DETAILED ACTION
CLEANER HEAD
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 03-23-2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3,5-16,18-22 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant’s amendment overcomes the drawing objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office action mailed 01-06-2026. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03-23-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the prior art combination of Worwag and Sun fail to teach the limitation, "a cantilevered support member having a first fixed that is pivotally fixed to a side of first side wall within a suction chamber", required in the independent claims, examiner respectfully disagrees.
Prior art Worwag discloses a support member that includes a drive assembly comprising a motor and forming part of the support member (see figure 5-10), and prior art Sun discloses a support member that moves in a cantilever motion to be removed from the cleaner body (see figure 10). Further, Claims require end to be pivotally fixed, not one end to be permanently fixed.
Additionally, examiner recommends adding structural limitations that are supported in the instant application’s disclosure, specifically further defining the specific structure that allows the support member to perform the claimed cantilever function within the independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 22, line 3 recites " first fixed end of he support member" should be change “first fixed end of the support member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6-11,15,18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worwag (US6134745A) in view of Sun et al. (US20180184871A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11,
Worwag teaches a vacuum cleaner (“ connecting the suction nozzle 1 to a non-illustrated vacuum cleaner”)that connects to a cleaner head (1, figure 1) that includes body (combined 2 and 6, figure 1) comprising a cover (2, figure 1) and first (63, figure 6) and second side walls (64, figure 6) connected with the cover (2, figures 1, 6) on opposite sides of the cover, wherein the cover and the first and second side walls together form a suction chamber (4, figure 1) and define a suction opening (5, figure 1) on an underside of the body (figure 2); an agitator (25, figure 5)comprising a hollow body (27 ,figure 5-9); a support member (56, figure 5) having a first fixed end (58,59, figures 5- 9) that is pivotally fixed (28, figures 5-9) via (38, figures 5-9) to a side of the first side wall within the suction chamber, and a second free end (34, figure 9) that is free (figure 8) and over which the hollow body of the agitator ( 27, figure 9) can be slideably received (figure 9); and a drive assembly (abstract, col 3 lines 4-60) comprising a motor (30, figure 5) and forming part of the support member (56, figure 5), and arranged to rotate the agitator about an axis (37, figure 7), wherein the first fixed end of the support member is pivotably fixed (39, figure 6) to the side of the first side wall (63, figures 6 an 7 ; col 3 lines 36- 46) within the suction chamber (4, figure 1) such that the second free end of the support member can be pivoted to protrude together (figure 7) with drive assembly (30, figure 5) and the agitator (25, figure 6) out from the suction chamber and through the suction opening defined on the underside of the body (col 4 lines 61-67; figures 6-8) to allow the agitator (25, figures 1-8) to be removed and replaced through the suction opening (col 5 lines 1-33).
Worwag fails to teach a cantilevered support member, and that the agitator is removed and replaced due to the cleaner head’s support member, agitator and drive assembly are cantilevered and the fixed end of the support while the first fixed end of the support member remains pivotally fixed to the side of the first side wall within the suction chamber, to allow the agitator to be removed and replaced through the suction opening.
Sun teaches a robotic vacuum cleaner (abstract) that has a cantilevered support member (130, figure 10), and where the agitator is removed and replaced (see para 0144) due to the cleaner head’s support member that is pivotally fixed to a side (see 138, figure 10).
Since Worwag and Sun both teach cleaning assemblies that have removable agitators. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the cantilever mounting arrangement that as set forth in Sun in attempt to have a simplified mounting arrangement and be able to quickly replace a brush roll as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to purse known options within his or her technical grasp.
Further, Worwag as modified would teach that the agitator is removed and replaced due to the cleaner head’s support member, agitator and drive assembly are cantilevered and the fixed end of the support while the first fixed end of the support member remains pivotally fixed to the side of the first side wall within the suction chamber, to allow the agitator to be removed and replaced through the suction opening. (see Worwag, figures 1-9 and Sun, figure 10)
Regarding claim 2, modified Worwag teaches the suction opening (see Worwag 5, figures 1-3) is downward facing.
