DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on December 22, 2025 is acknowledged. Three pages of amended drawings and three pages amended claims were received on 12/22/2025. The drawings remain objected to as noted below. Claims 1-3, 6, 9-10, 12, and 15 have been amended. Claim 11 has been cancelled. The claims have been amended to overcome previous claim objections and previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 9/25/2025. Claims 1-3, 6, 9-10, 12, 14-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as noted below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because cross sectional views of Fig. 2D and Fig. 3B do not have section cut lines applied in Fig. 2C and Fig. 3A that they correspond to. See MPEP 608.02 V.h.3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-10, 12, 14-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-H08117253-A to Matsuura (“Matsuura”) in view of US Patent 11,234,801 B1 to Hanuschik et al. (“Hanuschik”).
As to Claim 1, Matsuura discloses a nozzle member (See #2 in Fig. 1 and See Fig. 6) for a personal care device (See Figs. 1-2 showing the entire personal care device. See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraph 4 disclosing a mouth washing device.) comprising a body portion (See #1 in Fig. 2) having a reservoir (#6) containing liquid therein (See Machine Translation of Description Page 2 Paragraph 6), the nozzle member comprising:
a nozzle head positioned at an end of the nozzle member (See Annotated Fig. 6);
at least one orifice formed in a surface of the nozzle head (#2a) wherein the at least one orifice comprises at least one liquid jet orifice (See Annotated Fig. 6) configured to emit the liquid from the nozzle head in form of a jet (See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraph 2); and
a tip (#41) fixedly attached to the surface of a nozzle head (See Annotated Fig. 6, the tip is integrally fixed to the surface of the nozzle head) adjacent to the least one orifice and extending outwardly therefrom (See Annotated Fig. 6), such that the at least one orifice is recessed within the tip (See Annotated Fig. 6) and comprises an orifice surface (See Annotated Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 1, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura as applied to Claim 1 above, Matsuura does not disclose the at least one orifice comprising at least one liquid sheet orifice configured to emit the liquid from the nozzle head in form of a continuous liquid sheet, wherein the at least one liquid sheet orifice comprises a plurality rounded grooves formed in the orifice surface, each of the plurality of rounded grooves extending outwardly from the at least one liquid jet orifice toward a peripheral rim of the orifice surface and terminating within an intermediate portion of the orifice surface spaced inwardly from the peripheral rim. (See Annotated Fig. 6, the at least one orifice is made up of a single liquid jet orifice).
However, Hanuschik discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fluid spraying (See Col. 1 Lines 40-57) a nozzle member (See #204 in Fig. 2A) comprising at least one orifice (See Annotated Fig. 3A showing a single orifice) formed in a surface of a nozzle head (See Col. 14 Lines 40-43), wherein the at least one orifice comprises at least one liquid jet orifice (See Annotated Fig. 3A) configured to emit liquid from the nozzle head in form of a jet (See Annotated Fig. 3A, the center hole formed in the orifice is capable of emitting liquid from the nozzle head as a stream that is a jet at certain pressures. See Col. 14 Lines 20-25 disclosing a jet being sprayed.) and at least one liquid sheet orifice (See Annotated Fig. 3A showing six liquid sheet orifices) configured to emit the liquid from the nozzle head in form of a continuous liquid sheet (See Annotated Fig. 3A, the six liquid sheet orifices are structured such that they are capable of emitting liquid from the nozzle head as continuous sheets at certain fluid pressures. Furthermore, Col. 17 Lines 14-20 discloses lobes yielding a sheet spray, thus the liquid sheet orifices in Annotated Fig. 3A are understood to be able to yield a sheet spray), wherein the at least one liquid sheet orifice comprises a plurality of rounded grooves formed in an orifice surface of the at least one orifice (See Annotated Fig. 3A, each liquid sheet orifice is a groove that has a rounded portion at its end), each of the plurality of rounded grooves extending outwardly from the at least one liquid jet orifice toward a peripheral rim of the orifice surface and terminating within an intermediate portion of the orifice surface spaced inwardly from the peripheral rim (See Annotated Fig. 3A and See Fig. 3J which shows a similar structure with a different orifice).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle member of Matsuura as applied to Claim 1 above to use the orifice shown in Annotated Fig. 3A of Hanuschik in place of the orifice #2a of Matsuura since doing so would utilize substitution of known features to yield the predictable result of spraying fluid with a pattern that is tailored to a user’s dental geometry (See Hanuschik Col. 15 Lines 10-30) to effectively remove debris (See Hanuschik Col. 16 Lines 28-40).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 1 above, Matsuura further discloses the nozzle member comprising a channel (#2d) configured to allow passage of the liquid from the reservoir in the body portion of the personal care device to the nozzle head (See Figs. 1-2, 6, and Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraphs 7-8).
