DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The previous objection of claim 15 is withdrawn.
The previous rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 13 March 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that none of the cited references teach or suggest the range 35-40 degrees (Remarks, page 11) and only the Applicant teaches the advantages of the claimed ranges for designing a propeller that does not exceed predetermined power levels (Remarks, page 12). The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Wu et al. (previously attached non-patent literature, titled “Energy efficiency study in axial flow impellers”) discloses an efficiency study for hydrofoil and pitched blade impellers operating in water (Abstract) and Wu et al. teaches that there is little difference in efficiency of pitch blade impellers with angles between 20-45 degrees (page 628, right column, see Fig. 5 curves) including those with an angle of 35 degrees (“35PBT4“, Fig. 5 ) and 40 degrees (“40PBT4”, Fig. 5) where 25 degrees was shown to be slightly more efficient (page 628, right column), but Wu et al. further teaches that increasing the number of blades or increasing the angle may be used to decrease erosion of the propeller (page 631, right column). Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select a pitch angle of 35-40 degrees and thereby achieve the predictable result of improved erosion performance while sacrificing minimal efficiency (compared to 25 degrees). Further, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
The Applicant further argues that the cited portions of Wu et al. relate to flat-blades rather than blades with arc-shaped cross sections. However, Wu et al. addresses curved blades (“hydrofoils”, Abstract) and concludes (in regard to efficiency) that for curved blades the effect of changing the pitch angle is even less significant than for flat blades when operating in water and using curved blades has the effect of improving efficiency over flat blades (see Abstract and Conclusion section on page 631). Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s other arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-18 and 20-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weetman et al. (US 5344235) hereinafter “Weetman II” in view of Engelbrecht et al. (US 4231974), Hjorth et al. (GB 1454277), Weetman (US 5951162) hereinafter “Weetman IV”, and Page (attached WO 2008025975A1).
Regarding claim 15, Weetman II discloses a propeller (Fig. 4 and Fig. 5) as shown below, the propeller comprising a hub (hub 28) and at least two blades (three blades: blades 22, Fig. 4) and “it is well-settled that the material worked upon by an apparatus does not limit apparatus claims. See MPEP 2115. Nonetheless, the propeller disclosed by Weetman II would be fully capable of use as a digestion tank mixer as Weetman II discloses the propeller is for use in mixing liquids and liquid suspensions (abstract).
Weetman II discloses each blade comprises: A thrust side surface (pressure surface 12) and a suction side surface (surface 14, col. 3, lines 2-3); an inner edge fixedly connected to the hub (Fig. 4 and Fig. 5, blade portion along bases 26 and along hub 28) and an outer edge located at a distance from the hub (surface comprising tip 30); a leading edge (leading edge 10) extending from the inner edge to the outer edge and a trailing edge (trailing edge 16) extending from the inner edge to the outer edge (Fig. 4); an imaginary outer geometrical plane parallel to a center axis of the propeller (annotated above), perpendicular to a radius of the propeller (radius annotated above), and intersecting both the leading edge and the trailing edge (annotated above), the imaginary outer geometric plane comprising at least one of: (a) a leading intersection between the outer edge and the leading edge, and (b) a trailing intersection between the outer edge and the trailing edge (comprises both intersections as annotated above); an imaginary inner geometrical plane parallel to the imaginary outer geometrical plane and tangent to the hub (annotated above); a radial distance between and perpendicular to the imaginary outer geometrical plane and the imaginary inner geometrical plane (annotated above).
