DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims filed on 19 January 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 1, 30, 67, and 95 are amended; and claim 7 is newly canceled. Claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 11, 14, 17, 18, 21, 30, 59, 67, 79, 81, 84, 88, 91, 93, and 95 are pending; claims 67, 79, 81, 84, 88, 91, and 93 are withdrawn; and claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 11, 14, 17, 18, 21, 30, 59, and 95 are examined herein on the merits.
In response to the amendments filed on 19 January 2026, the objections to the claims are withdrawn; the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn; the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are withdrawn; and the rejections over the prior art are changed.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claim 1 recites a compound comprising a dye, a polymer, and a recognition motif that is attached to the dye. The instant specification discloses the following special definition of "recognition motif" (page 13):
A "recognition motif" as used herein refers to a molecular entity that can bind to a binding entity and such binding alters the absorption spectrum of the dye and/or turns on fluorescence for the dye.
The specification further teaches that examples of recognition motifs can include crown ethers, cryptands, pincers, and/or chelating motifs (page 13).
Sufficient written description support for a compound comprising both a dye and a recognition motif attached to the dye is found in the disclosure of at least a recognition motif that is a crown ether or a cryptand.
The specification, including the working examples, disclose compounds that include a dye that is a tetrapyrrole macrocycle. A tetrapyrrole macrocycle includes heteroaryl ring nitrogen atoms that can serve as chelating motifs and bind to a binding entity to alter an absorption spectrum of the dye and/or turn on fluorescence for the dye. However, given that these heteroaryl ring nitrogen atoms are an essential part of the chromophore of the tetrapyrrole macrocycle dye, these heteroaryl ring nitrogen atoms cannot be reasonably interpreted as the recognition motif of claim 1 that is in addition to the dye. Likewise, these heteroaryl ring nitrogen atoms cannot be reasonably interpreted as being "attached to the dye" given that these nitrogen atoms are part of the dye.
Independent claim 1 recites "a polymer backbone that is a random copolymer."
The specification does not provide a special definition of a random copolymer, so "random copolymer" is interpreted according to its customary definition. The definition of "random copolymer" provided by IUPAC (previously cited) is reproduced below, with added annotation:
A copolymer consisting of macromolecules [plural] in which the probability of finding a given monomeric unit at any given site in the chain is independent of the nature of the adjacent units.
Note: In a random copolymer, the sequence distribution [which requires plural sequences] of monomeric units follows Bernoullian statistics.
Accordingly, the conventional meaning of "random copolymer" requires a plurality of macromolecules that are characterized by a sequence distribution (i.e., not all of the plurality of macromolecules have the same sequence of monomers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 14, 17, 18, 21, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le Bohec ("Sol–gel reversible metallo-supramolecular hydrogels based on a thermoresponsive double hydrophilic block copolymer," Polym. Chem., 2016; cited 12/05/2024).
Regarding claims 1 and 59, Le Bohec discloses a composition [Tpy-PDMA-b-P(NIPAM-co-NAMA) copolymer] comprising a compound (Scheme 2, annotated above) comprising:
a dye (circled bipyridine, which is sufficient structure for a stand-alone dye); and
a polymer having a polymer backbone that is a random copolymer (NIPAM-co-NAMA statistical block, Scheme 2, see annotation above; "statistical RAFT copolymerization," page 6837, first full sentence) comprising one or more hydrophobic unit(s) (units of N-isopropylacrylamide, NIPAM) and one or more hydrophilic unit(s) (units of water-soluble monomer, N-acryloyl-2-methylalanine, NAMA), wherein the polymer backbone comprises a first terminal end (first or left-most monomer position of NIPAM-co-NAMA backbone) and a second terminal end (last or right-most position of NIPAM-co-NAMA backbone), wherein the first terminal end and the second terminal end are opposing ends of the polymer backbone (left-most versus right-most position of NIPAM-co-NAMA); and
a recognition motif (one pyridine group of terpyridine) that is bonded to the dye;
wherein the dye is covalently attached to the first terminal end or the second terminal end of the polymer backbone (indirectly through linker comprising PDMA block).
