DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19, 22 and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (CN108250161) (For applicant’s convenience, machine translation has been used for citations) as evidenced by Kegnæs (US 20160137516), and in view of Parvulescu et al. (US20160250624).
Shi et al. teaches a molding composition having framework MFI zeolitic material (TS-1) and a silica binder (para. [0009], [0018], [0066], [0067], example 1-12), extruded and then dried and calcined to obtaining a molding composition as catalyst. As for the claimed zeolitic material having 98 to 100% by weight being material consisting of Ti, Si, O and H, Shi et al. teaches a same or substantially the same zeolitic material being MFI framework, specifically TS-1 wherein no other component/element being included (para. [0067], example 1-12), therefore 98 to 100% by weight of the zeolitic material consist of Ti, Si, O and H as that of instantly claimed is expected.
Shi et al also teaches such modified titanium silicate material (zeolitic material) having nitrogen adsorption peak changes (para. [0018], claim 8, examples 1-12), which suggests that such zeolitic material having type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption. Shi et al further teaches the zeolitic material having MFI framework having radial length of the cavity part of the hollow structure is 5-300 nm (para. [0067]), which means such zeolitic material having pore size range in mesopores (such as 10 nm).
Kegnæs teaches introducing mesopores (pore size of 2-50 nm) into zeolitic material of TS-1 can help achieving (Fig. 3, para. [0123], [0135], [0150]-[0154]) can help such material obtain type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption.
Since Shi et al. already teaches a TS-1 material possessing mesopores, therefore, it is readily apparent that such mesopores would exhibit type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption as evidenced by Kegnæs.
Shi et al further teaches the molding ( i.e. the shaped) composition contains titanium silicate molecular sieve (specifically TS-1 which has a MFI framework structure) as an active ingredient and a silica carrier as a binder, wherein the content of the titanium silicate molecular sieve can be 5-95% by weight, preferably 10-95% by weight, and more preferably 70-90% by weight; while the content of the carrier can be 5-95% by weight, preferably 5-90% by weight, and more preferably 10-30% by weight (para. [0095], example 1-12, table 1-3), wherein such teachings suggest an overlapping ratio of TS-1 to silica binder thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP § 2144. 05 I).
Shi et al. further teaches the titanium silicate (zeolitic) material containing 2.5 % to 4.3% by weight titanium oxide (example 1-12) based on weight of zeolitic material. Corresponding, Shi et al. (Ti only accounts as 60% by weight of TiO2 content) suggests an overlapping of titanium content based on zeolitic material content as that of instantly claimed range titanium content, thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (se MPEP §2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 16, Shi et al. does not expressly teach the molding composition having pore volume at least 0.8 to 1.5 ml/g.
However, Shi et al. already teaches a same or substantially the same molding composition having same or substantially the same zeolitic material and same or substantially the same binder material of SiO2, therefore, same or substantially the same pore volume of 0.8 ml/g to 1.5 ml/g would be expected.
Furthermore, Parvulescu et al. teaches a molding composition comprising a zeolitic material having MFI framework, specifically TS-1 (para. [0017], [0031], [0040], example 1-6, table 2), wherein such molding composition includes a silica binder and can have a pore volume at least of 0.8 ml/g, more preferably 0.9 ml/g to 1.3 ml/g, specifically 1.0 ml/g etc. (para. [0057], table 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt such well-known pore as shown by Parvulescu et al. to modify the molding composition of Shi et al because by doing so can help obtaining a desired molding composition for intended application as catalyst or sorbent material as suggested by Parvulescu et al. (para. [0057], [0109]).
Regarding claim 17-19, Shi et al. already teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Regarding claim 22, Parvulescu et al. already teaches such limitations as discussed above.
Regarding claim 34-35, Shi et al. teaches the molding composition being an epoxidation catalyst (para. [0061]).
Claims 16-19, 22, 24-25 and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parvulescu et al. (US20160250624) in view of Kegnæs (US 20160137516).