Weetman II discloses wherein at each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane located between and parallel to the imaginary outer geometrical plane and the imaginary inner geometrical plane along an entirety of the radial distance, each blade comprises: An arc-shaped cross section extending between the leading edge and the trailing edge (Fig. 2), and that is concave on the thrust side (high pressure surface 12 is concave as best shown in Fig. 2 and surface 42 is also thrust side and slightly concave as in Fig. 6, the thrust side surface is curved, col. 4, lines 52-57, and concave as shown in figures); a chord (chord 52) having a length that extends between the leading edge and the trailing edge (Fig. 10);
Weetman II does not disclose an angle between the chord and a transverse plane of the propeller is equal to or greater than 35⁰ and equal to or less than 40⁰ in every imaginary intermediate geometrical plane spanning 70% of the radial distance. Rather, Weetman II discloses an angle of 37⁰ at the hub which remains in the range between 35⁰-40⁰ for at least 40% of the radial distance (col. 5, lines 23-28) and Weetman II discloses the twist (change in angle between hub and tip) may be 12⁰ (col. 5, line 24)
However, Weetman IV discloses a propeller and teaches using reduced twist (as low as 2⁰, Col. 3, lines 34-36, or 2-12⁰, col. 4, line 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II wherein a twist angle of 2⁰ is utilized resulting in an angle between the chord and a transverse plane of the propeller being equal to or greater than 35⁰ and equal to or less than 40⁰ in every imaginary intermediate geometrical plane extending along a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance the continuous range excluding at least the imaginary inner geometrical plane and the imaginary outer geometrical plane (using Weetman II’s hub angle of 37⁰ and Weetman IV’s teaching of a 2⁰ twist resulting in the angle being between 35-37⁰ over the entire radial distance).
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Weetman II by using the reduced twist of Weetman IV in order to achieve greater tip angles (tip chord angle (TCA)) and power numbers (Weetman IV, col. 3, lines 5-10) while maintaining efficiency (col. 3, lines 34-36).
Further, Engelbrecht et al. teaches that chord angle is selected to achieve a desired pumping rate (col. 5, lines 25-26) and Page teaches chord angle may be between 20-60⁰ at the hub (root, page 3, 3rd paragraph) and the tip angle may be between 0-44⁰ (page 3, 3rd paragraph).
Therefore, it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II wherein an angle between the chord and a transverse plane of the propeller is selected which is equal to or greater than 35⁰ and equal to or less than 40⁰ in every imaginary intermediate geometrical plane spanning 70% of the radial distance to achieve a desired pumping rate and the proportions disclosed by Weetman II in view of Engelbrecht et al. and Page (Page, page 3, 3rd paragraph) overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that:
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” See In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003) and MPEP 2144.05.
Weetman II does not disclose wherein a ratio between an arc-height between the chord and the thrust side surface and the length of the chord is equal to or greater than 0.08 and equal to or less than 0.15 in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane taken along the entirety of the radial distance and is greater than 0.12 in every imaginary intermediate geometrical plane extending along a continuous range of at least 60% of the entirety of the radial distance.
However, Hjorth et al. discloses a propeller (page 1, line 13) and discloses wherein the ratio between an arc-height between the chord and the thrust side surface and the length of the chord is 0.05 – 0.15 (page 2, line 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II to include wherein a ratio between an arc-height between the chord and the thrust side surface and the length of the chord is equal to or greater than 0.08 and equal to or less than 0.15 in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane taken along the entirety of the radial distance and is greater than 0.12 in every imaginary intermediate geometrical plane extending along a continuous range of at least 60% of the entirety of the radial distance.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a ratio between 0.05 and 0.15, such as one greater than 0.12 (e.g. 0.12 – 0.15, Hjorth et al., page 2, line 52) to achieve efficient, but fully acceptable propeller function (Hjorth et al., page 2, lines 53-54).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the proportions taught by Weetman II in view of Hjorth et al. overlap the instantly claimed proportions and therefore are considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that:
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” See In re Peterson, supra and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings of the above-cited references for claim 15 disclose wherein the angle between the chord and the transverse plane of the propeller is in a range of 29-45 degrees in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along the entirety of the radial distance (such as an angle between 35-37⁰ as disclosed by Weetman II in view of Weetman IV, see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings of the above-cited references for claim 15 disclose wherein the angle between the chord and the transverse plane of the propeller is equal to or greater than 30 degrees and equal to or less than 45 degrees in every imaginary geometric plane along at least a continuous range of 95% of the entirety of the radial distance, said continuous range also including the imaginary inner geometrical plane (such as an angle between 35-37⁰ over the entire radial distance as disclosed by Weetman II in view of Weetman IV, see claim 1 above).
