DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki et al. (JP 3314834 B2, machine translation referred to herein as English equivalent) herein Araki, in further view of Hamada et al. (US 2015/0376732 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Araki discloses a ferritic stainless steel [0001, Araki]. Araki does not specify that the steel is used for clamps, however the examiner notes that this is merely an instance of intended use and does not further limit the steel beyond the limitations instantly claimed. See MPEP 2111.02.
The steel of Araki comprises a composition shown below in Table 1. Araki does not specify the use of V or Al however the examiner submits that the use of these would have been obvious in view of Hamada. Hamada discloses a ferritic stainless steel [0001, Hamada] wherein 0.01-0.5% of vanadium is added to improve corrosion resistance and deep drawability [0038, Hamada] and 0.01-1.0% of aluminum is added as a deoxidizing element and to improve high temperature strength and oxidation resistance [0044, Hamada]. The examiner submits it would have been obvious to modify the ferritic stainless steel of Araki to include 0.01-0.5% of vanadium and 0.01-1.0% of aluminum to improve corrosion resistance, deep drawability, high temperature strength and oxidation resistance as taught by Hamada. The examiner notes Araki discloses wanting corrosion resistance and oxidation resistance [page 3, Araki]. Araki modified by Hamada does not specify equations (1) or (2) of the instant claim, however the examiner notes that these equations merely further limit the composition which still overlaps with the composition of Araki modified by Hamada. The examiner notes the overlap of the steel compositions of the instant claim and Araki modified by Hamada is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Araki modified by other sources will herein be referred to as modified Araki.
Modified Araki does not specify a number of precipitates of ≤0.5µm average diameter wherein the precipitates comprise Cr carbide and/or nitride, however the examiner submits that a number and composition of precipitates overlapping with the instantly claimed number and composition would naturally flow from modified Araki. The examiner notes that Araki and the instant application disclose overlapping manufacturing methods as shown below in Table 2. The examiner notes that microstructural limitations including the number, size, and composition of precipitates will depend upon the steel composition and manufacturing method, and so a number, size, and composition of precipitates that overlaps with those instantly claimed would naturally flow from modified Araki for disclosing a steel composition and manufacturing method that overlap with those instantly claimed. See MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2145.
Table 1
Instant claims, weight%
Araki, wt%
C
0.04-0.1 (claim 1)
0.04-0.10 [page 3]
Si
0.2-0.35 (claim 1)
≤1.0 [page 3]
Mn
0.01-1.5 (claim 1)
≤1.0 [page 3]
Cr
14.0-18.0 (claim 1)
13-18 [page 3]
Al
0.005-0.2 (claim 1)
V
0.005-0.2 (claim 1)
N
0.02-0.1 (claim 1)
0.03-0.06 [page 3]
Ni
0.001-0.5* (claim 2)
P
≤0.05* (claim 2)
≤0.040 [page 3]
S
≤0.005* (claim 2)
≤0.030 [page 3]
Fe and inevitable impurities
Balance (claim 1)
Balance [page 7]
(1) Si+Al+V
0.35-0.6 (claim 1)
(2) C+N
0.09-0.12 (claim 1)
*one or more of these
Table 2
Instant application manufacturing [page 11]
Araki manufacturing
Reheat steel slab to 1000-1200°C
Heat slab to 1100-1220°C [page 5, Araki]
Hot roll
Finish temperature preferably ≥800°C
Hot roll, finish temperature of 950-1050°C [page 5, Araki]
Wind the steel at ≥700°C
Winding at 450-890°C [page 5, Araki]
Cold roll at reduction ratio of ≥60%
Cold roll with reduction of ≥70% [page 6, Araki]
Anneal at 550-950°C for ≤10 minutes
Anneal after cold rolling, example of 840°C for 60 seconds [page 5, Araki]
Regarding yield strength, tensile strength, and elongation, the examiner notes that mechanical properties including strength and elongation will depend upon the steel composition and manufacturing method, and so a yield strength, tensile strength, and elongation that overlap with the ranges instantly claimed would naturally flow from modified Araki for disclosing a composition and manufacturing method that overlaps with those instantly claimed. See MPEP 2144.05(I) and 2145.
Regarding claim 2, as shown above in Table 1 the phosphorus of Araki satisfies the instant claim and the sulfur overlaps with the instant claim. The examiner notes the overlap of the steel compositions of the instant claim and modified Araki is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of copending Application No. 17/786,152 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they disclose high-strength ferritic stainless steels for clamps with overlapping compositions, strengths, elongations, and chromium carbonitride sizes and particles per mm2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed Si content, Si+Al+V total content, and C+N total content are critical. In response, Examiner notes that the cited examples do not provide sufficient evidence to demonstrate criticality of the claimed contents. Objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. See MPEP §716.02. “To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range.” See MPEP §716.02(d).
Applicant argues that Araki in view of Hamada includes Al and V for different purposes than the instant invention. In response, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to Applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Applicant further argues that the property of “a number of precipitates with an average diameter of 0.5 µm or less is 2.5 x 106 pieces/mm2 or more” would not naturally flow from Araki modified by Hamada, because Araki modified by Hamada does not explicitly described whether hot-rolled annealing is performed, while in the method of the present application, this annealing may be omitted in some embodiments. In response, Examiner notes that Araki teaches that hot-rolling annealing may be omitted ([0010]-[0013]).
In response to Applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, both Araki and Hamada are directed to the same field of endeavor, which are ferritic stainless steels. Moreover, Hamada teaches adding Al and V for improvement in corrosion resistance, as Applicant has pointed out; Araki also desires corrosion resistance ([0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Araki with Hamada in order to achieve an improvement in corrosion resistance.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY M LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734