DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claims 1, 2, 9-15, and 19-21, and 28-31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2019/0305227 A1) in view of Totani et al. (JP 2007-077094 A) as set forth in the Final Rejection filed 01/30/26 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
7. Claims 1, 2, 9-15, and 19-21, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2019/0305227 A1) in view of Kang et al. (KR 10-2017-0039020).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign document publication KR 10-2017-0039020 (herein referred to as “Kang et al.”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 9-12, 14, 15, 19-21, and 28-30, Yoon et al. discloses the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device:
comprising first light emission sub-stack (ST1) comprising first light-emitting layer (144), charge-generating layer (CGL), and second light emission sub-stack (ST2) comprising second light-emitting layer (154) interposed between a first electrode (110) (anode) and second electrode (120) (cathode); the first light-emitting layer may comprise a combination of two light-emitting layers such as a blue light-emitting layer (first emitting layer) and a red light-emitting layer (second emitting layer) ([0055], [0065]), while the second light-emitting layer may comprise a combination of two light-emitting layers such as a yellow-green light-emitting layer (third emitting layer) and a green light-emitting layer (fourth emitting layer) ([0056], [0066]); alternatively, notice that the first light-emitting layer (and the second light-emitting layer) can be divided into two identical (sub)layers. Yoon et al. discloses that the first light-emitting layer (thus at least one of the blue and red light-emitting layers) and/or second light-emitting layer (thus at least one of the yellow-green and green light-emitting layers) comprise the following deuterated host material (which is combined with fluorescent dopant material) ([0068], [0238]):
(page 17) such that R1-8 = deuterium, L1B-2B = single bond, and Ar2B = unsubstituted aryl group including 10 carbon ring atoms (naphthyl), R12B = single bond to L1B, and R11B = R13B-18B = hydrogen of Applicant’s formula (1B). Yoon et al. discloses that its inventive compounds may be employed in the blue light-emitting layer ([0012]) (and thus can be readily incorporated into such a layer as host material). However, Yoon et al. does not explicitly disclose the presence of the other of the first and second emitting layers that substantially does not comprise a host material having a deuterium atom.
Kang et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 18 of the foreign patent publication) as host material of the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device ([0072]); such compounds have electrochemical and thermal stability ([0006]). It would have been obvious to incorporate such an anthracene derivative as disclosed by Kang et al. (above) into the red light-emitting layer (second emitting layer) of the organic EL device as disclosed by Yoon et al. (as host material). The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Kang et al. which teaches that its inventive compounds have electrochemical and thermal stability.
Regarding Claim 13, Yoon et al. discloses that a plurality of kinds of host materials (“one or more compounds”) of Chemical Formula 1 can be present in the light-emitting layer(s) ([0027]).
Regarding Claim 31, Yoon et al. discloses another embodiment (which can be alternatively presence in the blue light-emitting layer as host material):
(page 19) such that R12B-18B = deuterium of Applicant’s formula (1B).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments on pages 11-12 with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786