Claims 16-17, 21-24, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weetman et al. (US 5344235) hereinafter “Weetman II” in view of Engelbrecht et al. (US 4231974), Hjorth et al. (GB 1454277), Weetman (US 5951162) hereinafter “Weetman IV”, and Page (attached WO 2008025975A1) as applied to claim 15 above and in further view of LJM Industrie (non-patent literature provided by the Applicant) hereinafter “LJM”.
Regarding claim 16, the above cited references for claim 15 are silent as to arc-height.
However, arc-height will depend on the chord length within the constraints of the camber (0.08-0.15 per claim 15) and chord length depends on the size of the blade. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of either Weetman II by sizing the propeller for use in a given tank size wherein it is sized to have an arc-height in the range of 30-70 mm in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along the entirety of the radial distance.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Further, Weetman II in view of Hjorth et al. discloses a camber of 0.05 to 0.15 (Hjorth et al., page 2, line 52) and LJM teaches propellers for use in wastewater (title) wherein the propellers have concave and convex surfaces (photo on front page) and LJM further teaches the chord length could be 285 mm (table, page 5, col. G) which would correspond to a height of 34 mm for a camber of 0.12 or 43 mm for a camber of 0.15.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II by using an arc-height in the range of 30-70 mm in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along the entirety of the radial distance, such as an arc height of 34 mm.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use known dimensions of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings of the above cited references for claim 15 are silent as to arc-height.
However, arc-height will depend on the chord length within the constraints of the camber (0.08-0.15 per claim 15) and chord length depends on the size of the blade. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II by sizing the propeller for use in a tank wherein the arc-height is in a range of 45-70 millimeters in a subset of the plurality of imaginary intermediate geometrical planes extending along a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance, the continuous range excluding at least the inner geometrical plane and the outer geometrical plane (Weetman II, selecting planes from the infinite number of intermediate planes in a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance excluding the outer and inner geometrical planes will still meet the claim limitation, such as by selecting the planes close to the hub in Weetman II).
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different size tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra.
Further, Weetman II in view of Hjorth et al. discloses a camber of 0.08 to 0.15 (Hjorth, page 2, line 52) and LJM teaches propellers for use in wastewater (title) wherein the propellers have concave and convex surfaces (photo on front page) and LJM further teaches the chord length could be 500 mm (table, page 9, col. G) which would correspond to a height of 60 mm for a camber of 0.12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II by using an arc-height in the range of 45-70 mm in a subset of the imaginary intermediate geometrical planes extending along a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance, the continuous range excluding at least the imaginary inner geometrical plane and the imaginary outer geometrical plane, such as by using an arc-height of 60 mm.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known dimensions of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid.
Regarding claim 21, the above cited references for claim 15 do not disclose a chord length.
However, chord length depends on the size of the blade and LJM teaches propellers for use in water treatment (title) and LJM teaches the propeller has concave and convex sides (photo on cover page) and therefore has a chord length. LJM further teaches the chord length may be 280 mm (page 5, table, col. G), 460 mm (page 9, table, col. G), etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II wherein the length of the chord is in a range of 280-475 millimeters in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along the entirety of the radial distance.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known dimension of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid or otherwise to scale the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra.
Regarding claim 22, the above cited references for claim 15 do not disclose a chord length.
However, chord length depends on the size of the blade and LJM teaches propellers for use in water treatment (title) and LJM teaches the propeller has concave and convex sides (photo on cover page) and therefore has a chord length. LJM further teaches the chord length may be 460 mm (page 9, table, col. G).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II wherein the chord is sized to be within a range of 380-475 millimeters in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance, the continuous range excluding at least the imaginary inner geometrical plane and the imaginary outer geometrical plane (Weetman II, such as every plane between and parallel to the imaginary inner and outer geometrical planes or any parallel plane lying on an interval covering 70% of the radial distance).
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known dimension of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid and/or to scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra.
