Response After Non Final
This Office action is in response to the remarks filed on 09/25/2025.
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
The applicant's arguments filed September 25, 2025 have been fully considered
and are respectfully found persuasive in part and unpersuasive in part.
The applicant argues the following:
[1] Title objection has been addressed and should be withdrawn.
[2] Improper motivation to combine.
Regarding [1], the examiner respectfully agrees and the title objection raised in the non-final office action is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding [2], the examiner respectfully disagrees because the combination is proper and technologically sound because a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine for the purpose of improving performance, more specifically, accuracy. First, the primary reference in combination with the secondary reference teaches the specifically claimed manner and claimed actuating structure (see rejection below). Second, the primary and secondary references are not required to explicitly “contemplate” their combination in order for the combination to be proper. Third, the motivation is correct and proper. A person of ordinary skill in the art would find it both beneficial and desirable to modify to provide temperature compensation thereby improving accuracy and temperature drift because this would enhance performance. Fourth, the primary reference is not required to explicitly teach that it has the problem the combination addresses. Fifth, impermissible hindsight arises when the rationale to combine includes knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure. Here, the instant application makes no mention of temperature compensation control as a means of improving performance. Hence, the secondary reference is providing a legitimate benefit that does not rely on impermissible hindsight. Sixth, the applicant’s representative alleges that the secondary reference’s temperature compensation requires a particular type of doping, a particular vibration, both reliant on a stabilized ca constant. While this allegation is interesting, no evidence is provided that the secondary reference’s temperature compensation is inapplicable to a PLA device. Moreover, the secondary reference’s method of manufacture is not relied on in the rejection. The secondary reference is relied on to teach the claimed saddle shape deformation which it does in fact teach (Jaakkola, Figs. 1/4/5; [Claim 1]). Lastly, the primary and secondary references are analogous art, namely, piezoelectric transducers. There is no evidence that a complete redesign and reconstruction is required. There is no evidence of a lack of “translation” between devices. There is no evidence of fundamentally different technologies. Both references are focused on the same art, namely, piezoelectric transducers. Neither reference explicitly excludes applicability of temperature compensation or its benefits. Neither reference explicitly excludes the application of its mechanical principles. There is no evidence that the combination would require complete and speculative redesign. Therefore, the combination is proper.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Tanimoto et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0155474; hereinafter “Tanimoto”) in view of Jaakkola et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,071,226; hereinafter “Jaakkola”).
Regarding claim 1, Tanimoto teaches a piezoelectric transducer comprising: a piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) with a piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) exhibiting a shear piezoelectric effect (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]), wherein the piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]) is polarized (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060] – “When a shearing stress is applied along the stretching axis direction of a stretched material, and when polarization occurs in a direction in which the shearing stress is applied,…”) in a polarization direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA direction of polarization is along direction in which shear stress is applied; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060]) is polarized (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA direction of polarization; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060]) in a plane (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA plane of polarization; [0060]) with the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) to generate (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]) an electric field (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]) in a field direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, electric field is perpendicular to plane of polarization since voltage is applied across electrodes; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]; Examiner’s Note: Prior art of record discloses shearing stress direction and polarization direction along stretching axis plane [0060]. Voltage is applied across the electrodes [0062].) normal (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0060]; [0062]) to the plane (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA plane of polarization; [0060]) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) between a top surface (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26 top surface) and a bottom surface (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26 bottom surface) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) when the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is sheared (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0059]-[0062]) in the plane (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA plane of polarization; [0060]) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) in a shearing direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, shearing direction; [0060] – “stretching axis direction”) about the field direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, electric field is perpendicular to plane of polarization since voltage is applied across electrodes; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]; Examiner’s Note: Prior art of record discloses shearing stress direction and polarization direction along stretching axis plane [0060]. Voltage is applied across the electrodes [0062].); and an actuating structure (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) configured to actuate (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) with actuation forces (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – “voltage“) applied (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) at respective actuation points (Fig. 1, points across electrodes receiving voltage; [0055]; [0062]) in respective actuation directions (Fig. 1, directions across electrodes; [0055]; [0062]) to bend (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0254]) the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]), wherein the actuating structure (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) is configured to actuate (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) according to a deformation (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0253]-[0254]), wherein the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is bent (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0254]) in two opposing bending directions (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, opposing bending directions at a diagonal; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”), and wherein the two bending directions (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, opposing bending directions at a diagonal; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”) are orthogonal (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, direction of opposing bending directions at a diagonal – each set of opposing portions is at a right angle to the other set) to each other (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6) and are both diagonal (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, direction of opposing bending directions at a diagonal) to the polarization direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA direction of polarization is along direction in which shear stress is applied; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060]). Tanimoto does not teach a saddle shape deformation.