Because one of the pyridine groups is part of the terpyridine moiety that can cause a color change upon chelation to Fe2+ ions (Figs. 4 and 6), a pyridine group meets the specification's special definition of a "recognition motif" as a molecular entity that can bind (via chelation) to a binding entity (Fe2+ ion) and such binding alters the absorption spectrum of the dye.
Regarding claim 14, Le Bohec discloses that Tpy-PDMA-b-P(NIPAM-co-VDM) is water soluble (page 6836, last para.). Because the precursor N-acryloyl-2-methylalanine (NAMA) monomer is more hydrophilic than the product 2-vinyl-4,4-dimethylazlactone (VDM) monomer, Tpy-PDMA-b-P(NIPAM-co-NAMA) is also water soluble. Moreover, Le Bohec teaches that Tpy-PDMA-b-P(NIPAM-co-NAMA) was formed in an aqueous reaction (Scheme 2), and that the conclusion of the reaction afforded an "almost transparent solution when cooled to room temperature" (page 6837, first para.).
Regarding claim 17, Le Bohec discloses that the polymer is attached to a single dye (Scheme 2, annotated above).
Regarding claim 18, Le Bohec discloses that the one or more hydrophobic unit(s) (units of N-isopropylacrylamide, NIPAM) has a structure represented by Formula III, wherein R is hydrogen; R1 is -NH-; R' is a C3 alkyl; R2 is hydrogen; and p is an integer from 1 to 100,000 [p is 192, based upon synthetic product Tpy-PDMA91-b-P(NIPAM192-co-VDM28) formed from Tpy-PDMA-b-P(NIPAM-co-NAMA), Scheme 2; page 6837].
Regarding claim 21, Le Bohec discloses that the one or more hydrophilic unit(s) (units of water-soluble monomer, N-acryloyl-2-methylalanine, NAMA) has a structure represented by Formula IV, wherein R is hydrogen; R1 is -NH-; R3 is a C3alkyl; R4 is a carboxyl group; and p is an integer from 1 to 100,000 [p is 28, based upon synthetic product Tpy-PDMA91-b-P(NIPAM192-co-VDM28) formed from Tpy-PDMA-b-P(NIPAM-co-NAMA), Scheme 2; page 6837].
Claims 1, 4, 59, and 95 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Janssen ("Screening a combinatorial peptide library to develop a human glandular kallikrein 2–activated prodrug as targeted therapy for prostate cancer," Mol Cancer Ther 2004; newly cited).
Regarding claims 1 and 59, Janssen discloses a composition (combinatorial peptide library, pages 1441, 1443-1445 comprising a compound (library having general sequence YVGKAXXX-Dap-F-K'PEGA, page 1444, Fig. 1, annotated above) comprising:
a dye (circled portion of fluorophore 2-amino-benzoic acid, which is sufficient structure for a stand-alone dye); and
a polymer having a polymer backbone that is a random copolymer ("random amino acids in positions P3-P1," page 1444, left. col., full para.) comprising one or more hydrophobic unit(s) (any one of the hydrophobic natural amino acids, such as leucine, where "X is any of 19 amino acids" excluding cysteine, page 1444) and one or more hydrophilic unit(s) (any one of the hydrophillic natural amino acids excluding cysteine, such as aspartic acid, where "X is any of 19 amino acids" excluding cysteine, page 1444), wherein the polymer backbone comprises a first terminal end (first or left-most position of random sequence) and a second terminal end (last or right-most position of random sequence), wherein the first terminal end and the second terminal end are opposing ends of the polymer backbone (left-most versus right-most position of random sequence); and
a recognition motif (amino portion of fluorophore 2-amino-benzoic acid) that is bonded to the dye;
wherein the dye is covalently attached to the first terminal end or the second terminal end of the polymer backbone (indirectly through linker comprising non-random amino acid sequence).
Because the amino portion of fluorophore 2-amino-benzoic acid is capable of binding to a binding entity such as a cation and such binding alters the absorption spectrum of the dye, the amino group satisfies the requirements of the claimed recognition motif.
Regarding claim 4, Janssen discloses that the one or more hydrophobic unit(s) and the one or more hydrophilic unit(s) are present in the polymer in a ratio of about 1:1, because that is the average ratio between any given hydrophobic amino acid, such as leucine, to any given hydrophilic amino acid, such as aspartic acid, in the peptides of the combinatorial library.