Regarding claim 23, Weetman II does not disclose actual dimensions for the leading edge.
As best understood, the dimension of Weetman II which reads on the claim limitation is shown (Weetman II, Fig. 4) annotated below (projected distance shown as dashed arrow):
While Weetman II is silent as to this distance, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II by sizing the propeller for use in a given tank size and thereby arrive at a length greater than 180 mm. Further, LJM teaches a propeller for water treatment (title) wherein a leading maximum projected distance in an axial direction of the propeller between two points on the leading edge is much greater than 180 millimeters (approximately half of distance D, page 13, figure and table).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II wherein a leading maximum projected distance in an axial direction of the propeller between two points on the leading edge is equal to or greater than 180 millimeters.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known dimension of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid and would have found it obvious to scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra.
Regarding claim 24, Weetman II does not disclose actual dimensions for the trailing edge.
As best understood, the dimension of Weetman II which reads on the claim limitation is shown (Weetman II, Fig. 4) annotated below:
While Weetman II is silent as to this distance, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II by sizing the propeller for use in a given tank size and thereby arrive at a length for the trailing edge dimension greater than 190 mm. Further, LJM teaches a propeller for water treatment (title) wherein a leading maximum projected distance in an axial direction of the propeller between two points on the leading edge is much greater than 180 millimeters (approximately half of distance D, page 13, figure and table).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II wherein a trailing maximum projected distance in an axial direction of the propeller between two points on the trailing edge is equal to or greater than 190 millimeters.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known dimension of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid and/or to scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra.
Regarding claim 28, Weetman II is silent as to the outer diameter.
While Weetman II is silent as to the outer diameter length, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II by sizing the propeller for use in a given tank size and thereby arrive at a length for the outer diameter less than 1350 mm. Further, LJM teaches a propeller for water treatment (title) wherein the outer diameter of the propeller is equal to or less than 1350 millimeters (such as 850 mm, page 11, figure distance D, Table, Col. D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II wherein the outer diameter of the propeller is equal to or less than 1350 millimeters.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known dimension of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid and/or to scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra.
Regarding claim 29, Weetman II does not expressly disclose a mixer.
However, LJM discloses a mixer for wastewater treatment (cover page and shown below) and “it is well-settled that the material worked upon by an apparatus does not limit apparatus claims. See MPEP 2115. Nonetheless, the mixer of LJM would be fully capable of functioning in a digestion tank with the propellor of the combined teachings of the above cited references for claim 15.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II to further include a mixer for a digestion tank, the mixer comprising: a mixer body; a propeller shaft; and
the propeller of claim 15 connected to the propeller shaft.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found if obvious to use a propeller for mixing liquids (Weetman II, abstract) on a mixer having a propeller shaft and mixer body for use in a digester tank.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weetman et al. (US 5344235) hereinafter “Weetman II” in view of Engelbrecht et al. (US 4231974), Hjorth et al. (GB 1454277), Weetman (US 5951162) hereinafter “Weetman IV”, and Page (attached WO 2008025975A1) as applied to claim 15 above and in further view of Weetman (US 5112192) hereinafter “Weetman” and Commissariat Energie Atomique (Applicant provided WO 2017037156) hereinafter “CEA”.
Regarding claim 25, Weetman II does not disclose actual dimensions for a distance in an axial direction of the propeller between a trailing radial plane comprising the intersection between the inner edge and the trailing edge and a leading radial plane comprising the intersection between the outer edge and the trailing edge.
However, Weetman also teaches a propeller and further shows an axial distance between the intersection of transverse planes, the trailing edge, and the inner and outer edge as shown below:
While Weetman is silent as to this distance, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II using the general shape taught by Weetman (insomuch as Weetman II does not expressly disclose this shape) above and by sizing the propeller for use in a given tank size and thereby arrive at a distance in an axial direction of the propeller between a trailing transverse plane comprising the intersection between the inner edge and the trailing edge and a leading transverse plane comprising the intersection between the outer edge and the trailing edge greater than 145 millimeters.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra. The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known shape for a propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of mixing liquid suspensions (Weetman, abstract).
