DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Rejections
The previous rejections of claims 11-16 are withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments
New grounds of rejection for claims 11-16 are necessitated by the Applicants amendments.
All other previous rejections are maintained.
Claims 1-16 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Small et al (US 20200078736 A1. Inoue et al (WO 2014119207 A1, SEARCH translation used for citation) cited as an evidentiary reference.
Claim 1: Small discloses a selective ion exchange membrane (see e.g. abstract), comprising:
a polymeric porous substrate (“Polycarbonate membrane”, see e.g. Fig 2; [0005]);
a cross-linked ion-transferring polymeric layer on a surface of the substrate (“polyethyleneimine” or “poly(acrylic acid)” of the LbL, see e.g. Fig 2; [0005]);
a charged functionalizing layer monolayer covalently bound to the cross-linked ion-transferring polymeric layer (a single layer of the other one of “polyethyleneimine” or “poly(acrylic acid)” of the LbL, see e.g. Fig 2; [0005]).
Small discloses that substrate has a pore diameter of 0.05 µm (see e.g. [0023] of Small). According to Inoue, a microporous membrane is a membrane with pore diameter of between 0.01 and 20 µm (see e.g. page 4, paragraph starting with “The average pore”). Therefore, the membrane of Small is considered microporous.
With regard to the preamble, the limitation claiming the membrane is “monovalent selective” is an intended use/function of the membrane. MPEP § 2114 II states "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)’. A review of the instant disclosure points to relative charges of the polymeric layer and the functionalizing layer as giving the membrane this function. Small discloses all of the positively recited structure of claim 1, as well as the structures of dependent claims regarding the charges of the polymeric layer and the functionalizing layer as shown below. Therefore, the limitation is considered to be anticipated by Small.
Claim 4: Small discloses that the monovalent selective ion exchange membrane is a cation exchange membrane (see e.g. abstract) wherein the charged functionalizing layer is a positively charged functionalizing layer (“cationic polyethyleneimine “, see e.g. [0005]).
Claim 5: Small discloses that the positively charged functionalizing layer comprises a quaternary ammonium (see e.g. [0019]).
Claim 6: Small discloses that the monovalent selective ion exchange membrane is an anion exchange membrane (see e.g. claim 24) wherein the charged functionalizing layer is a negatively charged functionalizing layer (“anionic poly(acrylic acid)“, see e.g. [0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Small in view of Van Berchum et al (US 9675940 B2).
Claim 7: Small does not explicitly teach a counter ion permselectivity of at least 100%. Van Berchum teaches it is desirable to have an ion exchange membrane (see e.g. col 1, lines 12-14) with good permselectivity and a low resistance (see e.g. col 1, lines 49-52). These characteristics can be tuned by selecting appropriate polymers and molecular weights (see e.g. col 3, lines 40-47). Good permselectivity is more than 95% (see e.g. col 12, lines 21-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Small to have a permselectivity of greater than 95% as taught in Van Berchum. This range overlaps with the claimed range of at least 100%. MPEP § 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Claim 9: Small does not explicitly teach a resistivity of less than about 5 Ω-cm2. Van Berchum teaches it is desirable to have an ion exchange membrane (see e.g. col 1, lines 12-14) with good permselectivity and a low resistance (see e.g. col 1, lines 49-52). These characteristics can be tuned by selecting appropriate polymers and molecular weights (see e.g. col 3, lines 40-47). Good resistance is than about 3 Ω-cm2 (see e.g. col 12, lines 25-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Small to have the resistance taught in Van Berchum.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Small in view of Cheng et al (“Selective removal of divalent cations by polyelectrolyte multilayer nanofiltration membrane: Role of polyelectrolyte charge, ion size, and ionic strength”, Journal of Membrane Science, Volume 559, April 2018, Pages 98-106).
Claim 8: Small does not explicitly teach an initial selectivity of 8 to 12 fold Na/Ca (ppm) at room temperature. Small teaches that the membrane can be used in purification processes (see e.g. abstract and [0005]). Cheng teaches it is desirable that some purification membranes can selectively allow the passage of monovalent cations like Na and reject divalent cations like Mg and Ca (see e.g. abstract) because these divalent ions can cause scaling (see e.g. page 98). Cheng teaches a good selectivity of Na/Ca to be greater than 10 (see e.g. Fig 3C) and as high as 30 for Mg (see e.g. abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Small to have a selectivity of greater than 10 for Na/Ca as taught in Cheng to minimize issues caused by divalent scaling.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Small in view of Inoue et al (US 2013180072 A1, referred to as Higuchi herein).
