DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment field 10/01/25.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of Claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/01/25 is overcome by the cancellation of the claim.
The rejection of Claims 3-8, 16, and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 2019/0305227 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/01/25 is overcome by the cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 12-15, and 19-21 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 2019/0305227 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/01/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of Claims 23, 24, 26, and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2019/0305227 A1) in view of Hamada et al. (US 2011/0285274 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/01/25 is overcome by the cancellation of the claims.
The rejection of Claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2019/0305227 A1) in view of Hamada et al. (US 2011/0285274 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2011/0065924 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/01/25 is overcome by the cancellation of the claim.
8. The rejection of Claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2019/0305227 A1) in view of Hamada et al. (US 2011/0285274 A1) and Kim et al. (US 2011/0065924 A1) as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection filed 07/01/25 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
11. Claims 1, 2, 9-15, and 19-21, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 2019/0305227 A1) in view of Totani et al. (JP 2007-077094 A).
Examiner’s Note: The Office has relied on the Machine English translation of foreign patent publication JP 2007-077094 A (herein referred to as “Totani et al.”) as the English equivalent. Unless otherwise noted, all figure, page, and paragraph numbers referenced herein refer to numbers found in the Machine English translation.
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 9-12, 14, 15, 19-21, and 28-30, Yoon et al. discloses the following organic electroluminescent (EL) device:
comprising first light emission sub-stack (ST1) comprising first light-emitting layer (144), charge-generating layer (CGL), and second light emission sub-stack (ST2) comprising second light-emitting layer (154) interposed between a first electrode (110) (anode) and second electrode (120) (cathode); the first light-emitting layer may comprise a combination of two light-emitting layers such as a blue light-emitting layer (first emitting layer) and a red light-emitting layer (second emitting layer) ([0055], [0065]), while the second light-emitting layer may comprise a combination of two light-emitting layers such as a yellow-green light-emitting layer (third emitting layer) and a green light-emitting layer (fourth emitting layer) ([0056], [0066]); alternatively, notice that the first light-emitting layer (and the second light-emitting layer) can be divided into two identical (sub)layers. Yoon et al. discloses that the first light-emitting layer (thus at least one of the blue and red light-emitting layers) and/or second light-emitting layer (thus at least one of the yellow-green and green light-emitting layers) comprise the following deuterated host material (which is combined with fluorescent dopant material) ([0068], [0238]):
(page 11) such that R1-8 = deuterium, L1B-2B = single bond, and Ar2B = unsubstituted monovalent heterocyclic group including 13 ring atoms (dibenzofuranyl), R11B = single bond to L1B, and R12B-18B = hydrogen of Applicant’s formula (1B). Yoon et al. discloses that its inventive compounds may be employed in the blue light-emitting layer ([0012]) (and thus can be readily incorporated into such a layer as host material). However, Yoon et al. does not explicitly disclose the presence of the other of the first and second emitting layers that substantially does not comprise a host material having a deuterium atom.
Totani et al. discloses the following compound:
(page 17 of the foreign patent publication) as host material of the light-emitting layer of an organic EL device, the use of which results in a device with long emission lifetime, excellent durability, and high luminous efficiency (Abstract; [0055]). It would have been obvious to incorporate such an anthracene derivative as disclosed by Totani et al. (above) into the red light-emitting layer (second emitting layer) of the organic EL device as disclosed by Yoon et al. The motivation is provided by the disclosure of Totani et al. which teaches that such utilization of its inventive compounds results in a device with long emission lifetime, excellent durability, and high luminous efficiency.
Regarding Claim 13, Yoon et al. discloses that a plurality of kinds of host materials (“one or more compounds”) of Chemical Formula 1 can be present in the light-emitting layer(s) ([0027]).
Regarding Claim 31, Yoon et al. discloses another embodiment (which can be alternatively presence in the blue light-emitting layer as host material):
(page 15) such that R12B-18B = deuterium of Applicant’s formula (1B).
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant’s arguments on pages 12-13 with respect to the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786