Parvulescu et al. teaches a molding composition comprising a zeolitic material having MFI framework, specifically TS-1 (para. [0017], [0031], [0040], example 1-6, table 2), wherein such molding composition includes a silica binder and having a pore volume at least 0.8 ml/g, more preferably 0.9 ml/g to 1.3 ml/g, specifically 1.0 ml/g etc. (para. [0057], table 2). As for the claimed “determined by intrusion mercury porosimetry”, it is noted that such limitation just a method for determine molding pore volume, Parvulescu et al. already teaches a same or substantially the same molding composition pore volume.
As for the claimed zeolitic material having 98 to 100% by weight being material consisting of Ti, Si, O and H, Parvulescu et al. teaches a same or substantially the same zeolitic material being MFI framework, specifically TS-1 (para. [0040], [0050], example 1-6), wherein such zeolitic material framework only optionally containing X2O3 (0.1% by weight or less based on 100 wt.% of zeolitic material), 1.9% or 2.0% by weight of Ti (reference example 1-4, table 1). Thus, Parvulescu et al. disclosed zeolitic material has framework of MFI, wherein from 98-100% by weight of the zeolitic material consisting of Ti, Si, O and H.
Parvulescu et al. teaches the any suitable weight ratio of the one or more binders to the zeolitic material (binder: zeolitic material) may be employed provided that the mixture obtained may be kneaded and the kneaded mixture obtained can be subsequently molded for obtaining one or more moldings. Parvulescu et al. teaches a weight ratio of the one or more binders to the zeolitic material comprised in the range of from 0.1 to 0.6 (para. [0021], examples 1-6). Parvulescu et al. disclosed binders (silica): to zeolitic material (MFI framework) weight ratio being 0.1 to 0.6, therefore, MFI: silica weight ratio being 1.67:1-10:1, wherein such ratio overlaps with that of instantly claimed MFI: SiO2 weight ratio range thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 16, Parvulescu et al. does not expressly teach the zeolitic material exhibiting a type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption.
Kegnæs teaches introducing mesopores (pore size of 2-50 nm) into zeolitic material of TS-1 can help achieving (Fig. 3, para. [0123], [0135], [0143], [0150]- [0153]) can help such material obtain type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to introducing such mesoporous features (correspondingly type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption) as shown by Kegnæs to modify the zeolitic material in the molding composition of Parvulescu et al. because introducing such mesoporous features (correspondingly type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption) can help enhance accessibility of such molding composition’s active site for reactants and increased external surface when used as solid catalyst as suggested by Kegnæs (para. [0135], [0151]-[0153], table 2-3).
Regarding claim 17, Kegnæs further teaches the zeolitic material having mesoporous features, wherein the mesopores having pores (cavities) diameters from 2 to 50 nm (i.e. 20 to 500 Å) (para. [0123]).
Regarding claim 18-20, such limitations are met as discussed above.
Regarding claim 22, Parvulescu et al. discloses molding composition more preferably having a pore volume of 0.9 ml/g to 1.3 ml/g, specifically 1.0 ml/g etc. (para. [0057], table 2).
Regarding claim 24, such limitation has been met as discussed above.
Regarding claim 25, Parvulescu et al. teaches the molding composition being formed via mixing TS-1 zeolitic material, binders and pore forming agents wherein pore forming agents being calcined to decompose forming pores while solvents being dried and removed during calcining (para. [0019], [0020], [0066]-[0074], examples 1-9). Hence, the obtained molding composition consist of the zeolitic material having framework type MFI and silica binder, i.e., 99% to 100% by weight of molding consisting the zeolitic material having framework type MFI and silica binder (example 1-9). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to decompose all pore forming agents and removing all remaining solvent etc. reagents after desired molding composition being obtained because obtaining a pure molding composition consisting of zeolitic material TS-1 and silica binder ( i.e. 99% to 100% by weight of molding consisting the zeolitic material having framework type MFI and silica binder) with desired pore volume and minimized impurities is desired for intended usage as catalyst or sorbent material as suggested by Parvulescu et al. (para. [0109]).
Regarding claim 34-35, Parculescu et al also teaches such obtained molding composition can be used as catalyst, sorbent, such as catalyst for isomerization etc. (para. [0109]), wherein a catalyst or sorbent containing such molding composition, or an isomerization catalyst containing such molding composition as that of instantly claimed is envisioned.
