DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 12-16 are pending. Applicant’s previous election of bis triethoxysilyl ethane as species still applies. Applicant also previously elected formula F as the species of the nitrogen containing compound but has since amended the claims to preclude that species such that examination is extended to the Formula G species (2-undecylimidazole) below. No claims are currently withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al. (JPWO 2013/151169, see machine translation) in view of Leivo (U.S. 2018/0127308) in view of Murugesan et al. (U.S. 2018/0148600).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-8, 12, Nomura teaches an optical laminate for displays ([0001]) with an optically functional (i.e., transparent) substrate ([0094], [0100]), S, followed by a hard coat, which is made up of a hard coat sub layer I, (corresponding to the claimed hard coat layer and having an overlapping thickness, [0065]) and a silica film/hard coat sub layer II, (corresponding to the claimed glass layer, and having an overlapping thickness, [0072], [0059], FIG. 1), as in claim 12, and with the hard coat sub layer I being made of, e.g., a condensation reaction product of glycidoxypropyltrialkoxysilane compounds (with glycidyl being a cationically curable group and with no other required repeating units, as in claim 1, [0024]-[0026], [0034], with an amount of siloxane based polymer, A and B in Nomura, overlapping the amount of formula E in the sub layer I in Nomura as in claim 1, [0036], [0051]-[0053], and with the silica layer II providing scratch resistance [0022]).
Both the A and B polymer components in Nomura may be epoxy functional (i.e., cation curable functional group, [0026]) and the amount of B, which is required to be epoxy functional trialkoxysilane, relative to A overlaps the claimed molar amount of cation curable R groups (even if, arguendo, there were no epoxy groups in the trialkoxysilane A ingredient) ([0051]). The B ingredient is also disclosed as contributing to weather resistance ([0051]), such that the amount of epoxy-siloxane groups in the hard coat layer (relative to the overall organic groups in the silicone polymer) would have been obvious to adjust, including to values within the claimed range, as part of the optimization of the weather resistance of the coating.
The amount of the A and B ingredients, which together make up the siloxane based polymer component in Nomura (corresponding to the claimed formula E) are disclosed relative to the other ingredients (C and D in Nomura) such that the amount of the siloxane polymer in Nomura overlaps the claimed 90wt% or more range ([0051]-[0053]). Furthermore, since the C and D ingredients each have a recognized effect on the coating properties (substrate adhesion and curability, respectively) their amounts would be obvious to adjust, including to values that would result in a remaining amount of the A and B ingredients (when the coating contains only A, B, C, and D) that overlaps the claimed range, as part of the optimization of the degree of substrate adhesion and curability.
Nomura does not disclose that the silica layer II is formed of the claimed ingredients. However, Leivo is also directed to silica films for providing scratch resistance and hardness (overlapping claim 3) and teaches that such a film may be made by condensation of only silane compounds within the scope of formula A and/or B (e.g., tetralkoxysilane, bistriethoxysilyl ethane, and/or 1-4 carbon alkyl trialkoxysilanes), which forms a silica network (consisting of the claimed silane compounds, with no other required solid ingredients such that the silica network is substantially 100% of the cured layer), and with the silane compounds being partially condensed prior to coating and then fully polymerized after being coated (see abstract, [0001], [0012], [0032]-[0043], [0141]-[0159], [0196], [0207]-[0217]). There are no required Si-N linkages as claimed.
Thus, it would have been obvious to have used the silica film of Leivo for the silica film called for in Nomura because Leivo film provides the desired scratch resistance was well as various other beneficial properties (e.g., hardness and refractive index [0012]).
Modified Nomura does not disclose the claimed nitrogen compound. However, Murugesan is also directed to curing partially condensed siloxane compositions for form hard coatings ([0006], [0058]-[0059]), as called for in Nomura and Leivo, that includes a “super base” catalyst, ([0006]), such as 2-undecylimidazole, ([0042]), which inherently meets the limitations of claims 6-8, to allow for lower amounts of catalyst to be used and to provide improved properties ([0006]), with amounts ranging from 1 to 75 ppm ([0018]). Thus, it would have been obvious to have used the catalyst from Murugesan as the catalyst in modified Nomura because it provides the catalysis properties while allowing for less of the catalyst to be used and while providing improved properties ([0006]).
