DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 30th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kloss fails to teach or disclose “a groove included in the first plurality of grooves has a width that is 0.25 µm to 500 µm.” The Examiner relies upon figure 3c and ¶216 of Kloss for support. Paragraph 216 teaches that the thickness of the wall is 0.30 mm (300 µm) and that the cuts in the walls of the vertical tubes are 0.25 mm (250 µm). The annotate figure below identifies the grooves which are dimensioned smaller than both the cuts and the thickness of the tubes. Therefore, the groove has a width that fits within the range of 0.25 µm to 500 µm. As a result, Applicant’s arguments and remarks are not found persuasive to overcome the prior art and rejections of record.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant uses the term “the first plurality of groove”. This should read “ the first plurality of grooves”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant’s specification fails to provide support for “grooves included in the first plurality of groove are defined by surfaces other than the first inside surface; and grooves included in the second plurality of grooves are defined by surfaces other than the second inside surface”. The grooves of Applicant’s invention are only present in the first and second inside surfaces and not any other/additional surfaces, e.g. a top or bottom surface or an exterior surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kloss (US 2013/0116793).
Regarding claim 1, Kloss discloses an implant material comprising a hole (see figure below) in at least one direction, and a member constituting the hole comprising grooves (see figure below), wherein: the hole comprises a first inside surface (see figure below) and a second inside surface (see figure below; a first plurality of the grooves is provided on the first inside surface of the hole in a depth direction of the hole (figure 1); and a second plurality of grooves is provided on the second inside surface of the hole in the depth direction of the hole, wherein a groove (see figure below) included in the first plurality of grooves has a width that is 0.25 µm to 500 µm (¶216).
Regarding claim 2, Kloss discloses the member constituting the hole is composed of at least one of a pillar or a plate (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Kloss discloses the grooves are provided in at least one of the pillar or the plate (figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Kloss discloses the member includes multiple holes (see figure below) that are composed of at least one of pillars or plates (figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kloss discloses the grooves are alternately arranged on front and back surfaces of at least one of a pillar or a plate (figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Kloss discloses at least one of the pillar or the plate is composed of at least one of a simple unit or a block (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Kloss discloses at one of the pillar or the plate is designed to bend (¶214, ¶216 “micro movements”).
Regarding claim 8, Kloss discloses the hole is designed not to penetrate the implant material or is designed to penetrate the implant material (figures 1-2). Regarding claim 9, Kloss discloses the implant material is at least one selected from a polymer material, a ceramic material, a metal material, an amorphous material, or a mixed material thereof (¶102).
Regarding claim 11, Kloss discloses the hole is included in a plurality of holes and at least some holes included in the plurality of holes in communication with each other (figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kloss discloses at least one of the pillar or the plate is designed so that the at least one of the pillar or the plate is bent by having a stretchable structure by themselves, or by varying a thickness, width, or height of the pillar or the plate (¶214, ¶216 “micro movement”).
Regarding claim 13, Kloss discloses a contact surface of the implant material is configured to bend when the implant material comes into contact with a living body (¶214, ¶216).
Regarding claim 15, Kloss discloses the implant material has a cage-like structure and has a second hole on a side surface of the cage-like structure (figures 1, 4). Regarding claim 16, Kloss discloses a method of manufacturing the implant material according to claim 1, wherein the method for manufacturing the implant material includes using a 3D modeling method (¶101 “rapid prototype”).
Regarding claim 17, Kloss discloses the first plurality of grooves comprises recesses in the first inside surface (see figure above, the grooves are recesses); and the second plurality of grooves comprises recesses in the second inside surface (see figure above, the grooves are recesses). Regarding claim 18, Kloss discloses each groove included in the first plurality of grooves is arranged along an imaginary line (see figure below); and the imaginary line extends in a direction that is perpendicular to the depth direction of the hole.
Regarding claim 19, Kloss discloses grooves included in the first plurality of groove are defined by surfaces other than the first inside surface (defined by top and bottom surfaces are they are the terminus of the groove); and grooves included in the second plurality of grooves are defined by surfaces other than the second inside surface (defined by top and bottom surfaces are they are the terminus of the groove).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kloss (US 2013/0116793).
Regarding claim 14, Kloss. discloses the claimed invention except for the express teaching of the hole is formed of a truss structure body and a diameter of an inscribed circle of the hole is 500 µm to 2000 µm.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the hole is formed of a truss structure body and an inscribed circle of the hole is 500 µm to 2000 µm, since applicant has not disclosed that such solve any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a tissue ingrowth surface to the implant material.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619