DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Claim Status
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 10/15/25 are acknowledged. Any objection or rejection from the 7/16/25 office action that is not addressed below is withdrawn based on the amendments and/or arguments
Previously, Group 1 and the species of SEQ ID NO: 16 were elected.
Claims 38 and 41-44 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/20/24.
Claims to the elected species are rejected as set forth below. Any relevant art that was uncovered during the search for the elected species is cited herein in order to advance prosecution. Claims 34-37 and 45 are drawn to non-elected species since they require additional features not present in the elected species. Since SEQ ID NO:16 was elected, claims 51 and 53 are interpreted as being drawn to non-elected species. Although unclear, claims 50 and 52 have been interpreted as reading on the elected species.
Claims 34-37, 45, 51 and 53 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/20/24.
Claims 1-25, 27-33, 39-40 and 46-49 have been canceled.
Claims 26, 50 and 52 are being examined.
Priority
The priority information is found in the filing receipt of 2/15/24.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/15/25 and 9/26/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 112 rejections below are new rejections necessitated by amendment.
Claims 50 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 50 refers to ‘variant of a protein’ and then goes on to recite ‘mutations correspond to those present in any of SEQ ID NOs: 16 to 20 relative to SEQ ID NO:1’. With respect to mutations present in SEQ ID NO:17, SEQ ID NO:17 is such that residues 7-8, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46 can be any naturally occurring amino acid. It is unclear if the mutation has to be specifically recited to ‘correspond to those present’ or if the mutation can be any of the possible mutations of SEQ ID NO:17.
Claim 50 recites ‘the mutations correspond to those present in any of SEQ ID NOs: 16 to 20’ but also recites that the protein is selected from SEQ ID NOs: 1 to 14 and SEQ ID NO:21. Claim 50 recites ‘correspondence between residues determined by sequence alignment among SEQ ID NOs: 1 to 14 and SEQ ID NO:21’. SEQ ID NOs: 1-14 and 21 are of various lengths including 60, 61, 62, 64, 65 and 66 residues. Acceptable locations of modifications are unclear because even though the claim refers to ‘determined by sequence alignment’ such language does not specify how the specific numeric value (for example residue 40) is determined for proteins of different length. Figure 1 shows gaps (i.e. ‘-‘) in certain sequences including SEQ ID NO:1. It is unclear if the dash is to be considered in the counting. The mixing and matching of sequences and residues makes the scope of the claim unclear.
Dependent claim 52 does not clarify the claim scope.
Although unclear, claim 50 has been interpreted as encompassing at least SEQ ID NOs: 16-20. Claim 52 has been interpreted as encompassing at least SEQ ID NO:16. Although unclear, claims 50 and 52 have been interpreted as being 101 compliant and 112(a)/1st compliant.
Response to Arguments - 112
The rejection above is a new rejection.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejection above.
Although applicants argue that these express definitions allow one to determine which scaffolds are encompassed and which residues are subject to substitution, as set forth above the scope of claims 50 and 52 is unclear. The specification does not include any relevant express definitions nor does claim 50 or 52 recite scaffold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims were previously rejected under 103 based on the references cited below. Since the claims have been amended the rejection is updated.
Claim(s) 26 and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’).
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Pecorari does not provide an example that reads on claims 26 and 50.
Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Pecorari based on the specific teachings and suggestions of Pecorari. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Claim(s) 26, 50 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’) in view of Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) in view of Borns M (US 2007/0141591; ‘Borns’).
Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) is not in the English language. The English language equivalent is US 20180085427 (‘Kitten’) which will be referred to herein.
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9). In figure 8, Pecorari shows regions for modification. Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Pecorari does not recite the elected species in a specific example.
Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010).
Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Pecorari based on the specific teachings and suggestions of Pecorari. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. Further, since Kitten and Borns teach known modifications of Sac7d, one would have been motivated to incorporate known modifications. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
In relation to claims 26, 50 and 52 and the elected species, Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) thus one would have been motivated to choose any combination of such residues (compare MPEP 2144.05). Further, Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Further, Pecorari recognizes modifications in the region of residues 35-40 (section 0014) which includes residue 35. Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010). Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041). Thus, the prior art suggest modifications at K7 and Y8 and K9 and E11 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and D35 and T40 and G41 and R42 and A44 and S46. Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since the prior art suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Response to Arguments - 103
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejections set forth above.
Although applicants argue about a lack of teaching of the residue patterns at 31/33/40/42, claim 7 of Pecorari expressly teach randomization of residues of Sac7d at positions including S31, T33, T40 and R42. The previous office action and current office action expressly refer to MPEP 2144.05 which recites: “When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
Although applicants argue about a lack of teaching of selecting mutants with certain properties, instant claims 26, 50 and 52 are product claims. As product claims they do not require methods of selection.
Although applicants argue about a lack of teaching of achieving functional selectivity at the trimerization interface, instant claims 26, 50 and 52 are product claims. As product claims they do not require methods of achieving selectivity.
Although applicants argue that a 15-20 position library presents vast combinatorial space not a finite, identified set for achieving selectivity, Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). A 20 position library with any 20 amino acids at each position includes a finite number of sequences (i.e. 2020). With respect to achieving selectivity, MPEP 2144 IV recognizes that a rationale different from applicant’s is permissible and that it is not necessary that the prior art suggest the same advantage or result discovered by the applicant. Pecorari expressly teach libraries for a purpose of binding to a target (claims 1-7).
Although applicants argue that the claimed functional limitation is not met, MPEP 2112.01 recognizes that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. The elected species is SEQ ID NO:16. The rejection above addresses how the claim limitations are met. Since the prior art suggest SEQ ID NO:16 (and other species within the scope of claims 26 and 50) such proteins would function as claimed.
US 10,548,945 is cited as part of a double patenting rejection below. Prior to issuance, the Board affirmed a 103 rejection based on a Pecorari reference over claims drawn to a genus of proteins (see claim set of 1/29/18 and board decision of 7/17/19 in application 14/786,287). As stated on page 9 of the board decision of 7/17/19: “Appellant’s contention is also not persuasive because Pecorari suggests compositions within the scope of Appellant’s claim 1, such as a Sac7d OB-fold protein that has been modified at 5 residues selected from the group consisting of V2, K3, K5, K7, Y8, K9, G10, E14, T17, K21, K22, W24, V26, G27, K28, M29, S31, T33, D36, N37, G38, K39, T40, R42, A44, S46, E47, K48, D49, A50, and P51 of Sac7d (see FF 7-11). “From the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing.” In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391 (CCPA 1963). Thus, absent evidence to the contrary, Pecorari’s composition will exhibit the same properties as Appellant’s claimed composition.”. The instant facts considerably align with such case, specifically a 103 rejection of a genus claim encompassing Sac7d variants based on a Pecorari reference. The properties recited in the claims of application 14/786,287 were not sufficient to overcome the 103 rejection and there is no adequate and sufficient reason why one would come to a different conclusion in the instant case.
Although applicants argue that merely generating or manipulating sequences does not equate to what is claimed, instant claims 26, 50 and 52 are product claims. Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Thus, one would have had a reasonable expectation of success in generating polypeptides.
Although applicants argue about unexpected properties, such arguments were addressed in a previous office action (see 7/16/25).
Although applicants argue about claims 46 and 48, such claims have been canceled.
Although applicants argue that there is no reasonable expectation of success with respect to selective binding, the instant claims are not drawn to methods of selective binding. The instant claims are drawn to polypeptides. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
Double Patenting
Claims were previously rejected under double patenting based on patents, applications and references cited below. Since the claims have been amended, the rejections are updated to correspond to the instant claims. Further, new rejections are also set forth below.
Claims 26, 20 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,293,025 (025) in view of Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’) in view of Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) in view of Borns M (US 2007/0141591; ‘Borns’).
Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) is not in the English language. The English language equivalent is US 20180085427 (‘Kitten’) which will be referred to herein.
025 recites Sac7d (claim 2) with 5-32 mutated residues (claim 1).
025 does not recite any species in the claims.
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9). In figure 8, Pecorari shows regions for modification. Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11is in the binding domain (section 0010).
Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 025 because 025 specifically recites Sac7d (claim 2) and the other references provide known additional details about such protein. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. Further, since Kitten and Borns teach known modifications of Sac7d, one would have been motivated to incorporate known modifications. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
In relation to claims 26, 50 and 52 and the elected species, Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) thus one would have been motivated to choose any combination of such residues (compare MPEP 2144.05). Further, Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Further, Pecorari recognizes modifications in the region of residues 35-40 (section 0014) which includes residue 35. Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010). Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041). Thus, the prior art suggest modifications at K7 and Y8 and K9 and E11 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and D35 and T40 and G41 and R42 and A44 and S46. Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since the prior art suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Claims 26, 50 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,548,945 (945) in view of Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’) in view of Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) in view of Borns M (US 2007/0141591; ‘Borns’).
Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) is not in the English language. The English language equivalent is US 20180085427 (‘Kitten’) which will be referred to herein.
945 recites methods that require variant proteins that are variants of Sac7d specifically those with particular mutated residues (claim 1).
945 does not recite any species in the claims.
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9). In figure 8, Pecorari shows regions for modification. Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010).
Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 945 because 945 specifically recites Sac7d (claim 1) and the other references provide known additional details about such protein. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. Further, since Kitten and Borns teach known modifications of Sac7d, one would have been motivated to incorporate known modifications. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
In relation to claims 26, 50 and 52 and the elected species, Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) thus one would have been motivated to choose any combination of such residues (compare MPEP 2144.05). Further, Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Further, Pecorari recognizes modifications in the region of residues 35-40 (section 0014) which includes residue 35. Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010). Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041). Thus, the prior art suggest modifications at K7 and Y8 and K9 and E11 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and D35 and T40 and G41 and R42 and A44 and S46. Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since the prior art suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Claims 26, 50 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,898,542 (542) in view of Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’) in view of Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) in view of Borns M (US 2007/0141591; ‘Borns’).
Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) is not in the English language. The English language equivalent is US 20180085427 (‘Kitten’) which will be referred to herein.
542 recites methods that require variant proteins that are variants of Sac7d specifically those with particular mutated residues (claim 1).
542 does not recite any species in the claims.
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9). In figure 8, Pecorari shows regions for modification. Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010).
Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 542 because 542 specifically recites Sac7d (claim 1) and the other references provide known additional details about such protein. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. Further, since Kitten and Borns teach known modifications of Sac7d, one would have been motivated to incorporate known modifications. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
In relation to claims 26, 50 and 52 and the elected species, Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) thus one would have been motivated to choose any combination of such residues (compare MPEP 2144.05). Further, Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Further, Pecorari recognizes modifications in the region of residues 35-40 (section 0014) which includes residue 35. Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010). Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041). Thus, the prior art suggest modifications at K7 and Y8 and K9 and E11 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and D35 and T40 and G41 and R42 and A44 and S46. Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since the prior art suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Claims 26, 50 and 52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,932,674 (674) in view of Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’) in view of Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) in view of Borns M (US 2007/0141591; ‘Borns’).
Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) is not in the English language. The English language equivalent is US 20180085427 (‘Kitten’) which will be referred to herein.
674 recites Sac7d (claim 6) with 5-20 mutated residues (claims 6-7).
674 does not recite any species in the claims.
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9). In figure 8, Pecorari shows regions for modification. Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010).
Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 674 because 674 specifically recites Sac7d (claim 6) and the other references provide known additional details about such protein. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. Further, since Kitten and Borns teach known modifications of Sac7d, one would have been motivated to incorporate known modifications. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
In relation to claims 26, 50 and 52 and the elected species, Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) thus one would have been motivated to choose any combination of such residues (compare MPEP 2144.05). Further, Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Further, Pecorari recognizes modifications in the region of residues 35-40 (section 0014) which includes residue 35. Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010). Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041). Thus, the prior art suggest modifications at K7 and Y8 and K9 and E11 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and D35 and T40 and G41 and R42 and A44 and S46. Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since the prior art suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Claims 26, 50 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/435,494 (494) in view of Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’) in view of Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) in view of Borns M (US 2007/0141591; ‘Borns’).
Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) is not in the English language. The English language equivalent is US 20180085427 (‘Kitten’) which will be referred to herein.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
494 recites Sac7d (claim 1) with specific mutated residues (claim 2).
494 does not recite any species in the claims.
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9). In figure 8, Pecorari shows regions for modification. Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010).
Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 494 because 494 specifically recites Sac7d (claim 1) and the other references provide known additional details about such protein. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. Further, since Kitten and Borns teach known modifications of Sac7d, one would have been motivated to incorporate known modifications. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
In relation to claims 26, 50 and 52 and the elected species, Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) thus one would have been motivated to choose any combination of such residues (compare MPEP 2144.05). Further, Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Further, Pecorari recognizes modifications in the region of residues 35-40 (section 0014) which includes residue 35. Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010). Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041). Thus, the prior art suggest modifications at K7 and Y8 and K9 and E11 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and D35 and T40 and G41 and R42 and A44 and S46. Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since the prior art suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Claims 26, 50 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of copending Application No. 17/906,000 (000) in view of Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’) in view of Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) in view of Borns M (US 2007/0141591; ‘Borns’).
Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) is not in the English language. The English language equivalent is US 20180085427 (‘Kitten’) which will be referred to herein.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
000 recites Sac7d (claim 1) with specific mutated residues (claim 1).
000 does not recite the elected species in the claims.
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9). In figure 8, Pecorari shows regions for modification. Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010).
Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 000 because 000 specifically recites Sac7d (claim 1) and the other references provide known additional details about such protein. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. Further, since Kitten and Borns teach known modifications of Sac7d, one would have been motivated to incorporate known modifications. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
In relation to claims 26, 50 and 52 and the elected species, Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) thus one would have been motivated to choose any combination of such residues (compare MPEP 2144.05). Further, Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Further, Pecorari recognizes modifications in the region of residues 35-40 (section 0014) which includes residue 35. Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010). Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041). Thus, the prior art suggest modifications at K7 and Y8 and K9 and E11 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and D35 and T40 and G41 and R42 and A44 and S46. Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since the prior art suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Claims 26, 50 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/715,929 (929) in view of Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’) in view of Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) in view of Borns M (US 2007/0141591; ‘Borns’).
Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) is not in the English language. The English language equivalent is US 20180085427 (‘Kitten’) which will be referred to herein.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
929 recites Sac7d with mutated residues (claim 1).
929 does not recite the elected species in the claims.
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9). In figure 8, Pecorari shows regions for modification. Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010).
Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 929 because 929 specifically recites Sac7d (claim 1) and the other references provide known additional details about such protein. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. Further, since Kitten and Borns teach known modifications of Sac7d, one would have been motivated to incorporate known modifications. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
In relation to claims 26, 50 and 52 and the elected species, Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) thus one would have been motivated to choose any combination of such residues (compare MPEP 2144.05). Further, Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Further, Pecorari recognizes modifications in the region of residues 35-40 (section 0014) which includes residue 35. Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010). Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041). Thus, the prior art suggest modifications at K7 and Y8 and K9 and E11 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and D35 and T40 and G41 and R42 and A44 and S46. Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since the prior art suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Claims 26, 50 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/282,613 (613) in view of Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’) in view of Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) in view of Borns M (US 2007/0141591; ‘Borns’).
Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) is not in the English language. The English language equivalent is US 20180085427 (‘Kitten’) which will be referred to herein.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
613 recites Sac7d with mutated residues (claim 1).
613 does not recite the elected species in the claims.
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9). In figure 8, Pecorari shows regions for modification. Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010).
Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 613 because 613 specifically recites Sac7d (claim 1) and the other references provide known additional details about such protein. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. Further, since Kitten and Borns teach known modifications of Sac7d, one would have been motivated to incorporate known modifications. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
In relation to claims 26, 50 and 52 and the elected species, Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) thus one would have been motivated to choose any combination of such residues (compare MPEP 2144.05). Further, Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Further, Pecorari recognizes modifications in the region of residues 35-40 (section 0014) which includes residue 35. Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010). Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041). Thus, the prior art suggest modifications at K7 and Y8 and K9 and E11 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and D35 and T40 and G41 and R42 and A44 and S46. Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since the prior art suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Claims 26, 50 and 52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/277,126 (126) in view of Pecorari et al. (EP 1930342 as cited with IDS 4/7/21; ‘Pecorari’) in view of Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) in view of Borns M (US 2007/0141591; ‘Borns’).
Kitten O (WO 2016/062874) is not in the English language. The English language equivalent is US 20180085427 (‘Kitten’) which will be referred to herein.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
126 recites Sac7d with mutated residues (claim 1).
126 does not recite the elected species in the claims.
Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach methods of obtaining molecules through a combinatorial mutation/selection approach (abstract). Pecorari teach that various libraries were designed and made (examples 1-5) where the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15) and the variants offer numerous advantageous properties (section 0084). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9). In figure 8, Pecorari shows regions for modification. Pecorari teach that the invention provides means for obtaining stable molecules (abstract).
Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010).
Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of 126 because 126 specifically recites Sac7d (claim 1) and the other references provide known additional details about such protein. Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010). In claim 8, Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including S31, T33, T40 and R42. Thus one would have been motivated to modify the residues suggested by Pecorari. Further, since Kitten and Borns teach known modifications of Sac7d, one would have been motivated to incorporate known modifications. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Pecorari teach that Sac7d is tolerant to substitution and variants retained satisfactory properties (page 13 lines 13-15). Pecorari teach that methods of making the libraries and individual proteins were known (pages 8-9).
In relation to claims 26 and 50, Pecorari teach combinatorial libraries which correspond to randomization of certain residues of Sac7d (claim 7 for example). Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) (compare MPEP 2144.05). Pecorari recites specific residues for modification including K7, S31, T33, T40 and R42 (claim 8) (compare instant SEQ ID NO: 17 which in relation to SEQ ID NO:1 requires modifications at positions 31, 33, 40 and 42 and allows any residue at positions 7-9, 11, 21-22, 24, 26, 29, 35, 41, 44 and 46). Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since Pecorari suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
In relation to claims 26, 50 and 52 and the elected species, Pecorari teach 5 to 32 residues that are modified (section 0010) thus one would have been motivated to choose any combination of such residues (compare MPEP 2144.05). Further, Pecorari expressly teach specific residues for modification including K7 and Y8 and K9 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and T40 and R42 and A44 and S46 (claim 7). Further, Pecorari recognizes modifications in the region of residues 35-40 (section 0014) which includes residue 35. Kitten teach Sac7d and recite that E11 is in the binding domain (section 0010). Borns teach Sac7d and teach that a residue for modification is G41 (section 0041). Thus, the prior art suggest modifications at K7 and Y8 and K9 and E11 and K21 and K22 and W24 and V26 and M29 and S31 and T33 and D35 and T40 and G41 and R42 and A44 and S46. Pecorari teach that the substitutions allow representation of all amino acids (section 0058). Since there are 20 possible encoded amino acids there are a finite number of amino acids at each position for substitution. Since the prior art suggest sequences as claimed they have been interpreted as meeting the functional limitation.
Response to Arguments – double patenting
Applicant's arguments and affidavit filed 10/15/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejections set forth above.
Although applicants argue about the reasons set forth in the reply to the obviousness rejection, such arguments are addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RONALD T. NIEBAUER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/RONALD T NIEBAUER/Examiner, Art Unit 1658