DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment dated March 2, 2026 is entered. Claims 1-8 were amended. Claims 1-9 are pending.
The rejection of claims 1-4 and 6-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura et al. (US 2014/0231769 A1) in view of Lee et al. (WO 2015084114 A1) is withdrawn due to the amendment received March 2, 2026.
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura et al. (US 2014/0231769 A1) in view of Lee et al. (WO 2015/084114 A1) and in further view of Parham et al. (US 2019/0165282 A1) is withdrawn due to the amendment received March 2, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura et al. (US 2014/0231769 A1) in view of Ahn et al. (WO 2015099485 A1).
Nishimura et al. discloses organic electroluminescent devices including an organic layer comprising an emitting layer formed of a first host and a second host (see abstract). A first host is formed according to formula (1) with respect to instant formula 2 compound and a second host is formed according to formula (4) (see abstract).
With respect to instant second host of formula 2, Nishimura et al. formula (1) is the following (see par. 7) where A, Ar11, and Ar12 are defined in par. 10-12 and each X may be nitrogen atom:
.
More specifically with respect to at least specific instant compound H-2-92 of instant formula 2 [Instant H-2-92 (of instant claim 8)]
.
the Nishimura formula (1) corresponds where it is more specific formula (1-5) (see par. 87):
.
and the A is formula (2) (see par. 73), which may be formula (2-1) (see par. 91). Linking group L1 may be selected as naphthalene (see par. 94) and the HAr1 is of formula (3) (see par. 75) where Y1 may be oxygen atom (see par. 80, 82):
.
Note that Z14 or Z15 may be the binding site to the triazine ring of formula 1-4 (see par. 81).
With respect to instant formula 1, a Nishimura second host may be an arylamine compound according to formula (30) or more specifically (30-A), (30-B), (30-C), or (30-D) (see par. 219). Nishimura et al. does not show an example arylamine compound the same as instant formula 1. In analogous art, secondary reference Ahn et al. teaches an arylamine compound as host material (see par. 12-22, 27, 69) the same as instant formula (1) compound H-1-43 of instant claim 7 (see “C-92” par. 60, page 10):
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected Ahn et al. compound C-92 as an arylamine host compound for use in a light emitting layer in a device structure according to Nishimura et al., because Ahn et al. teaches the compound is useful as an arylamine host material for an organic light emitting device. One would expect to achieve an operational light emitting device comprising the host materials as taught by Nishimura et al. and Ahn et al. with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to the claimed composition and the instant claim 9 device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined host materials as taught Nishimura et al. and Ahn et al. One would expect the combination of disclosed host materials of also meeting the requirements of an instant formula (1) compound and formula (2) compound to be functional for use in an emitting layer as taught by Nishimura with a predictable result and reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 2, a substituent is not expressly required.
With respect to claims 3 and 4, see above discussion of Ahn et al. “C-92” (par. 60, page 10):
.
With respect to claim 6, at least formula 2-11 is within Nishimura with respect to a compound the same as instant H-2-92 as discussed above.
With respect to claim 7, the above discussed secondary reference Ahn et al. compound C-92 (par. 60, pg. 10) is the same as instant compound H-1-43 in claim 7.
With respect to claim 9, the host materials are part of a layer of a device between electrodes (see abstract, par. 227, and claim 1 on page 416).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura et al. (US 2014/0231769 A1) in view of Ahn et al. (WO 2015/099485 A1) and in further view of Parham et al. (US 2019/0165282 A1).
Nishimura et al. and Ahn et al. are relied upon as set forth above.
Nishimura et al. in view of Ahn teaches a light emitting device comprising a first and second host in the light emitting layer (see abstract) as discussed above. While Nishimura teaches a heterocyclic triazine-containing compound according to formula (1) as a host, it is not seen where Nishimura teaches the derivative specifically includes a 2-nitrogen heterocyclic group the same as shown in instant formula 2-2 of instant claim 5:
In analogous art, Parham et al. teaches at least compound #36 as a host material for a light emitting device:
(see Parham page 25).
Regarding a composition of instant claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined functional materials as taught by Nishimura modified by Ahn et al. and Parham as host materials for a light emitting layer of a device, because Nishimura teaches host material of formula 30 may be used in combination with other materials such as another host material in a light emitting layer. One would expect the Parham compound #36 to be similarly useful as a functional host material in a device structure according to Nishimura. One would expect to achieve a functional layer of an organic light emitting device comprising materials taught by Nishimura modified by Ahn et al. and Parham with a predictable result and a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Braveenth, Ramanaskanda, et al. "Utilizing triazine/pyrimidine acceptor and carbazole-triphenylamine donor based bipolar novel host materials for highly luminescent green phosphorescent oleds with lower efficiency roll-off." Dyes and Pigments 157 (2018): 377-384.
The reference discusses mixed host materials considered relevant to the state of the art.
/DAWN L GARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786