DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 13, in limitation (d) delete “and/or” after “starch;” since limitation (c) already recites “at least one of (d) and (e).”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 11, 13-14, 21-23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “wherein the milk substitute does not comprise an additional emulsifier other than the emulsifying protein and the emulsifying starch” renders the claim indefinite. The limitation “an additional emulsifier” is not defined by the specification, and therefore so broad that the scope of the claim cannot be determined. While the art recognizes substances explicitly used for emulsification properties, one of ordinary skill would understand that considerable overlap exists with substances used for other properties (e.g., flavor, texture, etc.) that also happen to provide emulsification properties, even if minor. Thus, one of ordinary skill would not be able to envision every potential embodiment of the substances excluded by “an additional emulsifier” as claimed. Examiner notes the specification does provide examples of the excluded “additional emulsifier,” such as fatty acid mono and/or diglycerides (page 24 lines 10-12). The rejection may be overcome by amending “an additional emulsifier” to instead recite a definite group of substances such as those above to properly establish the boundary of the claim.
Regarding claim 21, the dependency is unclear since claim 12 is canceled.
Claims 11, 13-14, 22-23 and 25-27 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 21 depends from canceled claim 12.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 14 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buddemeyer et al. (US 4,242,364) in view of Bohlscheid et al. (US 2018/0289036 A1), Johansson et al. (US 2018/0042265 A1) and Schmitt et al. (US 2016/0050950 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Buddemeyer et al. teaches a non-dairy milk substitute (column 1 line 8; column 2 lines 35-37) comprising 11.67 wt% corn oil and multiple emulsifiers, such as stearyl-2-lactylic acid, mono-diglycerides of fatty acids, triglycerol monostearate, etc., totaling to more than 0.5 wt% (columns 9-10 example 1 table 1).
Buddemeyer et al. does not teach potato protein comprising an emulsifying potato protein comprising native potato protease inhibitor, and the milk substitute does not comprise an additional emulsifier other than the emulsifying protein and [optional] emulsifying starch.
Bohlscheid et al. teaches a native potato protein used in beverages (abstract; paragraphs 8-9), including plant-based non-dairy beverages (paragraph 76), where the native protein includes protease inhibitors (paragraphs 41 and 70). The proteins are functionalized to have desired functional properties of the native potato proteins e.g., emulsifying (paragraph 36). The product is also useful for use in beverage as heat stability, binding, and viscosity agents (paragraph 76). The reference further teaches protein is desirable for maintaining health, building muscle, and losing fat (paragraphs 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the product of Buddemeyer et al. to replace the disclosed emulsifiers such that the composition comprises native potato protease inhibitor as the only emulsifying protein since the reference only recites preferred embodiments of the emulsifier but does not exclude other emulsifiers (column 3 lines 20-21), since the reference teaches protein from other sources such as plants can be added and does not particularly limit the composition of the protein sources (column 7 lines 3-5), since the reference teaches emulsifiers and the prior art recognizes native potato protease inhibitors as emulsifying agents, and therefore as a substitution of art recognized equivalents to yield predictable results of emulsification in a non-dairy beverage, to provide the desired emulsification while further increasing protein content, and to provide heat stability, binding, and viscosity effects.
Buddemeyer et al. does not teach at least 40 wt% of the potato protein is coagulated.
Johansson et al. teaches a food grade coagulated potato protein (abstract) for use as a nutritional additive or ingredient in dairy products and beverages (paragraph 48), where the potato protein “has a satisfactory mouth feel and taste” (paragraph 15). The reference further discloses that use of coagulated potato protein as a food additive is well-known in the art (paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the product of Buddemeyer et al. such that the composition comprises coagulated potato protein in an amount of at least 40 wt% of the protein since the reference teaches adding protein from other sources, including plant proteins, and does not particularly limit the composition of the protein sources, to use a known protein additive, since there is no evidence of record indicating criticality or unexpected results associated with the claimed amount of coagulated potato protein, to provide additional protein to the composition without negatively impacting the characteristics thereof, and since the claimed values would have been used during the course of routine experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as desired amino acid/peptide profile, nutritional profile, flavor, texture/mouthfeel, rheological properties, and stability.