Further, CEA discloses a propeller for mixing liquid (molten metal, abstract) and further teaches a distance Hp (Fig. 4c) is dependent on the height of the liquid in the container being stirred and may be about 400 mm (4 cm, para. [0041]) and based off the distance “Hp”, CEA reasonably discloses the distance in an axial direction of the propeller between a trailing transverse plane comprising the intersection between the inner edge and the trailing edge and a leading transverse plane comprising the intersection between the outer edge and the trailing edge is greater than 145 mm (at least greater than half the value of Hp or at least 200 mm) as annotated below:
It is deemed that Weetman II in view of CEA reasonably disclose the axial distance between planes being greater the 145 mm (CEA, shown above). Assuming, arguendo, that the distance is not disclosed, the examiner has found that the specification contains no disclosure of any unexpected results arising therefrom, and that as such the parameters are arbitrary and therefore obvious. Such unsupported limitations cannot be a basis for patentability, because where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen parameters or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen parameters/variables are critical. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2144.05(III).
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weetman et al. (US 5344235) hereinafter “Weetman II” in view of Engelbrecht et al. (US 4231974), Hjorth et al. (GB 1454277), Weetman (US 5951162) hereinafter “Weetman IV”, and Page (attached WO 2008025975A1) as applied to claim 15 above and in further view of the Handbook of Industrial Mixing (attached non-patent literature) hereinafter “the Handbook”.
Regarding claims 26-27, insomuch as Weetman II does not expressly disclose the hub and the blades comprise metal, the Handbook teaches various axial flow impellers having different blade pitches to change pumping rate and thrust including propellers with a hub (Fig. 6-9, page 355). The Handbook further teaches the hub may be metal (implied by “welding” and “casting, page 1311, section 21-7.2) and that mixer wetted parts, which would include the hub and blades for a propeller designed for use in a liquid (Weetman II, abstract), are commonly made of stainless steel (page 1320, table 21-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Weetman II wherein the blades and hub comprise a metal comprising stainless steel.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use known and commonly used materials for constructing the hub and blades as “it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Sinclair & Carroll Co., Inc. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).”
Claims 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hjorth et al. (GB 1454277) in view of Borremans (US 8273923), Wu et al. (previously attached non-patent literature) and Wyczalkowski (US 20090238033).
Regarding claim 15, Hjorth et al. discloses a propeller (page 1, line 10) as shown below and “it is well-settled that the material worked upon by an apparatus does not limit apparatus claims”. See MPEP 2115. Nonetheless, the propeller disclosed by Hjorth et al. would be fully capable of use in a digestion tank mixer as Hjorth et al. discloses the propeller is for stirring (page 1, line 13) to maximize mixing effect over a wide viscosity range (page 1, lines 33-34).
Hjorth et al. discloses the propeller comprises a hub (hub 1, page 1, line 43) and at least two blades (page 1, lines 42-43), each blade comprising: a thrust side surface (concave, Fig. 3) and a suction side surface (convex, Fig. 3); an inner edge fixedly connected to the hub (edge attached to hub, annotated above) and an outer edge located at a distance from the hub (annotated above); a leading edge (Fig. 1) extending from the inner edge to the outer edge and a trailing edge (Fig. 1) extending from the inner edge to the outer edge; an imaginary outer geometrical plane parallel to a center axis of the propeller (annotated above), perpendicular to a radius of the propeller (annotated above), and intersecting both the leading edge and the trailing edge (annotated above), the outer imaginary geometric plane comprising at least one of: (a) a leading intersection between the outer edge and the leading edge, and (b) a trailing intersection between the outer edge and the trailing edge (comprises at least the one circled in the annotation above); an imaginary inner geometrical plane parallel to the imaginary outer geometrical plane and tangent to the hub (annotated above); a radial distance between and perpendicular to the imaginary outer geometrical plane and the imaginary inner geometrical plane (annotated above); and wherein at each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane located between and parallel to the imaginary outer geometrical plane and the imaginary inner geometrical plane along an entirety of the radial distance, each blade comprises: an arc-shaped cross section extending between the leading edge and the trailing edge and that is concave on the thrust side (Fig. 3); a chord (line K, Fig. 3,) having a length that extends between the leading edge and the trailing edge; wherein a ratio between an arc-height (“t”, Fig. 3) between the chord and the thrust side surface and the length of the chord is equal to or greater than 0.08 and equal to or less than 0.15 in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane taken along the entirety of the radial distance, and is greater than 0.12 in every imaginary intermediate geometrical plane extending along a continuous range of at least 60% of the entirety of the radial distance in that Hjorth et al. discloses a range between 0.05-0.15 (page 2, line 52) such that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, supra, In re Woodruff, supra. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that:
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” See In re Peterson, supra.