Jaakkola, however, does teach a saddle shape deformation (Figs. 1/4/5; [Claim 1] – “A temperature compensated micromechanical resonator comprising a resonator element comprising a semiconductor crystal structure, which is doped so as to reduce its temperature coefficient of frequency, and transducer means for exciting to the resonator element a vibrational mode, wherein the crystal orientation and shape of the resonator element are chosen to allow for a shear mode having a saddle point to be excited to the resonator element, and said transducer means are adapted to excite said shear mode to the resonator element, wherein the transducer means comprises at least one piezoactive zone on the resonator element and adapted to subject a flexural perpendicular to the plane of the resonator element to the resonator element.”; [Column 3, lines 40-50]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tanimoto to include the saddle shape deformation of Jaakkola because it would provide temperature compensation thereby improving accuracy and temperature drift (Jaakkola [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 2, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein the actuating structure (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) is configured to apply (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]): a first set of actuation forces (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – first set of voltage applied) in a first actuation direction (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – direction across electrodes perpendicular to plane of polarization) normal (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – direction across electrodes perpendicular to plane of polarization) to the plane (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA plane of polarization; [0060]) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]), and a second set of actuation forces (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – second set of voltage applied) in a second actuation direction (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – opposing direction across electrodes perpendicular to plane of polarization) opposite (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – opposing direction across electrodes perpendicular to plane of polarization) to the first actuation direction forces (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – first set of voltage applied).
Regarding claim 3, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 2, wherein the first set of actuation forces (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – first set of voltage applied) is applied (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) to a first set of separate actuation points (Fig. 1, first set of points across electrodes receiving voltage; [0055]; [0062]) defining a first bending direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, first bending direction; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”) of the two opposing bending directions (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, opposing bending directions at a diagonal; [0212]) there between, wherein the second set of actuation forces (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – second set of voltage applied) is applied (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) to a second set of separate actuation points (Fig. 1, second set of points across electrodes receiving voltage; [0055]; [0062]) defining the second bending direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, second bending direction; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”) of the two opposing bending directions (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, opposing bending directions at a diagonal; [0212]) there between, and wherein the second bending direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, second bending direction; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”) crosses orthogonally (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, direction of opposing bending directions at a diagonal – each set of opposing portions is at a right angle to the other set) with the first bending direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, first bending direction; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”) at a point (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0253]-[0254]) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) in an actuated state (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, state of 100 after voltage is applied). Tanimoto does not teach a saddle point.
Jaakkola, however, does teach a saddle point (Figs. 1/4/5; [Claim 1] – “A temperature compensated micromechanical resonator comprising a resonator element comprising a semiconductor crystal structure, which is doped so as to reduce its temperature coefficient of frequency, and transducer means for exciting to the resonator element a vibrational mode, wherein the crystal orientation and shape of the resonator element are chosen to allow for a shear mode having a saddle point to be excited to the resonator element, and said transducer means are adapted to excite said shear mode to the resonator element, wherein the transducer means comprises at least one piezoactive zone on the resonator element and adapted to subject a flexural perpendicular to the plane of the resonator element to the resonator element.”; [Column 3, lines 40-50]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tanimoto to include the saddle point of Jaakkola because it would provide temperature compensation thereby improving accuracy and temperature drift (Jaakkola [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 4, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein, during a deformation (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0253]-[0254]), the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) in a deformed state (Figs. 1/6, 100 in deformed state; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0253]-[0254]) is elongated (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6) along the first bending direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, first bending direction; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”) and compressed (Fig. 1, compressed at center point) along the second bending direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, second bending direction; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”) compared to the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) in a flat state (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6). Tanimoto does not teach a saddle shape deformation.
Jaakkola, however, does teach a saddle shape deformation (Figs. 1/4/5; [Claim 1] – “A temperature compensated micromechanical resonator comprising a resonator element comprising a semiconductor crystal structure, which is doped so as to reduce its temperature coefficient of frequency, and transducer means for exciting to the resonator element a vibrational mode, wherein the crystal orientation and shape of the resonator element are chosen to allow for a shear mode having a saddle point to be excited to the resonator element, and said transducer means are adapted to excite said shear mode to the resonator element, wherein the transducer means comprises at least one piezoactive zone on the resonator element and adapted to subject a flexural perpendicular to the plane of the resonator element to the resonator element.”; [Column 3, lines 40-50]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tanimoto to include the saddle shape deformation of Jaakkola because it would provide temperature compensation thereby improving accuracy and temperature drift (Jaakkola [Abstract]; [Claim 1]).