Regarding claim 3, modified Worwag teaches wherein the fixed end of the cantilevered support member being pivotably fixed (see Sun 138, figure 10) to the side of the first side wall allows for the second free end a second free end (see Worwag 34, figure 9) of the cantilevered support member (see Sun, figure 10) is to be pivoted to protrude to together with the drive assembly and the agitator out from the suction chamber by the pivoting in a controlled way that ensures that the cantilevered support member pivots only to a desired pivot point and is not over-pivoted beyond the desired pivot point (see Sun, figure 10; para 0104-0110).
Regarding claim 6, modified Worwag teaches the drive assembly (see Worwag abstract, col 3 lines 4-60) comprises a drive dog (see Worwag col 3 lines 15-30) that is configured to engage with a complimentary drive dog receiving portion provided on the agitator.
Regarding claim 7, modified Worwag teaches herein the drive assembly (see Worwag abstract, col 3 lines 4-60) is operable to be soft mounted to an inside surface of the agitator.
Regarding claim 8, modified Worwag teaches a retaining frame (see Worwag 6, figure 1)operable to prevent pivoting of the cantilevered support member (see Worwag 56, figure 5 and (see Sun, figure 10; para 0104-0110) and to retain the agitator in place in the cleaner head.
Regarding claim 9, modified Worwag teaches retaining frame (see Worwag 6, figure 1) is pivotably mounted to an edge of the suction opening. (see Worwag 6, figure 1col 2 lines 67- col 3 lines 11)
Regarding claim 10, modified Worwag teaches a catch (see Worwag 29, figures 6-8) operable to engage with a second free end (see Worwag 34, figure 8; col 3 lines 32-33) of the agitator (see Worwag 25, figure 8) to prevent the agitator from pivoting out from the suction chamber through the suction opening, and to retain the agitator in the suction chamber of the cleaner head.
Regarding claim 15, modified Worwag teaches an attachment portion (see Worwag 3, figure 1) operably coupled with the body and configured to attach the cleaner head with an associated vacuum (see Worwag col 3 lines 45-50).’
Regarding claim 18, modified Worwag the drive assembly comprises an outer rotor configuration of the motor (see Worwag 30, figure 5-9) configured (capable of performing this action) to engage an inside circumferential surface of the agitator and to rotate relative to other portions of the cantilevered support member to drive rotation of the agitator directly.
Regarding claim 19, modified Worwag teaches wherein the fixed end of the cantilevered support member being pivotably fixed to the side of the first side wall (see Worwag 38, figure 8 and Song, figure 10) allows for the second free end a second free end (see Worwag 34, figure 9) of the cantilevered support member (see Sun, figure 10) is to be pivoted to protrude to together with the drive assembly and the agitator out from the suction chamber by the pivoting in a controlled way that ensures that the cantilevered support member pivots only to a desired pivot point and is not over-pivoted beyond the desired pivot point (see Sun, figure 10; para 0104-0110).
Claim(s) 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worwag (US6134745A) in view of Sun et al. (US20180184871A1) and as applied to claims 1 and 11 further in view of Dyson (US20130205539A1)
Regarding claim 5, modified Worwag teaches all limitations stated above and cantilever support member (see Worwag 38, figure 8 & Sun, figure 10) ,but fails to teach a cooling airflow pathway that passes through the first fixed end of the support member to provide cooling airflow to the drive assembly.
Dyson teaches a cleaner head for a vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes an agitator ( 6, figure 8) and a cooling airflow at end of the agitator that passes through provide cooling airflow to the drive assembly (para 0045,0053)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Worwag’s agitator to include the teachings of Dyson’s where the cooling airflow at the end of the agitator. This modification would allow for the motor to be cool while the cleaner is in use (see Dyson’s abstract).