Regarding claim 95, Janssen discloses that the compound further comprises a biomolecule (alanine) attached to the first terminal end or the second terminal end of the polymer backbone that is opposite the dye (Fig. 1, annotated above).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morishima ("Characterization of Unimolecular Micelles of Random Copolymers of Sodium 2-(Acrylamido)-2-methylpropanesulfonate and Methacrylamides Bearing Bulky Hydrophobic Substituents," Macromolecules 1995; IDS of 3/29/2021).
Regarding claim 30, Morishima discloses poly(A/CD/Py) (Chart 1, annotated above) and poly(A/CD/2-Np) (Chart 2), each of which is a compound comprising:
a dye (pyrene, Chart 1; 2-naphthalene, Chart 2); and
a polymer having a polymer backbone (see annotation above, where backbone includes monomer(s) having a dye substituent) comprising one or more hydrophobic unit(s) (units of methacrylamides bearing cyclododecyl groups) and one or more hydrophilic unit(s) [units of sodium 2-(acrylamido)-2-methylpropane-sulfonate], wherein the polymer backbone comprises a first terminal end (first or left-most monomer position of backbone) and a second terminal end (last or right-most monomer position of backbone), wherein the first terminal end and the second terminal end are opposing ends of the polymer backbone (left-most versus right-most); and
wherein the dye is covalently attached to the first terminal end or the second terminal end of the polymer backbone (those polymer units randomly having a dye-bearing monomer unit as the first monomer position and/or the last monomer position of the polymer chain); and
wherein the polymer backbone comprises at least one unit having a structure represented by Formula III [cyclododecyl(CD) unit of poly(A/CD/Py) or poly(A/CD/2-Np)], wherein R is C1 alkyl; R1 is -NH-; R' is a C12 cycloalkyl; R2 is hydrogen; and p is an integer from 1 to 100,000 (x=49, Chart 1; x=27, Chart 2).
Morishima discloses that poly(A/CD/Py) and poly(A/CD/2-Np) are random copolymers in which a free-radical terpolymerization is performed in the presence of all three monomer precursors (title; abstract; page 2875, para. bridging columns). This means that the dye-bearing monomer units are randomly positioned on the polymer backbone, including at the first monomer position and/or at the last monomer position of the polymer chain.
Given that 1 mol% 1PyMAm is used to prepare poly(A/CD/Py), approximately 1% of poly(A/CD/Py) molecules have pyrene dye attached to the first terminal end and approximately 1% of poly(A/CD/Py) molecules have pyrene dye attached to the second terminal end (Chart 1). These molecules anticipate the claimed compound.
Given that 3 mol% 2NpMAm is used to prepare poly(A/CD/2-Np), approximately 3% of poly(A/CD/2-Np) molecules have naphthalene dye attached to the first terminal end and approximately 3% of poly(A/CD/2-Np) molecules have naphthalene dye attached to the second terminal end (Chart 2). These molecules anticipate the claimed compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 10, 11, 14, 17, 18, 21, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan ("Amphiphilic block copolymer terminated with pyrene group: from switchable CO2-temperature dual responses to tunable fluorescence," RSC Adv., 2015; cited 07/24/2025) in view of York (WO 2018/044688 A1; IDS of 03/29/2021).
Regarding claims 1 and 59, Yuan discloses a composition [poly(ε-caprolactone)-block-poly(N-isopropylacrylamide-co-N,N-dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate) terminated with a pyrene group, abstract] comprising a compound (Scheme 1, portion copied above; Fig. 5) comprising:
a dye (pyrene); and
a polymer having a polymer backbone that is a random copolymer [poly(N-isopropylacrylamide-co-N,N-dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate)] comprising one or more hydrophobic unit(s) (units of N-isopropylacrylamide, NIPAM) and one or more hydrophilic unit(s) (units of N,N-dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate, DMAEMA), wherein the polymer backbone comprises a first terminal end (first or left-most monomer position of NIPAM-co-DMAEMA backbone) and a second terminal end (last or right-most position of NIPAM-co-DMAEMA backbone), wherein the first terminal end and the second terminal end are opposing ends of the polymer backbone (left-most versus right-most position of NIPAM-co-DMAEMA); and
wherein the dye is covalently attached to the first terminal end or the second terminal end of the polymer backbone [indirectly through linker comprising the poly(ε-caprolactone)-block].