Double Patenting
Claim 16-19, 22, 24-25 and 34-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13-27 of U.S. Patent No. US 10434503 in view of Parvulescu et al. (US20160250624) and Kegnæs (US 20160137516). US’503 teaches a substantially the same molding composition except 98 to 100% weight of zeolitic material consists of Ti, Si, O and H, or zeolitic material exhibit type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption, wherein Parvulescu et al. teaches 98 to 100% weight of zeolitic material consists of Ti, Si, O and H and Kegnæs zeolitic material exhibit type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt a zeolitic material having MFI framework wherein 98 to 100% weight of zeolitic material consists of Ti, Si, O and H as shown by Parvulescu et al. to modify the molding composition of US’503 because adopting such known zeolitic material to a known molding composition for improvement would yield predictable results (see MPEP §2143). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to introducing such mesoporous features (correspondingly type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption) as shown by Kegnæs to modify the zeolitic material in the molding composition of US’503 because introducing such mesoporous features (correspondingly type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption) can help enhance accessibility of such molding composition’s active site for reactants when used as solid catalyst as suggested by Kegnæs (para. [0135]).
Claim 16-19, 22, 24-25 and 34-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21-26 of co-pending Application No. 17/606,875 in view of Kegnæs (US 20160137516). US’875 teaches a substantially the same molding composition comprising 95 to 100% weight of zeolitic material consists of Ti, Si, O and optionally H except the zeolitic material exhibit type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption, wherein Kegnæs zeolitic material exhibit type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to introducing such mesoporous features (correspondingly type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption) as shown by Kegnæs to modify the zeolitic material in the molding composition of US’875 because introducing such mesoporous features (correspondingly type IV nitrogen adsorption/desorption) can help enhance accessibility of such molding composition’s active site for reactants when used as solid catalyst as suggested by Kegnæs (para. [0135]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed on 12/19/2025 have been acknowledged thus previous 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments about currently amended claim 16 incorporating previous claim 20 recited Ti content being 1.3 to 2.1 wt% and previous claim 21 recited pore volume of 0.8 to 1.5 ml/g, both Shi and Parvulescu et al. teaches such claimed Ti content while Parvulescu et al. already teaches such pore volume as set forth in previous office action.
In response to applicant’s arguments about example 1.2 showing superior results (instant specification table 1 and 3) as compared to comparative example 1 and comparative example 2, the examiner would like to kindly reminder the applicant that evidence of unexpected properties may be in the form of a direct or indirect comparison of the claimed invention with the closest prior art which is commensurate in scope with the claims. In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range (see MPEP § 716.02(d)). In the instant case, instantly applied closest prior art, e.g. Parvulescu et al. discloses molding composition more preferably having a pore volume of 0.9 ml/g to 1.3 ml/g, but comparative example 1 using HTS-1 with a pore volume of 0.45 ml/g, while comparative example 2 using HTS-1 with a pore volume of 0.5 ml/g, therefore, comparison based on such comparative example 1 and 2 not even demonstrate data against applied closest prior art at all. Even if assuming applicant’s allegation of example of 1.2 in table 3 showing superior results being true, it is noted that instant example 1.2 only showing a specific molding having a specific pore volume of 1.0 ml/g as compared to comparative example 1 disclosed pore volume of 0.45 ml/g, and comparative example 2 demonstrated 0.5 ml/g, such example 1.2 demonstrated pore volume of 1.0 ml/g is a specific data point, which cannot cover the entire claimed range of 0.8 to 1.5 ml/g. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range (see MPEP § 716.02(d)). Therefore, such arguments are not found convincing. Additionally, it is noted that propylene oxide selectivity of being at least 97% for 400 hours is well-known in the art (see Muller to US20110130579 para. [0179]).
In response to applicant’s arguments about pre-molding treatment of the pressed molding precursors in accordance with the present invention leads to increased in pore size, it is noted that there is no pore size being claimed in the instant claims. In response to applicant’s arguments about prior art not teaching a molding of hollow TS-1 that has been treated with water, it is noted that instant claims only require a molding composition (see claims 16-19, 22, 24-25 and 34-35), and such argued feature of being treated with water is not even claimed.
Similar reasons for sustaining double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732