As to Claim 3, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 1 above, Hanuschik further discloses wherein the at least one liquid jet orifice is located in a center of the orifice surface (See Annotated Fig. 3A, the central jet orifice is located at a center spot at an intersection of the liquid sheet orifices).
Regarding Claim 6, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 1, above Hanuschik does not specifically disclose wherein each of the plurality of rounded grooves is formed in the orifice surface with a cut angle of between 15 degrees and 30 degrees (See Ɵ in Fig. 3C and See Col. 16 Lines 5-30 disclosing a groove cut angle Ɵ of 10 degrees to 170 degrees and setting a groove angle to yield a desired fluid flow profile, but an angle between 15 degrees and 30 degrees is not explicitly disclosed).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 1 above such that each of the plurality of rounded grooves is formed in the orifice surface with a cut angle of between 15 degrees and 30 degrees, as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (See Paragraph 0045 of applicant’s Specification which states “ According to this arrangement, the cut angle of the V-grooves is 15 degrees, although many other sizes and angles are possible”) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 1 above, Matsuura further discloses wherein the surface of the nozzle head and an outer edge of the tip have respective diameters (See Matsuura Annotated Fig. 6, the surface of the nozzle head has an inner diameter D1 within #41, and the outer edge of the tip has an outer diameter D2 surrounding #41), and wherein a diameter of the outer edge of the tip is larger than a diameter of the surface of the nozzle head (See Matsuura Annotated Fig. 6, D2 is larger than D1).
As to Claim 10, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 1 above, Matsuura further discloses wherein the outer edge of the tip is scalloped (See #41a in Fig. 6 and See Machine Translation of Description Page 4 Paragraph 5 disclosing semicircular grooves on an outer edge of #41, which are equivalent to scalloped portions).
As to Claim 12, Matsuura discloses a nozzle member (See #2 in Fig. 1 and See Fig. 6) of a personal care device (See Figs. 1-2 showing the entire personal care device. See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraph 4 disclosing a mouth washing device.) comprising a body portion (See #1 in Fig. 2) having a reservoir (#6) containing liquid therein (See Machine Translation of Description Page 2 Paragraph 6), the nozzle member comprising:
a nozzle head positioned at an end of the nozzle member (See Annotated Fig. 6);
a channel (#2d) configured to allow passage of the liquid from the reservoir to the nozzle head (See Figs. 1-2, 6, and Machine Translation of Description Page 3 Paragraphs 7-8);
an orifice formed in a surface of the nozzle head (#2a), wherein the orifice comprises at least one central liquid jet orifice located in a center of the surface of the nozzle head (See Annotated Fig. 6), the at least one central liquid jet orifice configured to emit the liquid from the nozzle head in form of a jet (See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraph 2); and
a tip (#41) fixedly attached to the surface of a nozzle head (See Annotated Fig. 6, the tip is integrally fixed to the surface of the nozzle head) adjacent to the orifice and extending outwardly therefrom (See Annotated Fig. 6), such that the orifice is recessed within the tip (See Annotated Fig. 6) and comprises an orifice surface (See Annotated Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 12, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura as applied above, Matsuura does not disclose wherein the orifice comprises a plurality of liquid sheet orifices each configured to emit the liquid from the nozzle head in form of a continuous liquid sheet with a cross-section in which a length of the cross-section is longer than a width of the cross-section, wherein the at least one central liquid jet orifice is located in a center of the surface of the nozzle head at an intersection of the plurality of liquid sheet orifices; and
wherein at least one liquid sheet orifice of the plurality of the liquid sheet orifices comprises an angled or rounded groove formed in the orifice surface, each of the plurality of the liquid sheet orifices extending outwardly from the at least one central liquid jet orifice and terminating at or before a peripheral rim of the surface of the nozzle head (See Annotated Fig. 6, the orifice is made up of a single liquid jet orifice).
