DETAILED ACTION
Claims 37-38, 44, and 58-60 are pending in the instant application.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejections to claims 37-38, 44, and 58-60 under 35 USC §112(b) are withdrawn in view of claim amendment.
The rejections to claims 37-38, 44, and 58-60 under 35 USC §103 are withdrawn in view of claim amendment.
The rejections to claims 37-38, 44, and 58-60 under Nonstatutory Double Patenting are withdrawn in view of claim amendment.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-38 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160339100 (Harding T et al., reference of record) and further in view of US 20100196364 (Kim KJ et al., reference of record), Kang J et al. (BioProcess International 2016 14(4) 40-45, reference of record), US 20080182978 (Rosenthal A et al., reference of record), and US 20160002341 (Dix DB et al., reference of record).
Harding taught an afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody wherein the heavy chain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 and the light chain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 (pages 1-2, paragraph 6). Harding taught treating the solid cancer tumors breast cancer and gastric cancer by administering an effective amount of the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody in a pharmaceutical composition with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (page 2, paragraph 15 and Figures 2-6). Harding taught the treatment included administering to composition to humans (page 9, paragraph 92), which would be patients. Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody was expressed in cell culture at a concentration of 3.5 mg/mL (page 21, paragraph 203). Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody was purified by column chromatography and ultrafiltration to concentrate the purified material, then diafiltration to exchange into formulation buffer that consisted of 20 mM histidine, 150 mM L-arginine, 0.01% polysorbate 20 and pH 6.0 (page 21, paragraph 203). Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody composition comprises one or more substances that inhibit protein aggregation, including sucrose and arginine (page 20, paragraph 192). Harding taught the composition in a liquid formulation (page 21, paragraph 187). Harding taught the anti-FGFR2IIIb in a unit dosage form (page 20, paragraph 192) and in a vial (page 20, paragraph 194), which would be a single-use vial.
Harding did not teach:
1) the concentration of the formulation following ultrafiltration of the 3.5 mg/ml expressed antibody; and 2) the concentration of the sucrose used to inhibit protein aggregation in the formulation as 270 mM; but this is obvious in view of Kim, Kang, Rosenthal, and Dix.
Kim taught the FGFR2IIIb antibody GAL-FR21 strongly inhibited the growth of SNU-16 gastric tumor xenografts (page 7, paragraph 72). Kim taught HuGAL-FR21 was comprised of VH of SEQ ID NO:10 and VL of SEQ ID NO:9 (Kim claim 18). Kim taught pharmaceutical formulations contain the antibody in a physiologically acceptable carrier, optionally with excipients or stabilizers, in the form of aqueous solutions (page 5, paragraph 52). Kim taught acceptable carriers, excipients or stabilizers are nontoxic to recipients at the dosages and concentrations employed and other standard ingredients are known to those skilled in the art (Remington's Pharmaceutical Science 16.sup.th edition, Osol, A. Ed. 1980) (page 5, paragraph 52). Kim taught the antibody is typically present at a concentration of 10-50 mg/ml (page 5, paragraph 52).
Kang taught by studying commercial antibody products, they established a rich database for successful antibody formulations (page 40, middle column, second paragraph). Kang taught although every antibody is unique, the molecules are highly similar structurally (page 40, middle column, second paragraph). Kang taught lessons learned from successful examples are invaluable in developing stable and effective formulations for new antibody formulations (page 40, middle column, second paragraph). Kang taught 37 formulations that have been successfully used in commercial antibodies, with 25 as liquid formulations, with their concentration ranging from 2 mg/mL to 200 mg/mL (page 40, middle column, third paragraph). Kang taught Table 1 lists excipients used in these antibody formulations. Kang taught some commonalities can be observed: histidine is present in 35% of formulations (page 40, middle column, second bullet), sucrose was present in 30% of liquid formulations (page 40, right column, first bullet), an 80% of formulations used one of three surfactants that includes polysorbate 20 (page 40, middle column, third bullet). Kang taught formulation development wherein stage one identifies the optimal pH, stage 2 identifies stabilizing excipients, and stage 3 is an in depth evaluation of the most stabilizing buffers and excipients (page 42, left column last paragraph to right column, third bullet). Kang taught histidine has a pKa value of 6 (page 42, middle column, second to last paragraph). Kang taught in just a few weeks, researchers can develop a stable formulation for antibody product development (page 45, left column, second paragraph).
Rosenthal taught a liquid formulation used in humans consisting of 10 mg/ml antibody in an aqueous formulation of 10 mM histidine, 275 mM sucrose, 0.01% polysorbate 20, pH 6.0 (page 59, paragraph 506).
