DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 18th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-7, 9, and 22-23 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“to” should be added after “according” in ln. 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Digman et al. (US 20200085277 A1).
With respect to claims 1 and 23, Digman discloses a spraying apparatus (10, 300, Fig. 1, Figs. 13-17) comprising:
at least one spray pipe (304, 306, 308, Figs. 13-17) each provided with a water spray hole (342, shown in Figs. 13-17); and
a drive device (302, Figs. 13-17) comprising a transmission mechanism (326, 328, Figs. 13-17) and a drive mechanism (344, Figs. 13-17), wherein the transmission mechanism (326, 328, Figs. 13-17) comprises a driving gear (346, 346 is a pinion gear, Figs. 13-17, Paragraph 0089) and a plurality of driven gears (348, Figs. 13-17) meshing with the driving gear (346, shown in Figs. 13-17), the plurality of driven gears (348, Figs. 13-17) are connected to the at least one spray pipe (304, 306, 308, shown in Figs. 13-17) to drive the at least one spray pipe (304, 306, 308, shown in Figs. 13-17) to rotate (rotation of docking ports and their associated spray tubes are implemented using stepper motor 344 and its drive shaft connected to pinion gear 346, which engages with each gear 348, Paragraphs 0089-0090), and a drive shaft (not explicitly labeled, but each stepper motor 344 has a drive shaft, Paragraph 0089) of the drive mechanism (344, Figs. 13-17) is connected to the driving gear (346, Figs. 13-17) to drive the driving gear (346, Figs. 13-17) to rotate (rotation of docking ports and their associated spray tubes are implemented using stepper motor 344 and its drive shaft connected to pinion gear 346, which engages with each gear 348, Paragraphs 0089-0090),
wherein the plurality of driven gears (348, Figs. 13-17) comprises a first driven gear (annotated in Fig. 13) and a second driven gear (annotated in Fig. 13), and the first driven gear (annotated in Fig. 13) and the second driven gear (annotated in Fig. 13) are configured to mesh with both sides of the driving gear (346, shown in Figs. 13-17) and symmetrically distributed on both sides of the driving gear (346, shown in Figs. 13-17) so that rotation axes of the first driven gear, the second driven gear and the driving gear extend in the same direction (shown in Figs. 13-17), and
wherein the at least one spray pipe (304, 306, 308, Figs. 13-17) comprises a first spray pipe (304, Figs. 13-17) and a second spray pipe (306, Figs. 13-17), the first driven gear (annotated in Fig. 13) is connected to a closed first end (322, 330, 368, gasket 330 is configured to form a seal with a corresponding flange 332, annotated in Fig. 13, Figs. 13-17, Paragraph 0088) of the first spray pipe (304, Figs. 13-17) and an open second end (annotated in Fig. 13) for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the first spray pipe (304, annotated and shown in Fig. 13), and the second driven gear (annotated in Fig. 13) is connected to a closed first end (322, 330, annotated in Fig. 13, Figs. 13-17) of the second spray pipe (306, Figs. 13-17) and an open second end (annotated in Fig. 13) for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the second spray pipe (306, spray tube 306 is shown to be mounted on the center top docking port, but spray tube 306 is capable of being mounted and supported in the lower left docking port beneath the spray tube 304 as Digman states that various manners of adjusting the elevation of the rack may be used in different embodiments, annotated and shown in Fig. 13, Paragraphs 0085-0086),
wherein the first driven gear (annotated in Fig. 13) is directly connected to the closed first end (322, 330, annotated in Fig. 13, Figs. 13-17) of the first spray pipe (304, shown in Figs. 13-17), and the second driven gear (annotated in Fig. 13) is directly connected to the closed first end (322, 330, annotated in Fig. 13, Figs. 13-17) of the second spray pipe (306, spray tube 306 is shown to be mounted on the center top docking port, but spray tube 306 is capable of being mounted and supported in the lower left docking port beneath the spray tube 304 as Digman states that various manners of adjusting the elevation of the rack may be used in different embodiments, annotated and shown in Fig. 13, Paragraphs 0085-0086).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Davie et al. (US 2018/0099297 A1) in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0210189 A1) and Rappette (US 20110146734 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Davie discloses a spraying apparatus (10, Fig. 1) comprising:
