DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the amendments to the claims, newly-found reference of Alley has been introduced. Alley teaches that the technician manually applies pressure to the patient’s limb. Examiner upholds that the combination of Herr and Alley teach the full scope of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, & 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herr (US 2021/0145608) in view of Alley (US 2018/0293333).
Regarding claim 1, Herr teaches a method for at least partially recording a contour of a limb (biological body segment 18, [0426]) of a prosthetic wearer (user, [0426]), wherein the method comprises the steps of:
providing an enveloping body (3D measuring device 10, [0426]), the enveloping body comprising a base body (elastomeric sheath 12, [0426]) and at least one sensor (plurality of transducers, [0427]/stretch sensors 22 & curvature sensors 24, [0428]/ultrasonomicrometry crystals 49, [0437]), the at least one sensor being configured to record measurement data to determine a distance and/or relative position between two points in or on the base body ([0427], [0429], [0432], & [0437]);
mounting the enveloping body on the limb of the prosthetic wearer ([0426]);
recording measurement data of the modified shape of the limb by means of the at least one sensor ([0427], [0429], [0432], & [0437]) while the technician is manually manipulating the shape of the at least one specific area of the limb into the modified shape ([0439] & [0442]);
Paragraphs [0429] & [0437] teach that the distance between the nodes 14 can be measured. Applying forces to the nodes (as is taught in [0439] & [0442]) would change the distances between them.
determining distances and/or relative positions between two points in or on the base body ([0427], [0429], [0432], & [0437]) in an electric data processing device (thin-film microcontroller 36, [0434]) while the technician is manually manipulating the shape of the at least one specific area of the limb into the modified shape ([0439] & [0442]), wherein distances and/or relative positions between at least 100 points are detected (Figure 19); and
recording the contour of the modified shape of the limb ([0432]).
However, Herr fail to disclose manually manipulating, by a technician who is not the prosthetic wearer, a shape of the limb to define a modified shape of the limb, wherein the technician pre-compresses the limb to shape at least one specific area of the limb into the modified shape, wherein the modified shape corresponds to a shape the limb is intended to assume in a prosthetic socket, and wherein the technician applies targeted pressure to the at least one specific area of the limb to redistribute soft tissue relative to underlying bony structures of the limb.
Alley teaches manually manipulating ([0005] & [0021]), by a technician who is not the prosthetic wearer (plaster technician, [0005]/cast taker, [0021]/prosthetist or clinician, [0102]/technician, [0120]), a shape of the limb to define a modified shape of the limb ([0005]), wherein the technician pre-compresses the limb ([0021]) to shape at least one specific area of the limb into the modified shape ([0005] & [0120]), wherein the modified shape corresponds to a shape the limb is intended to assume in a prosthetic socket (socket 202, [0116]), and wherein the technician applies targeted pressure to the at least one specific area of the limb ([0005], [0021], [0102], & [0120]) to redistribute soft tissue relative to underlying bony structures of the limb ([0005]).
Regarding the “recording” steps, there is no functional difference between recording the measurement data or contour of the original shape of the limb versus the modified shape of the limb (i.e., any device that can measure the shape of the limb at rest can measure the shape of the compressed limb). Herr teaches in [0442] that data can be obtained while the technician is applying forces to the sheath, and, thus, changing its shape. Likewise, the sheath would still be able to obtain data while the technician of Alley is compressing the limb. Nevertheless, Alley teaches in [0087] that image data can be obtained during compression of the limb.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Herr to include manually manipulating, by a technician who is not the prosthetic wearer, a shape of the limb to define a modified shape of the limb, wherein the technician pre-compresses the limb to shape at least one specific area of the limb into the modified shape, wherein the modified shape corresponds to a shape the limb is intended to assume in a prosthetic socket, and wherein the technician applies targeted pressure to the at least one specific area of the limb to redistribute soft tissue relative to underlying bony structures of the limb, as taught by Alley. Compressing the limb into the shape it will take in the prosthetic socket will ensure a better fit and be more comfortable for the patient.
Regarding claim 2, Herr in view of Alley teach the method of claim 1, and Herr further teaches that the at least one sensor has a transmitter (transmitter crystal, [0418]) for a measuring radiation (acoustic signals, [0418]) and a receiver (receiver crystal, [0418]) for the measuring radiation ([0418]), which are arranged in such a way that the measuring radiation emitted by the transmitter is at least partially received by the receiver (Figure 19/[0418]).
Regarding claim 3, Herr in view of Alley teach the method of claim 2, and Herr further teaches that the transmitter is located at a first point and the receiver at a second point (Figure 19/[0418]).
Figure 19 shows that the base body has a grid of nodes comprising the sensors. Any node can be considered “the transmitter” and any and all other nodes can be considered “the receiver”. Alternatively, [0418] teaches “A single omnidirectional transmitter crystal may send a signal to multiple receiver crystals”.
Regarding claim 4, Herr in view of Alley teach the method of claim 3, and Herr further teaches that the measuring radiation is sonic waves, such as ultrasonic waves ([0418]).
Regarding claim 5, Herr in view of Alley teach the method of claim 3, and Herr further teaches that the enveloping body comprises more than one receiver (Figure 19/[0418], see rejection of claim 3).
Regarding claim 7, Herr in view of Alley teach the method of claim 1, and Herr further teaches that the at least one sensor is a shape sensor (curvature sensors 24, [0428]).
Regarding claim 8, Herr in view of Alley teach the method of claim 1, and Herr further teaches that the enveloping body features a communication interface by means of which the measurement data recorded by the at least one sensor can be transmitted to an electronic data processing device ([0434]), in particular a micro-processor (thin-film microcontroller 36, [0434]).
Regarding claim 9, Herr in view of Alley teach the method of claim 1, and Herr further teaches that the base body is made from an elastic material (elastomeric material, [0426]).
Regarding claim 10, Herr in view of Alley teach the method of claim 1, and Herr further teaches that the enveloping body is a prosthesis liner (socket liner 12’, [0445]) and the base body is made of a liner material ([0446]-[0447]).
Claim 21 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1. Herr further teaches manually maintaining, by the technician, the modified shape of the limb during the process of recording measurement data of the modified shape of the limb by means of the at least one sensor ([0442]).
If so desired, the medical professional can maintain the forces applied by the fingers or probe 44 in [0442] during the data collection. Likewise, Alley teaches in [0087] that image data can be obtained during compression of the limb. In this instance, the modified shape of the limb is maintained during data capture.
Claims 6 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herr in view of Alley, as applied to claim 1, above, in view of Sanders (US 2015/0359644).
Regarding claim 6, Herr in view of Alley teach the method of claim 1.
However, Herr in view of Alley fail to disclose that the at least one sensor comprises a strain sensor, in particular a strain gauge.
Sanders teaches that the at least one sensor (one or more sensors 106, [0107]) comprises a strain sensor, in particular a strain gauge (strain-gage plethysmography device, [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the enveloping body taught by Herr and Alley such that the at least one sensor comprises a strain sensor, in particular a strain gauge, as taught by Sanders. The strain-gage incorporated into the enveloping body would measure a change in a volume of the limb, allowing for a better and more comfortable fit to be achieved.
Regarding claim 14, Herr in view of Alley teach the method of claim 1.
However, Herr in view of Alley fail to disclose that the recording of the measurement data is continuous.
Sanders teaches that the recording of the measurement data is continuous ([0099]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the enveloping body taught by Herr and Alley such that the recording of the measurement data is continuous, as taught by Sanders. Because the position of the limb is expected to change throughout the day, a continuous recording of data can determine the quality of fit for all positions a patient may place their limb.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D. KOLKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798