Dix taught a formulation for stabilization of an anti-Interleukin-6 receptor (IL-6R) antibody comprising of 25-100 mg/ml antibody, 10 mM histidine, 10% sucrose, 0.2% polysorbate 20, and a pH of 6.0 (Table 9). Dix taught the stability of a 25 mg/ml antibody concentration in 10 mM histidine, 10% sucrose, 0.2% polysorbate 20, and a pH of 6.0 at 5° C, which recovers 97.8% of the native antibody after 12 months (Table 10). Dix taught embodiments where the formulation has a histidine concentration of 20 mM (specification, page 4, paragraph 36), a sucrose concentration of about 9%, which is about 262 mM sucrose (specification, page 4, paragraph 38), and a polysorbate 20 surfactant concentration of 0.01% (specification, page 4, paragraph 40) in a liquid solution (specification, page 9, paragraph 63).
Regarding instant claims 37-38 and 58, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to take the pharmaceutical composition administered for the treatment of a solid cancer tumor comprising the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of Harding wherein the heavy chain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 and the light chain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 in the liquid formulation buffer consisting of 20 mM histidine, 150 mM L-arginine, 0.01% polysorbate 20 and pH 6.0 – and 1) include the anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody at a concentration of 10-50 mg/ml as taught by Kim, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml; 2) exchange the free arginine with sucrose as taught by Harding; 3) identify the optimal sucrose of the formulation as taught by Kang; 4) use a concentration of about 270 mM sucrose for the liquid formulation wherein no free arginine or other free amino acids other than histidine were in the formulation as taught by Rosenthal; and 5) expect the histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, pH 6.0 solution would be stable as taught by Dix.
This is obvious because:
1) Kim taught the antibody at a concentration of 10-50 mg/ml, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml, and the anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of Harding, Kim and the instant application have 100% sequence identity (see alignment below);
VH alignment
VL alignment
2) Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody composition comprises one or more substances that inhibit protein aggregation, including sucrose;
3-5) Kang taught formulation development wherein stage one identifies the optimal pH, stage 2 identifies stabilizing excipients, and stage 3 is an in depth evaluation of the most stabilizing buffers and excipients. The concentration range of sucrose tested would include 270 mM in view of concentrations in this range known to be effective in view of Rosenthal and Dix;
4) the antibody formulation of Rosenthal with 275 mM sucrose has been used in humans and a sucrose concentration within this range would be acceptable wherein no free arginine or other free amino acids other than histidine were in the formulation; and
5) Dix taught an antibody was stable in a liquid formulation of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, at pH of 6.0, wherein the liquid formulation recovers about 98% of the native antibody after 12 months at 5°C.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because:
1)-2) the anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of Harding, Kim and the instant application have 100% sequence identity. Further, Harding identified sucrose as an appropriate excipient to prevent aggregation and Kim recognized that the antibody formulations comprising acceptable carriers, excipients or stabilizers are nontoxic to recipients at the dosages and concentrations employed and other standard ingredients are known to those skilled in the art. Thus, utilizing known pharmaceutical reagents to produce stable formulations of known antibodies would further be routinely optimized and the results would affect the formulation within an expected range;
3) Kang recognized that the antibody formulations comprising acceptable carriers, excipients or stabilizers are nontoxic to recipients at the dosages and concentrations employed and other standard ingredients are known to those skilled in the art. Further, Kang taught it is common for commercial antibodies to have a formulation with histidine, sucrose, and a surfactant as polysorbate 20 and that histidine has a pKa of 6. Additionally, concentrations in the range of 270 mM are known to be effective and thus this concentration would be reasonable;
4) a formulation containing about 270 mM sucrose has been previously used in a liquid antibody formulation for humans in an aqueous formulation consisting of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, pH 6.0, wherein no free arginine or other free amino acids other than histidine were in the formulation;
5) Dix taught an antibody was stable in a liquid formulation of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, at pH of 6.0 at 5°C for 12 months.