at least one spray pipe (20, 22, Figs. 1-10, 15-16) each provided with a water spray hole (20d, 22d, Figs. 1-6, 8-10); and
a drive device (16, Fig. 2-4, 7-10) comprising a transmission mechanism (18, Figs. 2, 4-10) and a drive mechanism (28, Figs. 2-4, 7-10), the transmission mechanism (18, Figs. 2, 4-10) comprises a driving gear (46, Figs. 8-9, 11-14, Paragraph 0039) and a plurality of driven gears (42, 44, 48, Figs. 8-9, 11-14, Paragraphs 0039-0040) meshing with the driving gear (46, shown in Figs. 8-9, 11-14), the plurality of driven gears (42, 44, 48, Figs. 8-9, 11-14) are connected to the at least one spray pipe (20, 22, shown in Figs. 8-9) to drive the at least one spray pipe to rotate (rotation of the gears 42-48 caused by motor 28 causes the first and second booms 20 and 22 to rotate, Paragraphs 0028, 0040), and a drive shaft (32, shaft connecting from outlet 32 to manifold assembly 18, shown in Figs. 2-4, 7-10) of the drive mechanism (28, Figs. 2-4, 7-10) is connected to the driving gear (46, shown in Figs. 8-9) to drive the driving gear to rotate (Paragraph 0028),
the plurality of driven gears (42, 44, 48, Figs. 8-9, 11-14) comprises a first driven gear (42, Figs. 8-9, 11-14) and a second driven gear (48, Figs. 8-9, 11-14), and the first driven gear (42, Figs. 8-9, 11-14) and the second driven gear (48, Figs. 8-9, 11-14) are configured to mesh with both sides of the driving gear (46, interpreting configured to mesh is to set up for operation especially in a particular way and to cause parts to engage, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, gear 42 is set up to engage with gear 46 when the motor 28 rotates gear 46 and then gear 46 is engaged with gear 44, which then engages with gear 42, shown in Figs. 8-9, 11-14, Paragraph 0031) so that rotation axes of the first driven gear (42, Figs. 8-9, 11-14), the second driven gear (48, Figs. 8-9, 11-14), and the driving gear (46, Figs. 8-9, 11-14) extend in the same direction (shown in Figs. 8-9, 11-14), and
the at least one spray pipe (20, 22, Figs. 1-10, 15-16) comprises a first spray pipe (20, Figs. 1-10, 15-16) and a second spray pipe (22, Figs. 1-10, 15-16).
However, Davie does not disclose the first driven gear and the second driven gear are symmetrically distributed on both sides of the driving gear. Chen teaches a spraying apparatus (entire structure, Fig. 1) comprising a driving gear (annotated in Fig. 1) and a plurality of driven gears (9, annotated and shown in Fig. 1) meshing with the driving gear (annotated and shown in Fig. 1),
the first driven gear (annotated in Fig. 1) and the second driven gear (annotated in Fig. 1) are configured to mesh with both sides of the driving gear (annotated and shown in Fig. 1) and symmetrically distributed on both sides of the driving gear (annotated and shown in Fig. 1, interpreting symmetrically distributed as having corresponding points whose connecting lines are bisected by a given point or perpendicularly bisected by a given line or plane characterized by a statistical distribution of a particular kind, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, driven gears 9 are distributed symmetrically with respect to the rotation axis of the annotated driving gear in Fig. 1) so that rotation axes of the first driven gear (annotated in Fig. 1), the second driven gear (annotated in Fig. 1), and the driving gear (annotated in Fig. 1) extend in the same direction (shown in Fig. 1).
Davie and Chen are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spraying apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teaching of the plurality of driven gears taught in Chen’s spraying apparatus to the spraying apparatus taught by Davie, to have the first driven gear and the second driven gear are configured to mesh with both sides of the driving gear and symmetrically distributed on both sides of the driving gear so that rotation axes of the first driven gear, the second driven gear, and the driving gear extend in the same direction. Doing so permits an improved rotation of the driven gears when the driving gear is rotated to allow water flow in the system (Chen, Paragraph 0019).