Yuan does not disclose a recognition motif that is bonded to the pyrene dye.
The analogous prior art of York discloses water-soluble fluorescent particles that include an inner hydrophobic region comprising hydrophobic polymer and an external region comprising an amphiphilic polymer ([0005], page 3). York teaches that the hydrophobic segment of the one or more amphiphilic polymer can include alkyl acrylamides ([00011], page 6) and that the hydrophilic segment of the one or more amphiphilic polymer can be acrylates ([00012], page 7), which are features shared by the compound of Yuan. York further teaches the following ([0007], page 3; bolding added):
The hydrophobic internal region of the fluorescent particles provided herein can include one or more first hydrophobic fluorescent polymers. The hydrophobic, fluorescent polymer can include a non-fluorescent, hydrophobic polymer that is linked to one or more organic dyes, wherein the non-fluorescent hydrophobic polymer is optionally the same as the second hydrophobic polymer linked to one or more organic dyes. […] The organic dye can be selected from a boron dipyrromethenes (4,4-difluoro-4-bora-3a,4a-diaza-s- indacene, BODIPY dyes), cyanines, xanthenes, sulfonated pyrenes, rhodamines, coumarins, and derivatives thereof.
The sulfonated pyrene organic dye disclosed by York (see also [00095], page 25) is interpreted as the claimed dye (core pyrene) and the recognition motif that is bonded to the dye (sulfonate group). Because the sulfonate portion of sulfonated pyrene is capable of binding to a binding entity such as a cation and such binding alters the absorption spectrum of the pyrene dye, the sulfonate group satisfies the requirements of the claimed recognition motif.
Compared to unsubstituted pyrene, as disclosed by Yuan, a sulfonated pyrene has greater water solubility.
For the benefit of greater water solubility, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to substitute York's sulfonated pyrene dye for the unsubstituted pyrene dye in the copolymer of Yuan, thereby providing a recognition motif that is bonded to the pyrene dye.
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 6, Yuan discloses that the compound is self-folding in an aqueous solution to provide a particle (page 13147, last para.; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan discloses that the particle has a core and at least a portion of the one or more hydrophilic unit(s) are present at a periphery of the particle (page 13147, last para.; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Yuan discloses that the dye is encapsulated by a portion of the compound when the compound is in a folded structure (page 13147, last para.; Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan discloses that the compound is water soluble (micelles form in aqueous solution, page 13147, last para.; transparent micelle solution: Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 17, Yuan discloses that the polymer is attached to a single dye (Scheme 1).
Regarding claim 18, Yuan discloses that the one or more hydrophobic unit(s) (units of N-isopropylacrylamide, NIPAM) has a structure represented by Formula III, wherein R is hydrogen; R1 is -NH-; R' is a C3 alkyl; and R2 is hydrogen. Yuan discloses that the Mn,NMR of precursor Py-PCL–DDMAT is 5150 g/mol and the Mn,NMR of Py-PCL-b-P(NIPAM-co-DMAEMA) is 16,658 g/mol (page 13147, right col., second and third full para.). The "Mn,NMR" of the subunit P(NIPAM-co-DMAEMA) can be approximated by the difference between these numbers, which is 11,508 g/mol. Yuan further teaches that "The feed ratio of NIPAM to DMAEMA was 96 : 4 (mol% : mol%) (page 13147, right col., third full para.), which approximates the molar ratio of NIPAM to DMAEMA in the subunit P(NIPAM-co-DMAEMA). A submit of P(NIPAM96-co-DMAEMA4) would have a molecular weight of about 11,492 g/mol, which is in close agreement with Yuan's "Mn,NMR" of 11,508 g/mol for the subunit P(NIPAM-co-DMAEMA). Accordingly, Yuan's overall Py-PCL-b-P(NIPAM-co-DMAEMA) contains about 96 units of NIPAM and about 4 units of DMAEMA, providing a value of p for claim 18 that is an integer from 1 to 100,000 (about 96).