Regarding the amount of potato protein being greater than 0.5 wt%, the combination above teaches native potato protease inhibitors for emulsifying and coagulated potato proteins for texture/mouthfeel. Buddemeyer et al. further teaches an overall emulsifier amount of 0.75-3 wt%, and suggests optimization of amount based on the type of emulsifier used (column 4 lines 32-38).
It would have been further obvious to use the claimed amount of potato protein for the same reasons stated above, particularly as routine optimization for texture/mouthfeel and desired rheological properties.
Buddemeyer et al. does not teach the protein in the milk substitute consists of only the emulsifying and coagulated potato protein.
Bohlscheid et al. teaches the importance of protein in a “complete and healthy diet” (paragraph 3), where many people choose plant-based protein as opposed to dairy-based powders due to lactose intolerance or sensitivity to dairy proteins (paragraph 4).
Schmitt et al. teaches a creamer composition comprising plant protein microparticles as whitening agents (paragraphs 11 and 24), where potato protein microparticles can be used alone in an amount of 2-4 wt% (paragraphs 30 and 50; table 1). The creamer includes another protein in addition to the microparticle protein, where the additional protein can be from potato and work as an emulsifier to provide texture and/or whitening effect (paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the product of Buddemeyer et al. such that protein consists of only the emulsifying and coagulated potato protein since the prior art recognizes potato proteins in various forms can be used to provide both whitening, emulsification, and texture effects to a milk substitute, and therefore to substitute the emulsifiers of Buddemeyer et al. to yield predictable results in obtaining characteristics similar to milk, thereby obtaining a milk substitute having desired proteins and suitability for individuals with dietary restrictions.
Regarding claim 14 and 25-27, Buddemeyer et al. teaches the product can also include organic acids, phosphate salts and minerals such as sodium chloride (column 7 lines 20-27; column 10 line 9).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buddemeyer et al. in view of Bohlscheid et al., Johansson et al., and Schmitt et al. as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Woo et al. (US 2006/0286251 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Buddemeyer et al. teaches the composition can include stabilizers to “modify body and mouth feel”, the stabilizer including modified starches (column 7 lines 27-28 and 34-35).
Buddemeyer et al. does not specify the type of viscosifying modified starch.
Woo et al. teaches starch-lipid composites useful as, inter alia, thickening (viscosifying) agents (paragraph 9), where the starch can be hydroxypropylated crosslinked starch sourced from e.g., potato (paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the product of Buddemeyer et al. to use hydroxypropylated crosslinked starch as a viscosifying starch since the reference does not specify a particular modified starch, since the prior art recognizes the starch to be suitable for the same purpose, and therefore to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of adjusting texture, mouthfeel, consistency, etc.
Claims 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buddemeyer et al. in view of Bohlscheid et al., Johansson et al., and Schmitt et al. as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Buysse et al. (US 2010/0221386 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination applied to claim 9 teaches plant-based lipid, emulsifying potato protein and coagulated potato protein, where the protein in the product consists of only the emulsifying and coagulated potato proteins.
Regarding the claimed amounts, modification of Buddemeyer et al. to have the claimed amounts of the respective components would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the same reasons stated for claim 9.
The combination applied to claim 9 does not teach at least 0.5 wt% potato derived viscosifying starch and/or at least 0.3 wt% of a potato derived emulsifying starch, and the starch derived from only potato. The limitation “and/or” is interpreted to recite alternatives, and for the sake of examination, the “emulsifying starch” alternative is chosen. The limitation “emulsifying starch” is interpreted in view of the specification to be a starch capable of dissolving fat droplets in water, including starch octenyl succinate (page 5 lines 24-30).