Regarding claim 20, modified Worwag teaches all limitations stated above and cantilever support member (see Worwag 38, figure 8 and Sun, figure 10) ,but fails to teach a cooling airflow pathway that passes through the first end of the support member to provide cooling airflow to the drive assembly.
Dyson teaches a cleaner head for a vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes an agitator ( 6, figure 8) and a cooling airflow at end of the agitator that passes through provide cooling airflow to the drive assembly (para 0045,0053)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Worwag’s agitator to include the teachings of Dyson’s where the cooling airflow at the end of the agitator. This modification would allow for the motor to be cool while the cleaner is in use (see Dyson’s abstract).
Claim(s) 12-14,21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worwag (US6134745A) in view of Sun et al. (US20180184871A1) and Nam et al. (US20170332857A1)
Regarding claim 12, Worwag teaches a vacuum cleaner (“ connecting the suction nozzle 1 to a non-illustrated vacuum cleaner”)that connects to a cleaner head (1, figure 1) that includes body (combined 2 and 6, figure 1) comprising a cover (2, figure 1) and first (63, figure 6) and second side walls (64, figure 6) connected with the cover (2, figures 1, 6) on opposite sides of the cover, wherein the cover and the first and second side walls together form a suction chamber (4, figure 1) and define a suction opening (5, figure 1) on an underside of the body (figure 2); an agitator (25, figure 5)comprising a hollow body (27 ,figure 5-9); a support member (56, figure 5) having a first fixed end (58,59, figures 5- 9) that is fixed (28, figures 5-9) via a pivotally fixed (38, figures 5-9) to a side of the first side wall within the suction chamber, and a second free end (34, figure 9) that is free (figure 8) and over which the hollow body of the agitator ( 27, figure 9) can be slideably received (figure 9); and a drive assembly (abstract, col 3 lines 4-60) comprising a motor (30, figure 5) and forming part of the support member (56, figure 5), and arranged to rotate the agitator about an axis (37, figure 7), wherein the first fixed end of the support member is pivotably fixed (39, figure 6) to the side of the first side wall (63, figures 6 an 7 ; col 3 lines 36- 46) within the suction chamber (4, figure 1) such that the second free end of the support member (30, figure 5), can be pivoted to protrude together (figure 7) with the drive assembly and the agitator (25, figure 6) out from the suction chamber and through the suction opening defined on the underside of the body (col 4 lines 61-67; figures 6-8) to allow the agitator (25, figures 1-8) to be removed and replaced through the suction opening (col 5 lines 1-33).
Worwag fails to teach that the vacuum cleaner that attaches to the cleaner head is a robotic cleaner, cantilevered support member, and the agitator is removed and replaced due to the cleaner head’s support member, agitator and drive assembly are cantilevered and the fixed end of the support while the first fixed end of the cantilevered support member remains pivotally fixed to the side of the first side wall within the suction chamber, to allow the agitator to be removed and replaced through the suction opening.
Sun teaches a robotic vacuum cleaner (abstract) that has a cantilevered support member (130, figure 10), and where the agitator is removed and replaced (see para 0144) due to the cleaner head’s support member that is pivotally fixed (see 138, figure 10).
Since Worwag and Sun both teach cleaning assemblies that have removable agitators. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the cantilever mounting arrangement as set forth in Sun in attempt to have a simplified mounting arrangement and be able to quickly replace a brush roll as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to purse known options within his or her technical grasp.
Nam teaches robotic cleaner with a cleaner head (230, figure 38 para 0088,0336) that has outer faces of the sides of the cleaner head form part of the outer surface (See Nam para 0415) of the robotic vacuum cleaner, and are sensitive to physical contact with an obstacle (see para 0413-0416).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Worwag to include the teachings of Nam’s robotic cleaner and cleaner head . This modification would ensure that a vacuum cleaner’s cleaner head can sense obstacles (see Nam, abstract) and a vacuum cleaner that can be moved autonomously (see Nam, abstract).