Regarding claim 5, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein the polarization direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA direction of polarization is along direction in which shear stress is applied; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060]) is along a length (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0060] – “stretching axis direction of stretched material”) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]), and wherein the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is cut and/or folded back (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0253]-[0254]) on itself (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6) along a width (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, width of 12/20/26 orthogonal to length of 12/20/26) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) by a cut and/or fold line (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, line of deformation) that is orthogonal Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, width of 12/20/26 orthogonal to length of 12/20/26) to the length (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0060] – “stretching axis direction of stretched material”) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]).
Regarding claim 6, Tanimoto discloses the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is polarized (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060] – “When a shearing stress is applied along the stretching axis direction of a stretched material, and when polarization occurs in a direction in which the shearing stress is applied,…”) by drawing (Figs. 4/6, drawing of 100 along length of 12/20/26) the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) along the length (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0060] – “stretching axis direction of stretched material”), and wherein the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) comprises a piezoelectric polymer (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) with elongate molecules (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) which align (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) with the drawing direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, direction of drawing of 100 along length of 12/20/26).
Regarding claim 7, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is adhered (Fig. 4, 18/24). Tanimoto does not teach a flexible plate.
Jaakkola, however, does teach a flexible plate (Fig. 5; [Column 4, lines 46-48]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tanimoto to include the flexible plate of Jaakkola because it would provide temperature compensation thereby improving accuracy and temperature drift (Jaakkola [Abstract]; [Claim 1]).
Regarding claim 8, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein a respective neutral axis for bending (Figs. 1/4/6, neutral axis for bending) a combined stack (Figs. 4/6) comprising one or more layers (Figs. 4/6, 12/20/26) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) adhered (Fig. 4, 18/24) along a first bending direction Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, direction of opposing portions at a diagonal bending down) of the two opposing bending directions (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, opposing bending directions at a diagonal; [0212]) and/or a second bending direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, direction of opposing portions at a diagonal tilting up) of the two opposing bending directions (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, opposing bending directions at a diagonal; [0212]). Tanimoto does not teach a flexible plate.
Jaakkola, however, does teach a flexible plate (Fig. 5; [Column 4, lines 46-48]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tanimoto to include the flexible plate of Jaakkola because it would provide temperature compensation thereby improving accuracy and temperature drift (Jaakkola [Abstract]; [Claim 1]).
Regarding claim 9, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is adhered (Fig. 4, 18/24) to both a top side (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26 top side) and a bottom side (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26 bottom side). Tanimoto does not teach a flexible plate.
Jaakkola, however, does teach a flexible plate (Fig. 5; [Column 4, lines 46-48]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tanimoto to include the flexible plate of Jaakkola because it would provide temperature compensation thereby improving accuracy and temperature drift (Jaakkola [Abstract]; [Claim 1]).
Regarding claim 11, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein a stack of piezoelectric foils (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is formed by alternating layers (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0037]) of piezo piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) having different chirality (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0037]).
Regarding claim 12, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) comprises: a first electrode layer (Fig. 4, 28/32 in combination); and a second electrode layer (Fig. 4, 14/30), wherein the piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is sandwiched between (Fig. 4) the first electrode layer (Fig. 4, 28/32 in combination) and the second electrode layer (Fig. 4, 14/30), wherein a conductive surface (Fig. 4, conductive surface of 28/32 in combination) formed by the first electrode layer (Fig. 4, 28/32 in combination) extends beyond (Figs. 1/4) a surface (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, surface of PLLA/PDLA 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) of the piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) on one side (Figs. 4/6, one side of 100) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]), and wherein a conductive surface (Fig. 4, conductive surface of 14/30 in combination) formed by the second electrode layer (Fig. 4, 14/30) extends beyond (Figs. 1/4) a surface (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, surface of PLLA/PDLA 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) of the piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) on another side (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, another side of 100) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]).