This would produce a liquid pharmaceutical composition for a method of treating a solid cancer tumor comprising administering to a human patient (instant claim 58) an effective amount of a liquid composition consisting of:
10-50 mg/ml of an afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml;
20 mM histidine, which is a buffer;
270 mM sucrose;
0.01% polysorbate 20; and
pH 6.0,
wherein the heavy chain comprises Harding SEQ ID NO: 2 and the light chain comprises Harding SEQ ID NO: 3, which is identical to the heavy and light chain of instant SEQ ID NO:2 for VH and SEQ ID NO:3 for VL (instant claim 37), wherein no free arginine or other free amino acids other than histidine are in the formulation except the amino acids that comprise the antibody, wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is a liquid not for lyophilization prior to administration to a patient (instant claim 38), wherein the antibody lacks fucose at Asn297 because it is afucosylated, and wherein the protein aggregation of the formulation would naturally increase by no more than 2.0% after 6 months of storage at 5°C.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues despite extensive evidence to the contrary, the Office Action continues to allege that a skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine and modify the disclosures of Kim, Kang, Rosenthal, Dix, and/or Britannica in the specific manner required to arrive at the particular claimed formulation with a reasonable expectation of success. The Office Action now alleges that protein aggregation of a formulation resulting from the proposed combination "would naturally increase by no more than 2.0% after 6 months of storage at 5°C" (Office Action at page 17, first paragraph). However, inherency requires that the claimed property be necessarily present, not merely possible. See MPEP § 2112(IV). The Examiner has not established that the claimed stability would necessarily result from the proposed combination. Indeed, Dix itself teaches that "the stability of an antibody in liquid formulation depends not only on the kinds of excipients used in the formulation, but also on the amounts and proportions of the excipients relative to one another." Dix, paragraph [0004]. This teaching directly undermines any inherency argument.
The Examiner has also failed to meet their burden of establishing a reasonable expectation of success for the proposed combination. The Office Action concludes at p. 11 that because various ingredients, in isolation, were previously used for irrelevant antibodies, a stable formulations of known ingredient could allegedly be obtained through routine optimization. Missing from the Office Action's reasoning is any rationale for why the particular combination of ingredients at the particular concentrations claimed would be expected to yield a stable formulation for the particular antibody claimed. The primary reference cited by the Office Action for formulation methodology, Kang, directly refutes the Office Action's proposed approach. According to the Kang, and acknowledged by the Office Action at p. 7, each antibody is different. In their methodology, the authors of Kang start with a selected antibody in an (irrelevant) citrate-phosphate formulation, and select a preferred pH range for that particular antibody. Then, based on this selected antibody-specific pH, the authors try one or two buffers, and then try one or two excipients from each of several listed categories (Kang at p. 42). These authors' selection of ingredients and combinations is empirical based upon the properties of the particular antibody. The existence of individual ingredients in different formulations of different antibodies is irrelevant to this methodology. The fact that Kang et al. use an empirical methodlogy that tests the properties each particular antibody only emphasizes the untenability of the Office Action's allegation that a reasonable expectation of success for a stable antibody formulation, as a whole, could be divined from piecemeal citations to different ingredients being used with different antibodies in isolation. In the absence of hindsight, the skilled artisan would have had no reason to adopt the Office Action's piecemeal approach.
Furthermore, claim 59, as amended, now recites a pharmaceutical formulation "consisting of' the recited components. The transitional phrase "consisting of' is a closed transitional phrase that excludes any unlisted ingredients. See MPEP § 2111.03(11). None of the cited references, alone or in combination, teaches or suggests a formulation consisting o/20 mg/mL of the anti-FGFR2 antibody, 20 mM L-histidine buffer, 270 mM sucrose, and 0.01 % polysorbate 20, without free arginine or other amino acids. Harding's formulation expressly includes 150 mM L-arginine, and the Examiner has not established why a skilled artisan would have been motivated to formulate the anti-FGFR2 antibody excluding arginine entirely. For at least these reasons, the amended claims are not obvious over the cited references. Thus, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
In response, Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The updated rejection is above.
Regarding protein aggregation, the obvious rational identifies why a formulation consisting of an effective amount of a liquid composition consisting of:
10-50 mg/ml of an afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml;
20 mM histidine, which is a buffer;
270 mM sucrose;
0.01% polysorbate 20; and
pH 6.0,
wherein no free arginine or other free amino acids other than histidine are in the formulation except the amino acids that comprise the antibody, wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is a liquid not for lyophilization prior to administration to a patient, wherein the antibody lacks fucose at Asn297 because it is afucosylated, and wherein the protein aggregation of the formulation would naturally increase by no more than 2.0% after 6 months of storage at 5°C is obvious with a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2112.01 II teaches that for composition claims if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Thus, the formulation above would naturally increase by no more than 2.0% after 6 months of storage at 5°C
Regarding the Examiner has failed to meet their burden of establishing a reasonable expectation of success for the proposed combination, as described above,
Harding taught the identical afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody was purified by column chromatography and ultrafiltration to concentrate the purified material, then diafiltration to exchange into formulation buffer that consisted of 20 mM histidine, 150 mM L-arginine, 0.01% polysorbate 20 and pH 6.0 (page 21, paragraph 203). Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody composition comprises one or more substances that inhibit protein aggregation, including sucrose and arginine (page 20, paragraph 192). Harding taught the composition in a liquid formulation (page 21, paragraph 187). Further, Kang taught although every antibody is unique, the molecules are highly similar structurally (page 40, middle column, second paragraph). Kang taught lessons learned from successful examples are invaluable in developing stable and effective formulations for new antibody formulations (page 40, middle column, second paragraph). Thus, the antibodies are not irrelevant.
