined objective function or user-defined loss function (para [0023]-[0025], where utilize the optimized algorithms to calibrate the hydrological model parameters/[initial condition] by a novel objective function, which is sum of the squared errors between the forecasted/[library of archived models states] and observed/[real world observation] streamflow within multiple lead times as follows). The “loss function” corresponds to the sum of the squared errors.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Messager, Coppola, JR, and Kim, as applied above and further in view of Che et al., (CN 108985570), hereinafter Che.
Regarding Claim 6, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim disclose the method of Claim 1 , but do not disclose further comprising:
storing the 3D digital forecast model in the library of archived model states.
Che disclose storing the forecast model in the library of archived model states (Page 2, lines 26-28, where load forecasting method library in real time receives the new short-term load forecasting method and storing load forecasting method library).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide storing the forecast model in the library as taught by Che in combination of Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim in order to more accurately determine the storm/weather forecasting model in different time.
Messager discloses digital forecast model (page 7, lines 6-10, where the simulation module 44 is configured for the digital assimilation of data/[digital forecast model], in particular for the assimilation of meteorological data and conventional oceanographic data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide digital forecast model by Messager in combination of Zhao, Messager and Coppola , JR and Kim in order to more accurately predict the storm/weather forecasting.
Kim discloses (3D) digital model (Claim A, where three-dimensional numerical model construction unit 150 of the floodplain shuttle facility …constructing a 3D numerical model capable of simulating turbid water distribution)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a (3D) digital model by Kim in combination of Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR in order to allows users to predict and simulate where water might flow in a particular area.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Messager, Coppola, JR, Kim and Altschule, as applied to claim 14 and further in view of Che et al., (CN 108985570), hereinafter Che.
Regarding Claim 16, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR, Kim and Altschule disclose the system of Claim 14, but does not disclose further comprising:
a database storing the set of archived model states.
Che disclose a database (Fig.1, S103, Page 5, lines 8-11, where data collecting data image, weather data, 2010 year reiver land use data…auxiliary data)) storing the set of archived model states (Page 2, lines 26-28, where load forecasting method library in real time receives the new short-term load forecasting method and storing load forecasting method library).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide storing the database of archived model as taught by Che in combination of Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim and Altschule in order to more accurately determine the storm/weather forecasting model in different time.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al., (US Pub.20170168195), [hereinafter Zhao] in view of Messager and Coppola, JR, and Kim as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Dong (CN107194160), hereinafter Dong.
Regarding Claim 11, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR, and Kim disclose the method of Claim 10 wherein the set of weather forecast data, but do not disclose set weather forecast data comprises:
a set of precipitation data; and
a set of potential evapotranspiration data.
Dong disclose a set of precipitation data (Page 3 lines 43-44 and 4, lines 1-7, where evaluation index: by precipitation and evapotranspiration data); and
a set of potential evapotranspiration data (see Page 3 lines 43-44 and 4, lines 1-7, where calculating the valley of protentional evapotranspiration data, then combines LAI rainfall show actual evapotranspiration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to separating the set of weather input data into precipitation data and potential evapotranspiration as taught by Dong in combination of Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim in order to quickly and conveniently calculate evapotranspiration and precipitation forecasting.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Messager, Coppola, JR , Kim and Altschule, as applied to the claim 14 above and further in view of Dong.
Regarding Claim 15, Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Kim and Altschule disclose the system of Claim 14, but does not disclose further comprising:
a weather processing component for separating the set of weather input data into precipitation data and potential evapotranspiration.
Dong disclose a weather processing component for separating the set of weather input data into precipitation data and potential evapotranspiration (see Page 3 lines 43-44 and 4, lines 1-7, where evaluation index: by precipitation and evapotranspiration data as basis combines…calculating the valley of protentional evapotranspiration data, then combines LAI rainfall show actual evapotranspiration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to separating the set of weather input data into precipitation data and potential evapotranspiration as taught by Dong in combination of Zhao and Messager and Coppola, JR and Altschule in order to quickly and conveniently calculate evapotranspiration and precipitation forecasting.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Friedlander (US Pub.20080177687).
/KALERIA KNOX/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/MICHAEL J DALBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857