Hjorth et al. is silent as to an angle between the chord and a transverse plane of the propeller; however, the examiner has found that the specification contains no disclosure of any unexpected results arising therefrom, and that as such the parameters are arbitrary and therefore obvious. Such unsupported limitations cannot be a basis for patentability, because where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen parameters or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen parameters/variables are critical. In re Woodruff, supra and MPEP 2144.05(III).
With respect to the limitation of the chord angle, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have provided the apparatus of Hjorth et al. with the dimensions recited in the instant claims, which are now considered at most an optimum choice, lacking any disclosed criticality.
Further, Borremans discloses a propeller which may be a curved-blade propeller (impeller “I”, Fig. 1, col. 7, lines 11-16) and Borremans discloses the blades may have an angle between 40-60 degrees (Col. 7, lines 30-36) and Wu et al. teaches an axial flow impeller (page 625, right column) and further teaches a pitch angle range of 20-45⁰ (page 628, right column).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. wherein the angle between the chord and a transverse plane of the propeller is equal to or greater than 35 degrees and equal to or less than 40 degrees across the extent of the radial distance including in every imaginary intermediate geometrical plane extending along a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance, the continuous range excluding at least the imaginary inner geometrical plane and the imaginary outer geometrical plane.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, supra; In re Woodruff, supra. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portion of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art reference, particularly in view of the fact that:
“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” See In re Peterson, supra.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize an angle between 35-40⁰ which is known to contribute to ensuring a “homogeneous distribution of the small gas bubbles throughout the liquid” and “good homogenization” (Borremans, being within the range of 40-60 degrees, Col. 2, lines 9-12) or to select such an angle in order to achieve the desired blade speed (Wu et al., page 631, Discussion section) and/or achieve a desired balance between efficiency and impeller erosion (Wu et al., page 631, Discussion section).
Further, Wyczalkowski discloses a propeller for wastewater treatment (para. [0003]) wherein curved blades may be used (para. [0029]) and where the pitch angle is 39 degrees (para. [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. wherein the angle between the chord and a transverse plane of the propeller is equal to or greater than 35 degrees and equal to or less than 40 degrees across the extent of the radial distance including in every imaginary intermediate geometrical plane extending along a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance, the continuous range excluding at least the imaginary inner geometrical plane and the imaginary outer geometrical plane.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use an angle of 39 degrees in order to achieve good movement in both the axial and radial direction (para. [0028]).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings of the above-cited references for claim 15 disclose wherein the angle between the chord and the transverse plane of the propeller is in a range of 29-45 degrees in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along the entirety of the radial distance (such as 39 degrees as taught by Wyczalkowski).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings of the above-cited references for claim 15 disclose wherein the angle between the chord and the transverse plane of the propeller is equal to or greater than 30 degrees and equal to or less than 45 degrees in every imaginary geometric plane along at least a continuous range of 95% of the entirety of the radial distance, said continuous range also including the imaginary inner geometrical plane (such as 39 degrees as taught by Wyczalkowski).
Claims 16-17, 21-24, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hjorth et al. (GB 1454277) in view of Borremans (US 8273923), Wu et al. (previously attached non-patent literature) and Wyczalkowski (US 20090238033) as applied to claim 15 above and in further view of LJM Industrie (non-patent literature provided by the Applicant) hereinafter “LJM”.