As described in the obvious rational above, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to take the pharmaceutical composition administered for the treatment of a solid cancer tumor comprising the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of Harding wherein the heavy chain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 and the light chain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 in the liquid formulation buffer consisting of 20 mM histidine, 150 mM L-arginine, 0.01% polysorbate 20 and pH 6.0 – and 1) include the anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody at a concentration of 10-50 mg/ml as taught by Kim, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml; 2) exchange the free arginine with sucrose as taught by Harding; 3) identify the optimal sucrose of the formulation as taught by Kang; 4) use a concentration of about 270 mM sucrose for the liquid formulation wherein no free arginine or other free amino acids other than histidine were in the formulation as taught by Rosenthal; and 5) expect the histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, pH 6.0 solution would be stable as taught by Dix.
This is obvious because:
1) Kim taught the antibody at a concentration of 10-50 mg/ml, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml, and the anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of Harding, Kim and the instant application have 100% sequence identity (see alignment below);
VH alignment
VL alignment
2) Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody composition comprises one or more substances that inhibit protein aggregation, including sucrose;
3-5) Kang taught formulation development wherein stage one identifies the optimal pH, stage 2 identifies stabilizing excipients, and stage 3 is an in depth evaluation of the most stabilizing buffers and excipients. The concentration range of sucrose tested would include 270 mM in view of concentrations in this range known to be effective in view of Rosenthal and Dix;
4) the antibody formulation of Rosenthal with 275 mM sucrose has been used in humans and a sucrose concentration within this range would be acceptable wherein no free arginine or other free amino acids other than histidine were in the formulation; and
5) Dix taught an antibody was stable in a liquid formulation of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, at pH of 6.0, wherein the liquid formulation recovers about 98% of the native antibody after 12 months at 5°C.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because:
1)-2) the anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of Harding, Kim and the instant application have 100% sequence identity. Further, Harding identified sucrose as an appropriate excipient to prevent aggregation and Kim recognized that the antibody formulations comprising acceptable carriers, excipients or stabilizers are nontoxic to recipients at the dosages and concentrations employed and other standard ingredients are known to those skilled in the art. Thus, utilizing known pharmaceutical reagents to produce stable formulations of known antibodies would further be routinely optimized and the results would affect the formulation within an expected range;
3) Kang recognized that the antibody formulations comprising acceptable carriers, excipients or stabilizers are nontoxic to recipients at the dosages and concentrations employed and other standard ingredients are known to those skilled in the art. Further, Kang taught it is common for commercial antibodies to have a formulation with histidine, sucrose, and a surfactant as polysorbate 20 and that histidine has a pKa of 6. Additionally, concentrations in the range of 270 mM are known to be effective and thus this concentration would be reasonable;
4) a formulation containing about 270 mM sucrose has been previously used in a liquid antibody formulation for humans in an aqueous formulation consisting of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, pH 6.0, wherein no free arginine or other free amino acids other than histidine were in the formulation;
5) Dix taught an antibody was stable in a liquid formulation of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, at pH of 6.0 at 5°C for 12 months.
Regarding according to the Kang, and acknowledged by the Office
Action at p. 7, each antibody is different, Kang taught by studying commercial antibody products, they established a rich database for successful antibody formulations (page 40, middle column, second paragraph). Kang taught although every antibody is unique, the molecules are highly similar structurally (page 40, middle column, second paragraph). Kang taught lessons learned from successful examples are invaluable in developing stable and effective formulations for new antibody formulations (page 40, middle column, second paragraph).