Regarding claim 14, Tanimoto teaches an transducer comprising 12/transducer comprising 20/transducer comprising 26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) of the plurality of piezoelectric transducers (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, transducer comprising 12/transducer comprising 20/transducer comprising 26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) comprises: a piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) with a piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) exhibiting a shear piezoelectric effect (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]), wherein the piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is polarized (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060] – “When a shearing stress is applied along the stretching axis direction of a stretched material, and when polarization occurs in a direction in which the shearing stress is applied,…”) in a polarization direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA direction of polarization is along direction in which shear stress is applied; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060]) is polarized (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA direction of polarization; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060]) in a plane (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA plane of polarization; [0060]) with the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) to generate (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]) an electric field (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]) in a field direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, electric field is perpendicular to plane of polarization since voltage is applied across electrodes; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]; Examiner’s Note: Prior art of record discloses shearing stress direction and polarization direction along stretching axis plane [0060]. Voltage is applied across the electrodes [0062].) normal (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0060]; [0062]) to the plane (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA plane of polarization; [0060]) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) between a top surface (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26 top surface) and a bottom surface (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26 bottom surface) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) when the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is sheared (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0059]-[0062]) in the plane (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA plane of polarization; [0060]) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) in a shearing direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, shearing direction; [0060] – “stretching axis direction”) about the field direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, electric field is perpendicular to plane of polarization since voltage is applied across electrodes; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]; Examiner’s Note: Prior art of record discloses shearing stress direction and polarization direction along stretching axis plane [0060]. Voltage is applied across the electrodes [0062]); and an actuating structure (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) configured to actuate (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) with actuation forces (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – “voltage“) applied (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) at respective actuation points (Fig. 1, points across electrodes receiving voltage; [0055]; [0062]) in respective actuation directions (Fig. 1, directions across electrodes; [0055]; [0062]) to bend (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0254]) the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]), wherein the actuating structure (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) is configured to actuate (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) according to a deformation (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0253]-[0254]), wherein the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is bent (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0254]) in two opposing bending directions (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, opposing bending directions at a diagonal; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”), and wherein the two bending directions (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, opposing bending directions at a diagonal; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”) are orthogonal (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, direction of opposing bending directions at a diagonal – each set of opposing portions is at a right angle to the other set) to each other (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6) and are both diagonal (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, direction of opposing bending directions at a diagonal) to the polarization direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA direction of polarization is along direction in which shear stress is applied; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060]). Tanimoto does not teach a saddle shape deformation.
Jaakkola, however, does teach a saddle shape deformation (Figs. 1/4/5; [Claim 1] – “A temperature compensated micromechanical resonator comprising a resonator element comprising a semiconductor crystal structure, which is doped so as to reduce its temperature coefficient of frequency, and transducer means for exciting to the resonator element a vibrational mode, wherein the crystal orientation and shape of the resonator element are chosen to allow for a shear mode having a saddle point to be excited to the resonator element, and said transducer means are adapted to excite said shear mode to the resonator element, wherein the transducer means comprises at least one piezoactive zone on the resonator element and adapted to subject a flexural perpendicular to the plane of the resonator element to the resonator element.”; [Column 3, lines 40-50]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tanimoto to include the saddle shape deformation of Jaakkola because it would provide temperature compensation thereby improving accuracy and temperature drift (Jaakkola [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 15, Tanimoto teaches a sensor comprising one or more piezoelectric transducers, wherein each piezoelectric transducer of the one or more piezoelectric transducers (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, transducer comprising 12/transducer comprising 20/transducer comprising 26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) comprises: a piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) with a piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) exhibiting a shear piezoelectric effect (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]), wherein the piezoelectric material (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is polarized (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060] – “When a shearing stress is applied along the stretching axis direction of a stretched material, and when polarization occurs in a direction in which the shearing stress is applied,…”) in a polarization direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA direction of polarization is along direction in which shear stress is applied; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060]) is polarized (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA direction of polarization; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060]) in a plane (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA plane of polarization; [0060]) with the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) to generate (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]) an electric field (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]) in a field direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, electric field is perpendicular to plane of polarization since voltage is applied across electrodes; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]; Examiner’s Note: Prior art of record discloses shearing stress direction and polarization direction along stretching axis plane [0060]. Voltage is applied across the electrodes [0062].) normal (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0060]; [0062]) to the plane (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA plane of polarization; [0060]) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) between a top surface (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26 top surface) and a bottom surface (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26 bottom surface) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) when the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is sheared (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6; [0059]-[0062]) in the plane (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA plane of polarization; [0060]) of the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) in a shearing direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, shearing direction; [0060] – “stretching axis direction”) about the field direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, electric field is perpendicular to plane of polarization since voltage is applied across electrodes; [0062]; [0133];[0171]; [0212];[0254]; Examiner’s Note: Prior art of record discloses shearing stress direction and polarization direction along stretching axis plane [0060]. Voltage is applied across the electrodes [0062].); and an actuating structure (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) configured to actuate (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) with actuation forces (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – “voltage“) applied (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) at respective actuation points (Fig. 1, points across electrodes receiving voltage; [0055]; [0062]) in respective actuation directions (Fig. 1, directions across electrodes; [0055]; [0062]) to bend (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0254]) the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]), wherein the actuating structure (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) is configured to actuate (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) according to a deformation (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0253]-[0254]), wherein the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]) is bent (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0254]) in two opposing bending directions (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, opposing bending directions at a diagonal; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”), and wherein the two bending directions (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, opposing bending directions at a diagonal; [0212] – “In the layer mainly composed of the L-isomer of the helical chiral polymer and the layer mainly composed of the D-isomer of the helical chiral polymer, deformation in opposite directions occurs with respect to the electric field.”) are orthogonal (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, direction of opposing bending directions at a diagonal – each set of opposing portions is at a right angle to the other set) to each other (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6) and are both diagonal (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, direction of opposing bending directions at a diagonal) to the polarization direction (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, PLLA/PDLA direction of polarization is along direction in which shear stress is applied; [0086]; [0213]; [0059]-[0062]; [Table 1]; [0060]). Tanimoto does not teach a saddle shape deformation.