Buddemeyer et al. teaches stabilizers including a modified starch as stated for claim 11, but does not teach the starch is an “emulsifying” starch having OSA modification.
Buysse et al. teaches a composition for use as a milk replacer comprising starch octenyl succinate as an emulsifying starch (abstract) where the composition can include 20-40 wt% OSA modified starch (paragraph 15). Starch sources include modified tuber starch (paragraph 21), where tuber is well known in the art to include potatoes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Buddemeyer et al. to include at least 0.5 wt% potato derived emulsifying starch since the prior art recognizes use thereof in milk-like beverages, and therefore to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and/or as a substitution of art recognized equivalents suitable for the purpose of providing emulsion properties to a milk-like beverage, where the amount would have been used during the course of routine experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as obtaining desired texture, mouthfeel, and other rheological characteristics similar to milk.
It would have been further obvious to use only potato as the source of the starch in the product for the same reasons stated for using only potato protein in claim 9, where there is no evidence of unexpected results associated with the claimed feature, and therefore to provide consumers with a product based on dietary restrictions.
Regarding claim 21, the combination applied to claim 13 teaches starch octenyl succinate and using potato derived emulsifying starch. The same combination is applied to claim 21 and would have been obvious for the same reasons.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buddemeyer et al. in view of Bohlscheid et al., Johansson et al., and Schmitt et al. as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Woo et al. and Buysse et al.
Regarding claims 22-23, the combination applied to claim 9 teaches plant-based lipid, emulsifying potato protein and coagulated potato protein, where the protein in the product consists of only the emulsifying and coagulated potato proteins.
Regarding the claimed amounts, modification of Buddemeyer et al. to have the claimed amounts of the respective components would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the same reasons stated for claim 9.
The combination applied to claim 9 does not teach potato derived emulsifying and viscosifying starches, and the starch in the product is derived only from potato.
The combinations applied to claims 11 and 13 teach emulsifying and viscosifying starches derived from only potato. The same combinations are applied to claims 22-23 and would have been obvious for the same reasons.
Regarding the claimed amounts of the respective starches, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Buddemeyer et al. to include the claimed amounts of starches since the prior art recognizes the starches as result effective variables for texture, mouthfeel, and rheological properties in milk substitutes, since there is no evidence of criticality or unexpected results associated with the feature, where the amounts would have been used during the course of routine experimentation and optimization procedures due to factors such as obtaining desired texture, mouthfeel, and other rheological characteristics similar to milk, as well as water dilution factor when reconstituting a powder.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Buddemeyer teaches away from using protein to attain a product that is hypoallergenic and stable in both hot and cold aqueous emulsions.
This is not persuasive since the absence of protein is a “preferred form,” which is not considered a teaching away from modification, see MPEP 2123 II.
Applicant argues Examiner ignores the protein disclosure of Buddemeyer refers to “additional” protein, so the carbohydrate-based emulsifier is additionally present, whereas amended claim 9 excludes other emulsifiers, such as the anionic emulsifier system of Buddemeyer.
This is not persuasive since the disclosed emulsifiers are also a preferred embodiment. The reference states the “emulsifiers used…are preferably anionic in nature” (column 3 lines 20-21), which indicates other types of emulsifiers can be used. The combination applied to claim 9 replaces the emulsifiers of Buddemeyer with the potato protein of Bohlscheid.
Applicant argues claim 9 recites the presence of only a native potato protease inhibitor isolate, whereas Bohlscheid teaches total potato protease inhibitor isolate including other potato proteins.
This is not persuasive since the claim recites “said potato protein comprises…” While the emulsifying protein consists of the native potato protease inhibitor isolate, the claim as currently drafted does not exclude other potato proteins from the composition.
Applicant’s arguments against the dependent claims are not persuasive for the same reasons stated above.
Conclusion
/BRYAN KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 1792