However, Davie and Chen do not teach the first driven gear is connected to a closed first end of the first spray pipe, and an open second end for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the first spray pipe, and the second driven gear is connected to closed first end of the second spray pipe and an open second end for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the second spray pipe as claimed. Rappette teaches a spraying apparatus (10, Fig. 1) comprising the driven gear (74, input gear 74 is driven by transfer gear 80, Fig. 3, Paragraph 0042) is connected to a closed first end of the spray pipe (left end of spray arm 56, annotated and shown in Fig. 3), and an open second end (66, Fig. 3) for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the spray pipe (end of spray pipe connecting to inlet 66, shown in Fig. 3).
Davie, Chen, and Rappette are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spraying apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the spray pipe taught in Rappette’s spraying apparatus to the first spray pipe and the second spray pipe taught in Davie’s spraying apparatus, to have the first driven gear is connected to a closed first end of the first spray pipe, and an open second end for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the first spray pipe, and the second driven gear is connected to closed first end of the second spray pipe and an open second end for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the second spray pipe as claimed. The first spray pipe and the second spray pipe disclosed in Davie would each be modified to comprise the first and second driven gears connected to a closed first end of the spray pipe, and an open second end for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the spray pipe as taught in Rappette. Doing so prevents damage to the spray arm assembly (Rappette, Paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 7, Davie, as modified by Chen and Rappette, discloses the spraying apparatus according to claim 1. However, Davie and Chen do not teach a transmission mechanism comprising a connecting rod and the driving gear, the first driven gear, the connecting rod, and the second driven gear are connected in sequence. Rappette teaches the transmission mechanism (76, Figs. 6-7) further comprises a connecting rod (82, Figs. 6-7), and
the driving gear (74, Figs. 6-7), the first driven gear (80, Figs. 6-7), the connecting rod (82, Figs. 6-7), and the second driven gear (78, Figs. 6-7) are connected in sequence for transmission (shown in Figs. 6-7, Paragraphs 0040-0043).
Davie, Chen, and Rappette are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spraying apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teaching of the transmission mechanism taught in Rappette’s spraying apparatus with the transmission mechanism taught in the spraying apparatus taught by Davie, as modified by Chen, to have the transmission mechanism further comprises a connecting rod, and the driving gear, the first driven gear, the connecting rod, and the second driven gear are connected in sequence for transmission. Doing so improves the rotation of the driven gears (Rappette, Paragraphs 0040-0041).
With respect to claim 22, Davie, as modified by Chen and Rappette, discloses the spraying apparatus according to claim 1. Davie further discloses a rotation axis of the first driven gear (42, Figs. 8-9, 11-14) is collinear with an axial axis of the first spray pipe (20, shown in Figs. 8-9) to rotate the first spray pipe (shown in Figs. 8-9, Paragraphs 0028, 0040).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davie et al. (US 2018/0099297 A1) in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0210189 A1) and Rappette (US 20110146734 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (CN 106813561 A).
Regarding claim 3, Davie, as modified by Chen and Rappette, discloses the spraying apparatus according to claim 1. However, Davie, Chen, and Rappette do not teach a limiting block is arranged on a periphery of the driven gear. Lin teaches a braking system (entire structure, Fig. 1) comprising a limiting block (3, Fig. 2, annotated in Fig. 1) is arranged on a periphery (it will be interpreted that periphery means the external boundary or surface of a body, Merriam-Webster) of a driven gear (annotated in Fig. 1) to define an angle range of deflection of the driven gear and a pipe (shown in Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0021, 0023).
Davie, Chen, Rappette, and Lin are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of driven gears. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the driven gear taught in Lin’s system with the driven gear taught by Davie, as modified by Chen and Rappette above, to have a limiting block is arranged on a periphery of the driving gear or at least one of the plurality of driven gears to define an angle range of deflection of the at least one of the plurality of driven gears and the spray pipe. Doing so allows for a more precise deflection of the driven gear as it rotates (Lin, Paragraphs 0021, 0023).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davie et al. (US 2018/0099297 A1) in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0210189 A1) and Rappette (US 20110146734 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Dries (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0143180 A1) and Li et al. (CN 106419794 A).
