DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2017/095861 (hereinafter WO’861) in view of Hamada (US 2018/0195218).
Regarding claim 1, WO’861 teaches a knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric (figs. 5A, 5B, abstract) comprising conductive (figs. 1A-1B, para. [0035], a conductive yarn 200 forms the patterned sensing element 130) and non-conductive yarns using interlooped stitches (figs. 1A-1B, para. [0034], a nonconductive layer 110 of the knitted fabric) formed using knitting, wherein the knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric has a single continuous pathway (figs. 1A, 8A-8D) formed from one uninterrupted conductive yarn (para. [0035], yarn 200 is a continuous knitted strip traversing the face of the sensor 130) extending between exactly two connection points (figs. 1A, 3A, 4, there are two connection points to connect to outside devices) to connect the knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric to an electronic device (figs. 1A, 3A, 4), and wherein the conductive yarns of the knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric act as a capacitive touch sensor (figs. 1A-B, 4, 5A-5B).
WO’861 does not teach the fabric is warp-knitted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hamada teaches a warp-knitted (abstract) capacitive touch sensor fabric (fig. 11, para. [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to manufacture the knitted fabric of WO’861 with warp-knitting method as taught by Hamada as warp-knitting is a well-known method in the art.
Regarding claim 2, the modified structure WO’861-Hamada teaches the single pathway is a conductive pathway through the warp-knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric between the two connection points (WO’861, fig. 1A, layer 130 is a conductive sensing element layer; figs. 1A, 3A, 4 show a conductive pathway between two points 150, 152).
Regarding claim 3, the modified structure WO’861-Hamada teaches the warp-knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric application is selected from a group consisting of a traditional garment, industrial, and military products (WO’861, abstract, para. [0029]; Hamada, para. [0030]).
It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 4, the modified structure WO’861-Hamada teaches a textile for an application of the warp-knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric is selected from a group consisting of men’s formal, sporting wear, sporting gear, backpack and footwear (WO’861, abstract, para. [0029]; Hamada, para. [0002], [0030]).
It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 5, the modified structure WO’861-Hamada teaches a textile for an application of the warp-knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric is selected from a group consisting of technical textiles consisting of industrial, construction, medical, and auxetic textiles (WO’861, abstract, para. [0029]; Hamada, para. [0030], [0031]).
It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure WO’861-Hamada teaches the warp-knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric is applied to make military textiles consisting of soft-sided equipment, tenting products, vests, and boots (WO’861, abstract, para. [0029]; Hamada, para. [0030], [0031]).
It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the modified structure WO’861-Hamada teaches placement of the two connection points is customized in spacing and length according to predetermined requirements (WO’861, para. [0102], [0115]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified structure WO’861-Hamada teaches a serpentine pattern that makes the single pathway, a continuous conductive pathway with one input and one output connector (WO’861, fig. 1A).
The modified structure WO’861-Hamada does not teach lateral yarn loop overlaps and underlaps of a single continuous conductive yarn.
However, Hamada teaches a warp knitting, in which lateral yarn loop overlaps and underlaps of a single yarn (figs. 2, 9, para. [0042]); the yarn is a conductive yarn (para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure WO’861-Hamada with the teaching that lateral yarn loop overlaps and underlaps of a single continuous conductive yarn as suggested by Hamada for the benefit of providing a stable fabric which is strong, resistant to unraveling as warp-knitting is a well-known method in the art.
Regarding claim 9, the modified structure WO’861-Hamada does not teach the warp-knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric is produced by a warp-knitting raschel machine.
However, Hamada teaches the warp-knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric is produced by a warp-knitting raschel machine (para. [0013], [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure WO’861-Hamada with a warp-knitting raschel machine as taught by Hamada for the benefit of providing a stable fabric which is strong, resistant to unraveling as using a warp-knitting raschel machine in making a warp-knitted fabric is well-known in the art.
Regarding claim 10, WO’861 teaches a method for making a knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric (figs. 5A, 5B, abstract), comprising:
providing a knitting machine (para. [0031]);
feeding a nonconductive yarn (figs. 1A-1B, para. [0034], a nonconductive layer 110 of the knitted fabric) into the knitting machine;
feeding a conductive yarn (figs. 1A-1B, para. [0035], a conductive yarn 200 forms the patterned sensing element 130) into the knitting machine; and
knitting the conductive and non-conductive yarns using interlooped stitches into the knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric that includes a capacitive touch sensor (figs. 1A-B, 4, 5A-5B) formed from the conductive yarn formed from the conductive yarn being continuously knitted to form a single uninterrupted pathway (figs. 1A, 8A-8D) between exactly two connection points to connect the knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric to an electronic device (figs. 1A, 3A, 4).
WO’861 does not teach the fabric is warp-knitted.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hamada teaches a warp-knitted (abstract) capacitive touch sensor fabric (fig. 11, para. [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to manufacture the knitted fabric of WO’861 with warp-knitting method as taught by Hamada as warp-knitting is a well-known method in the art.
Regarding claim 11, the modified method WO’861-Hamada teaches the conductive yarn forms a conductive pathway through the warp-knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric between the two connection points (WO’861, figs. 1A, 3A, 4).
Regarding claim 12, the modified method WO’861-Hamada does not teach the warp knitting machine is a warp-knitting raschel machine.
However, Hamada teaches the warp knitting machine is a warp-knitting raschel machine (para. [0013], [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified method WO’861-Hamada with a warp-knitting raschel machine as taught by Hamada for the benefit of providing a stable fabric which is strong, resistant to unraveling as using a warp-knitting raschel machine in making a warp-knitted fabric is well-known in the art.
Regarding claim 13, the modified method WO’861-Hamada teaches the warp-knitted capacitive touch sensor fabric is knitted into a predetermined shape (WO’861, abstract, figs. 8A-8D).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 09/18/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3732