DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action supersedes the Office Action of 7/15/2025.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Claims 58-79, 82, and 82-87 have an effective filing date of 02 NOV 2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restriction
In the response filed on 5/1/2024 Applicant elected, with traverse:
Group II, claims 58-80
Species
A distinct subject – a human
A distinct treatment – a biologic
A distinct form of immunotherapy – a cancer vaccine
A distinct combination of treatment types used – small molecule and biologic
Status of Claims
Claims 58-79, and 82-87 are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Claims 59, 61-62, 64-68, 71, and 73-78 are withdrawn from further consideration by Examiner under 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1-57, and 80-81 are canceled.
Claim 58 is amended.
Claims 82-87 new.
Rejection Withdrawn
The rejection filed under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s canceling of claim.
The rejection filed under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn in view of new evidence.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 58, 60, 63, 69-70, 82-85, and 87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Toole et al (WO 2018109219 A1, IDS 4/16/2021), and further in view of Huang et al (Analysis of microbial sequences in plasma cell-free DNA for early -onset breast cancer patients and healthy females, BMC Medical Genomics FEB 2018, 11(Suppl 1):16).
With respect to claim 58, O’Toole et al teaches a method of determining cancer status in an individual by abundance profiling of the individual’s microbiome [Abstract]. O’Toole et al further teaches using an oral sample to diagnose colorectal cancer (CRC) [1st Paragraph, pg. 2]. O’Toole et al further teaches individuals that exhibit modulated abundance with CRC [4th Paragraph, pg. 2]. O’Toole et al further teaches the ability to determine staging of the CRC in an individual [1st Paragraph, pg. 31]. O’Toole et al further teaches method of determining CRC status comprises assaying an oral sample from an individual and determining an abundance profile of the oral microbiome (individual oral microbiome abundance profile), comparing the individual oral microbiome abundance profile with a reference oral microbiome abundance profile, and correlating the difference between the individual oral microbiome abundance profile and the reference oral microbiome abundance profile with CRC status [5th Paragraph, pg. 31]. O’Toole et al further teaches the isolation of DNA and RNA using standard protocols, which would be expected to remove contaminants (decontaminate) patient samples [Example 2]. O’Toole et al further teaches treatments for CRC [4th Paragraph, pg. 39]. O’Toole et al further teaches administering a therapeutically effective amount of the CRC therapy [2nd Paragraph, pg. 31]. O’Toole et al further teaches correlating abundance of OTUs sample using a mathematical model [3rd Paragraph, pg. 33].
O’Toole et al does not specifically teach detecting a microbial presence in a blood-derived sample. However, this deficiency is made up in the teachings of Huang et al.
Huang et al teaches the identification of microbial cfDNA in the blood plasma of early-onset breast cancer (EOBC) patients and healthy females [Abstract]. Huang et al further teaches to improve diagnosis and treatment incorporate microbial cfDNA sequencing [Right Column, 2nd Paragraph, pg. 34]. Huang et al further teaches this method id personalized treatment of disease [Right Column, 2nd Paragraph, pg. 38]. Huang et al further teaches the samples are all plasma cfDNA samples were isolated from blood using Quick-cfDNA Serum and Plasma Kit (Zymo Research, D4076) [Right Column, 4th Paragraph, pg. 38]. Huang et al further teaches removing contaminants [Left column, 3rd Paragraph, pg. 39].
One of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine O’Toole’s method of treating a human cancer comprising taking a sample from a cancer patient to diagnose the cancer, comparing the microbial presence to a reference sample, and administering immunotherapy to treat the cancer, with Huang’s method of detecting microbial cfDNA in blood samples in EOBC patients. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (MPEP 2144.06). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale for a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP2143. It would have been prima facie obvious to use O’Toole and Huang’s methods for a method for treating a mammalian cancer based on a blood-derived sample and detecting the non-mammalian, microbial presence or abundance and using a statistical model trained on cancers and administering a treatment, because the resultant method would be useful in diagnosing and treating cancer.
With respect to claim 60, O’Toole et al teaches the subject is human [2nd Paragraph, pg. 37].
With respect to claim 63, O’Toole et al teaches the treatment is a biopharmaceutical agent [4th Paragraph, pg. 39].
With respect to claim 69, Henn et al teaches administering an adjuvant with the treatment [0409].
With respect to claim 70, O’Toole et al teaches treating the cancer with immunotherapy [5th paragraph, pg. 31].
With respect to claims 82-83, and 87, Huang et al teaches cfDNA samples were isolated from blood using Quick-cfDNA Serum and Plasma Kit [Right Column, 4th Paragraph, pg. 38].
With respect to claim 84, Huang et al teaches microbial profiling of EOBC patients [Abstract]. Furthermore, O’Toole et al teaches detecting microbial presence in colorectal patients [1st Paragraph, pg. 2].
With respect to claim 85, Huang et al teaches detecting microbial presence in cfDNA [Right Column, 4th Paragraph, pg. 38].
Claims 58, 60, 63, 69-70, 72, 79, 82-85, and 87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Toole et al (WO 2018109219 A1, IDS 4/16/2021) and Huang et al (Analysis of microbial sequences in plasma cell-free DNA for early -onset breast cancer patients and healthy females, BMC Medical Genomics FEB 2018, 11(Suppl 1):16) as applied to claims 58, 60, 63, 69-70, 82-85, and 87 above, and further in view of Goodman et al (WO 2018136598 A1, IDS 4/16/2021).
The teachings of O’Toole et al and Huang et al are discussed above.
O’Toole et al does not specifically teach that the cancer vaccine exploits the microbial antigens associated with the cancer. However, this deficiency is made up in the teachings of Goodman et al.
