DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeng CN206250284U (using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 11, Zeng discloses an electrode assembly (Zeng, battery cell), comprising
a cathode plate (Zeng, Fig. 8, 20), the cathode plate comprising: a first winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, 20, left-hand side) and a second winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, 20, right-hand side) along a length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, 20, left-to-right length direction),
a cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, 21),
a first cathode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, 23) being arranged on a surface of the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, [0052]), the first cathode active layer comprising a first end portion located at the first winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, 23 on 20, left-hand side), and the first end portion having a first cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, first cutout) provided at a margin area along the length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, margin area, length direction),
wherein the cathode plate further comprises a plurality of tabs (Zeng, Fig. 8, 22) arranged at an edge of the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 21), such that, in a first direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, first direction), an edge of the first cathode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 23), the edge of the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 21), and the plurality of tabs (Zeng, Fig. 8, 22) are arranged in sequence (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 21, edge of 23, 22), and the plurality of tabs protrude from the edge of the cathode current collector in the first direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 23, 22, first direction),
wherein in the first direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, first direction), the first cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, first cutout) and the plurality of tabs (Zeng, Fig. 8, 22) are located at a same side of the cathode plate (Zeng, Fig. 8, top side of 20),
wherein the first cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, first cutout) defines a portion of an outermost peripheral edge of the first cathode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, portion of an outermost peripheral edge of 23) at the first winding (Zeng, Fig. 8, first winding end) end that is recessed inward along the length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, recessed portion of an outermost peripheral edge of 23, length direction),
an anode plate (Zeng, Fig. 3, 10), the anode plate comprises
an anode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 3, 11) and
an anode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 3, 13) arranged at a surface of the anode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 3, [0046]), and
an end portion of the anode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 3, end portion of 13) comprises an indentation (Zeng, Fig. 3, indentation) at a margin area (Zeng, Fig. 3, margin area), and
the first cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, first cutout) corresponds to the indentation (Zeng, Fig. 3, indentation) at the margin area (Zeng, Fig. 3, margin area) of the end portion of the anode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 3, end portion of 13), the first cutout and indentation correspond to similar locations in Figs. 3 and 8, satisfying the limitation,
wherein, the electrode assembly is formed by winding the anode plate and the cathode plate (Zeng, Fig. 5, 1, 10, 20),
wherein the edge of the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 21), where the tabs are arranged (Zeng, Fig. 8, 22), extends beyond the edge of the first cathode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 23) in the first direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, first direction) to form an extension portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, extension portion), and
wherein an insulating layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, 30) is provided on the extension portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, extension portion).
Regarding claim 12, Zeng also discloses wherein the first cathode active layer further comprises a second end portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, second end portion) located at the second winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, second winding end), and the second end portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, second end portion) has a second cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, second cutout) provided at a margin area (Zeng, Fig. 8, margin area) along the length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, length direction), wherein the second cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, second cutout) defines a portion of an outermost peripheral edge of the first cathode active layer at the second winding end that is recessed inward (Zeng, Fig. 8, recessed portion of an outermost peripheral edge of 23) along the length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, length direction).
Regarding claim 22, Zend additionally discloses wherein the first cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, first cutout) is spaced apart from the plurality of tabs (Zeng, Fig. 8, 22) along the length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, length direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng CN206250284U (using machine English translation provided) in view of Wang CN102683742A (using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 13, Zeng additionally discloses wherein the cathode plate (Zeng, Fig. 8, 20) further comprises a second cathode side (Zeng, Fig. 8, second side of cathode opposite the facing side), the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, 21) is arranged between the first cathode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, 23) and the second cathode side (Zeng, Fig. 8, second side of cathode opposite the facing side), and the second cathode side (Zeng, Fig. 8, second side of cathode opposite the facing side) comprises a third end portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, third end portion) located at the first winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, first winding end) and a fourth end portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, fourth end portion) located at the second winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, second winding end), wherein the third end portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, third end portion) has a third cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, third cutout) provided at a margin area (Zeng, Fig. 8, margin area) along the length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, length direction), wherein the third cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, third cutout) defines a portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, recessed portion of an outermost peripheral edge of second cathode side) of an outermost peripheral edge of the second cathode side at the first winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, first winding end) that is recessed inward (Zeng, Fig. 8, recessed portion of an outermost peripheral edge of second cathode side) along the length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, length direction), and the fourth end portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, fourth end portion) has a fourth cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, fourth cutout) provided at a margin area (Zeng, Fig. 8, margin area) along the length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, length direction), wherein the fourth cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, fourth cutout) defines a portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, recessed portion of an outermost peripheral edge of second cathode side) of an outermost peripheral edge of the second cathodeside at the second winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, second winding end) that is recessed inward (Zeng, Fig. 8, recessed portion of an outermost peripheral edge of second cathode side) along the length direction
(Zeng, Fig. 8, length direction).
