DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 4-9, 11-14 are pending. Applicant’s previous election of Formula G and tetraethoxysilane still applies. No claims are currently withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leivo (U.S. 2018/0127308) in view of Murugesan et al. (U.S. 2018/0148600).
Regarding claims 1, 4-9, 11-14, Leivo teaches silica films (thickness overlapping claim 1, [0117]) for providing scratch resistance and hardness (overlapping claimed pencil hardness range) to plastic substrates (as in claims 12-13, [0074]) and teaches that such a film may be made by condensation of only silane compounds within the scope of formula A and/or B (e.g., tetralkoxysilane, bistriethoxysilyl ethane, and/or 1-4 carbon alkyl trialkoxysilanes), which forms a silica network (consisting of the claimed silane compounds, with no other required solid ingredients such that the silica network is substantially 100% of the cured layer), and with the silane compounds being partially condensed prior to coating and then fully polymerized after being coated (see abstract, [0001], [0012], [0032]-[0043], [0141]-[0159], [0196], [0207]-[0217]). There are no required Si-N linkages as claimed.
The above process from Leivo of partial condensation prior to full condensation appears to fall within a sol-gel process as claimed (i.e., the individual compounds would start out in solution as a sol and gel as the condensation reaction proceeds). Even without this teaching from Leivo, the sol-gel limitation is a product by process limitation that is not given patentable weight as it does not require any difference in the final structure of the silica film compared to the silica film of Leivo. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” See MPEP 2113.
Leivo does not disclose the claimed nitrogen compound. However, Murugesan is also directed to curing partially condensed siloxane compositions for form hard coatings ([0006], [0058]-[0059]), as called for in Leivo, that includes a “super base” catalyst, ([0006]), such as 2-undecylimidazole, ([0042]), which inherently meets the limitations of claims 7-10, to allow for lower amounts of catalyst to be used and to provide improved properties ([0006]), with amounts ranging from 1 to 75 ppm ([0018]). Thus, it would have been obvious to have used the catalyst from Murugesan as the catalyst in Leivo because it provides the desired catalysis properties while allowing for less of the catalyst to be used and while providing improved properties ([0006]).
The above amount of catalyst in Murugesan overlaps the nitrogen amount in claim 11.
Leivo does not require any silazane compounds or otherwise require any Si-N bonds, as in claim 6.
Regarding the properties of claims 1, 4, 5, although modified Leivo does not explicitly disclose these properties as claimed, given the overlap in modified Leivo regarding the type and amount of materials used for the silica layer compared to the present application, these claimed properties would inherently be present in the embodiments of modified Leivo that overlap the embodiments of the present application.
The type of plastic substrate in Leivo as discussed above is never specified, but any plastic material is inherently either high or low refractive index compared to the silica coating formed thereon, as in claim 14. Additionally, Murugesan teaches that suitable specific plastic substrate materials ([0064]), which are inherently “hard coating films” compared to softer materials and are inherently either high or low refractive index, and also disclose PET primer (in which case the primer would correspond to the claimed functional film, and with PET inherently being either high or low refractive index) for receiving silica hard coatings, as in claims 1 and 14, and it would have been obvious to have used those types of plastics for the general plastic called for in Leivo and/or as a primer (to improve adhesion) because Murugesan teaches that they benefit from the types of silica hard coatings as taught by Leivo.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-9, 11-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-17 of copending Application No. 17268539. The claims are not identical but they are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 4-9, 11-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-8, 12-16 of copending Application No. 17284130. The claims are not identical but they are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection. Remarks which are still deemed relevant are addressed below and are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the present application requires Si-N bonds which is the opposite of what is true.
For secondary factors, it is unclear what Applicant is referring to but the claims are not commensurate in scope with the present examples.
The double patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787