However, Hanuschik discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fluid spraying (See Col. 1 Lines 40-57) a nozzle member (See #204 in Fig. 2A) comprising an orifice (See Annotated Fig. 3A showing a single orifice) formed in a surface of a nozzle head (See Col. 14 Lines 40-43), wherein the orifice comprises a plurality of liquid sheet orifices (See Annotated Fig. 3A showing six liquid sheet orifices) each configured to emit the liquid from the nozzle head in form of a continuous liquid sheet (See Annotated Fig. 3A, the six liquid sheet orifices are structured such that they are capable of emitting liquid from the nozzle head as continuous sheets at certain fluid pressures. Furthermore, Col. 17 Lines 14-20 discloses lobes yielding a sheet spray, thus the liquid sheet orifices in Annotated Fig. 3A are understood to be able to yield a sheet spray) with a cross-section in which a length of the cross-section is longer than a width of the cross-section (See Annotated Fig. 3A showing a dimension L that is longer than a dimension W), and at least one central liquid jet orifice located in a center of the surface of the nozzle head at an intersection of the plurality of liquid sheet orifices (See Annotated Fig. 3A), the at least one central liquid jet orifice configured to emit liquid from the nozzle head in form of a jet (See Annotated Fig. 3A, the center hole formed in the orifice is capable of emitting liquid from the nozzle head as a stream that is a jet at certain pressures. See Col. 14 Lines 20-25 disclosing a jet being sprayed.),
wherein at least one liquid sheet orifice of the plurality of liquid sheet orifices comprises an angled or rounded groove formed in an orifice surface of the at least one orifice (See Annotated Fig. 3A, each liquid sheet orifice is a groove that has a rounded portion at its end), each of the plurality of liquid sheet orifices extending outwardly from the at least one liquid jet orifice and terminating at or before a peripheral rim of the surface of the nozzle head (See Annotated Fig. 3A showing the liquid sheet orifices terminating before the peripheral rim at an intermediate portion and See Fig. 3J which shows a similar structure with a different orifice.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle member of Matsuura as applied to Claim 12 above to use the orifice shown in Annotated Fig. 3A of Hanuschik in place of the orifice #2a of Matsuura since doing so would utilize substitution of known features to yield the predictable result of spraying fluid with a pattern that is tailored to a user’s dental geometry (See Hanuschik Col. 15 Lines 10-30) to effectively remove debris (See Hanuschik Col. 16 Lines 28-40).
As to Claim 14, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 12 above, Matsuura further discloses wherein a diameter of an outer edge of the tip is larger than a diameter of the surface of the nozzle head. (See Matsuura Annotated Fig. 6, D2 is larger than D1).
As to Claim 15, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 14 above, Matsuura further discloses wherein the outer edge of the tip is scalloped (See #41a in Fig. 6 and See Machine Translation of Description Page 4 Paragraph 5 disclosing semicircular grooves on an outer edge of #41, which are equivalent to scalloped portions).
As to Claim 16, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 1 above, Matsuura discloses a personal care device (See Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a body portion (See #1 in Fig. 2); and
the nozzle member of claim 1 (See #2 in Fig. 1 and See Fig. 6), the nozzle member mountable on the body portion (See Figs. 1-2 and See Machine Translation of Description Page 1 Paragraphs 3 and 8).
As to Claim 17, in reference to the personal care device of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 16 above, Matsuura further discloses wherein the nozzle head is positioned at an angle relative to the body portion of the personal care device (See Annotated Fig. 6, the nozzle head is oriented at an angle β relative to the body portion #1).
As to Claim 20, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 1 above, Matsuura further discloses wherein the nozzle head is positioned at an angle relative to the body portion of the personal care device (See Annotated Fig. 6, the nozzle head is oriented at an angle β relative to the body portion #1).
As to Claim 21, in reference to the nozzle member of Matsuura in view of Hanuschik as applied to Claim 12 above, Matsuura further discloses wherein the nozzle head is positioned at an angle relative to the body portion of the personal care device (See Annotated Fig. 6, the nozzle head is oriented at an angle β relative to the body portion #1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/22/2025 with respect to independent Claims 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 January 12, 2026