Claim 10: Small teaches the substrate can be a polyethylene (see e.g. [0016]). Small does not explicitly teach that the polymeric microporous substrate comprises at least one of high-density polyethylene (HDPE) and ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE). Higuchi teaches an ion exchange membrane (see e.g. abstract) using an ultra high molecule polyethylene polymer (See e.g. page 4, paragraph starting with “Examples of the olefin”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Small to use the ultra high molecule polyethylene polymer taught in Higuchi because Higuchi teaches these polyethylenes are suitable for ion exchange membranes, satisfying the requirements of Small. MPEP § 2144.07 states “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 20180030187 A1) in view of Inoue and Cheng. Masel et al (US 20190226098 A1) cited as an evidentiary reference for claim 1.
Claim 1: Wang discloses a selective ion exchange membrane (ion exchange membrane, see e.g. abstract), comprising:
a polymeric porous substrate (see e.g. #12 on Fig 1B and [0025]);
a cross-linked ion-transferring polymeric layer on a surface of the substrate (see e.g. #14 on Fig 1B and [0025]).
Wang discloses that the substrate is porous but does not explicitly teach that it is microporous. Inoue discloses an ion exchange membrane (see e.g. abstract) that has a microporous substrate (see e.g. abstract and page 4, paragraph starting with “The ion permeable membrane is…”). The microporous structure gives the membrane good ion permeability (see e.g. page 4, paragraph starting with “The ion permeable membrane is…”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Wang so that the substrate is microporous as taught in Inoue because the micropores give the membrane good ion permeability.
Wang does not explicitly teach that the membrane is monovalent selective. Wang teaches that the membrane can be used in purification processes (see e.g. [0059]). Cheng teaches that it is desirable for purification membranes that can selectively allow the passage of monovalent cations like Na and reject divalent cations like Mg and Ca (see e.g. abstract) because these divalent ions can cause scaling (see e.g. page 98). Cheng teaches a mix of Donnan (charge) and size-exclusion effects to achieve this by incorporating both polycations and polyanions (see e.g. abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify Wang by including Donnan (charge) and size-exclusion effects taught in Cheng to give the membrane the ability to be monovalently selective to reduce issues with scaling from divalent ions.
The combination of Wang with Cheng would incorporate a charged functionalizing layer (either the polycation or polyanion) covalently bound to the cross-linked ion-transferring polymeric layer (see e.g. abstract and page 104, “4. Conslusion”). Each layer would be considered a monolayer.
Claim 2: Wang in view of Inoue and Cheng discloses that the membrane has a total thickness of about 30 μm to 100 μm (see e.g. [0021]), which overlaps with the claim range of about 20 µm to about 155 µm. MPEP § 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Claim 3: Wang in view of Inoue and Cheng discloses that the membrane has a total thickness of about 30 μm to 100 μm (see e.g. [0021]), which overlaps with the claim range of about 25 m to about 55 m. MPEP § 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Claim 8: Wang in view of Inoue does not explicitly teach an initial selectivity of 8 to 12 fold Na/Ca (ppm) at room temperature. Wang teaches that the membrane can be used in purification processes (see e.g. [0059]). Cheng teaches it is desirable that some purification membranes can selectively allow the passage of monovalent cations like Na and reject divalent cations like Mg and Ca (see e.g. abstract) because these divalent ions can cause scaling (see e.g. page 98). Cheng teaches a good selectivity of Na/Ca to be greater than 10 (see e.g. Fig 3C) and as high as 30 for Mg (see e.g. abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Wang to have a selectivity of greater than 10 for Na/Ca as taught in Cheng to minimize issues caused by divalent scaling.
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Inoue and Cheng as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Van Berchum.