Regarding the methodology of Kang, Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody was purified by column chromatography and ultrafiltration to concentrate the purified material, then diafiltration to exchange into formulation buffer that consisted of 20 mM histidine, 150 mM L-arginine, 0.01% polysorbate 20 and pH 6.0 (page 21, paragraph 203). Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody composition comprises one or more substances that inhibit protein aggregation, including sucrose and arginine (page 20, paragraph 192). Harding taught the composition in a liquid formulation (page 21, paragraph 187). Thus, exchanging sucrose was taught by Harding for preventing aggregation. Thus, exchange of arginine for sucrose to inhibit protein aggregation in the formulation at a concentration of 270 mM is within the skill of a person having ordinary skill in the art in view of Kang. Further, using the prior art knowledge that a formulation containing about 270 mM sucrose in a liquid antibody formulation for humans in an aqueous formulation of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, pH 6.0 would give a person having ordinary skill in the art a reasonable range for sucrose. Additionally, Dix taught an antibody was stable in a formulation of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, at pH of 6.0. Thus, exchange of arginine for sucrose in the buffer is obvious with a reasonable expectation of success. Kang further taught formulation development in within the skill of a person having ordinary skill in the art, wherein stage one identifies the optimal pH, stage 2 identifies stabilizing excipients, and stage 3 is an in depth evaluation of the most stabilizing buffers and excipients. Kang taught observation of aggregation for formulation development (Kang Fig. 5). Thus, Kang taught observation of the formulation for aggregation and the sucrose concentration would be aid in suppression of the aggregation. Further, concentration of 3.5 mg/ml taught by Harding to 20 mg/ml would be reasonable in view of Dix as well, wherein 25 mg/ml is stable in a histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20 formulation of pH 6.0. Thus, the buffer components and concentrations are within expected ranges and within the skill of a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by Harding, Kim, Kang, Rosenthal, and Dix as described in the obvious rational above, wherein the protein aggregation of the formulation would naturally increase by no more than 2.0% after 6 months of storage at 5°C.
Regarding hindsight reasoning, it is not hindsight reasoning to exchange arginine for sucrose as taught by Harding and to use concentrations within the range of known effective antibody formulations of Rosenthal and Dix and the teaching of Kang for optimization. Further, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding Kang et al. use an empirical methodology that tests the properties each particular antibody only emphasizes the untenability of the Office Action's allegation that a reasonable expectation of success for a stable antibody formulation, as a whole, could
be divined from piecemeal citations to different ingredients being used with different antibodies in isolation:
exchanging sucrose was taught by Harding for preventing aggregation. Thus, exchange of arginine for sucrose to inhibit protein aggregation in the formulation at a concentration of 270 mM is within the skill of a person having ordinary skill in the art in view of Kang. It is within the skill of a person having ordinary skill in the art to exchange one excipient for another that has been identified by Harding and utilize concentrations of sucrose known to be effective to the prior art.
Claims 37-38, 44, and 58-60 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are rejected as being unpatentable over US 20160339100 (Harding T et al., reference of record) and further in view of US 20100196364 (Kim KJ et al., reference of record), Kang J et al. (BioProcess International 2016 14(4) 40-45, reference of record), US 20080182978 (Rosenthal A et al., reference of record), and US 20160002341 (Dix DB et al., reference of record) as applied to claims 37-38 and 58 above, and further in view of Britannica (https://web.archive.org/web/20180926000417/https://www.britannica.com/science/amino-acid, Web Archive 9/26/2018 reference of record).
Harding, Kim, Kang, Rosenthal, and Dix are described above.
Harding is silent to the enantiomeric form of histidine, but this is obvious in view of Britannica.
Britannica taught all the amino acids are chiral molecules with the exception of glycine, wherein one enantiomer is designated D and the other L (page 3, Chirality, first paragraph). Reflecting the near universality of the L enantiomer, the prefix L is usually omitted (page 3, Chirality, first paragraph).
Regarding instant claims 44 and 59-60, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to take the pharmaceutical composition administered for the treatment of a solid cancer tumor of Harding, Kim, Kang, Rosenthal, and Dix above – and to use the L enantiomer of the histidine buffer because Britannica taught reflecting the near universality of the L enantiomer, the prefix L is usually omitted.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because Britannica taught reflecting the near universality of the L enantiomer, the prefix L is usually omitted. Thus, the L-form of the histidine buffer is what was most likely used in the antibody formulations of Harding, Kang, Rosenthal, and Dix.
This would produce a liquid pharmaceutical composition for a method of treating a solid cancer tumor (instant claim 60) comprising administering to a human patient an effective amount of a composition consisting of:
10-50 mg/ml of an afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml;
20 mM L-histidine, which is a buffer (instant claims 44 and 59);
270 mM sucrose;
0.01% polysorbate 20;
pH 6.0,
wherein the heavy chain comprises Harding SEQ ID NO: 2 and the light chain comprises Harding SEQ ID NO: 3, which is identical to the heavy and light chain of instant SEQ ID NO:2 for VH and SEQ ID NO:3 for VL, wherein the pharmaceutical formulation consists of anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody, histidine buffer, sucrose and polysorbate 20, wherein no arginine or other amino acids other than histidine are in the formulation except the amino acids that comprise the antibody, wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is a liquid and not for lyophilization prior to administration to a patient, wherein the antibody lacks fucose at Asn297 because it is afucosylated, and wherein the protein aggregation of the formulation would naturally increase by no more than 2.0% after 6 months of storage at 5°C.