With respect to claim 4, Davie, as modified by Chen and Rappette, discloses the spraying apparatus according to claim 1. However, Davie, Chen, and Rappette do not teach a main control circuit. Dries teaches a spraying apparatus (100, Figs. 1-2) comprising a main control circuit (156, Fig. 2) of the spraying apparatus (100, Figs. 1-2), and the main control circuit (156, Fig. 2) is electrically connected to a drive mechanism (Paragraph 0025).
Davie, Chen, Rappette, and Dries are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of spraying apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the main control circuit taught in Dries’s spraying apparatus to Davie’s spraying apparatus, as modified by Chen and Rappette, to have the spraying apparatus comprising a main control circuit and the main control circuit is electrically connected to the drive mechanism. Doing so provides the user various operational features and modes of the spraying apparatus, and allows the user to monitor the progress of the spraying apparatus (Dries, Paragraph 0025).
However, Davie, Chen, Rappette and Dries do not teach a micro-control switch or a pressure sensor. Li teaches a spraying apparatus (10, Figs. 1-2) comprising a micro-control switch (152, Fig. 3) is arranged on a periphery (it will be interpreted that periphery means the external boundary or surface of a body, Merriam-Webster) of the driving gear (145, shown in Fig. 3).
Davie, Chen, Rappette, Dries, and Li are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spraying apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the micro-control switch taught in Li’s spraying apparatus to the spraying apparatus taught by Davie, as modified by Chen, Rappette, and Dries above, to have a micro-control switch is arranged on a periphery of the driving gear or at least one of the plurality of driven gears and connected to a main control circuit of the spraying apparatus, and the main control circuit is electrically connected to the drive mechanism. Doing so allows for the user to control the drive mechanism within a preset angle range (Li, Paragraph 0066).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davie et al. (US 2018/0099297 A1) in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0210189 A1) and Rappette (US 20110146734 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roderick et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0265707 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Davie, as modified by Chen and Rappette, discloses the spraying apparatus according to claim 1. Davie further discloses the drive device (16, Fig. 2-4, 7-10) further comprises a mounting housing (12, Fig. 1), the mounting housing (12, Fig. 1) comprises a front housing (annotated in Fig. 1) and a rear housing (annotated in Fig. 1), the front housing (annotated in Fig. 1) and the rear housing (annotated in Fig. 1) to form a mounting cavity (space within the annotated front housing and the annotated rear housing, shown in Fig. 1), and the transmission mechanism (18, Figs. 2, 4-10) is arranged within the mounting cavity (space within the annotated front housing and the annotated rear housing, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0026).
However, Davie, Chen, and Rappette do not teach the front housing and the rear housing are detachably connected, and the mounting housing is configured to be mounted to an outer wall of an inner container defining a washing cavity. Roderick teaches a spraying apparatus (10, Fig. 1) comprising a drive device (100, Fig. 4) further comprises a mounting housing (118a, 118b, Figs. 4, 6), the mounting housing (118a, 118b, Figs. 4, 6) comprises a front housing (118b, Figs. 4, 6) and a rear housing (118a, Figs. 4, 6), the front housing (118b, Figs. 4, 6) and the rear housing (118a, Figs. 4, 6) are detachably connected (shown in Fig. 4, Paragraph 0035) to form a mounting cavity (interior space within the housing, annotated in Fig. 6), and the transmission mechanism (124, Figs. 4, 6) is arranged within the mounting cavity (shown in Figs. 4, 6), and the mounting housing (118a, 118b, Figs. 4, 6) is configured to be mounted to an outer wall (142, Fig. 6) of an inner container (80, manifold 80 is inside dishwasher 10, Figs. 1, 6) defining a washing cavity (148, interior space within manifold 80, shown in Fig. 6).
Davie, Chen, Rappette, and Roderick are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spraying apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teaching of the mounting housing taught in Roderick’s spraying apparatus with the mounting housing taught in the spraying apparatus taught by Davie, as modified by Chen and Rappette above, to have the front housing and the rear housing are detachably connected to form a mounting cavity, and the mounting housing is configured to be mounted to an outer wall of an inner container defining a washing cavity. Doing so allows for a more water-tight connection (Roderick, Paragraph 0035).