Claim 7: Wang in view of Inoue and Cheng does not explicitly teach a counter ion permselectivity of at least 100%. Van Berchum teaches it is desirable to have an ion exchange membrane (see e.g. col 1, lines 12-14) with good permselectivity and a low resistance (see e.g. col 1, lines 49-52). These characteristics can be tuned by selecting appropriate polymers and molecular weights (see e.g. col 3, lines 40-47). Good permselectivity is more than 95% (see e.g. col 12, lines 21-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Wang by using the materials taught in Van Berchum to achieve a permselectivity of greater than 95%, which overlaps with the claimed range of at least 100%. MPEP § 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Claim 9: Wang in view of Inoue and Cheng does not explicitly teach a resistivity of less than about 5 Ω-cm2. Van Berchum teaches it is desirable to have an ion exchange membrane (see e.g. col 1, lines 12-14) with good permselectivity and a low resistance (see e.g. col 1, lines 49-52). These characteristics can be tuned by selecting appropriate polymers and molecular weights (see e.g. col 3, lines 40-47). Good resistance is than about 3 Ω-cm2 (see e.g. col 12, lines 25-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Wang by using the materials taught in Van Berchum to achieve a resistance of less than about 3 Ω-cm2.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Inoue and Cheng as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Higuchi.
Claim 10: Wang in view of Inoue and Cheng teaches the substrate can be a polyethylene (see e.g. [0025]). Wang in view of Inoue does not explicitly teach that the polymeric microporous substrate comprises at least one of high-density polyethylene (HDPE) and ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE). Higuchi teaches an ion exchange membrane (see e.g. abstract) using an ultra high molecule polyethylene polymer (See e.g. page 4, paragraph starting with “Examples of the olefin”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Wang to use the ultra high molecule polyethylene polymer taught in Higuchi because Higuchi teaches these polyethylenes are suitable for ion exchange membranes, satisfying the requirements of Wang. MPEP § 2144.07 states “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al (“Layer-by-layer self-assembly of nanofilatration membrane for water and wastewater treatment”, 2015).
Claim 11: Sun discloses a monovalent selective cation exchange membrane support (see e.g. abstract; page 44, paragraph starting with “The chitosan”), comprising:
a polymeric microporous substrate (“PES ultrafiltration membranes”, see e.g. page 4, paragraph starting with “1)”; page 23, paragraph starting with “In the”;
a cross-linked ion-transferring polymeric layer on a surface of the substrate (see e.g. page 20, Figure 2.4, later attached to the surface of the substrate; page 72, paragraph starting with “Several modifications”) and
an intermediate layer (one of the layers of the polyelectrolyte, see e.g. page 20) comprising an amine group (see e.g. page 24, Table 2.2, “chitosan”, “PAH”, “PVAM”, or “PEI”) covalently bound to the cross-linked ion-transferring polymeric layer (see e.g. page 32, paragraph starting with “Crosslinking”),
the intermediate layer having a size that substantially prevents the intermediate layer from penetrating pores of the substrate (see e.g. page 10, paragraph starting with “The molecular weight”).
Claim 12: Sun discloses that the intermediate layer comprises a primary amine group or a secondary amine group (see e.g. page 24, Table 2.2, “chitosan”, “PAH”, “PVAM”, or “PEI”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (“Layer-by-layer self-assembly of nanofilatration membrane for water and wastewater treatment”, 2015).
Claim 13: Sun teaches that the intermediate layer comprises polyethylenimine (PEI) (see e.g. page 24, Table 2.2, “PEI”). KSR rationale E states that it is obvious to choose “from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” and MPEP § 2144.07 states “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) ”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select PEI.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Esconda et al (“Characterization of an ultrafiltration membrane modified by sorption of branched polyethyleneimine”, Desalination and Water Treatment, Volume 1, Issues 1–3, January 2009, Pages 186-193).
Claim 14: Sun teaches that the intermediate layer comprises a branched PEI (see e.g. page 24, Table 2.2, “PEI”). KSR rationale E states that it is obvious to choose “from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” and MPEP § 2144.07 states “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) ”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select branched PEI.
Sun does not explicitly teach that the branched PEI has a molecular weight of at least 600 g/mol. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention would be motived to find suitable types of PEI. Esconda teaches that branched polyethyleneimine with a molecular weight greater than 600 g/mol (see e.g. abstract; page 187, col 1, paragraph starting with “Before”) is a suitable form of PEI for functionalizing ion exchange membranes (see e.g. abstract; page 186, col 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Sun to use the PEI taught in Esconda because the PEI of Esconda is a suitable for these types of membranes and MPEP § 2144.07 states ‘The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)’.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Emerson et al (“Improved Preparation of Macroporous, Chlorosulfonated Poly(styrene-co-divinylbenzene) and Conversion to Sulfonamides and Sulfonylhydrazines”, Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 2005, 44, 7045-7048).
