DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 6/23/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPAP 2012/0305158 to Hayashi in view of USPAP 2017/0050468 to Delfino.
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 8, Hayashi discloses an elastomer-metal cord composite, comprising a plurality of metal cords, wherein each metal cord of the plurality of metal cords consists of a bundle of plural metal filaments arranged in a single row without being twisted together is coated with an elastomer, wherein a gap is provided between adjacent metal filaments, and an inter-cord distance (A1), which is a distance between adjacent metal cords of the plurality of metal cords measured in a direction orthogonal to the extending direction of the metal cords, is 1.0 to 2.0 mm; and wherein the adjacent metal filaments inherently have an elastomer coating ratio of 80% or higher per unit length on a widthwise side surface of the metal cord due to the gap between filaments (see entire document including Figure 3, [0016], [0020], [0028], [0035]-[0041]).
Hayashi illustrates the filaments with a gap between the filaments (Figure 3) but does not appear to mention a specific gap distance. Delfino discloses that it is known in the art to construct a cord composite with a gap distance (G) wherein gap distance divided filament diameter equals 0.1 to 3 (d/DM = 0.1 to 3) to maintain flexibility and uniform deformation (see entire document including Figures 1 and 2 and [0125]-[0126]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the cord composite of Hayashi with a gap distance (G) as taught by Delfino to maintain flexibility and uniform deformation.
Hayashi discloses that the number of metal filaments constituting the metal cord (N) may be 3 to 6 [0039]. Hayashi also discloses that the diameter (D) of the metal filaments may be 0.18 to 0.35 mm [0035] while Delfino teaches gap distance divided filament diameter is to equal 0.1 to 3. Therefore, when the filament diameter is 0.35 mm, the prior art teaches the gap distance (G) may be 0.2 (0.2/0.35 = 0.57). The prior art values (D = 0.35, N = 4 and G = 0.2) satisfy claimed Formula (1) resulting in a value of 0.55.
Claim 16, 17 and 19, Hayashi discloses that a tire may comprise the elastomer-metal cord composite [0001].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789