With respect to claim 6, Davie, as modified by Chen, Rappette, and Roderick above, discloses the spraying apparatus according to claim 5. However, Davie does not disclose positioning posts are arranged on and protrude from an inner wall surface of the front housing. Chen teaches positioning posts (31, annotated and shown in Fig. 1) are arranged on and protrude from an inner wall surface of the rear housing (33, shown in Fig. 1), the driving gear (8, Fig. 1) and the plurality of driven gears (9, Fig. 1) are provided with mounting holes (annotated in Fig. 1) corresponding to the positioning posts (31, annotated and shown in Fig. 1), and the positioning posts are in clearance fit with the mounting holes (shown in Fig. 1, Paragraph 0028).
Davie, Chen, Rappette, and Roderick are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spraying apparatuses with driven gears. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the positioning posts taught in Chen’s spraying apparatus to the spraying apparatus taught by Davie, to have positioning posts are arranged on and protrude from an inner wall surface of the front housing, the driving gear and the plurality of driven gears are provided with mounting holes corresponding to the positioning posts, and the positioning posts are in clearance fit with the mounting holes. Doing so allows for rotation of the rotary shafts more easily while holding the parts in place (Chen, Paragraph 0028).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davie et al. (US 2018/0099297 A1) in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0210189 A1) and Rappette (US 20110146734 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0055332 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Davie, as modified by Chen and Rappette, discloses the spraying apparatus according to claim 1. Davie further discloses the at least one spray pipe (20, 22, Figs. 1-10, 15-16) comprises a pipe body (external body of first boom 20 and second boom 22, shown in Figs. 1-10, 15-16) is provided with a water spray hole (20d, 22d, 21, 23, 25, 27, Figs. 1-6, 8-10) in a pipe wall (shown in Figs. 1-6, 8-10).
However, Davie, Chen, and Rappette do not teach a water spray groove. Lee teaches a water spray groove (annotated in Fig. 18) formed in the at least one spray pipe (361, 362, Fig. 18) at a position corresponding to the water spray hole (330, 340, 350, Fig. 18), the water spray hole (330, 340, 350, Fig. 18) is in communication with the water spray groove (366, annotated and shown in Fig. 18), and a diameter of the water spray hole is larger than a width of the water spray groove (annotated in Figs. 18-19).
Davie, Chen, Rappette, and Lee are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of spraying apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the water spray groove taught in Lee’s spraying apparatus to the spraying apparatus taught by Davie, as modified by Chen and Rappette, to have a water spray groove formed in the spray pipe at a position corresponding to the water spray hole, the water spray hole is in communication with the water spray groove, and a diameter of the water spray hole is larger than a width of the water spray groove. Doing so facilitates a more water-tight connection while allowing water to pass through the spray pipe more easily (Lee, Paragraph 0188).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 18th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Davie, in view of Chen and Rappette, does not teach the limitation “the first driven gear is connected to a closed first end of the first spray pipe and an open second end for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the first spray pipe, and the second driven gear is connected to a closed first end of the second spray pipe and an open second end for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the second spray pipe”, see Remarks, pg. 2-6, Davie, in view of Chen and Rappette, does disclose these features. Specifically, Rappette teaches the driven gear is connected to a closed first end of the spray pipe, and an open second end for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the spray pipe. Rappette teaches a closed first end of the spray pipe and the driven gear being connected to the closed first end of the spray pipe, as annotated in Fig. 3 below. It is noted that the side of the spray pipe in Rappette that applicant references to be open with drive nozzles 68 is not the side where the Examiner is referring to, as pointed out in the annotated Fig. 3. The annotated closed end in Fig. 3 is structurally located after the nozzles 68, so it would be a closed end. The driven gear 74 is placed on top of the surface where the closed end is located as shown in Fig. 3, so it is connected to the closed end. Therefore, it would meet the limitation that “the first driven gear is connected to a closed first end of the first spray pipe and an open second end for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the first spray pipe, and the second driven gear is connected to a closed first end of the second spray pipe and an open second end for receiving water is provided at an opposite end of the second spray pipe”, when combined to Davie, as modified by Chen above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/JOSEPH A GREENLUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752