Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/25/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2011025867 to Lin in view of US 5389449 to Afeyan.
Claims 1-4, 6-8:
Lin teaches a method for manufacturing an ion exchange membrane that forms a cross-linked ion-transferring polymeric layer on a surface of a polymeric microporous substrate. The process includes the polymeric microporous substrate (pg. 9) coated with a solution of charged monomer (i.e., iongenic monomer), multifunctional monomer, and polymerization initiator and polymerized/crosslinked by heat or UV (pg. 13).
Lin does not teach adsorbing a further chlorosulfonated methacrylate group to this cross-lined ion-transferring polymeric layer or the subsequent aminating and functionalization.
However, Afeyan teaches the surface modification of ion exchange membranes (abstract). The process applies a halosulfonating agent onto the substrate (4:61-65), such as a chlorosulfonating agent (4:66-68), aminating the chlorosulfonated surface by applying PEI (5:50-63), and functionalizing the amine groups in the PEI (i.e., quaternized; positively charged) (6:10-13).
Afeyan does not teach the chlorosulfonating agent includes a methacrylate group, although is open to any agent that can react with various substrate to produce chlorosulfone groups on the substrate surface (5:42-48).
Turning back to Lin, the main monomer used by Lin is 2-SEM. By comparison, the claimed chlorosulfonated methacrylate compound is 2-methacryloyloxy ethylsulfonyl.
These compositions are the same except for the substitution of and -OH group for a -Cl group.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Lin followed by the method of Afeyan to produce a functionalized ion exchange membrane. It further would have been obvious to use the chlorinated 2-SEM as the chlorosulfonating agent in order to maintain compositional consistency across the membrane structure, better incorporate it into the cross-linked ion-transferring polymeric layer, and avoids the problem of forming undesirable sulfonic acid groups (5:11-32).
Claim 5:
Afeyan teaches PEI with a MW from 600-1000000 Da (5:59).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/19/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As Applicant points out, Afeyan teaches both an amine that is quaternized or derivatized. In both of these cases, an R group is added to the amine. Adding an R group to the amine is functionalizing it. This is also functionalizing with a charged compound layer in an analogous manner as aminating to form an amine group layer. That is, it is internally consistent with the way that “layer” is being used in the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759