With respect to claims 72 and 79, Goodman et al teaches a method of treating cancer in a subject [0003]. Goodman et al further teaches administering immunotherapy comprising a cancer vaccine, which generally comprise microbial antigens [0008]. Goodman et al further teaches a method of treating comprising depleting the tumor of a bacterium of a genus overrepresented in tumors [0004]. Goodman et al further teaches treatments that include immunotherapy, small molecules, cancer vaccine [ 0121 ,0136].
One of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to use O’Toole and Huang’s method for a method for treating a mammalian cancer based on a blood-derived sample and detecting the non-mammalian, microbial presence or abundance and using a statistical model trained on cancers and administering a treatment, with Goodman’s method of treating cancer comprising two or more treatments that exploit microbial presence. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (MPEP 2144.06). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale for a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP2143. It would have been prima facie obvious to use O’Toole, Huang, and Goodman’s methods for a method for treating a mammalian cancer based on a blood-derived sample and detecting the non-mammalian, microbial presence or abundance and using a statistical model trained on cancers and administering a treatment that exploits cancer microbial presence, because the resultant method could be used to diagnose and treat cancer.
Claims 58, 60, 63, 69-70, and 82-87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Toole et al (WO 2018109219 A1, IDS 4/16/2021), Huang et al (Analysis of microbial sequences in plasma cell-free DNA for early -onset breast cancer patients and healthy females, BMC Medical Genomics FEB 2018, 11(Suppl 1):16) as applied to claims 58, 60, 63, 69-70, 82-85, and 87 above, and further in view of Henn et al (US 20160030494 A1).
O’Toole does not specifically teach microbial variable domain regions. However, this deficiency is made up in the teachings of Henn et al.
With respect to claim 86, Henn et al teaches first through ninth hypervariable regions of the 16S rRNA gene that are used for genetic typing of bacterial samples [0176]. Henn et al further teaches at least one of the V, V2, V3, V4, V5, V6, V7, VS, and V9 regions are used to characterize an OTU [0176].
One of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to use O’Toole and Huang’s method for a method for treating a mammalian cancer based on a blood-derived sample and detecting the non-mammalian, microbial presence or abundance and using a statistical model trained on cancers and administering a treatment, with Henn’s method characterizing microbial variable regions of 16s rRNA. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (MPEP 2144.06). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale for a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP2143. It would have been prima facie obvious to use O’Toole, Huang, and Henn’s methods for a method for treating a mammalian cancer based on a blood-derived sample and detecting the non-mammalian, microbial presence or abundance variable domain region of 16S rRNA and using a statistical model trained on cancers and administering a treatment.
Applicant’s Arguments:
Applicant respectfully traverses the rejections.
O'Toole's protocol employs the QIAGEN AllPrep DNA/RNA extraction kit that was not demonstrated to be free of microbial contamination. Such kits frequently introduce trace bacterial DNA from reagents and plasticware.
O'Toole does not disclose "identifying and selectively removing certain non-mammalian, microbial features as contaminants from the microbial presence, while selectively retaining other non-mammalian, microbial features as non-contaminants, thereby separating noise contaminants from microbial signal," as required by claim 58 and which requires contamination modeling and a validation framework for distinguishing true microbial signal from noise.
O'Toole does not describe decontamination processes that a person of skill in the art would have understood to be necessary for a blood-derived sample as required by claim 58.
Henn does not teach use of metabolomic data to profile the microbial composition or activity of microbe-bearing tumors, nor does Henn teach isolation or analysis of microbial DNA from a blood-derived sample, e.g., blood, serum, or plasma. Additionally, Henn does not teach use of microbial DNA outside cells or whole blood derived DNA (containing microbial DNA) to detect the presence of microbes or the potential association of blood-detected microbes with the presence of cancer in a subject.
Henn to teach using a statistical model to train for detecting cancer is not accurate.
Examiner’s Response:
With respect to Applicant’s assertion that O’Toole et al do not teach the claimed decontamination process, based upon the teachings of the cited references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had ample motivation to remove unwanted microbial agents. Table 3 of Huang et al. indicates different types of microbial cfDNA sample, including those from bacteria, fungi, and viruses/phages. Given that O’Toole et al. teach assessing bacterial profiles in cancer diagnosis, it would have been obvious to decontaminate or remove contaminating cfDNA from, for example, fungi or viruses/phages.
Applicant states, O'Toole does not disclose "identifying and selectively removing certain non-mammalian, microbial features as contaminants from the microbial presence, while selectively retaining other non-mammalian, microbial features as non-contaminants, thereby separating noise contaminants from microbial signal,".
Huang et al further teaches the samples are all plasma cfDNA samples were isolated from blood using Quick-cfDNA Serum and Plasma Kit (Zymo Research, D4076) [Right Column, 4th Paragraph, pg. 38]. Huang et al further teaches removing contaminants [Left column, 3rd Paragraph, pg. 39].
Applicant states, “Henn does not teach use of metabolomic data to profile the microbial composition or activity of microbe-bearing tumors, nor does Henn teach isolation or analysis of microbial DNA from a blood-derived sample, e.g., blood, serum, or plasma. Additionally, Henn does not teach use of microbial DNA outside cells or whole blood derived DNA (containing microbial DNA) to detect the presence of microbes or the potential association of blood-detected microbes with the presence of cancer in a subject.”
This deficiency is made up in the teachings of Huang et al.
O’Toole et al teaches correlating abundance of OTUs sample using a mathematical model [3rd Paragraph, pg. 33].
Huang et al teaches the identification of microbial cfDNA in the blood plasma of early-onset breast cancer (EOBC) patients and healthy females [Abstract].
Conclusion
/DENNIS J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/NELSON B MOSELEY II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642