Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 6/5/26.
The applicant submits that the previous rejection is improper as Kuroiwa does not teach each and every limitation of claim 1 and 31. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the coating laying layer disposed on the separator base is not a reasonable interpretation of the barrier layer of claim 1 as it is part of the separator and has low electrolyte retention. Regarding claim 31, the applicant argues that the PVA of Kuroiwa is hot water soluble but not cold water soluble.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The interpretation of Kuroiwa which relies on the coating layer applied to the base layer of the separator to teach the barrier layer is a reasonable interpretation of the barrier layer consistent with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. The base layer of the separator can reasonably be interpreted as a separator while the coating layer can reasonably be interpreted as the barrier layer. This is consistent with the plain meaning in the prior art. This is further indicated by the instant application’s disclosure wherein the barrier layer is incorporated into a multilayer laminated separator structure [claim 9] wherein a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that in the multilayer structure the separator layers could be considered “base layers”.
Separately, the teachings of Kuroiwa which indicates a preference for a hot water solution of PVA does not limit the disclosure from including an embodiment wherein the PVA is dissolved in a cold-water solution. Kuroiwa teaches that PVA is highly soluble in hot water not that PVA is insoluble in cold water. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). Then, the solubility of PVA in cold water is an inherent property of PVA which is implied by the teaching of highly soluble in water.
Similarly, the teachings of Kuroiwa which indicate low electrolyte retention does not mean no electrolyte retention. Then, even in the instance in which retention is low there is still a reservoir of elecytolyte present which can be reasonably relied upon to teach the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) by Kuroiwa, US20180358595A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kuroiwa teaches an alkaline battery [0001] comprising:
an anode; a cathode; a separator disposed between the anode and the cathode [0002];
a barrier layer disposed between the anode and the cathode (coating solution formed on separator base)[0047],
wherein the barrier layer is at least one of: an organic polymer film (alkali resistant resin film layer)[0030][0064] wherein the barrier layer is in contact with a surface of the anode or the cathode (formed on the separator between anode and cathode)[0052][0137]; and an electrolyte in fluid communication with the anode, the cathode, and the separator,
wherein the barrier layer comprises an organic water soluble material (highly soluble PVA)[0003][0030] that is configured to provide a reservoir of the electrolyte at the surface and is in contact with the surface of the anode or the cathode (alkaline resistant layer hold electrolyte)[0062].
Regarding claim 2, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1, wherein the organic polymer film comprises at least one of polyethylene, polypropylene, and polyvinyl alcohol [0030].
Regarding claim 6, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1, wherein the barrier layer comprises at least one layer between the anode and the cathode (formed on one or both side of the separator between anode and cathode)[0052][0137].
Regarding claim 9, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1, wherein the battery comprises a plurality of layers of the separator (at least one layer)[0102], and wherein the barrier layer is laminated with the plurality of layers of the separator (apply coating solution to separator)[0047] on the anode or the cathode (separator between electrodes).
Regarding claim 10, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 9, wherein the separator is a film fabricated from nylon, polyester, polyethylene, polypropylene polyvinyl alcohol, cellulose [0078]
Regarding claim 30, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1, wherein the barrier layer comprises a plurality of polyvinyl alcohol layers around the anode or the cathode (coating applied on one or both sides)[0052].
Regarding claim 31, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1, wherein the organic polymer film comprises a cold water soluble polyvinyl alcohol film (non-crosslinked PVA)[0003][0030].
Regarding claim 32, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1, wherein the organic polymer film comprises a hot water soluble polyvinyl alcohol film (hot water soluble)[0003].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 – 4, 7, and 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Kuroiwa, US20180358595A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogawa, US20150364789A1.
Regarding claim 3, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1.
Kuroiwa does not teach wherein the inorganic polymer layer comprises at least one of ceramic films including but not limited to Zeolites, Nasicons, Lithicons, or any combination thereof.
Ogawa teaches an alkaline battery [0004] wherein a barrier layer (protection member)[0112][0113][0114] having a thickness of 0.1 μm – 1 mm and comprising inorganic materials is disposed adjacent an electrode [fig. 1][fig. 6] wherein the inorganic material [0045] is at least one of LDH, hydroxides [0047], or ceramics [0179]. Further, Ogawa teaches the protected anode prevents dendrite growth while maintaining good performance [0001]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the features of the protective layer of Ogawa with the battery of Kuroiwa to improve safety and performance.