Further, modified Worwag would teach cantilevered support member, and the agitator is removed and replaced due to the cleaner head’s support member, agitator and drive assembly are cantilevered and the fixed end of the support while the first fixed end of the cantilevered support member remains pivotally fixed to the side of the first side wall within the suction chamber, to allow the agitator to be removed and replaced through the suction opening. (see Worwag, figures 1-9 and Sun, figure 10)
Regarding claim 13, modified Worwag teaches teach outer faces of the cleaner head (see Nam 230, figure 38 para 0088,0336) form part of an outer surface of the robotic vacuum cleaner (See Nam para 0415), and are sensitive to physical contact with an obstacle. (see Nam para 0413-0416, figures 47).
Regarding claim 14, Worwag teaches the robotic vacuum cleaner comprises at least one microswitch (see Nam micro switch 222a-222c) that is triggered when a side of the cleaner head physically contacts an obstacle (see Nam para 0352-0356,0413-0416).
Regarding claim 21, modified Worwag teaches fixed end of the cantilevered support member being pivotably fixed to the side of the first side wall (see Worwag 38, figure 8 and Sun, figure 10) allows for the second free end a second free end (see Worwag 34, figure 9) of the cantilevered support member (see Sun, figure 10) is to be pivoted to protrude to together with the drive assembly and the agitator out from the suction chamber by the pivoting in a controlled way that ensures that the cantilevered support member pivots only to a desired pivot point and is not over-pivoted beyond the desired pivot point (see Sun, figure 10; para 0104-0110).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worwag Worwag (US6134745A) in view of Sun et al. (US20180184871A1) further in view of Nam et al. (US20170332857 A1)
Regarding claim 16, modified Worwag teaches all limitations stated above but fails to teach a main body of a robotic vacuum cleaner operatively coupled with the body of the cleaner head;
a drive system housed in the main body, the drive system comprising wheels that are operable to be differentially driven for the robotic vacuum cleaner to autonomously navigate around an environment; and
a suction motor housed in the main body, the suction motor being operable to draw dirty air from the cleaner.
Worwag does disclose the cleaner head is connected to a vacuum cleaner (see Worwag col 3 lines 45-50).
Nam teaches robotic cleaner with a cleaner head where the robotic cleaner a main body (see Nam 310, figure 56) of a robotic vacuum cleaner (abstract) operatively coupled with the body of the cleaner head (see 320, figure 56);
a drive system (see Nam para 0426-0427) housed in the main body, the drive system comprising wheels that are operable to be differentially driven for the robotic vacuum cleaner to autonomously navigate around an environment;
a suction motor (see Nam para 0218) housed in the main body, the suction motor being operable to draw dirty air from the cleaner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Worwag to include the teachings of Nam’s robotic cleaner and cleaner head . This modification would ensure that a vacuum cleaner’s cleaner head can sense obstacles and be moved autonomously (see Nam, abstract).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worwag (US6134745A) in view of Sun et al. (US20180184871A1) and as applied to claim 12, further in view of Dyson (US20130205539A1)
Regarding claim 22,modified Worwag teaches all limitations stated above and cantilever support member (see Worwag 38, figure 8 and Sun, figure 10) ,but fails to teach a cooling airflow pathway that passes through the first fixed end of the support member to provide cooling airflow to the drive assembly.
Dyson teaches a cleaner head for a vacuum cleaner (abstract) that includes an agitator ( 6, figure 8) and a cooling airflow at end of the agitator that passes through provide cooling airflow to the drive assembly (para 0045,0053)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Worwag’s agitator to include the teachings of Dyson’s where the cooling airflow at the end of the agitator. This modification would allow for the motor to be cool while the cleaner is in use (see Dyson’s abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US3892003A discloses a power floor treating apparatus .
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723