Response to Arguments
The updated rejection is above. Applicant arguments are discussed above.
Double Patenting
Claims 37-38 and 58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 11,235,059 (Harding T et al.) in view of US 20160339100 (Harding T et al., reference of record), US 20100196364 (Kim KJ et al., reference of record), Kang J et al. (BioProcess International 2016 14(4) 40-45, reference of record), US 20080182978 (Rosenthal A et al., reference of record), and US 20160002341 (Dix DB et al., reference of record).
‘059 claim 25 taught a composition which can be used for treating solid tumors, comprising an afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody, wherein the heavy chain comprises HVR-H1-H3 of SEQ ID NO: 6-8 and the light chain variable region comprises HVR-L1-L3 of SEQ ID NO: 9-11, and further the heavy chain and light chain was taught to comprise SEQ ID NO:2 and SEQ ID NO:3 respectively in ’059 claim 31. ‘059 claim 47 taught a pharmaceutical composition comprising the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of claim 25 and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
‘059 claims 26-30, 32-38, 49, and 51 taught further details of the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody. ‘059 claims 39-46 taught functions of the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody. ‘059 claims 52 taught another afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody. ‘059 claim 1 taught a composition which can be used for treating solid tumors, comprising an anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody, wherein the heavy chain comprises HVR-H1-H3 of SEQ ID NO: 6-8 and the light chain variable region comprises HVR-L1-L3 of SEQ ID NO: 9-11; wherein at least 95% of the anti-FGFR2IIIb antibodies in the composition are afucosylated. ‘059 claims 2-13, 23, 48, and 50 taught further details of the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody. ‘059 claims 14-22 taught functions of the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody. ‘059 claim 24 taught a pharmaceutical composition comprising the composition of the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody and at least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. ‘059 claim 25 taught
While the claims of ‘059 teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody which can be used for treating solid tumors, ‘059 does not teach: 1) the specific buffer components and concentrations of the formulation; 2) wherein the composition is contained within in a unit dose single-use vial; and 3) wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is not for lyophilization prior to administration to a patient, but this is obvious in view of ‘100 Harding and Kim.
‘100 Harding taught an afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody wherein the heavy chain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 and the light chain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 (pages 1-2, paragraph 6). ‘100 Harding taught treating the solid cancer tumors breast cancer and gastric cancer by administering an effective amount of the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody in a pharmaceutical composition with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (page 2, paragraph 15 and Figures 2-6). ‘100 Harding taught treatment included administering to humans (page 9, paragraph 92), which would be patients. ‘100 Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody was expressed in cell culture at a concentration of 3.5 mg/mL (page 21, paragraph 203). ‘100 Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody was purified by column chromatography and ultrafiltration to concentrate the purified material, then diafiltration to exchange into formulation buffer of 20 mM histidine, 150 mM L-arginine, 0.01% polysorbate 20 and pH 6.0 (page 21, paragraph 203). ‘100 Harding taught liquid formulation (page 21, paragraph 187). ‘100 Harding taught the anti-FGFR2IIIb in a unit dosage form (page 20, paragraph 192) and in a vial (page 20, paragraph 194), which would be a single-use vial.
Kim taught the FGFR2IIIb antibody GAL-FR21 strongly inhibited the growth of SNU-16 gastric tumor xenografts (page 7, paragraph 72). Kim taught HuGAL-FR21 was comprised of VH of SEQ ID NO:10 and VL of SEQ ID NO:9 (Kim claim 18). Kim taught pharmaceutical formulations contain the antibody in a physiologically acceptable carrier, optionally with excipients or stabilizers, in the form of aqueous solutions (page 5, paragraph 52). Kim taught acceptable carriers, excipients or stabilizers are nontoxic to recipients at the dosages and concentrations employed and other standard ingredients are known to those skilled in the art (Remington's Pharmaceutical Science 16.sup.th edition, Osol, A. Ed. 1980) (page 5, paragraph 52). Kim taught the antibody is typically present at a concentration of 10-50 mg/ml (page 5, paragraph 52).