Regarding claim 4, the alkaline battery of claim 1.
Kuroiwa does not teach wherein the inorganic polymer layer comprises at least one of water-insoluble metal hydroxides, metal layered double hydroxides, metal oxides, or any combination thereof.
Ogawa teaches an alkaline battery [0004] wherein a barrier layer (protection member)[0112][0113][0114] having a thickness of 0.1 μm – 1 mm and comprising inorganic materials is disposed adjacent an electrode [fig. 1][fig. 6] wherein the inorganic material [0045] is at least one of LDH, hydroxides [0047], or ceramics [0179]. Further, Ogawa teaches the protected anode prevents dendrite growth while maintaining good performance [0001]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the features of the protective layer of Ogawa with the battery of Kuroiwa to improve safety and performance.
Regarding claim 7, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1.
Kuroiwa does not teach wherein the barrier layer has a thickness between 1 um to 1mm.
Ogawa teaches an alkaline battery [0004] wherein a barrier layer (protection member)[0112][0113][0114] having a thickness of 0.1 μm – 1 mm and comprising inorganic materials is disposed adjacent an electrode [fig. 1][fig. 6] wherein the inorganic material [0045] is at least one of LDH, hydroxides [0047], or ceramics [0179]. Further, Ogawa teaches the protected anode prevents dendrite growth while maintaining good performance [0001]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the features of the protective layer of Ogawa with the battery of Kuroiwa to improve safety and performance.
Regarding claim 11, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1.
Kuroiwa does not teach wherein the battery is a prismatic battery or a cylindrical battery.
Ogawa teaches an alkaline battery [0004] comprising a barrier layer (protection member)[0112][0113][0114] wherein the battery is a prismatic battery or a cylindrical battery [0261].
Prismatic batteries and cylindrical batteries are known battery shapes in the art. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the shapes of batteries as shown in Ogawa into the battery of Kuroiwa as an obvious choice.
Regarding claim 12, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1.
Kuroiwa does not teach wherein the anode comprises a pasted porous Zn electrode, a Zn metal foil, a Zn mesh, or a perforated Zn metal foil.
Ogawa teaches an alkaline battery [0004] comprising a barrier layer (protection member)[0112][0113][0114] wherein the anode comprises a Zn metal foil, a Zn mesh, or a perforated Zn metal foil [0148]. Further, Ogawa teaches that these are suitable electrode materials for use in alkaline cells [0148]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the electrode materials of Ogawa into the battery of Kuroiwa as a simple substitution of known parts.
Regarding claim 13, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1.
Kuroiwa does not teach wherein the cathode comprises a manganese dioxide electrode, a nickel oxyhydroxide electrode, a silver oxide electrode, or an air electrode.
Ogawa teaches an alkaline battery [0004] comprising a barrier layer (protection member)[0112][0113][0114] wherein the cathode comprises a nickel oxyhydroxide electrode, a silver oxide electrode, or an air electrode [0003][0127]. Further, Ogawa teaches that these are suitable electrode materials for use in alkaline cells [0127]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the electrode materials of Ogawa into the battery of Kuroiwa as a simple substitution of known parts.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Kuroiwa, US20180358595A1.
Regarding claim 5, the alkaline battery of claim 1.
Kuroiwa does not teach wherein the barrier layer comprises a freestanding film in the battery.
However, this is considered to be a product by process limitation as it is in regard to the formation of the barrier layer before assembly with the remaining battery components. As Steffensen teaches all the claimed structural components the claim is considered to be taught by the prior art.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 by Kuroiwa, US20180358595A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee, US20190393474A1.
Regarding claim 8, Kuroiwa teaches the alkaline battery of claim 1,
Where the battier layer is configured to protect the alkaline battery from electrical short circuit [0002]; provide the reservoir of the electrolyte for easy electrolyte accessibility [0062]; and suppress the transport of zincate ions (prevent dendrites)[0139].
Kuroiwa does not teach wherein the barrier layer is configured to: cover an exposed current collector.
Lee teaches a secondary battery comprising a cathode (121), anode (123), and a separator (122) disposed therebetween [fig. 5B] wherein the separator extends to cover an exposed current collector [fig. 5B] wherein this configuration prevents a short-circuit from occurring [0035]. Then, it would have been obvious to combine the separator shape of Lee into the battery of Kuroiwa to prevent short-circuiting.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724