The above amount of catalyst in modified Nomura (from Murugesan) overlaps the nitrogen amount in claim 1. The claimed amount is also obvious because adjusting the amount of catalyst is obvious as an art-recognized result effective variable for providing sufficient catalysis to the coating.
Modified Nomura does not require any silazane compounds or otherwise require any Si-N bonds, as in claim 1.
Regarding the properties of claims 1-3, although modified Nomura does not explicitly disclose these properties as claimed, given the overlap in modified Nomura regarding the type and amount of materials used for the hard coat layer I and the silica layer II compared to the present application, these claimed properties would inherently be present in the embodiments of Nomura that overlap the embodiments of the present application.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nomura et al. (JPWO 2013/151169, see machine translation) in view of Leivo (U.S. 2018/0127308) in view of Murugesan et al. (U.S. 2018/0148600), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thothadri et al. (U.S. 2020/0057178).
Regarding claims 13-16, Modified Nomura teaches all of the above subject matter but does not disclose the limitations of claims 13-16. However, Thothadri is also directed to hard coat layers that are made up of two sub layers, 204 and 208, applied to a base film, 202, to form an overall hard coat film (“cover lens film,” 102, 200) for use in display devices (like Nomura), and teaches that the multiple cover lens films, 200, may be stacked on each other multiple times ([0039]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that stacking multiple hard coat films (cover lens films) on top of each other in an overall protective film for a display device allows for increased durability (because damage must penetrate through more hard layers before getting through to the underlying functional display layers). Such an arrangement would result in hard sub layer1a/hard sub layer1b/substrate1/hard sub layer2a/hard sub layer2b/substrate2/hard sub layer3a/hard sub layer3b/substrate3, which includes both types of hard sub layers being formed above and below each of the multiple base films (substrate1 and substrate2), as in claims 13-16, (with Nomura already teaching that the silica/glass film II should be on top of the hard coat layer I when the pair of hard sub layers are stacked, as in claim 14). Thus, it would have been obvious to have stacked multiple hard coat films (each comprising a pair of hard coat sub-layers and a substrate) from modified Nomura on top of one another over the display device of modified Nomura (resulting in the layers of claims 13-16), as taught by Thothadri, because doing so increases durability because damage must penetrate through more hard layers before getting through to the underlying functional display layers.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 12-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, 11-14 of copending Application No. 17283701 in view of Nomura et al. (JPWO 2013/151169, see machine translation) in view of Thothadri et al. (U.S. 2020/0057178). The claims are not identical but they are not patentably distinct because Nomura and Thothadri render obvious the missing limitations from the copending application (e.g., the underlying hard coat sublayer and the use of multiple stacked hard coats, see explanation in rejection above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 12-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-17 of copending Application No. 17268539 in view of Nomura et al. (JPWO 2013/151169, see machine translation) in view of Thothadri et al. (U.S. 2020/0057178). The claims are not identical but they are not patentably distinct because Nomura and Thothadri render obvious the missing limitations from the copending application (e.g., the underlying hard coat sublayer and the use of multiple stacked hard coats, see explanation in rejection above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection. Remarks which are still deemed relevant are addressed below and are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Nomura uses silazane for the silica film but points to only one non-limiting embodiment of Nomura and ignores the other embodiment directed to forming the silica film via condensing alkoxysilane compounds (not silazanes).
Applicant also points to an alkaline agent in Leivo as outside of the claimed nitrogen compound formulae, but this compound from Leivo is not required to be an amine and any amine compound (arguendo) would not be expected to form the presently precluded Si-N bonds.
Applicant then argues that the amended claims preclude the previously elected species which is moot in light of the new rejection above.
The double patenting rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787