Kang taught by studying commercial antibody products, they established a rich database for successful antibody formulations (page 40, middle column, second paragraph). Kang taught although every antibody is unique, the molecules are highly similar structurally (page 40, middle column, second paragraph). Kang taught lessons learned from successful examples are invaluable in developing stable and effective formulations for new antibody formulations (page 40, middle column, second paragraph). Kang taught 37 formulations that have been successfully used in commercial antibodies, with 25 as liquid formulations, with their concentration ranging from 2 mg/mL to 200 mg/mL (page 40, middle column, third paragraph). Kang taught Table 1 lists excipients used in these antibody formulations. Kang taught some commonalities can be observed: histidine is present in 35% of formulations (page 40, middle column, second bullet), sucrose was present in 30% of liquid formulations (page 40, right column, first bullet), an 80% of formulations used one of three surfactants that includes polysorbate 20 (page 40, middle column, third bullet). Kang taught formulation development wherein stage one identifies the optimal pH, stage 2 identifies stabilizing excipients, and stage 3 is an in depth evaluation of the most stabilizing buffers and excipients (page 42, left column last paragraph to right column, third bullet). Kang taught histidine has a pKa value of 6 (page 42, middle column, second to last paragraph). Kang taught in just a few weeks, researchers can develop a stable formulation for antibody product development (page 45, left column, second paragraph).
Rosenthal taught a liquid formulation used in humans consisting of 10 mg/ml antibody in an aqueous formulation of 10 mM histidine, 275 mM sucrose, 0.01% polysorbate 20, pH 6.0 (page 59, paragraph 506).
Dix taught a formulation for stabilization of an anti-Interleukin-6 receptor (IL-6R) antibody comprising of 25-100 mg/ml antibody, 10 mM histidine, 10% sucrose, 0.2% polysorbate 20, and a pH of 6.0 (Table 9). Dix taught the stability of a 25 mg/ml antibody concentration in 10 mM histidine, 10% sucrose, 0.2% polysorbate 20, and a pH of 6.0 at 5° C, which recovers 97.8% of the native antibody after 12 months (Table 10). Dix taught embodiments where the formulation has a histidine concentration of 20 mM (specification, page 4, paragraph 36), a sucrose concentration of about 9%, which is about 262 mM sucrose (specification, page 4, paragraph 38), and a polysorbate 20 surfactant concentration of 0.01% (specification, page 4, paragraph 40) in a liquid solution (specification, page 9, paragraph 63).
Regarding instant claims 37-38 and 58, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to take the general pharmaceutical composition formula of ‘059 claim 47 for the treatment of a solid tumor comprising the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of ‘056 claims 25 and 31 wherein the heavy chain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2 and the light chain comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 3 – and 1) include the anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody at a concentration of 10-50 mg/ml as taught by Kim, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml; 2) exchange the arginine with sucrose as taught by Harding ‘100; 3) identify the optimal sucrose of a formulations taught by Kang; 4) use a concentration of about 270 mM sucrose for the liquid formulation as taught by Rosenthal; and 5) expect the histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, pH 6.0 solution would be stable as taught by Dix; and 6) not lyophilize the pharmaceutical formulation as taught by Harding ‘100.
This is obvious because the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of ‘056, ‘100 Harding, Kim and the instant application have 100% sequence identity; and 1) Kim taught the antibody at a concentration of 10-50 mg/ml, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml, and the anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of Harding, Kim and the instant application have 100% sequence identity;
2) Harding taught the afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody composition comprises one or more substances that inhibit protein aggregation, including sucrose;
3) Kang taught formulation development wherein stage one identifies the optimal pH, stage 2 identifies stabilizing excipients, and stage 3 is an in depth evaluation of the most stabilizing buffers and excipients. The concentration range of sucrose tested would include 270 mM in view of concentrations in this range known to be effective in view of Rosenthal and Dix;
4) the antibody formulation of Rosenthal with 275 mM sucrose has been used in humans and a sucrose concentration within this range would be acceptable;
5) Dix taught an antibody was stable in a liquid formulation of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, at pH of 6.0, wherein the liquid formulation recovers about 98% of the native antibody after 12 months at 5°C; and
6) ‘100 Harding taught the formulation in liquid form.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because the anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody of ‘056, ‘100 Harding, Kim and the instant application have 100% sequence identity and:
1-2) ‘100 Harding taught cell culture antibody concentrations of 3 mg/ml could be concentrated in this formulation buffer. Further, Harding identified sucrose as an appropriate excipient to prevent aggregation and Kim recognized that the antibody formulations comprising acceptable carriers, excipients or stabilizers are nontoxic to recipients at the dosages and concentrations employed and other standard ingredients are known to those skilled in the art. Thus, utilizing known pharmaceutical reagents to produce stable formulations of known antibodies would further be routinely optimized and the results would affect the formulation within an expected range;
3) Kang recognized that the antibody formulations comprising acceptable carriers, excipients or stabilizers are nontoxic to recipients at the dosages and concentrations employed and other standard ingredients are known to those skilled in the art. Further, Kang taught it is common for commercial antibodies to have a formulation with histidine, sucrose, and a surfactant as polysorbate 20 and that histidine has a pKa of 6. Additionally, concentrations in the range of 270 mM are known to be effective and thus this concentration would be reasonable;
4) a formulation containing about 270 mM sucrose has been previously used in a liquid antibody formulation for humans in an aqueous formulation of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, pH 6.0;
5) Dix taught an antibody was stable in a liquid formulation of histidine, sucrose, polysorbate 20, at pH of 6.0 at 5°C for 12 months; and
6) ‘100 Harding taught the formulation in liquid form in formulation buffer.