Jaakkola, however, does teach a saddle shape deformation (Figs. 1/4/5; [Claim 1] – “A temperature compensated micromechanical resonator comprising a resonator element comprising a semiconductor crystal structure, which is doped so as to reduce its temperature coefficient of frequency, and transducer means for exciting to the resonator element a vibrational mode, wherein the crystal orientation and shape of the resonator element are chosen to allow for a shear mode having a saddle point to be excited to the resonator element, and said transducer means are adapted to excite said shear mode to the resonator element, wherein the transducer means comprises at least one piezoactive zone on the resonator element and adapted to subject a flexural perpendicular to the plane of the resonator element to the resonator element.”; [Column 3, lines 40-50]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tanimoto to include the saddle shape deformation of Jaakkola because it would provide temperature compensation thereby improving accuracy and temperature drift (Jaakkola [Abstract]).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Tanimoto in view of Jaakkola and further in view of Barcus (U.S. Patent No. 4,491,051; hereinafter “Barcus”).
Regarding claim 10, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]). Tanimoto does not teach wrapped around a flexible plate.
Barcus, however, does teach wrapped around (Fig. 14, 86; [Column 14, lines 48-61]) a flexible plate (Fig. 14, 26a; [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tanimoto to include the wrapped flexible plate of Barcus because it would enable the transducer to be conformable to distortions and deformations thereby improving uniformity of response to actuations (Barcus [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 13, Tanimoto as modified teaches the piezoelectric transducer according to claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric transducer (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 4, 100) comprises a square shaped stack (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6) formed by the piezoelectric foil (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6, 12/20/26; [0187]-[0188]; [0086]; [0213]), wherein the actuating structure (Fig. 1, 46; [0055]) is configured to engage corners (Figs. 1/4/6, corners of 100 in opposing directions) of the square shaped stack (Figs. 1/4/6; Fig. 6) in opposing directions (Figs. 1/4/6, corners of 100 in opposing directions) to press (Fig. 1, 46; [0055] – “voltage“) the stack (Fig. 4) into the deformation (Figs. 1/6; [0055];[0061]-[0062]; [0133]; [0143]; [0194]; [0212]; [0253]-[0254]). Tanimoto does not teach wrapped multiple times around a square shaped flexible plate and the saddle shape deformation.
Jaakkola, however, does teach a square shaped flexible plate (Fig. 5; [Column 3, lines 11-15]; [Column 4, lines 46-48]) and the saddle shape deformation (Figs. 1/4-5; [Column 3, lines 40-50]).
Furthermore, Barcus teaches wrapped multiple times (Fig. 14, 86; [Column 14, lines 48-61]) around a flexible plate (Fig. 14, 26a; [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tanimoto to include flexible plate and the saddle shape deformation of Jaakkola because it would provide temperature compensation thereby improving accuracy and temperature drift (Jaakkola [Abstract]; [Claim 1]) and to include the wrapped flexible plate of Barcus because it would enable the transducer to be conformable to distortions and deformations thereby improving uniformity of response to actuation (Barcus [Abstract]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time
policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
whose telephone number is (571) 272-8782. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday from 7:30 AM to 5:00 PM.
supervisor, Dedei Hammond, can be reached on (571) 270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/MONICA MATA/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837
25 November 2025
/EMILY P PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837