Regarding claim 16, the above cited references for claim 15 are silent as to arc-height.
However, arc-height will depend on the chord length within the constraint of the camber (0.08-0.15) and chord length depends on the size of the blade. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. by sizing the propeller for use in a digester tank wherein the arc-height is in a range of 30-70 mm in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along the entirety of the radial distance.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra.
Further, Hjorth et al. teaches the camber could be 0.15 (0.05-0.15, page 2, line 52) and LJM teaches propellers for use in wastewater (title) wherein the propellers have concave and convex surfaces (photo on front page) and LJM further teaches the chord length could be 285 mm (table, page 5, col. G) which would correspond to a height of 43 mm for a camber of 0.15.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. by using an arc-height in the range of 30-70 mm in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along the entirety of the radial distance, such as an arc-height of 43 mm.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known dimensions of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid.
Regarding claim 17, Hjorth et al. is silent as to arc-height.
However, arc-height will depend on the chord length within the constraint of the camber (0.08-0.15) and chord length will depend on the size of the blade. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. by sizing the propeller for use in a digester tank wherein the arc-height is in a range of 45-70 millimeters in a subset of the intermediate geometrical planes extending along a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance, the continuous range excluding at least the imaginary inner geometrical plane and the outer geometrical plane.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra.
Further, Hjorth et al. disclose a camber of 0.05 to 0.15 (page 2, line 52) and LJM teaches propellers for use in wastewater (title) wherein the propellers have concave and convex surface (photo on front page) and LJM further teaches the chord length could be 500 mm (table, page 9, col. G) which would correspond to a height of 60 mm for a camber of 0.12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. by using an arc-height in the range of 45-70 mm in each intermediate geometrical plane or in a subset of the imaginary intermediate geometrical planes extending along a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance, the continuous range excluding at least the imaginary inner geometrical plane and the imaginary outer geometrical plane, such as by using an arc-height of 60 mm.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known dimensions of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid.
Regarding claim 21, Hjorth et al. does not disclose a chord length.
However, chord length depends on the size of the blade. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. by sizing the propeller for use in a given tank size.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. wherein the chord is sized to be within a range of 280-475 mm.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra.
Further, LJM teaches propellers for use in water treatment (title) and LJM teaches the propeller has concave and convex sides (photo on cover page) and therefore has a chord length. LJM further teaches the chord length may be 280 mm (page 5, table, col. G), 460 mm (page 9, table, col. G), etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. wherein the length of the chord is in a range of 280-475 millimeters in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along the entirety of the radial distance.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known dimension of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid.
Regarding claim 22, Hjorth et al. does not disclose a chord length.
However, chord length depends on the size of the blade. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. by sizing the propeller for use in a given tank size.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. wherein the chord is sized to be within a range of 380-475 millimeters in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance, the continuous range excluding at least the imaginary inner geometrical plane and the imaginary outer geometrical plane (Hjorth et al., such as wherein the plurality of intermediate planes are two planes located near the inner geometrical plane or selected from another location along a length covering at least 70% of the radial distance).
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious scale the relative dimensions of the propeller up or down with the expectation of achieving the same performance for use in different sized tanks. See In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., supra.
Further, LJM teaches propellers for use in water treatment (title) and LJM teaches the propeller has concave and convex sides (photo on cover page) and therefore has a chord length. LJM further teaches the chord length may be 460 mm (page 9, table, col. G).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Hjorth et al. wherein the length of the chord is in a range of 380-475 millimeters in each imaginary intermediate geometrical plane along the entirety of the radial distance or along a continuous range of at least 70% of the entirety of the radial distance, the continuous range excluding at least the imaginary inner geometrical plane and the imaginary outer geometrical plane.
The person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to use a known dimension of a liquid-mixing propeller in order to achieve the predictable result of adequately mixing a liquid.
Regarding claim 23, Hjorth et al. not disclose actual dimensions for the leading edge.
As best understood, the dimension of Hjorth et al. which reads on