Claim 15: Sun does not explicitly teach that the intermediate layer is covalently bound to the cross-linked ion-transferring polymeric layer by a styrene group. However, Sun teaches that the intermediate layer is covalently bonded to the ion-transferring polymeric layer, which can include sulfates (see e.g. page 24, Table 2.2). Emerson teaches sulfochlorinated poly(styrene-co-divinylbenzene) polymers are useful for cation exchange resins (see e.g. abstract) requiring sulfate functional groups (see e.g. 7047, col 2, paragraph starting with “These sulfochlorinated”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the membrane of Sun to use the sulfochlorinated poly(styrene-co-divinylbenzene) taught in Emerson because the polymer of Emerson is a suitable for these types of membranes and MPEP § 2144.07 states ‘The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)’.
Claim 16: Sun in view of Emerson teaches that the styrene group is chemically bound to chlorosulfonated divinylbenzene (DVB) (see e.g. abstract of Emerson).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/17/2026 have been fully considered but not all are considered persuasive.
On page(s) 7-12, the Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 11 are persuasive. The previous rejections are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 USC 102 over Sun (see above).
On page(s) 7-8, the Applicant argues that the bilayers in the prior art do not read on claim 1 because claim 1 requires “two distinct layers” where the polymeric layer is “crosslinked independently”. According to the Applicant, Small discloses crosslinking “the already-assembled multiplayer structure” and “does not teach cross-linking of a single-independently formed ion-transferring polymeric layer”. This is not considered persuasive. The Applicant is arguing about limitations not claimed in claim 1. Claim 1 only requires that the polymeric layer is crosslinked. The method of how the layer is crosslinked and with what has not been incorporated into the claim.
On page(s) 7-8, the Applicant argues that the Small does not disclose a monolayer because Small teaches bilayers. This is not considered persuasive. The claim uses the transitional phrase “comprising”. According to MPEP § 2111.03 I states “The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004)”. Therefore, the claim can include structures not recited in the claim. As shown in Fig 1 of Cheng, these bilayers are made up of monolayers. Therefore, even though Small discloses multiple monolayers as a part of the bilayers, it still reads on the claim.
On page(s) 8, the Applicant argues that “Small therefore teaches a fundamentally different approach and does not teach or suggest the charged-layer architecture recited in the present claims” because “the present claims recited affirmatively adding a layer of positively charge to cationic exchange membrane and affirmatively adding a layer of negative charge to an anionic exchange membrane”. This is not considered persuasive. Claim 1 only claims a membrane comprising a substrate, an ion transferring polymeric layer, and a charged functionalizing monolayer. If the Applicant believes there are fundamental structural differences between the instant invention and Small, it is recommended to positively recite those structural differences.
On page(s) 8-9, the Applicant argues that Small does not teach a monovalent selective membrane. This is not considered persuasive. As argued in the previous Office Action and this one, “A review of the instant disclosure points to relative charges of the polymeric layer and the functionalizing layer as giving the membrane this function. Small discloses all of the positively recited structure of claim 1, as well as the structures of dependent claims regarding the charges of the polymeric layer and the functionalizing layer as shown below. Therefore, the limitation is considered to be anticipated by Small”.
On page(s) 9, the Applicant argues that “monovalent selective” is not an intended use and is a key characteristic of the membrane. An intended use is only structurally limiting if it imparts structure not already claimed. As argued in the previous Office Action and this one, “A review of the instant disclosure points to relative charges of the polymeric layer and the functionalizing layer as giving the membrane this function. Small discloses all of the positively recited structure of claim 1, as well as the structures of dependent claims regarding the charges of the polymeric layer and the functionalizing layer as shown below. Therefore, the limitation is considered to be anticipated by Small”. The Applicant has not provided an argument explaining what structure is missing from Small that prevents it from being monovalently selective.
On page(s) 11-12, the Applicant argues that the Wang in view of Cheng does not disclose a monolayer because Cheng teaches bilayers. This is not considered persuasive. The claim uses the transitional phrase “comprising”. According to MPEP § 2111.03 I states “The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004)”. Therefore, the claim can include structures not recited in the claim. As shown in Fig 1 of Cheng, these bilayers are made up of monolayers. Therefore, even though Wang in view of Cheng teaches multiple monolayers as a part of the bilayers, it still reads on the claim.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXANDER W KEELING whose telephone number is (571)272-9961. The examiner can normally be reached 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Luan Van can be reached at 571-272-8521. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER W KEELING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795