Regarding claim 21, Yuan discloses that the one or more hydrophilic unit(s) (units of N,N-dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate, DMAEMA) has a structure represented by Formula IV, wherein R is C1 alkyl; R1 is -O-; R3 is a C2alkyl; and R4 is an amino group. Yuan discloses that the Mn,NMR of precursor Py-PCL–DDMAT is 5150 g/mol and the Mn,NMR of Py-PCL-b-P(NIPAM-co-DMAEMA) is 16,658 g/mol (page 13147, right col., second and third full para.). The "Mn,NMR" of the subunit P(NIPAM-co-DMAEMA) can be approximated by the difference between these numbers, which is 11,508 g/mol. Yuan further teaches that "The feed ratio of NIPAM to DMAEMA was 96 : 4 (mol% : mol%) (page 13147, right col., third full para.), which approximates the molar ratio of NIPAM to DMAEMA in the subunit P(NIPAM-co-DMAEMA). A submit of P(NIPAM96-co-DMAEMA4) would have a molecular weight of about 11,492 g/mol, which is in close agreement with Yuan's "Mn,NMR" of 11,508 g/mol for the subunit P(NIPAM-co-DMAEMA). Accordingly, Yuan's overall Py-PCL-b-P(NIPAM-co-DMAEMA) contains about 96 units of NIPAM and about 4 units of DMAEMA, providing a value of p for claim 18 that is an integer from 1 to 100,000 (about 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 January 2026 have been considered and are not fully persuasive and/or are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
The amendments to the claims have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
The previous rejections under 35 USC 112(a) contained the statement that "the claim requires [direct] covalent attachment of the dye to the polymer or polymer backbone." Upon further consideration, the limitation "wherein the dye is covalently attached to the first terminal end or the second terminal end of the polymer backbone" is broadly interpreted as not requiring direct covalent attachment of the dye to the polymer backbone that is a random copolymer. The disclosed working examples have indirect covalent attachment, via a linker, of the dye to the polymer backbone that is a random copolymer.
Regarding claim 30, the previously relied upon prior art of Li ("Synthesis and characterization of a naphthalimide–dye end-labeled copolymer by reversible addition–fragmentation chain transfer (RAFT) polymerization," Can. J. Chem. 2011) does not teach or suggest a unit having the structure of Formula III, where R' is a C3-C20 cycloalkyl, wherein "the C3-C20 cycloalkyl is devoid of a heteroatom." Regarding claim 1, the naphthalimide moiety of Li is not interpreted as comprising both a dye and "a recognition motif that is attached to the dye."
Independent claims 1 and 30 have been amended to replace the term "terminal functional group" with "terminal end." The previous term had a limiting special definition from the specification ("These terminal functional groups are not pendant functional groups," top of page 30, bolding added) that does not apply to the claimed term "terminal end." According, claim 30 is rejected over Morishima because the pendent group of a terminal residue of Morishima's copolymer can be reasonably interpreted as a "terminal end."
Applicant argues the following (italics added):
Applicant respectfully submits that based on the teachings of the present application and knowledge in the art at the time of the invention, it is clear that "terminal end" refers to one of the two ends of the polymer backbone, which are not a pendant functional group of a hydrophilic unit or hydrophobic unit. […]
Applicant respectfully submits that as described throughout the application as filed and based on the knowledge in the art at the time of the invention, a polymer backbone has two opposing terminal ends, which are not a pendant functional group of a unit of the polymer backbone.
In response, the Examiner disagrees that the broadest reasonable interpretation of a "terminal end" of a polymer backbone excludes a terminal end that is also a pendant group. Applicant has not cited any evidence that the ordinary and customary meaning of "terminal end" excludes a pendant group. The phrase "terminal end" is not a term of art, as would be the case for the "N-terminus" or "C-terminus" of a peptide, which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand to exclude the "side chain" of an amino acid residue, where the terms "N-terminus," "C-terminus," and "side chain" of an amino acid each has a well-understood meaning as a term of art.
The specification provides a special definition of "terminal functional groups" that excludes pendant functional groups. However, as noted in the previous office action, the disclosed "terminal functional groups" are synthetic precursors to the disclosed compound comprising a dye and a biomolecule. If applicant wishes to exclude pendant-group-attachment of the dye of claim 30, the desired compound of claim 30 could be described as being prepared by reaction of a "terminal functional group" with a dye precursor (product-by-process language).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE ADAMS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797