Zeng does not disclose wherein the cathode plate further comprises a second cathode active layer.
Wang teaches wherein the cathode plate further comprises a second cathode active layer (Wang, [0053]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Zeng by adding a second cathode active layer, as taught by Wang, thereby having lower internal resistance and better high-rate charge and discharge capability (Wang, [0009]).
Regarding claim 21, Zeng discloses an electrode assembly (Zeng, battery cell), comprising
a cathode plate (Zeng, Fig. 8, 20), the cathode plate comprising: a first winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, 20, left-hand side) and a second winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, 20, right-hand side) along a length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, 20, left-to-right length direction),
a cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, 21),
a first cathode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, 23) being arranged on a surface of the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, [0052]), the first cathode active layer comprising a first end portion located at the first winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, 23 on 20, left-hand side), and the first end portion having a first cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, first cutout) provided at a margin area along the length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, margin area, length direction),
wherein the cathode plate further comprises a plurality of tabs (Zeng, Fig. 8, 22) arranged at an edge of the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 21), such that, in a first direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, first direction), an edge of the first cathode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 23), the edge of the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 21), and the plurality of tabs (Zeng, Fig. 8, 22) are arranged in sequence (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 21, edge of 23, 22), and the plurality of tabs protrude from the edge of the cathode current collector in the first direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 23, 22, first direction),
wherein in the first direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, first direction), the first cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, first cutout) and the plurality of tabs (Zeng, Fig. 8, 22) are located at a same side of the cathode plate (Zeng, Fig. 8, top side of 20),
wherein the first cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, first cutout) defines a portion of an outermost peripheral edge of the first cathode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, portion of an outermost peripheral edge of 23) at the first winding (Zeng, Fig. 8, first winding end) end that is recessed inward along the length direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, recessed portion of an outermost peripheral edge of 23, length direction),
an anode plate (Zeng, Fig. 3, 10), the anode plate comprises
an anode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 3, 11) and
an anode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 3, 13) arranged at a surface of the anode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 3, [0046]), and
an end portion of the anode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 3, end portion of 13) comprises an indentation (Zeng, Fig. 3, indentation) at a margin area (Zeng, Fig. 3, margin area), and
the first cutout (Zeng, Fig. 8, first cutout) corresponds to the indentation (Zeng, Fig. 3, indentation) at the margin area (Zeng, Fig. 3, margin area) of the end portion of the anode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 3, end portion of 13), the first cutout and indentation correspond to similar locations in Figs. 3 and 8, satisfying the limitation,
wherein the first cutout comprises a triangle shape
wherein, the electrode assembly is formed by winding the anode plate and the cathode plate (Zeng, Fig. 5, 1, 10, 20),
wherein the edge of the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 21), where the tabs are arranged (Zeng, Fig. 8, 22), extends beyond the edge of the first cathode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, edge of 23) in the first direction (Zeng, Fig. 8, first direction) to form an extension portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, extension portion), and
wherein an insulating layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, 30) is provided on the extension portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, extension portion).
wherein the cathode plate (Zeng, Fig. 8, 20) further comprises a second cathode side (Zeng, Fig. 8, second side of cathode opposite the facing side), the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 8, 21) is arranged between the first cathode active layer (Zeng, Fig. 8, 23) and the second cathode side (Zeng, Fig. 8, second side of cathode opposite the facing side), wherein the second cathode side (Zeng, Fig. 8, second side of cathode opposite the facing side) comprises a third end portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, third end portion) located at the first winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, first winding end)
wherein the first end portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, first end portion) and the third end portion (Zeng, Fig. 8, third end portion) are both flush with the first winding end (Zeng, Fig. 8, first winding end), such that end faces of the first end portion, the third end portion, and the first winding end are aligned in a plane (Zeng, Fig. 8, first end portion, third end portion, first winding end, plane).