This would produce a liquid pharmaceutical composition for a method of treating a solid cancer tumor comprising administering to a human patient (instant claim 58) an effective amount of a composition consisting of:
10-50 mg/ml of an afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml;
20 mM histidine, which is a buffer;
270 mM sucrose;
0.01% polysorbate 20;
pH 6.0,
wherein the heavy chain comprises Harding SEQ ID NO: 2 and the light chain comprises Harding SEQ ID NO: 3, which is identical to the heavy and light chain of instant SEQ ID NO:2 for VH and SEQ ID NO:3 for VL (instant claim 37), wherein no free arginine or other free amino acids other than histidine are in the formulation except the amino acids that comprise the antibody, wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is a liquid not for lyophilization prior to administration to a patient (instant claim 38), wherein the antibody lacks fucose at Asn297 because it is afucosylated, wherein the protein aggregation of the formulation would naturally increase by no more than 2.0% after 6 months of storage at 5°C.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Applicant submits herewith a terminal disclaimer over U.S. Patent No. 11,235,059. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
In response, Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. No terminal disclaimer has been filed. The updated rejection is above.
Claims 37-38, 44, and 58-60 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-59 of U.S. Patent No. 11,235,059 (Harding T et al.) in view of US 20160339100 (Harding T et al., reference of record), US 20100196364 (Kim KJ et al., reference of record), Kang J et al. (BioProcess International 2016 14(4) 40-45, reference of record), US 20080182978 (Rosenthal A et al., reference of record), US 20160002341 (Dix DB et al., reference of record) and Britannica (https://web.archive.org/web/20180926000417/https://www.britannica.com/science/amino-acid, Web Archive 9/26/2018 reference of record).
The claims of the ‘059 patent in view of Harding, Kim, Kang, Rosenthal, and Dix teach the limitations of claims 37-38 and 58 for the reasons set forth above.
‘059, ‘100 Harding, Kim, Kang, Rosenthal, and Dix are described above.
‘059 is silent to the enantiomeric form of histidine, but this is obvious in view of Britannica.
Britannica taught all the amino acids are chiral molecules, wherein one enantiomer is designated D and the other L (page 3, Chirality, first paragraph). Reflecting the near universality of the L enantiomer, the prefix L is usually omitted (page 3, Chirality, first paragraph).
Regarding instant claims 44 and 59-60, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to take the pharmaceutical composition administered for the treatment of a solid cancer tumor of ‘059, Harding, Kim, Kang, Rosenthal, and Dix above – and to use the L enantiomer of the histidine buffer because Britannica taught reflecting the near universality of the L enantiomer, the prefix L is usually omitted.
This would produce a liquid pharmaceutical composition for a method of treating a solid cancer tumor (instant claim 60) comprising administering to a human patient an effective amount of a composition of:
10-50 mg/ml of an afucosylated anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody, which overlaps with 20 mg/ml;
20 mM L-histidine, which is a buffer (instant claim 44 and 59);
270 mM sucrose;
0.01% polysorbate 20;
pH 6.0,
wherein the heavy chain comprises Harding SEQ ID NO: 2 and the light chain comprises Harding SEQ ID NO: 3, which is identical to the heavy and light chain of instant SEQ ID NO:2 for VH and SEQ ID NO:3 for VL, wherein the pharmaceutical formulation consists of anti-FGFR2IIIb antibody, histidine buffer, sucrose and polysorbate 20, wherein the formulation does not comprise protein species other than anti-FGFR2 antibody and free histidine, wherein the composition is contained within in a unit dose single-use vial, wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is not for lyophilization prior to administration to a patient, wherein the antibody lacks fucose at Asn297 because it is afucosylated.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because Britannica taught reflecting the near universality of the L enantiomer, the prefix L is usually omitted. Thus, the L-form of the histidine buffer is what was most likely used in the antibody formulations of ‘100 Harding, Kang, Rosenthal, and Dix.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Applicant submits herewith a terminal disclaimer over U.S. Patent No. 11,235,059. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
In response, Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. No terminal disclaimer has been filed. The updated rejection is above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1643 /Karen A. Canella/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643