Zeng does not disclose wherein the cathode plate further comprises a second cathode active layer.
Wang teaches wherein the cathode plate further comprises a second cathode active layer (Wang, [0053]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Zeng by adding a second cathode active layer, as taught by Wang, thereby having lower internal resistance and better high-rate charge and discharge capability (Wang, [0009]).
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng CN206250284U (using machine English translation provided) in view of Wang CN102683742A (using machine English translation provided) and further in view of Park US20030099880A1.
Regarding claim 14, Zeng as modified by Wang does not teach wherein one end of the cathode current collector extends beyond the first end portion and the third end portion to form a first blank area at the first winding end.
Park teaches wherein one end (Park, Fig. 5, left-hand side) of the cathode current collector (Park, Fig. 5, 51a) extends beyond the first end portion (Park, Fig. 5, left-hand side of 51b) and the third end portion (Park, Fig. 5, left-hand side of 51c) to form a first blank area (Park, Fig. 5, 51a, left-hand side uncoated area) at the first winding end (Park, Fig. 5, left-hand side of 51). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Zeng as modified by Wang with a first blank area, as taught by Park, thereby preventing short circuits (Park, [0047]).
Regarding claim 15, Zeng as modified by Wang and Park does not teach wherein the first end portion is misaligned with the third end portion to form a first single-sided area on the cathode current collector.
In another embodiment Park teaches wherein the blank area can be formed in different locations of the cathode current collector (Park, [0045]) and wherein an end portion (Park, Fig. 5, right-hand side of 51b) is misaligned with another end portion (Park, Fig. 5, right-hand side of 51c) to form a first single-sided area (Park, Fig. 5, 51d) on the cathode current collector (Park, Fig. 5, 51a). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisane before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device taught by Zeng as modified by Wang and Park, wherein the first end portion is misaligned with the third end portion, as taught by Park, thereby preventing short circuits (Park, [0047]).
Regarding claim 16, Zeng as modified by Wang and Park further teaches wherein the first end portion (Park, Fig. 5, left-hand side of 51b) is flush with the third end portion (Park, Fig. 5, left-hand side of 51c) to form a first double-sided area on the cathode current collector (Park, Fig. 5, left-hand side, 51a, 51b, 51c).
Regarding claim 17, Zeng as modified by Wang and Park does not teach wherein another end of the cathode current collector extends beyond the second end portion and the fourth end portion to form a second blank area at the second winding end.
Park teaches wherein another end of the cathode current collector (Park, Fig. 5, right-hand side 51a) extends beyond the second end portion (Park, Fig. 5, right-hand side of 51b) and the fourth end portion (Park, Fig. 5, right-hand side of 51c) to form a second blank area (Park, Fig. 5, uncoated area on right hand side 51a) at the second winding end (Park, Fig. 5, right-hand side 51). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the device taught by Zeng as modified by Wang and Park, wherein the cathode current collector extends beyond the second and fourth end portions, as taught by Park, thereby preventing short circuits (Park, [0047]).
Regarding claim 18, Zeng as modified by Wang and Park also teaches wherein the second end portion (Zeng, Fig. 5, right-hand side 51b) is misaligned with the fourth end portion (Zeng, Fig. 5, right-hand side 51c) to form a second single-sided area (Zeng, Fig. 5, 51d) on the cathode current collector (Zeng, Fig. 5, right-hand side 51a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 9-10, filed 24 June 2026, with respect to the objection to the drawings and 112 rejection of claim 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the drawings and 112 rejection of claim 17 has been withdrawn as it has been overcome by applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Guo applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723